Ars Electronica Animation Festival

A colorfully diverse selection of recent works of computer animation, impressive film productions and cutting-edge visual effects await you at the Ars Electronica Animation Festival. Get ready to enjoy about 100 clips from films submitted for prize consideration to the Prix Ars Electronica, a competition in which artistic originality counts just as much as technical mastery.

The Prix’s Computer Animation/Film/VFX category annually honors outstanding achievements in these fields. Prizewinners range from indie artistic or scientific efforts all the way to high-end commercial productions in the film, advertising and entertainment industries. The Prix Ars Electronica’s Golden Nica grand prize is one of the world’s most coveted awards for creativity and pioneering spirit in the use of digital media.

Presentation Times:
Saturday, Sunday and public holiday 10 AM – 6 PM

Exhibits

goldennica

Golden Nicas

The “Computer Animation/Film/ VFX” category has been part of the Prix Ars Electronica since its very inception. It recognizes excellence in independent work in the arts and sciences as well as in high-end commercial productions in the film, advertising and entertainment industries. Here, artistic originality counts just as much as masterful technical achievement. Watch all winning animations since 1987!

Read More Golden Nicas
younganimations

Young Animations

Witty, off-beat, subtle, tragic and serious animated works produced by young people under 19 years of age. Gifted young filmmakers submit their cinematic creations to u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD.

Read More Young Animations
memories

Memories

These films belonging to the category “Memories” serve as proxies as it were for the visualizations of worlds of feeling and remembrance, a discipline in which animation truly shines.

Read More Memories
experimental

Experimental

The experimental approach in various forms and genres can apply to any element—to the storytelling itself, to new forms of production in the blog format, to serial animation produced by several designers, or to object-space interaction. A collection of narrative films, abstract works, and documentaries.

Read More Experimental
musicimages

Music & Images

Watch the various modes of interplaying music and images—including experimental works, classic examples of visual music, and conventional music videos that are generated with the use of tools ranging from high- to low-tech.

Read More Music & Images
narration

Narration

The short narrative film has become a mainstay in the field of computer animation. Not-your-everyday love stories, reflections that lead an insistent life of their own, a pushy blue crocodile as flatmate—computer animations let storytellers give free rein to their imagination!

Read More Narration
mentalstates

Mental States

Remembrances of childhood, issues defying closure, and disturbances— all the films describe sensitive and highly personal mental states and give accounts of people in states of acute emergency. A thematically very specially defined compilation of storytelling.

Read More Mental States
latenite

Late Nite

Sexual obsessions, violent fantasies, blood, death and persecution—this is a lineup for after dark and for viewers with strong nerves! (Please note: Not appropriate for children and youth under the age of 16).

Read More Late Nite
advertisement

Advertisement & VFX

Computer animation and VFX have long since become part of everyday life in advertising, the film business and the booming game industry. A growing number of alternatives have emerged beside major studios. Open source and Creative Commons are the bright spots here.

Read More Advertisement & VFX
expanded

Expanded Digital Animation

3D visualizations in interior spaces and on building façades as well as in performative settings have solidly established themselves in the field of computer animation. High-performance projection technology and software packages have made it possible to bring excellent motion pictures into the public sphere.

Read More Expanded Digital Animation

Ars Electronica Animation Festival

Eine abwechslungsreiche Auslese von aktuellen Computeranimationen, beeindruckenden Filmproduktionen und visuellen Effekten der Gegenwart erwartet Sie beim Ars Electronica Animation Festival. Sehen Sie im Seminarraum (Ebene -1) rund hundert Filmausschnitte aus den Einreichungen zum Prix Ars Electronica 2013, wo künstlerische Originalität genauso viel zählt wie exzellente technische Leistung.

Einmal im Jahr werden herausragende Beiträge aus unabhängigen Kunst- und Wissenschaftswerken sowie aus kommerziellen High-End-Produktionen der Film-, Werbe- und Unterhaltungsindustrie in der Kategorie „Computer Animation/Film/VFX“ gewürdigt. Mit seiner begehrenswerten Goldenen Nica gehört der Prix Ars Electronica weltweit zu einer der wichtigsten Auszeichnungen für Kreativität und Pioniergeist im digitalen Medienbereich.

Diese Tabelle, inklusive der Beschreibungen zu den einzelnen Kategorien, können Sie auch als PDF-Datei herunterladen.

Exponate

goldennica

Golden Nicas

Von Anfang an ist die Kategorie „Computer Animation/Film/VFX“ Bestandteil des Prix Ars Electronica. Es werden herausragende Leistungen in unabhängigen Kunst- und Wissenschaftswerken sowie in kommerziellen High-End-Produktionen der Film-, Werbe- und Unterhaltungsindustrie ausgezeichnet. Hier zählt künstlerische Originalität genauso viel wie exzellente technische Leistung. Sehen Sie eine Zusammenstellung aller bisher ausgezeichneten Animationen seit 1987!

Weiterlesen
younganimations

Young Animations

Witzige, schräge, subtile, tragische und ernste Animationen, von jungen Menschen unter 19 Jahren produziert. Jedes Jahr reichen begabte junge FilmemacherInnen ihre Animationen bei „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ ein.

Weiterlesen
memories

Memories

Die Filme der Kategorie „Memories“ stehen gewissermaßen als Vertreter für die Visualisierung von Gefühls- und Erinnerungswelten – eine Paradedisziplin in der Animation.

Weiterlesen
experimental

Experimental

Der experimentelle Charakter in unterschiedlichen Formen und Genres betrifft das Storytelling ebenso wie neue Produktionsformen im Blogformat, als Kettenanimation produziert von mehreren GestalterInnen oder als Objekt-Raum-Interaktion. Eine Sammlung an narrativen, abstrakten und dokumentarischen Filmen.

Weiterlesen
musicimages

Music & Images

Sehen Sie die unterschiedlichsten Spielarten im Zusammenwirken von Musik und Bild – von experimentellen Arbeiten über Beispiele aus dem klassischen Bereich der Visual Music bis hin zu gängigen Musikvideos, die auf Lowtech-Hilfsmittel, aber auch auf Hightech setzen.

Weiterlesen
narration

Narration

Der narrative Kurzfilm gewinnt in der Computeranimation zunehmend an Bedeutung. Nicht alltägliche Liebesgeschichten, Spiegelbilder, die ein Eigenleben führen, ein aufdringliches blaues Krokodil als Mitbewohner – Computeranimationen setzen dem Geschichtenerzählen keine Grenzen!

Weiterlesen
mentalstates

Mental States

Erinnerungen an die Kindheit, Unbewältigtes und Entwicklungsstörungen – die Filme beschreiben sensibel und höchst persönlich mentale Zustände und erzählen von Menschen in Ausnahmezuständen. Eine thematisch spezielle Zusammenstellung von Storytelling.

Weiterlesen
latenite

Late Nite

Sexuelle Obsessionen, Gewaltvorstellungen, Blut, Tod und Verfolgung – das ist das Programm zur späten Stunde, starke Nerven sind Voraussetzung! (Hinweis: Nicht geeignet für Kinder und Jugendliche unter 16 Jahren.)

Weiterlesen
advertisement

Advertisement & VFX

Computeranimation und VFX sind längst Alltag in der Werbung, im Filmbusiness und in der boomenden Game-Industrie. Zu den großen Studios gesellen sich mittlerweile immer mehr Alternativen rund um Open Source und Creative Commons.

Weiterlesen
expanded

Expanded Digital Animation

3-D-Visualisierung in Räumen und an städtischen Gebäuden wie auch im performativen Bereich ist seit längerer Zeit ein Thema in der Computeranimation. Leistungsstarke Projektionstechnologie und Softwarepakete bringen das bewegte Bild immer öfter in den öffentlichen Raum.

Weiterlesen