Noodle
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalResidencies

For her proposal to send a robot with artistic skills into outer space, robotics engineer Sarah Petkus was the recipient of an Honorary Mention from the 2016 art&science@ESA. In this interview, she talks about her plans for her upcoming residency at the European Space Agency (ESA) and the Ars Electronica Futurelab, about humane robots, and the essential elements that actually constitute a robot.

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Even if signals aren’t being received from the Schiaparelli Test Lander on that evening, we nevertheless had an absolutely fascinating time at the ESA Mission Control Centre in Darmstadt, where we followed the decisive moments of the Mars landing in the company of scientists and artist Aoife Van Linden Tol. Here, we present a few impressions of the journey.

Mars
Residencies

Are we alone in the universe? This is certainly a high-priority question on science’s agenda. Now, with a landing on Mars, humankind is taking another giant step towards answering it. Thomas Walloschek is an engineer with the European Space Agency (ESA). Following a recent nightshift in the ExoMars mission control room, he took some time out to give us a briefing about this project.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

The artists collective Quadrature began Part 2 of their art & science residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab a few days ago. The three artists spent the first part at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile in late May. To find out what they experienced, why they found everything there absurd and what they think about habitable exoplanets, read this interview.

Aoife van Linden Tol
FuturelabResidencies

Violent explosions are sources of particular fascination to artist Aoife Van Linden Tol. An art&science residency is giving her the opportunity to visit the European Space Agency (ESA) and Ars Electronica Futurelab to soak up a healthy dose of inspiration for her next project. In this interview, she talks about, among other things, the fact that there’s a lot more to explosions than destructive force.

4diagonal_886x574
FuturelabResidencies

“The Conduit” is part performance, part interactive installation that investigates social engagement and the consequences of speculative technological and political frameworks. Participants will negotiate an 8 bit simulation of the future and its effects on our everyday social interactions. The Society for Cultural Optimism has developed a framework for the creation of a future society, which ought to be established by the visitors of the Ars Electronica Deep Space 8K.

How Are You
FuturelabResidencies

Designer, artist and programmer Lauren McCarthy explores the structures and systems of social interaction, identity as well as self-presentation and the potential of technology of how it can influence the dynamics between those traits. During her Transmit³-Residency at the Queensland University of Technology, she wants to find out about the influence of Big Data on the togetherness in front of the large multimedia-display “The Cube”.

ESO Chile
FeatureResidencies

“We won’t soon be taking another trip so close to outer space!” Now, that sure hits the nail on the head as a succinct description of the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity this Residency provides. An artists’ collective—Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz and Sebastian Neitsch—got the nod from the European Digital Art & Science Network’s jury and departed for Chile in late May 2016 to get a close-up look at the European Southern Observatory’s (ESO) locations there and get acquainted with scientists on site. We accompanied them on their trip.

ExoMars Mission 2016
Residencies

Artists still have until June 20, 2016 to apply for a residency of several weeks duration at the technical center of the European Space Agency (ESA), where, in autumn of this year, they’ll be on hand to experience two spectacular missions: the landing of the Rosetta Space Probe and the ExoMars Mission. In this interview, Senior Science Advisor Mark McCaughrean gives us some insights into the ESA’S very promising activities.

BeBot_brightBG_red
FuturelabResidencies

Nanoparticles have become an essential part in the food chain as they provide better fluid properties, color and preservation. Science classifies them at least as critical. In contrast, nanomachines, or so-called nanobots are applied in the cure of cancer. In the course of the third SPARKS-residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab, Jakob and Lea Illera have developed the medical gain further in the guise of nanobots. They function as messengers to block the appetite for unhealthy food and should rid the world of problems from obesity.

Green Curtains
FuturelabResidencies

The artist and second SPARKS-resident, Lucy McRae, is a representative of the genre Science Fiction. She came to Linz in order to shoot scenes for her film-project which is her approach to the topic of “Responsible Research and Innovation” – the research objective of the SPARKS-program. Compared to her predecessor, Anouk Wipprecht, who built a fashionable wearable, the Australian body architect Lucy McRae focuses on the possibility of adapting the human body to extraordinary situations.

La Silla
FuturelabResidencies

Night after night, the European Southern Observatory’s huge telescopes in Chile peer deeply into the unknown expanses of the universe. Fernando Comerón, the ESO’s on-site chief-of-staff, recently talked to us about possible ways in which art and science can engage in mutual inspiration at these locations and what this postulated ninth planet in our solar system is all about.

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Selbst wenn die Signale des Schiaparelli-Test-Landers an diesem Abend ausgeblieben sind, war es doch eine sehr spannende Zeit, die entscheidenden Schritte der Mission zum Mars vom ESA-Kontrollzentrum in Darmstadt aus gemeinsam mit den WissenschaftlerInnen und der Künstlerin Aoife Van Linden Tol mitzuverfolgen. Wir haben ein paar Impressionen dieser Reise zusammengestellt.

Mars
Residencies

Sind wir alleine in diesem Universum? Eine zentrale Frage, die sich die Wissenschaft ganz weit oben auf die Liste gesetzt hat und nun mit der Landung auf dem Mars versucht, der Antwort ein Stück weit näher zu rücken. Thomas Walloschek ist Ingenieur bei der ESA und hat sich nach seinem Nachtdienst im Kontrollraum die Zeit genommen, uns das Projekt ExoMars kurz vorzustellen.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

Vor einigen Tagen begann für das KünstlerInnenkollektiv Quadrature der zweite Teil ihrer art & science-Residency am Ars Electronica Futurelab. Der erste Teil brachte die drei KünstlerInnen Ende Mai nach Chile zur Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO). Was sie dort erlebten, warum sie dort alles absurd fanden und was sie über habitable Exoplaneten denken, erfahren Sie im Interview.

Aoife van Linden Tol
FuturelabResidencies

Es sind heftige Explosionen, die die Künstlerin Aoife Van Linden Tol besonders faszinieren. Im Rahmen der art&science-Residency erhält sie die Möglichkeit, die ESA sowie das Ars Electronica Futurelab zu besuchen, um dabei ausreichend Inspiration für ihr nächstes Projekt zu sammeln. Im Interview spricht sie unter anderem darüber, dass Explosionen weit mehr in sich tragen als die Macht der Zerstörung.

How Are You
FuturelabResidencies

Als Designerin, Künstlerin und Programmiererin erforscht Lauren McCarthy die Strukturen und Systeme sozialer Interaktion, Identität als auch Selbstdarstellung und das Potenzial von Technologie diese zu beeinflussen. Während ihrer Transmit³-Residency an der Queensland University of Technology möchte sie herausfinden, wie sich Big-Data auf das Miteinander um die Multimedia-Wand „The Cube“ auswirkt.

ESO Chile
FeatureResidencies

„Näher an den Weltraum werden wir so schnell nicht kommen“ – besser kann man die Chance dieser Residency nicht zusammenfassen. Das KünstlerInnenkollektiv, bestehend aus Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz und Sebastian Neitsch, hat die Jury des European Digital Art & Science Network überzeugt und ist Ende Mai 2016 nach Chile aufgebrochen, um die Standorte der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) genauer zu erforschen und mit den WissenschaftlerInnen vor Ort ins Gespräch zu kommen. Wir haben sie bei ihrer Reise begleitet.

ExoMars Mission 2016
Residencies

Noch bis 20. Juni 2016 können sich KünstlerInnen für eine mehrwöchige Residency im technischen Zentrum der ESA, der europäischen Weltraumbehörde, bewerben und dort im Herbst 2016 zwei spektakuläre Missionen live mitverfolgen: die Landungen der Rosetta-Sonde und der ExoMars-Mission. Mark McCaughrean, Senior Science Adivsor, gibt im Interview einen Einblick in die vielversprechenden Aktivitäten der ESA.

BeBot_brightBG_red
FuturelabResidencies

Nanopartikel stecken in vielen Lebensmitteln um deren Fließeigenschaften, Farbe und Haltbarkeit zu verbessern und werden von der Forschung als zumindest bedenklich eingestuft. Dagegen werden Nanoroboter in der Krebszellenforschung als Heilsbringer eingesetzt. Nun haben Jakob und Lea Illera im Zuge Ihrer SPARKS Residency den medizinischen Nutzgedanken weiter gesponnen, Nanoroboter als Botenstoffe für Appetitblocker auf ungesundes Essen einzusetzen, um so einem weltweit wachsenden Problem Herr zu werden: dem Übergewicht.

Green Curtains
FuturelabResidencies

Mit der zweiten SPARKS-Residency-Gewinnerin Lucy Mc Rae, kam eine Vertreterin des Science-Fiction-Genres für einen Filmdreh nach Linz. Anders als Anouk Wipprecht’s Annäherung an das Thema „Responsible Research and Innovation“ in Form eines Wearables, ist bei der australischen Körper-Architektin nicht nur die Form, sondern auch der Inhalt der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung ein komplett anderer.

Courtesy of Annouk Wipprecht
FuturelabResidencies

Die bekannte Fashion-Tech-Designerin hat die kommunikativen Aspekte ihrer Kleidung nun in ein Headset integriert, das die Form eines Einhorns hat. Während ihres Aufenthalts am Futurelab hat sie in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Team aus NeurowissenschaftlerInnen und ExpertInnen ein Accessoire kreiert, das die Beobachtungen der Trägerin oder des Trägers mittels EEG erfasst.

La Silla
FuturelabResidencies

Mit mehreren Teleskopgiganten blickt das europäische Forschungsinstitut ESO von Chile aus jede Nacht tief in die unbekannten Weiten des Universums. Fernando Comerón, Repräsentant der ESO-Vertretung in Chile, sprach mit uns über die Möglichkeiten, wie sich Kunst und Wissenschaft an diesen Orten gegenseitig inspirieren und was es auf sich hat mit dem neunten Planeten in unserem Sonnensystem.