Out of Control—What the Web Knows about You

We communicate, we store and read, we watch and listen, we publish and share. Every day, we peer repeatedly into small and large screens, carry a mobile device in our pocket or wear it on our wrist, and use it to get about online. On the go with a smartphone in the bus or streetcar, at the computer in our workplace, in an internet café at the beach, or with our notebook in the privacy of our own home—the net accompanies us through life and effects how we live. And with all of our digital comings and goings, we leave behind traces, whether we do it knowingly or inadvertently.

Regardless of whether we’re engaging in interpersonal communication in social networks, inputting queries into search engines, sending/receiving SMSs and e-mails, checking out websites or uploading photos, displaying a retailer’s loyalty program card or remote-regulating our home heating system, getting hooked up in the internet of things with objects (no matter how unprepossessing) or being filmed by a game console, entering a travel destination or taking our own pulse, stepping onto the scale or keeping count of our paces—we’re surrounded by digital data, and the sources at which these data originate are becoming ever more numerous.

Big Data—huge and complex quantities of information are combed through, analyzed and combined with each other at tremendous speed. Clouds—in enormous server farms, we store our personal data in order to be able to access it from any location. Government agencies, corporations and others insinuate themselves into this surfeit of information—they know what we like, where we’re located, who we are. Surveillance cameras recognize human faces, sensors register our actions, systems crack our passwords in fractions of a second and abduct our digital self.

The internet poses quite a challenge when it comes to protecting every individual’s privacy. The artists whose works are on display in this exhibition aim to make us cognizant of what direction we’re heading in this digital world, and to point out what we perhaps haven’t considered while we’re enjoying the benefits of being linked up in a worldwide network. It’s up to us to see to it that all of this doesn’t get out of control.

An exhibition produced jointly by the Ars Electronica Center and the Department of Secure Information Systems at Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences’ Hagenberg Campus.

Exhibits

Can you hear me_590x350

„Can you hear me?“

Edward Snowden’s disclosures shined the spotlight of public attention on, among other locations, Berlin’s federal government district, revealing it to be the site of extremely intense surveillance and espionage by intelligence agencies. So this is precisely where Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud wanted to set up a temporary installation on the subject of power and powerlessness in the Digital Age.

Read More „Can you hear me?“
Obscurity-Mugshot.com-N1-frontal

Obscurity

For Obscurity Paolo Cirio cloned mug shots of over 15 million U.S. prison inmates from various websites and then disguised the photos. An algorithm systematically scrambled the names, while other appurtenant information such as age, race, location, and charges was kept accurate.

Read More Obscurity
loopholeforall

Loophole for All

by Paolo Cirio
The artist Paolo Cirio thinks that everyone should have the opportunity to take advantage of exactly the same tax reduction strategies that major corporations are exploiting.

Read More Loophole for All
yut

Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)

A text message is printed and seemingly irretrievably destroyed before the eyes of visitors – but on any digital node, that the message has passed, there was the option to save a copy of it.

Read More Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)
timeline

Internet Timeline

An extensive timeline installed in the Ars Electronica Center elaborates on the history and development of the World Wide Web. The graphics range from a depiction of the Unix multiuser operating system developed at Bell Laboratories in 1963 to the revelations by the former CIA staffer Edward Snowden concerning the numerous surveillance programs being conducted by American and British intelligence agencies.

Read More Internet Timeline
europevsfacebook

Europe vs. Facebook

Austrian student Max Schrems is at the center of the “Europe versus Facebook” initiative that formed in August 2011. It demanded, pursuant to the EU’s data protection law, that Facebook reveal all information it had gathered about Max Schrems. A thorough and comprehensive analysis of all the categories in which Facebook stores data about individual users yields an extraordinarily detailed jigsaw puzzle composed of personal information that users willingly input themselves as well as what is gleaned behind the scenes by Facebook on its own.

Read More Europe vs. Facebook
facetofacebook

face to facebook

by Paolo Cirio, Alessandro Ludovico
Using a home-brew computer program, the artists harvested one million Facebook profiles, filtered them with facial recognition software, and then grouped them according to similarities of the data as well as the faces.

Read More face to facebook
handytracking

Handytracking

Malte Spitz is a member of the national committee of Germany’s Green Party and an outspoken opponent of telecommunications data retention. To show how far these legal provisions go to implement the permanent surveillance of respectable citizens not suspected of any crime, he sued to force T-Mobile to release the data about him that it had stored for the period August 2009 to February 2010.

Read More Handytracking

Außer Kontrolle – Was das Netz über dich weiß

Wir kommunizieren, wir speichern und lesen, wir schauen und hören, wir veröffentlichen und teilen. Jeden Tag blicken wir mehrmals auf kleine und große Bildschirme, tragen mobile Geräte in der Hosentasche oder am Handgelenk und bewegen uns damit durchs Netz. Unterwegs mit dem Smartphone in der Straßenbahn, mit dem Computer bei der Arbeit, im Internetcafé am Strand oder mit dem Notebook in den eigenen vier Wänden: Das Netz begleitet uns durch unser Leben und verändert es – und bei allen digitalen Schritten, die wir setzen, ob bewusst oder unbewusst, hinterlassen
wir Spuren.

Dabei ist es egal, ob wir in sozialen Netzwerken mit anderen Menschen in Kontakt treten, Suchmaschinen mit unseren Fragen füttern, SMS oder E-Mails versenden und empfangen, Websites betrachten oder Fotos hochladen, Kundenkarten zücken oder die Heizung aus der Ferne regeln, uns im Internet der Dinge mit noch so unscheinbaren Objekten vernetzen oder uns von einer Spielekonsole filmen lassen, ein Reiseziel eingeben oder den Puls messen, uns auf die Waage stellen oder die Schritte zählen lassen – wir sind von digitalen Daten umgeben, und die Quellen, an denen diese Daten entstehen, werden immer zahlreicher.

„Big Data“ – große und komplexe Datenmengen werden in kurzer Zeit durchstöbert, analysiert und miteinander kombiniert. „Clouds“ – in riesigen Serverfarmen speichern wir unsere persönlichen Daten, um von überall darauf zugreifen zu können. Behörden, Unternehmen und andere schalten sich dazwischen – sie wissen, was wir mögen, wo wir uns befinden, wer wir sind. Überwachungskameras erkennen menschliche Gesichter, Sensoren vermessen unser Handeln, Systeme knacken in Sekundenbruchteilen unsere Passwörter und entführen unser digitales Ich.

Das Netz fordert uns heraus, wenn es darum geht, die Privatsphäre jedes Einzelnen von uns zu schützen. Es sind die Künstlerinnen und Künstler dieser Ausstellung, die darauf aufmerksam machen, wohin wir uns in dieser digitalen Welt bewegen und woran wir vielleicht noch nicht gedacht haben, wenn wir den Nutzen aus der weltweiten Vernetzung ziehen. Es liegt an uns, dass all das nicht außer Kontrolle gerät.

Schulprogramm zur Ausstellung

Eine Ausstellung des Ars Electronica Center gemeinsam mit dem Department Sichere Informationssysteme der FH OÖ Campus Hagenberg.

Exponate

catorhuman

Cat or Human

von Shinseungback Kimyonghun
Alle hier gezeigten Fotos von Personen wurden per Software als Katzengesicht erkannt, alle abgebildeten Katzen wurden von einem Gesichtserkennungsprogramm als Menschen wahrgenommen.

Weiterlesen Cat or Human
fadtcha

FADTCHA

von Shinseungback Kimyonghun
„FADTCHA“ (FAce Detection Turing test to tell Computers and Humans Apart) ist ein Test, um Computer und Menschen zu unterscheiden.

Weiterlesen FADTCHA
captcha

CAPTCHA Tweet

von Shinseungback Kimyonghun
Mit dieser Anwendung können Sie Twitter-Nachrichten als CAPTCHA veröffentlichen.

Weiterlesen CAPTCHA Tweet
godsscript

The God’s Script

von Shinseungback Kimyonghun
Jedes einzelne Wort der Erzählung „The God’s Script“ ist durch den ersten Treffer der entsprechenden Google-Bildersuche vertreten.

Weiterlesen The God’s Script
streetghosts

Street Ghosts

von Paolo Cirio
Für dieses Projekt suchte Paolo Cirio auf Google Street View nach Fotos von Menschen, die im Zuge der Straßenaufnahmen mitfotografiert worden waren. Von diesen Unbekannten druckte er lebensgroße Poster.

Weiterlesen Street Ghosts
loopholeforall

Loophole for All

von Paolo Cirio
Alle sollen die Möglichkeit haben, die Steuererleichterungen zu nutzen, wie sie Konzerne ständig für sich in Anspruch nehmen, so der Künstler Paolo Cirio.

Weiterlesen Loophole for All
yut

Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)

Eine SMS wird ausgedruckt und vor den Augen der BesucherInnen scheinbar unwiederbringlich zerstört – doch auf jedem digitalen Knoten, den die Nachricht passierte, gab es die Möglichkeit, eine Kopie davon zu speichern.

Weiterlesen Your Unerasable Text (TIME OUT .01)
timeline

Internet Timeline

Die meterlange Timeline zeichnet Geschichte und Entwicklung des World Wide Webs nach. Die Grafik reicht vom 1963 an den Bell Laboratories entwickelten Mehrbenutzerbetriebssystems Unix bis zur Aufdeckung zahlreicher Geheimdienstüberwachungsprogramme der USA und Großbritanniens durch den Whistleblower Edward Snowden.

Weiterlesen Internet Timeline
europevsfacebook

Europe vs. Facebook

Rund um den österreichischen Studenten Max Schrems formierte sich im August 2011 die Initiative „Europe versus Facebook“. Unter Berufung auf das Datenschutzrecht der EU wurde die Herausgabe aller Daten eingefordert, die Facebook über Max Schrems gesammelt hatte. Werden alle Datenkategorien aufgeschlüsselt, die Facebook über eine Person speichert, ergibt sich ein außerordentlich detailreiches Puzzle an personenbezogenen Informationen, die wissentlich von den TeilnehmerInnen eingegeben und auch von Facebook selbst im Hintergrund ermittelt wurden.

Weiterlesen Europe vs. Facebook
facetofacebook

face to facebook

von Paolo Cirio, Alessandro Ludovico
Mithilfe einer eigens entwickelten Software entwendeten die Künstler eine Million Facebook-Profile, filterten diese mit einem Gesichtserkennungsprogramm und gruppierten sie nach Daten- und Gesichtsähnlichkeiten.

Weiterlesen face to facebook
handytracking

Handytracking

Malte Spitz (DE) ist Mitglied des Bundesvorstands der Grünen in Deutschland und entschiedener Kritiker der Vorratsdatenspeicherung (VDS). Um zu zeigen, wie weit die permanente Überwachung unbescholtener BürgerInnen durch die VDS geht, klagte er T-Mobile auf Herausgabe der zwischen August 2009 und Februar 2010 über ihn gespeicherten Daten.

Weiterlesen Handytracking
twistori

Twistori

„Twistori” ist ein ganz einfaches Twitter-Tool, das einen Eindruck davon gibt, was Menschen in aller Welt lieben, hassen, denken, glauben, fühlen und sich wünschen. Tausende Tweets werden in Echtzeit gescannt und jene, die Begriffe wie love, hate oder think enthalten, eingesammelt und wie ein Live-Ticker aufgelistet.

Weiterlesen Twistori