ESOEin Satellit der Mission BepiColombo wird im Large Space Simulator der ESA getestet. Credit: ESA / Anneke Le Floc’h

Das Netzwerk

Gemeinsam mit sieben Kunst- und Kultureinrichtungen, der ESA (European Space Agency), dem CERN und der ESO (European Southern Observatory) startete Ars Electronica eine internationale Initiative: Das European Digital Art and Science Network eröffnet KünstlerInnen die Chance auf einen Aufenthalt bei der ESA, beim CERN, bei der ESO und am Ars Electronica Futurelab. Das „European Digital Art and Science Network” will wissenschaftliche Aspekte und Ideen mit den Ansätzen der digitalen Kunst verknüpfen. Interdisziplinarität, interkultureller Austausch und die Erschließung neuer Zielgruppen zählen dabei zu den erklärten Zielen. Ebenfalls im Fokus steht die Rolle der Kunst als Katalysator für gesellschaftliche Neuerungsprozesse: Indem sie Bilder und Geschichten rund um die Chancen und Risiken technologischer bzw. wissenschaftlicher Entwicklungen schaffen, haben KünstlerInnen maßgeblichen Anteil daran, auf welche Weise unsere Gesellschaft mit diesen Innovationen umgeht.

ESA–Residency Award 2016

Nach den drei ersten sehr erfolgreichen Kollaborationen im Rahmen des European Digital Art and Science Network können wir nun den wissenschaftlichen Partner für die vierte Residency präsentieren: die Europäische Weltraumorganisation (kurz: ESA). Die ESA wird interessierten KünstlerInnen drei einzigartige und außergewöhnliche Chancen bieten. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an alle interessierten KünstlerInnen, die sich im Rahmen einer Residency bei der ESA für neue Ideen und Projekte im Bereich der digitalen Künste wissenschaftlich inspirieren lassen möchten.

Einreichschluss: 6. Juni 2016 (23:59 UTC+1)




Quadrature


Quadrature gewinnen mehrwöchige ESO-Residency

Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz und Sebastian Neitsch (alle DE) bilden das KünstlerInnenkollektiv Quadrature und sind die GewinnerInnen des jüngsten Open Calls, der vom „European Digital Art & Science Network“ ausgeschrieben wurde. Im Laufe der nächsten Monate werden die drei KünstlerInnen nach Chile reisen und dort mehrere Wochen lang beim European Southern Observatory (ESO) zu Gast sein. Zweite Station ist dann das Linzer Ars Electronica Futurelab, mit dessen Unterstützung an einem konkreten Projekt gearbeitet wird. Das Ergebnis wird schließlich beim Ars Electronica Festival Anfang September erstmals präsentiert. Das KünstlerInnenkollektiv Quadrature besteht seit 2012, alle drei Mitglieder leben und arbeiten in Berlin. Der Fokus ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit liegt auf dem Schnittpunkt der physikalischen und der digitalen Welt, rund um Objekt und Code. Lesen Sie mehr über die KünstlerInnen…



semiconductorwinner


Semiconductor gewinnt Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award

161 Einreichungen aus 53 Ländern! Der Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award geht in diesem Jahr an Ruth Jarman und Joe Gerhardt, ein englisches Künstlerduo, das unter dem Namen Semiconductor auftritt. Den Gewinnerinnen und Gewinnern bietet CERN als internationales Kompetenzzentrum für physikalische Grundlagenforschung Raum für Inspiration und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten um neue künstlerische Ansätze zu entdecken und diese im Anschluss weiterzuentwickeln. Nach dem Aufenthalt am CERN folgt eine einmonatige Residency am Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz, welche die Umsetzung der am CERN generierten Ideen und Projekte zum Ziel hat. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Künstlerduo…



Maria Edwards


María Ignacia Edwards tritt Residency bei der ESO an

Die Gewinnerin des Open Calls des Art & Science Networks steht fest! María Ignacia Edwards wurde unter mehr als 140 Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern aus insgesamt 40 Ländern ausgewählt und tritt eine Residency bei der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) in Chile und beim Ars Electronica Futurelab in Österreich an. Ein Portrait von María Ignacia Edwards finden Sie unter Artists, ein Interview mit ihr auf unserem Blog.

ESOTesting a satellite of the BepiColombo mission at the ESA Large Space Simulator. Credit: ESA / Anneke Le Floc’h

The Network

In cooperation with seven artistic & cultural institutions as well as ESA–European Space Agency, CERN and the ESO–European Southern Observatory, Ars Electronica launched the European Digital Art and Science Network, an international initiative offering artists the chance to spend several weeks at the CERN, the ESO and the Ars Electronica Futurelab. The network aims to link up scientific aspects and ideas with approaches used in digital art. Fostering interdisciplinary work and intercultural exchange as well as gaining access to new target audiences are among its declared goals. There is also strong emphasis on art’s role as a catalyst in processes of social renewal. By creating images and narratives dealing with the potential risks and rewards inherent in technological and scientific development, artists exert an important influence on how our society comes to terms with these innovations.

ESA Residency Award 2016

After three successful cycles of the art&science Residency Award, we are very happy to present our new scientific partner for the fourth residency in the realm of the European Digital Art and Science Network: ESA – the European Space Agency. The residency will again be part of the „European Digital Art and Science Network“ initiated by Ars Electronica and seven cultural partners throughout Europe (Center for the promotion of science, RS – DIG Gallery, SK – Zaragoza City of Knowledge Foundation, ES – Kapelica Gallery / Kersnikova, SI – GV Art, UK – Laboral, ES – Science Gallery, IE) with the support of the Creative Europe Program of the EU. Artists from any country are invited to apply for a residency at the ESA. This call is open for digital artists, innovative concepts and ideas in the field of art, science and technology.

Submission deadline: June 6, 2016 (11:59 PM UTC+1)




Quadrature


Quadrature is the Recipient of a Multi-week Residency at the ESO

The members of the Quadrature artists’ collective, Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz and Sebastian Neitsch (all DE), are the recipients of this year’s European Digital Art and Science Network residency. Following their successful application in response to the network’s open call, the three artists will soon be traveling to Chile to spend several weeks at the European Southern Observatory (ESO). The second stop on their itinerary is Linz, where the Ars Electronica Futurelab’s staff will provide them with support as they go about developing the project that emerges from their stay in Chile. This work will premiere at the Ars Electronica Festival in early September. The Quadrature artists’ collective was founded in 2012. All three members live and work in Berlin. The focus of their artistic endeavors is on the interface of the physical and digital worlds, a domain populated by objects and code. Read more about the artists…



semiconductorwinner


Semiconductor wins Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award

161 projects from 53 countries! Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt, two English artists collaborating under the name Semiconductor, are this year’s recipients of the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award. The recipients of the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award do their residency at CERN, the world’s foremost facility for fundamental physics research. This program is meant to be a source of inspiration, a means of discovering new artistic approaches and an opportunity to develop them. The artists’ stay at CERN is followed by a one-month residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz, where they receive expert support in bringing the ideas generated at CERN to fruition. Read more about the artists…



Maria Edwards


María Edwards is the first recipient of the residency at ESO

The first recipient of the residency staged under the auspices of the Art & Science Network has been announced. María Ignacia Edwards was selected from among the 140+ applicants from 40 countries who responded to the open call. She will be spending her residency at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile and at the Ars Electronica Futurelab in Austria. Find a portrait of María Ignacia Edwards HERE and an interview with her on our blog.