About

What is Ars Electronica?

Art, technology, society. Since 1979, Ars Electronica has sought out interlinkages and congruities, causes and effects. The ideas circulating here are innovative, radical, eccentric in the best sense of that term. They influence our everyday life—our lifestyle, our way of life, every single day.

The Festival as proving ground, the Prix as competition honoring excellence, the Center as a year-‘round setting for presentation & interaction, and the Futurelab as in-house R&D facility extend their feelers throughout the realms of science and research, art and technology. Ars Electronica’s four divisions inspire one another and put futuristic visions to the test in a unique, creative feedback loop. It’s an integrated organism continuously reinventing itself.

Center – The Museum, Presentation and Interaction

The Center is the Museum of the Future—the place where all the diverse blends of artistic genres, scientific domains and technological directions are displayed and processed. Biotechnology and genetic engineering, neurology, robotics, prosthetics and media art are juxtaposed here on equal terms and form experimental arrays conducive to testing ways in which we might be interacting and communicating with our surroundings and other human beings in the very near future, and getting an impression of what these changes will mean for us and our society. All exhibitions focus on issues having to do with how people can deal with their environment, and offer a variety of perspectives on our nature, our origins and our world. An extensive set of methodological tools is available to provide visitors with multifarious approaches to and ways of looking at the challenges posed by everyday life. Here, the emphasis isn’t just on interaction with exhibits on display; it’s on participation. The exhibitions are continuously being reworked and updated. What you won’t find here is a bunch of “Do Not Touch” signs; you’re cordially invited to enjoy a hands-on experience.

Festival – The Experimental Setting

Once a year, Ars Electronica invites artists, scientists and researchers from all over the world to a conclave in Linz to confront a specific, interdisciplinary theme in the context of speeches, workshops, exhibitions and symposia. Each year’s festival is dedicated to a different issue, and the formats of the various approaches to it are the very opposite of sacrosanct. This is a setting for experimentation, evaluation and reinvention, for the search for that which advances the betterment of human society, whereby the provenance of whatever that might be isn’t the least bit relevant.

Prix Ars Electronica – The Competition

Pixar in 1987, Wikipedia in 2004, Wikileaks in 2009—what all three have in common is being honored by Prix Ars Electronica and then proceeding to create worldwide sensations. The Prix Ars Electronica is our international trend barometer, constantly on the lookout for what’s new & exciting, what’s radically different, what’s making an impact right now. Innovation receives support; developments are showcased. The competition’s categories are defined broadly, and by no means restricted to media art. Jurors make wide-ranging forays across the entire spectrum of technological fields in their quest to spotlight the ideas of tomorrow.

Futurelab – Research & Development

The Futurelab staff includes experts in a wide array of disciplines at work on ideas that will exert a powerful effect on our future. Media art, architecture, design, interactive exhibitions, virtual reality and real-time graphics make up the Futurelab’s inspiration pool. Here, innovative people reconfigure available knowledge, build bridges to art, and come up with concepts designed to facilitate our interaction with the world of today and tomorrow.

An Enterprise of the City of Linz

Ars Electronica Linz GmbH is an enterprise of the City of Linz. The Festival premiered in 1979. Ars Electronica Linz GmbH was incorporated in 1995; since then, it has been responsible for organizing and producing the Ars Electronica Festival and the Prix Ars Electronica, as well as for operating the Ars Electronica Center and the Ars Electronica Futurelab. Funding is provided by the City of Linz, the Province of Upper Austria and the Republic of Austria. Ars Electronica Linz GmbH is administered jointly by Artistic Director Gerfried Stocker and Financial Director Diethard Schwarzmair.

About

Was ist die Ars Electronica?

Kunst, Technologie, Gesellschaft. Seit 1979 sucht die Ars Electronica nach Verbindungen und Überschneidungen, nach Ursachen und Auswirkungen. Innovativ, radikal, exzentrisch im besten Sinn sind die Ideen, die hier verarbeitet werden. Sie beeinflussen unseren Alltag, unsere Leben, jeden Tag.

Das Festival als Testumgebung, der Prix als Wettbewerb für die besten Köpfe, das Center als ganzjährige Präsentations- und Interaktionsplattform und das Futurelab als Forschungs- und Entwicklungszelle strecken ihre Fühler aus, in Richtung Wissenschaft und Forschung, Kunst und Technologie. Diese 4 Säulen der Ars Electronica inspirieren einander und stellen in einem einzigartigen Kreativkreislauf Visionen auf die Probe. Ein verschränkter Organismus, der sich ständig neu erfindet.

Center – Das Museum, Präsentation und Interaktion

Das Center ist das Museum der Zukunft, in dem allerlei Verschmelzungen verschiedenster Kunst-, Wissenschafts- und Technologierichtungen gezeigt und bearbeitet werden. Bio- und Gentechnik, Neurologie, Robotik, Prothetik und Medienkunst tummeln sich hier gleichberechtigt und bilden Versuchsanordnungen, in denen ausprobiert werden kann, wie wir vielleicht morgen schon mit unserer Umgebung und anderen Menschen umgehen und kommunizieren werden und was diese Veränderung für uns und unsere Gesellschaft bedeuten. Alle Ausstellungen sind auf die Frage ausgerichtet, wie der Mensch mit seiner Umgebung umgehen kann und bieten unterschiedlichste Perspektiven auf unsere Natur, unsere Ursprünge, unsere Gegenwart. Ein umfangreicher methodischer Werkzeugkasten steht bereit, um verschiedene Blickwinkel und Perspektiven auf die Herausforderungen unseres Alltags zu öffnen. Dabei steht nicht nur die Interaktion mit den Exponaten im Fokus, sondern auch die Partizipation. Die Ausstellungen unterliegen einem ständigen Wandel, denn hier ist berühren nicht verboten, sondern ausdrücklich erwünscht.

Festival – Die Testumgebung

Einmal im Jahr ruft die Ars Electronica Künstlerinnen und Künstler, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der ganzen Welt nach Linz, um in Vorträgen, Workshops, Ausstellungen und Symposien ein bestimmtes Thema disziplinenübergreifend zu bearbeiten. Die konkrete Fragestellung ist bei jedem Festival eine andere, Formate nicht in Stein gemeisselt. Hier wird ausprobiert, bewertet, neu erfunden, nach dem gesucht, was uns Menschen als Gesellschaft ein Stück weiterbringt, und es ist egal, aus welcher Ecke dieses Etwas stammt.

Prix Ars Electronica – Der Wettbewerb

Pixar 1987, Wikipedia 2004, Wikileaks 2009, sie alle haben eines gemeinsam: Sie wurden beim Prix Ars Electronica ausgezeichnet und sorgten wenig später weltweit für Furore. Der Prix Ars Electronica ist das Trendbarometer der Ars Electronica, immer auf der Suche nach Spannendem, Radikalem, Veränderndem. Innovation wird unterstützt, Entwicklung sichtbar machen, die Kategorien des Wettbewerbs sind weit gesteckt und beschränken sich nicht nur auf die Medienkunst, sondern suchen darüber hinaus in verschiedenen technologiebezogenen Disziplinen nach den Ideen von Morgen.

Futurelab – Forschung und Entwicklung

Im Futurelab arbeiten Expertinnen und Experten aus verschiedensten Disziplinen an den Ideen, die unsere Zukunft mitbestimmen. Medienkunst, Architektur, Design, Interaktive Ausstellungen, Virtual Reality, Echtzeitgrafik bilden hier den Inspirationspool, in dem vorhandenes Wissen neu arrangiert, die Brücke zur Kunst geschlagen wird und Konzepte entstehen, die uns den Umgang mit der Welt von heute und von morgen erleichtert.

Ein Unternehmen der Stadt Linz

Die Ars Electronica Linz GmbH ist ein Teil der Unternehmensgruppe Stadt Linz. Das erste Festival fand 1979 statt, 1995 wurde die Ars Electronica Linz GmbH gegründet und ist seitdem für die Organisation und Durchführung des Ars Electronica Festival und des Prix Ars Electronica verantwortlich sowie für die Betriebsführung des Ars Electronica Center und des Ars Electronica Futurelab. Subventionsgeber sind neben der Stadt Linz das Land Oberösterreich und die Republik Österreich. Geleitet wird die Ars Electronica Linz GmbH von Gerfried Stocker als künstlerischer und Diethard Schwarzmair als kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer.