Lab for Art And Science

Ars Electronica Futurelab focuses on the future at the nexus of art, technology and society. We consider our works as sketches of possible future scenarios in art-based, experimental forms. In this way, we are aiming at developing contributions through methods and strategies of applied science, the results of which reveal new knowledge and experiences of societal relevance in art and science.

The productive work of the Ars Electronica Futurelab is directly linked to the various partners from the business zones of manufactorers, the creative Industries, art and from the academic world, respectively educational field. Here is an excerpt of our partners.

The lab’s team bases its work commitment upon transdisciplinary research and work which results in a variety of different disciplines at the lab. Having Artists and Researchers from all over the globe collaborating with – and taking residencies at – the Ars Electronica Futurelab, is fundamental to this Atelier/Laboratory. Our range of services concentrates on expertise developed throughout the years in fields such as media art, architecture, design, interactive exhibitions, virtual reality and real-time graphics.


Participators in the Klangwolke ABC are marching with their self-made letters.

Society

Proceeding from the idea that only a society itself forms its future—and, thus, that each individual as a member of that society configures its future—the Ars Electronica Futurelab endeavors to generate approaches, possibilities, forms of inspiration and tools to benefit a social spectrum that’s as broad as possible. The Ars Electronica Futurelab together with its partners and associates make a concerted effort to point out latitude for action and provide access to these promising areas of opportunity in business, the arts and education.

Two shared space spaxels flying in unison during tests for Mercedes' autonomous mobility research.

TECHNOLOGY

The premise of Shared Creativity is the ideal soil in which to cultivate research, development and evaluation of technological innovations. They, in turn, form a solid foundation for ongoing forms of collaboration with partners who are utilizing innovative technologies to advance their own research and development, artistic output or product enhancements. With the aim of financing our activities through our own business ventures, the Futurelab does R&D financed predominantly by associates in the private sector and to a minimal extent by public-sector funding.

Silhouette of Singer Sarah Callier in front of a visualisation for Tosca's Odeon tour.

ART

New forms of artistic expression serve the Ars Electronica Futurelab in general as food for social thought, as an impetus to consider emerging issues that might assume great future importance, or as an opportunity to take a more multifaceted look at things. The lab’s artistic work is particularly oriented on educational institutions and young people as well as private sector associates for whom artistic approaches deliver input for innovation.


The successful work being done by the Ars Electronica Futurelab is attributable in no small measure to effective collaboration with a wide array of partners in key manufacturing sectors, the creative economy and the art world, academia and diverse educational institutions. These thumbnail sketches of some of our cooperative efforts provide an impression of our activities spectrum.

Find our partners here.

Lab für Kunst und Forschung

Das Ars Electronica Futurelab nimmt die Zukunft im Nexus von Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft in den Fokus. In künstlerischer, experimenteller Form verstehen wir unsere Arbeiten durchaus auch als Skizzen möglicher Zukunftsszenarien. In diesem Zusammenhang suchen wir mittels Methoden und Strategien der angewandten Forschung Beiträge zu entwickeln, deren Ergebnisse zu neuen Erfahrungen und einem Erkenntnisgewinn führen. Unter der Maßgabe einer gesellschaftlichen Relevanz beziehen sich die Resultate gleichermaßen auf Kunst und Wissenschaft.

Seit 1996 hat sich das Medienlabor zu einem der am häufigsten zitierten Vorbilder für angehende Innovationsmotoren entwickelt. Die erfolgreiche Arbeit des Ars Electronica Futurelab steht in direkter Verbindung mit den unterschiedlichsten Partnern. Diese kommen aus den Kernbereichen der Industrie, der Kreativwirtschaft und Kunst, auch aus dem akademischen Umfeld bzw. Bildungsbereich. Unsere Partner finden sie hier.

Das Team des Labors baut seinen Arbeitsansatz auf transdisziplinärer Forschung und Arbeit auf, welche die Vielfalt der im Labor vertretenen, unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen abbildet. Internationale Künstler und Forscher, die mit dem Ars Electronica Futurelab kooperieren und als Residents im Atelier/Labor arbeiten sind essentiell für diese Arbeitsweise.


Gesellschaft

Ausgehend vom Gedanken, dass nur eine Gesellschaft selbst ihre Zukunft formt – und damit jede/r Einzelne als Mitglied dieser Gesellschaft diese Zukunft gestaltet – versucht das Ars Electrionica Futurelab Zugänge, Möglichkeiten, Inspirationen und Werkzeuge für ein möglichst breites Feld unserer Gesellschaft(en) zu generieren. Das Ars Electronica Futurelab befleißigt sich mit seinen Partnern Handlungsspielräume aufzuzeigen und diese etwa für die Wirtschaft, die Kunst oder die Ausbildung zugänglich zu machen.

TECHNOLOGIE

Unter der Prämisse einer „Shared Creativity“ entsteht ein idealer Nährboden für die Erforschung, Entwicklung und Evaluierung technologischer Innovationen. Diese bilden die Grundlage fester Kooperationen mit Partnern, die durch Nutzung innovativer Technologien ihre eigene Forschung, Kunst oder Produktverbesserungen vorantreiben. Mit der Zielsetzung einer Finanzierung aus eigenem wirtschaftlichem Handeln heraus betreibt das Labor Forschung und Entwicklung, die mehrheitlich aus privaten und geringfügiger auch aus öffentlichen Mitteln finanziert wird.

KUNST

Neue künstlerische Ausdrucksformen dienen dem Ars Electronica Futurelab im Allgemeinen als Denkanstöße für die Gesellschaft, sich gegenüber zukunftsrelevanten Themen zu öffnen, oder eine differenzierte Perspektive einzunehmen. Die künstlerische Arbeit des Labors richtet sich im Speziellen an Bildungseinrichtungen, die Jugend oder auch an die Privatwirtschaft, die mittels künstlerischer Ansätze  Input für Innovationen bekommt.


Die erfolgreiche Arbeit des Ars Electronica Futurelab steht in direkter Verbindung mit den unterschiedlichsten Partnern aus den Kernbereichen der  Industrie, der Kreativwirtschaft und Kunst und aus dem akademischen Umfeld bzw. Bildungsbereich. Die skizzierten Partnerstories zeigen die Breite unseres Handlungsspektrums.

Unsere Partner finden sie hier.