Vedaport / Monolith 2015

A huge three-dimensional sound sculpture—the Vedaport—is situated in front of the main entrance of the International Training Center on the Walldorf campus. This port is a landmark for trainees and reacts to movement, uttering quotes on matters such as knowledge and education. In the lobby, the Vedaport´s geometric and sensual counterpart is an interactive installation called Monolith, completed in spring 2014.

 

 

The six meter tall Monolith consists of 24 frameless screens, wrapped in translucent mirror panels. These panels render the Monolith almost invisible at first glance and enhance it. Displaying the time of the day, the Monolith also fulfills the function of a central clock tower.Monolith is part of the overall concept of Vedaport, also focusing on the core topics knowledge and education, which are communicated via handwritten historically important quotes.

 

Handwritten, historically important messages on display. Foto: Ars Electronica Futurelab
Handwritten, historically important messages on display. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

The chalk and board aesthetics of this visual message contrasts with the Monolith´sarchitectural and geometric cleanliness. Frequency, creation-speed and variety of the content shown are based on the movement of the crowd within the lobby, cumulating in an abstract live visualization of tracking data.


Concept & Idea:

Horst Hörtner, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling, Nicolas Naveau, Hideaki Ogawa

Project Management:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling

Design:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling, Nicolas Naveau

Tracking:

Otto Naderer

Technische Umsetzung:

Patrick Müller

Software:

Marcus Dittebrand (Garamantis), Christian Fuchs (Garamantis)ktmanagement:
Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling

Vedaport / Monolith 2015

Der Vedaport steht als riesige dreidimensionale Soundskulptur vor dem Haupteingang des International Training Centers auf dem Walldorf Campus. Als Wahrzeichen für sämtliche Trainees reagiert dieser Port auf jede Bewegung und äußert Zitate zu den Wissens- und Lernthemen. Das geometrische, stoffliche und auditive Gegenstück ist eine interaktive Installation, der so genannte Monolith, der im Frühjahr 2014 fertiggestellt wurde.

 

 

Der sechs Meter hohe Monolith besteht aus 24 rahmenlosen Bildflächen, die von lichtdurchlässigen Spiegelflächen ummantelt sind. Indem er die Tageszeit anzeigt, übernimmt der Monolith auch die Funktion eines zentralen Glockenturms. Der Monolith ist Teil des übergreifenden Vedaport-Konzepts und zielt auf die Kernthemen „Wissen“ und „Ausbildung“, die über handgeschriebene, historisch bedeutsame Zitate kommuniziert werden.

 

Handgeschriebene Weisheit in Kreideoptik von Konfuzius erscheint auf dem Spiegeldisplay des Monolithen im SAP Ausbildungszentrum in Waldorf.
Handwritten, historically important messages on display. Credit: Ars Electronica Futurelab

 

Die Tafel- und Kreide-Ästhetik dieser visualisierten Botschaft steht im Gegensatz zu der architektonischen und geometrischen Klarheit des Monolithen. Frequenz, Entstehungsgeschwindigkeit und Variantenreichtum des gezeigten Informationsinhalts basieren auf der Bewegung der Menschenmenge in der Lobby, die sich in der abstrakten Live-Visualisierung von Trackingdaten sammeln.


Concept & Idea:

Horst Hörtner, Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling, Nicolas Naveau, Hideaki Ogawa

Project Management:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling

Design:

Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling, Nicolas Naveau

Tracking:

Otto Naderer

Technische Umsetzung:

Patrick Müller

Software:

Marcus Dittebrand (Garamantis), Christian Fuchs (Garamantis)ktmanagement:
Stefan Mittlböck-Jungwirth-Fohringer, Peter Freudling