Projects

Women in Media Arts

Duration: 01/2016-12/2016

Woman in Media Arts is a comprehensive database dedicated exclusively to women working in these genres. It includes all women who have made a mark on the 36-year history of Ars Electronica, and is designed to serve as an active research platform for artists, curators, scholars, scientists and anyone else interested in finding out more about female practitioners in these fields. This database lodges no claim to completeness; it merely reflects information stored in the Ars Electronica archive. It is intended to offer an initial overview and starting points for further research. As an active partner in various school- and college-level programs designed to nurture women’s interest in technology and science, Ars Electronica’s mission in supporting this project is to contribute to greater public awareness of women working in media arts, to promote new role models and to encourage girls and women to get actively involved in a field that is still dominated by men.

Woman in Media Arts is a work-in-progress and will be updated on an ongoing basis. The project can be accessed via Ars Electronica’s Online Archive from the beginning of the Ars Electronica Festival 2016 – September 8, 2016.

This project is funded by the Office of the Federal Chancellor Austria

Bundeskannzleramt Österreich - Logo

Fascinating Festival

Duration: 01/2014-12/2014

The Ars Electronica Festival has been venue for innovative, experimental artists in the field of media art since 1979. Based on these artists and their projects the development and leadership role of the festival should be shown. Prerequisite for this is the sustainable protection and preservation of the underlying documentation material. Therefore the research in the existing archiving system, in program brochures and catalogs was necessary for the supplement and verification of metadata. This first step is the basis for a planned festival-history-website.

This project is funded by the bm:ukk (Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture).

Talks & Lectures

Duration: 01/2013-12/2013

TalksLectures

Since the year 1979 symposiums, lectures, discussions and presentations, with international guests from different fields such as media art, science, research, media theory and society, are important parts of the Ars Electronica Festivals. Due to the ORF as joint organizer, the early years are remarkably well recorded. In addition to this video material, arised from documentation during the festival times, exists in huge quantity and a wide range of formats – beginning with M2, VHS, IMX and DVCam and ending with the state-of-the-art technologies.

It is the aim of this most recent project of the ars electronica archive, to form a collection called “Talks & Lectures” containing all this material, and to therefor advance the conservation, the inventory, the digitalization and the backup of these materials. The digitalized and edited pieces will be available through the online archive afterwards: http://talksandlectures.aec.at/

This project is funded by the bm:ukk (Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture).

Digitising Contemporary Art (DCA)

Duration: 01/2011-06/2013

The DCA project intends to enhance the online visibility of contemporary art as an essential expression and an invaluable building block of European culture, and to stimulate the interest of the general public with a stronger presence of contemporary art in the Europeana portal.

With the co-funding of the European Commission under the CIP-ICT PSP programme and the commitment of the 25 partners, the DCA project aims to create high-quality digital reproductions and assure the long-term preservation of and online access to such reproductions and their data. To support similar future digitisation projects, it will also publish guidelines and documentation on best practices regarding the digitisation of contemporary art.

Ars Electronica makes a substantial contribution by providing about 3280 digitisations and meta-data of 1878 awarded projects from the Prix Ars Electronica since 1987. Kulturpool – the Austrian portal for art, culture and education – acts as partner and main provider for data from Austria to Europeana at this.

http://www.digitisingcontemporaryart.eu/

Europeana

Kulturpool

Inventory and Preservation of the analogue photographic Prix collection

Duration:01/2012-12/2012

Main focus is the adequate storage of photographic and film material according to preservation standards, as well as the selective digitisation of the analogue photographic collection of the Prix Ars Electronica from 1987-1999.

Another aim is to make the photographic content available to the public, for eduaction and research.

Overview of the holdings:

• Photographic collection LIVA (Linz Event Organisation MbH)

• Prix collection of the ORF (Austrian Broadcast Company)

• Photographic collection of documentations of artworks and exhibitions

This project is funded by the bm:ukk (Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture).

Preservation and inventory of analogue photographies

Duration: 01/2011-12/2011

Researching and processing the cultural heritage of the early Ars Electronica years: photographic collection of LIVA (Linz event organisation) and ORF (Austrian Broadcast Station).

Aim is the adequate storage of photographic and film material according to preservation standards, as well as the selective digitisation of missing content.

This project is funded by the bm:ukk (Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture).

Projekte

Women in Media Arts

Laufzeit: 01/2016-12/2016

Women in Media Arts ist eine umfangreiche Datenbank, die sich speziell den Frauen in der Medienkunst widmet. Sie enthält alle Frauen, die eine Spur in der 36-jährigen Geschichte der Ars Electronica hinterlassen haben und soll als aktive Rechercheplattform für KünstlerInnen, KuratorInnen, ProfessorInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und allen interessierte Personen fungieren, die auf der Suche nach weiblichen Akteurinnen dieses Bereiches sind. Die Datenbank erhebt dabei keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, sondern spiegelt die von Ars Electronica archivierten Daten wieder. Sie soll einen ersten Überblick bieten und Anhaltspunkte für die weitere Recherche schaffen. Als aktiver Partner verschiedener schulischer und universitärer Programmen zur Förderung von Frauen in Technologie und Wissenschaft möchte Ars Electronica mit diesem Projekt einen Beitrag dazu leisten, dass in der Medienkunst tätige Frauen von der Öffentlichkeit mehr wahrgenommen werden, neue Vorbilder entstehen können und junge Mädchen und Frauen dazu ermutigt werden, in diesen noch immer männerdominierten Fachgebieten tätig zu werden.

Women in Media Arts ist derzeit noch im Entstehen und wird laufend upgedatet. Das Projekt ist mit dem Beginn des Ars Electronica Festival, 8. September 2016, über das Onlinearchiv von Ars Electronica abrufbar.

Das Projekt wurde vom Bundeskanzleramt Österreich gefördert.

Bundeskannzleramt Österreich - Logo

Fascinating Festival

Laufzeit: 01/2014-12/2014

Das Ars Electronica Festival ist seit 1979 Treffpunkt für Vordenker und innovative, experimentierfreudige Künstler im Bereich der Medienkunst. Anhand dieser Persönlichkeiten und ihrer Projekte soll die Entwicklung und Vorreiterrolle des Festivals gezeigt werden. Grundvoraussetzung hierfür ist die nachhaltige Sicherung und Konservierung des zugrundeliegenden Dokumentationsmaterials. Dafür wurde eine Recherche im bestehenden Archivsystem, in Programmheften und in Festivalkatalogen durchgeführt, und die Metadaten ergänzt und verifiziert. Dieser erste Meilenstein ist die Grundlage für eine geplante Webseite zur Festival-Geschichte.

Dieses Vorhaben wird durch die Museumsförderung des bm:ukk gefördert.

Talks & Lectures

Laufzeit: 01/2013-12/2013
TalksLectures

Im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festivals finden seit 1979 Symposien, Vorträge, Diskussionen und Präsentationen internationaler Gäste aus den Bereichen Medienkunst, Wissenschaft, Forschung, Medientheorie und Gesellschaft in Linz statt. Dank dem ORF als engagierten Mitveranstalter wurde bereits in den frühen Jahren außergewöhnlich viel aufgezeichnet. Zudem liegt viel Material vor, das während der Festivalzeit via Videodokumentationen entstanden ist – die Bandbreite der Formate reicht dabei von M2 über VHS, IMX und DVCam bis hin zu den neuesten Formaten der heutigen Zeit.

Ziel des neuesten Projekts des Archivs ist es, aus diesem historischen Abriss an Wissen und Diskussionsbeiträgen eine umfassende Sammlung mit dem Titel „Talks & Lectures“ zu erstellen und das zugrunde liegende Material zu konservieren, zu inventarisieren und nachhaltig zu sichern. Digitalisierte und editierte Beiträge werden nach Abschluss des Projekts im Online Archiv in der neuen Rubrik „Talks & Lectures“ abrufbar sein: http://talksandlectures.aec.at

Dieses Vorhaben wird durch die Museumsförderung des bm:ukk gefördert.

Digitising Contemporary Art (DCA)

Laufzeit: 01/2011-06/2013

Das Projekt DCA möchte die Online-Präsenz von zeitgenössischer Kunst als essentiellen Ausdruck und wichtigen Baustein einer europäischen Kultur erhöhen und das Interesse der Allgemeinheit durch eine stärkere Präsenz auf dem Portal Europeana fördern.

Durch Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission und das Engagement von 25 Partnern sollen qualitativ hochwertige digitale Reproduktionen entstehen und deren Langzeitarchivierung gesichert werden.

Das Ars Electronica Archiv leistet einen substantiellen Beitrag zu diesem Projekt durch die Digitalisierung und Bereitstellung von rund 3280 Digitalisaten mit Metadaten von 1878 Preisträgern des Prix Ars Electronica. Der Kulturpool – Österreichs Portal zu Kunst, Kultur und Bildung – fungiert hierbei als Partner und zentraler österreichischer Datenlieferant für Europeana.

http://www.digitisingcontemporaryart.eu/
Europeana
Kulturpool

Aufarbeitung des analogen fotografischen Bestands zum Prix

Laufzeit: 01/2012-12/2012

Schwerpunkt ist die Inventarisierung, Konservierung und Digitalisierung von analogem Fotobestand zum Prix Ars Electronica von 1987-1999.

Ziel ist die Lagerung der fotografischen Materialien unter konservatorischen Gesichtspunkten, sowie die selektive Digitalisierung fehlender Inhalte. Das Hauptziel nach Abschluss des Projekts ist es, den gesamten fotografischen Bestand für Lehre und Forschung zugänglich zu machen.

Überblick über den Bestand, der im Projekt aufgearbeitet wird:
• Fotografische Sammlung LIVA (Linzer Veranstaltungsgesellschaft MbH)
• Prix Sammlung des ORF
• Fotografische Sammlung Werkdokumentation/Ausstellungen

Dieses Vorhaben wird durch die Museumsförderung des bm:ukk gefördert.

Konservierung und Inventarisierung analoger Fotomedien

Laufzeit: 01/2011-12/2011

Aufarbeitung des kulturellen Erbes aus der Frühzeit der Ars Electronica: Fotografische Sammlungen von LIVA und ORF.
Ziel ist die Lagerung der fotografischen Materialien unter konservatorischen Gesichtspunkten, sowie die selektive Digitalisierung fehlender Inhalte.

Dieses Vorhaben wird durch die Museumsförderung des bm:ukk gefördert.