History

Launched in September 1979, Ars Electronica rapidly achieved a level of success that attracted worldwide attention. ART, TECHNOLOGY and SOCIETY remain the philosophy of this platform. Its specific orientation and long-term continuity make it internationally unique.

1979 / ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL

It all began in September 1979 when the very first ARS ELECTRONICA was staged. Initially a biennial event, the FESTIVAL has been held annually since 1986 and each one has focused on a specific, timely theme. In this growth phase, two factors were key determinants of the FESTIVAL’s subsequent development: on one hand, establishing a solid regional basis by producing large-scale open-air projects like the annual Klangwolke in Linz’s downtown riverside park and the Stahloper on the Main Square; on the other hand, establishing an international profile by collaborating with world-renowned artists, scientists, and experts—for instance, by hosting the first Sky Art Conference held outside the USA. Read more

1987 / PRIX ARS ELECTRONICA

The international notoriety that Ars Electronica garnered as the first conclave of its kind was taken to the next level in 1987 with the premiere of the PRIX ARS ELECTRONICA, a yearly competition in several categories that received submissions from around the world and quickly made a name for itself as the trend barometer in the global media art scene. Read more

1996 / ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER & ARS ELECTRONICA FUTURELAB

The next milestone was reached in 1996 with the opening of the first ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER, a year-round platform for presentation and production. The facility soon became an integral part of Linz’s urban cultural landscape and its bold modern architecture a highlight of the downtown cityscape. Accompanying the debut of the Museum of the Future was the setup of the ARS ELECTRONICA FUTURELAB, a prototype media art lab that was originally conceived to produce infrastructure and content for the CENTER and FESTIVAL but has become increasingly active in joint ventures with leading universities and private sector R&D facilities. Read more

2009 / ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER new

The latest chapter in the history of Ars Electronica opened in 2009. During the lead-in to Linz’s year-long stint as European Capital of Culture, the CENTER was architecturally enhanced and reoriented with respect to both content and presentation. In going about this, the principle of interaction was expanded into comprehensive participation. In designing exhibits and getting material across, the accent is placed on the shared presence of artistic and scientific pursuits. The substantive focus is on the life sciences. Read more

FOUR DIVISIONS

Ars Electronica’s four elements—the FESTIVAL, the PRIX, the CENTER and the FUTURELAB—provide it with a well-balanced structure that is conducive to its international orientation while still enabling it to meet the needs of the local community. Thus, more than any other institution, Ars Electronica represents a comprehensive approach to confronting techno-cultural phenomena.

Geschichte

Im September 1979 gestartet, entwickelte sich Ars Electronica binnen kurzem zu einer weltweit beachteten Erfolgsstory. KUNST, TECHNOLOGIE und GESELLSCHAFT lautet bis heute die Philosophie dieser in ihrer spezifischen Ausrichtung und langjährigen Kontinuität einzigartigen Plattform.

1979 / ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL

Den Anfang nahm alles im September 1979, als das allererste ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL über die Bühne ging. Zunächst im biennalen Rhytmus veranstaltet, wird das FESTIVAL ab 1986 jedes Jahr und dabei stets an einem anderen Thema ausgerichtet. In dieser Aufbauphase sind zwei Faktoren für die weitere Entwicklung maßgeblich: einerseits die regionale Verankerung des FESTIVALs durch großangelegte Open Air Projekte, wie die jährliche Klangwolke im Donaupark oder die Linzer Stahloper auf dem Hauptplatz, andererseits die internationale Positionierung durch die Zusammenarbeit mit KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und ExpertInnen wie bei der ersten Sky Art Conference außerhalb der USA. Read more

1987 / PRIX ARS ELECTRONICA

Das internationale Aufsehen, das Ars Electronica als erste Veranstaltung ihrer Art auf sich gelenkt hatte, steigerte sich durch den 1987 ins Leben gerufenen PRIX ARS ELECTRONICA noch erheblich: ein jährlicher, weltweit ausgeschriebende Wettbewerb, der binnen kurzem als der Trendbarometer der internationalen Medienkunstszene etabliert. Read more

1996 / ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER & ARS ELECTRONICA FUTURELAB

Den nächsten Meilenstein brachte das Jahr 1996: Mit dem ersten ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER wird eine ganzjährige Plattform der Präsentation und Kreation geschaffen, die sich als integraler Bestandteil des Linzer Stadtbilds und -lebens etabliert. Parallel zum “Museum der Zukunft” wird das ARS ELECTRONICA FUTURELAB ans Netz genommen – ein prototypisches Medienkunstlabor, dessen kreativer Output bald nicht mehr nur im CENTER und FESTIVAL aufgeht, sondern immer häufiger in Kooperationen mit führenden Universitäten und privatwirtschaftlichen Forschungsabteilungen. Read more

2009 / ARS ELECTRONICA CENTER neu

2009 wurde das bislang jüngste Kapitel in der Geschichte von Ars Electronica aufgeschlagen: Im Vorfeld von “Linz 2009 Kulturhauptstadt Europas” wird das CENTER baulich erweitert und inhaltlich wie inszenatorisch neu ausgerichtet. Das Prinzip der Interaktion wurde dabei zur umfassenden Partizipation erweitert und der gemeinsamen Präsenz von Kunst und Wissenschaft eine thematisch wie inszenatorisch tragende Rolle beigemessen. Inhaltlich rückten die LifeSciences in den Mittelpunkt der Aufmerksamkeit. Read more

VIER SÄULEN

Mit diesen vier Säulen – dem FESTIVAL, dem PRIX, dem CENTER und FUTURELAB – verfügt Ars Electronica über eine tragfähige Struktur, die sowohl ihre internationale Ausrichtung als auch lokale Verankerung optimal befördert. Mehr als jede andere Institution repräsentiert Ars Electronica damit einen umfassenden Ansatz in der Auseinandersetzung mit techno-kulturellen Phänomenen.