SAP Data Room 2016

The Ars Electronica Futurelab assisted SAP in designing a meeting place for innovative start-ups based on the model of the Hana Café in Palo Alto. The so-called Data Space, which would take shape at Rosenthalerstraße 38 in the center of Berlin, features two storeys of which the first floor is composed of an event space (Data Hall), the canteen (Data Kitchen) and a compartment for creative brainstorming (Data Room).

 

Peter Kolzkorn (right) and Clemens Francis Scharfen are checking the functioning of the data furniture.
Peter Holzkorn (right) and Clemens Francis Scharfen are checking the functioning of the data furniture. Credit: Peter Holzkorn

 

The aim was to create an appealing space for networking, mostly, but not exclusively, for young entrepreneurs who could locate themselves in the upper floor (data Hub), where a limited amount of offices are designed for start-ups. The Ars Electronica Futurelab had its share in two innovative concepts, the Data Room with its data furniture and the foodwall to accomplish a future-orientated catering-concept with a brand new way of food-serving.

 

 

The core of the so-called „Data Room“ is a table, which thanks to its programmed algorithm can generate association chains, out of various data sources. The data wall is mirroring the found results to display them for the audience of the room. The table, which is composed of 12 panels symbolizing the districts of Berlin, features a touch screen as the upper surface. The table, which is composed of 12 panels symbolizing the districts of Berlin, features a touch screen as the upper surface. It resembles the idea of a smart phone or pad and people can equally move data by drag and drop and pulling pictures, texts or videos by aid of one finger.

 

 

The entry of keywords, image material and text-info works without a physical port, solely by QR code, which is valid for one session. A session is either public, for people who like to play around, or a private session for registered groups, looking for new inspiration and ideas.

 

A view from the middle of the Data Kitchen depicts the Data Room (on the right) and the terrace (left).
A view from the middle of the Data Kitchen depicts the Data Room (on the right) and the terrace (left). Credit: Peter Holzkorn.

 

According to the idea of “Art Thinking”, the quest for new visions is based on associative chains which equals the laying down of seed cards in analogue life – a concept that has been already established in workshops by Futurelab members. With the digital variant however, the initial spark for new ideas should be triggered by random results that are drawn from various sources such as Live-Search-APIs of Google, Microsoft, Flickr, Wordnik, plain text- and tag-search in curated blogs and pinboards. The main difference between this algorithm and Google-search is that the former is not based on the amount of often a keyword has been used, but on a deliberate ranking of keywords and pairings of images which comes close to brainstorming in real life.


Credits:

Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Horst Hoertner, Peter Holzkorn, Christopher Lindinger, Stefan Mittlboeck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Otto Naderer, Nicolas Naveau, Clemens Francis Scharfen

.

SAP Data Room 2016

Das Ars Electronica Futurelab half im Auftrag von SAP bei der Gestaltung einer Begegnungsstätte für innovative Start-Up Unternehmen. Der sogenannte Data Space, der in der Rosenthalerstraße 38 in Berlin Mitte entstand, verfügt über zwei Ebenen, wobei die untere einen Eventbereich (Data Hall), eine Kantine (Data Kitchen) und einen Bereich für kreatives Brainstormen (Data Room) unterbringt.

 

Peter Kolzkorn (rechts) und Clemens Francis Scharfen testen das Data Furniture des Data Rooms. Credit: Peter Holzkorn
Peter Kolzkorn (rechts) und Clemens Francis Scharfen testen das Data Furniture des Data Rooms. Credit: Peter Holzkorn

 

Insgesamt sollte damit eine Möglichkeit des Networkings in ansprechender Atmosphäre geschaffen werden, nicht nur, aber vor allem für junge Unternehmen, denen Platz für ihre Niederlassung in der zweiten Etage, dem so genannten Data Hub, geboten wird. Das Ars Electronica Futurelab war an zwei innovativen Ansätzen beteiligt, dem Data Room und dessen Datafurniture und der Foodwall, um mit einem zukunftsorientierten Gastrokonzept eine bis dahin neue Essensausgabe zu gestalten.

 

 

Herzstück des so genannten „Data Rooms“ ist ein Tisch, der dank eines eigens programmierten Algoritmus  Assoziationsketten generiert, die sich aus verschiedenen Datenbanken speisen. Die Datawall bildet alle gefundenen Ergebnisse für das sich im Raum befindliche Publikum ab. Der Tisch, der durch 12 geschichteten Platten die Bezirke Berlins symbolisiert, wird mittels einer Projektion in 4K bespielt. Die projizierten Objekte (Bilder Text, Videos, etc.) können wie auf einem Touchscreen per drag and drop bewegt werden.

 

 

Die Eingabe von Kernbegriffen, Bild- und Textinformationen, erfolgt ohne physische Schnittstelle durch einen QR-Code, der für die Zeit einer Session Gültigkeit besitzt. Session meint entweder den öffentlichen Zugang für ein interessiertes Publikum, das mit Begriffen spielen möchte, oder „privat“, für eine angemeldete Gruppe, die nach Visionen sucht.

 

Ein Blick vom Data Kitchen auf den Data Room (rechts) und die Außenterrasse.
Ein Blick vom Data Kitchen auf den Data Room (rechts) und die Außenterrasse. Credit: Peter Holzkorn.

 

Gemäß der Idee des „Art Thinkings“ erfolgt die Visionsfindungwie bereits erwähnt über das Generieren von Assoziationsketten, die so genannten Seed Cards entsprechen – ein Konzept, das von Futurelab-Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen im analogen Bereich durch tatsächlich physische Karten bei Workshops zuvor angewendet wurde. In der digitalen Variante wird der Initialfunke zu einer Idee durch Ergebnisse aus Live-Search-APIs von Google, Microsoft, Flickr, Wordnik, Volltext- und Tag-Suche in kuratierten Blogs und Pinboards, getriggert. Der Unterschied zu einer Google-Suche ist ein vom Ars Electronica Futurelab programmierter Algoritmus, der nicht auf Häufigkeit oder genauen Repräsentationen von Begriffen beruht, sondern auf freien Zuordnungen von Begriffs- und Bildpaaren, wie man es auch vom Brainstormen her kennt.


Credits:

Peter Freudling, Roland Haring, Horst Hoertner, Peter Holzkorn, Christopher Lindinger, Stefan Mittlboeck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Otto Naderer, Nicolas Naveau, Clemens Francis Scharfen

.