Content and Objectives

A profile of media and digital art

Ars Electronica’s archive contains a diverse assemblage of artistic works and documentation of projects, exhibitions and activities over a timeframe of more than 30 years in the wide-ranging international field of media art.

  

Due to the ongoing events of Ars Electronica the archive grows continuously. Therefore it offers not only a representative cross-section of the broad field of media & digital art; it is also a historical catalog of the data storage media and formats that in many cases significantly determine the appearance of the works preserved on them. Scholarly articles on computer graphics, computer animation, computer & digital music, interactive art, netbased art, software, virtual reality applications, media performance, bio art and robotics explicitly document the aesthetic strategies used in these fields as well as, implicitly, the technical conditions on which they are based.

However, the Ars Electronica Archive is not only of interest from a scholarly-historical perspective, but it also represents an urgent task in view of the brief “half-life” of the data storage media it contains. The video collection includes a multiplicity of formats, the availability ofwhich is progressively diminishing amidst the ongoing proliferation of technological alternatives. The same applies to the programming languages in which art projects are developed and their various storage media—from diskettes to CDs, to websites and their addresses.

Preservation and Documentation

Beside thousands of video- and audio recordings, numerous photographs, negatives, and slides are stored in the archive, as well as an extensive collection of print material including publications, posters, folders, and press material. With the reopening of Ars Electronica in January 2009, the archive had for the first time a climate-controlled room at its disposal, where approximately 60.000 physical records are located in more than 378 meters of shelf space.

Since the beginning of the festival in 1979, there is a very large inventory of video documentaries. Thanks to the involvement of the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio, much of the program staged in the early years was recorded and professionally archived, which established the basis for the tremendous number of media documents to come. In addition, the festival and the exhibits in the museum have been repeatedly documented by video. Over 1000 hours of video footage of them have already been digitized.

  

The broad substantive spectrum of the content is matched by its tremendous diversity of physical and digital formats, which constitutes a substantial challenge for the archivist. Whereas there are proven methods for conserving physical objects, long-term archiving of digital data still raises countless issues.

Digitization Processes and a Living Archive

During the construction of the new Ars Electronica Center 2008, the most comprehensive digitization and archiving project of Ars Electronica since the 1990s has been launched to specifically and centrally inventory and digitize material. The archive of the Ars Electronica has been reconfigured and developed both digitally and physically.

A server-based digital archive has been developed which is based on a complex database structure and metadata associated with digital objects (video, audio, image, text). At this stage it already includes over 150.000 entries with a storage volume of 60 terabytes and over 4 Millions linked files. The database and all shared and created files are automatically transferred to a backup system and tested. An additional tape backup of the archive holdings guarantees the sustainable protection. Ongoing efforts in this area are essential to achieve a future strategy for long-term archiving of digital data. The purpose of the Database is inventory and scholarly research, with the objective of reprocessing and agency´s the history of Ars Electronica and digital / electronic Arts in general.

Now, after several digitization projects and migrations of older data logs, also all the entries for the Prix Ars Electronica submitted online in every year are being transferred to the archive automated. Digital photographs are archived directly and, via an interface, made public on social media sites. It no longer just conserves glimpses of bygone days; it’s constantly being updated with new material. It’s a direct repository of all currently published photos including their metadata, and thereby makes them (re)searchable. The ongoing and immediate input of current visual material makes it possible to conserve important information that might be hard to research at a later time.

Inhalte und Ziele

Querschnitt der Medienkunst

Der Bestand der Ars Electronica ist ein vielfältiges Konglomerat an künstlerischen Arbeiten, Dokumenationen von Projekten, Ausstellungen und Aktivitäten im breiten Feld der internationalen Medienkunst von über 35 Jahre.

  

Durch die laufenden Veranstaltungen der Ars Electronica wächst das Archiv jedes Jahr weiter an. Dadurch bietet es nicht nur einen repräsentativen Querschnitt des weiten Felds der Medien- und digitalen Kunst, sondern auch einen historischen Abriss ihrer Trägermedien und -formate, aus denen die Arbeiten vielfach ihre Erscheinungsform beziehen. Mit Beiträgen zu den Themenbereichen Computergrafik, Computeranimation, Computer- und digitale Musik, interaktive Kunst, Netzkunst, Software, Mixed Realities, Medien-Performance, Bio Art und Robotik werden sowohl explizit ästhetische Strategien als auch implizit die ihnen zu Grunde liegenden technischen Bedingungen dokumentiert.

Dies ist jedoch nicht nur von wissenschaftlich-historischem Interesse, sondern ein dringliches Aufgabengebiet im Hinblick auf die kurze Halbwertszeit der Datenträger. Bereits der Video-Bereich umfasst eine Vielzahl an Formaten, deren Lebensdauer begrenzt ist, genauso wie die Verfügbarkeit der Abspielgeräte zunehmend verschwindet. Gleiches gilt für Programmiersprachen, in denen Kunst-Projekte entwickelt werden, und die diversen Speichermedien, von der Diskette über CD bis hin zu Webseiten und deren Adressen.

Bewahrung und Sammlung

Neben zigtausenden Video- und Audiomedien lagern zahlreiche Fotografien, Negative und Diapositive im Archiv, ebenso eine umfangreiche Sammlung an Printmaterialien mit Publikationen, Drucksorten, Plakaten und Presseunterlagen. Mit der Neueröffnung der Ars Electronica im Januar 2009 standen dem Archiv erstmals eigene klimatisierte Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung, in denen ca. 60.000 physische Archivalien an Dokumentationsmaterialien sowie Prix Einreichungen auf über 378 Laufmetern Platz finden.

Seit Beginn des Festival 1979 gibt es einen sehr großen Bestand an Videodokumentationen. Dabei ist die Rolle des ORF als engagierter Mitveranstalter von besonderer Bedeutung, da dadurch in den frühen Jahren schon außergewöhnlich viel aufgezeichnet wurde. Darüber hinaus wurden das Festival und die Ausstellungen im Museum immer wieder via Video dokumentiert. Über 1000 Stunden an Videomaterial davon sind bereits digitalisiert.

  

Die Bandbreite an Inhalten spiegelt sich auch in der an physischen und digitalen Formaten wieder und gibt die Herausforderung an das Archiv vor. Während es bei der Archivierung physischer Objekte verifizierte Methoden gibt, wirft die Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Daten immer noch eine Unmenge an Fragen auf.

Digitalisierungsprozesse und ein lebendes Archiv

Im Zuge des Neubaus des Ars Electronica Center wurde 2008 das bisher umfangreichste Digitalisierungs- und Archivierungsprojekt von Ars Electronica seit den 1990er Jahren gestartet, um gezielt und zentral Material zu inventarisieren und digitalisieren. Das Archiv der Ars Electronica wurde neu aufgebaut und entwickelt, sowohl digital als auch physisch.

Es wurde ein serverbasiertes digitales Archiv entwickelt, das sich auf eine komplexe Datenbankstruktur mit Metadaten und verknüpften Digitalisaten (Video, Audio, Bild, Text) stützt. Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt umfasst es bereits über 150.000 Einträge mit einem Speichervolumen von ca. 60 Terabyte und über 4 Millionen verknüpften Dateien. Die Datenbank sowie alle eingepflegten und erzeugten Dateien werden automatisiert in ein Backupsystem überführt und geprüft. Eine zusätzliche Bandsicherung des Archivbestandes dient der nachhaltigen Sicherung. Laufende Bemühungen in diesem Bereich sind unumgänglich um eine zukünftige Strategie der Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Daten erreichen zu können. Zweck der Datenbank ist die Bestandsaufnahme und wissenschaftlichen Recherche, mit dem Ziel der Aufarbeitung und Vermittlung der Geschichte von Ars Electronica und digitalen/elektronischen Kunst im Allgemeinen.

Heute kann neben den Digitalisierungs- und Migrationsprojekten die gesamten jährlichen Einreichungen zum Prix Ars Electronica automatisch ins Archiv überführt werden. Digitale Fotografien werden direkt bei der Online-Publikation im Archiv angelegt. Das Archiv wurde zum Leben erweckt und bildet nicht mehr nur längst Vergangenes ab. Es bewahrt sofort alle aktuell veröffentlichten Fotos inklusive ihrer Metadaten und macht diese somit wieder suchbar. Durch die laufende und aktuelle Eingabe ohne Zeitverzögerung werden auch wichtige Informationen erhalten, die ansonsten oft schwer zu recherchieren sind.