Virtual Reality
FeatureFestivalRADICAL ATOMS

“RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time” was the theme of the Ars Electronica Festival staged September 8-12, 2016 at multiple locations in Linz. Conferences and speeches, exhibitions and projects, concerts and performances, animated films and awards ceremonies, guided tours and workshops. 85,000 visits and 534 events on five days, 842 participating artists & scientists from 50 countries. Here are some motifs conveying impressions of this year’s festival.

VOG_0064 - Kopie
FeatureFestivalFuturelabRADICAL ATOMS

Before the 100 Spaxels make their European public debut above the Danube on Saturday, September 10, 2016 just before the opening act of the Klangwolke, they’ll be subjected to a rigorous physical exam. The first two test flights already took place this week—the quadcopters lifted off from a secluded field in Mühlviertel, the rural area north of Linz, and put on quite a show (that not too many people got to see).

ESO Chile
FeatureResidencies

“We won’t soon be taking another trip so close to outer space!” Now, that sure hits the nail on the head as a succinct description of the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity this Residency provides. An artists’ collective—Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz and Sebastian Neitsch—got the nod from the European Digital Art & Science Network’s jury and departed for Chile in late May 2016 to get a close-up look at the European Southern Observatory’s (ESO) locations there and get acquainted with scientists on site. We accompanied them on their trip.

Virtual Reality
FeatureFestivalRADICAL ATOMS

„RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time„, so lautete der Titel des Ars Electronica Festival 2016, das von 8. bis 12. September 2016 an mehreren Locations in Linz stattfand. 85.000 Besuche an fünf Tagen, 842 KünstlerInnen, WissenschaflterInnen, DesignerInnen, TechnologInnen, IngenieurInnen, EntrepreneurInnen und Social Activists, 534 Veranstaltungen, Konferenzen und Vorträge, Ausstellungen und Projekte, Konzerte und Performances, Animationen und Preisverleihungen, Führungen und Workshops – das sind die besten Impressionen des Ars Electronica Festival 2016!

VOG_0064 - Kopie
FeatureFestivalFuturelabRADICAL ATOMS

Bevor die hundert Spaxels am Samstag, den 10. September 2016, vor der Klangwolke über der Donau ihre Europapremiere fliegen können, werden sie auf Herz und Niere geprüft. Diese Woche fanden bereits die ersten beiden Testflüge statt – von einem abgeschiedenen Feld im Mühlviertel starteten die hundert Drohnen in die Lüfte und boten, ganz unbemerkt, eine großartige Show.

ESO Chile
FeatureResidencies

„Näher an den Weltraum werden wir so schnell nicht kommen“ – besser kann man die Chance dieser Residency nicht zusammenfassen. Das KünstlerInnenkollektiv, bestehend aus Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz und Sebastian Neitsch, hat die Jury des European Digital Art & Science Network überzeugt und ist Ende Mai 2016 nach Chile aufgebrochen, um die Standorte der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) genauer zu erforschen und mit den WissenschaftlerInnen vor Ort ins Gespräch zu kommen. Wir haben sie bei ihrer Reise begleitet.