Team

The team consists of men and women with expertise in a wide range of fields—art, computer science, graphics, media design, media technology, music, physics, sociology, mechatronics, sociology, economics, public relations, political sciences et al.

A transdisciplinary approach to work isn’t just a “methodology we strive to apply” here; it’s the reality we’ve been putting into practice on an everyday basis for 20 years, and one that goes far beyond dovetailing various artistic disciplines.


Horst Hörtner

Senior Director

Christopher Lindinger

Christopher Lindinger

Director Research & Innovation

Roland Haring

Roland Haring

Technical Director

Gloria Bope

Lab Assistance

Roland Aigner

Key Researcher & Artist

Florian Berger

Key Researcher & Artist

Maria Eschlböck

Senior Producer

Peter Freudling

Senior Producer

Matthew Gardiner

Matthew Gardiner

Key Researcher & Artist

Rachel Hanlon

Researcher and Artist

Peter Holzkorn

Senior Researcher & Artist

Kyoko Kunoh

Researcher & Artist

Anna Kuthan

Senior Producer

Dr. Martina Mara

Key Researcher

Michael Mayr

Senior Researcher & Artist

Kristefan Minski

Senior Producer & Artist

Stefan Mittlböck- Jungwirth- Fohringer

Lead Producer & Artist

Otto Naderer

Senior Researcher & Artist

Nicolas Naveau

Senior Researcher & Artist

Ali Nikrang

Senior Researcher & Artist

Emiko Ogawa

Emiko Ogawa

Researcher and Artist

Dr. Hideaki Ogawa

Key Researcher & Artist

Veronika Pauser

Senior Producer & Artist

Maria Pfeifer

Senior Curator

Johannes Pöll

Senior Researcher & Artist

Markus Scholl

Content Manager 

Erwin Reitboeck

Senior Producer

Artists and Scientists in Residence

Lea & Jakob Illera

During their SPARKS residency in April 2016, Lea and Jakob Illera realized their artistic vision of nanorobots that measure bodily functions and values, and convey the information they gather directly to the nervous system. The ethical discussions this raises revolve around, among other issues, the question of whether such interventions constitute a form of personality manipulation.

Lucy McRae

SPARKS resident Lucy McRae’s observational documentary entitled “The Institute of Isolation” shows the artist herself undergoing a process of physical self-optimization. She treats the subjects of human evolution and heredity, as well as modification and enhancement of the body by means of human interventions and technologies.

Anouk Wipprecht

Over the course of her 2016 SPARKS residency, fashiontech celebrity Anouk Wipprecht created a wearable that facilitates providing therapy to children with autism and Asperger syndrome. Agent Unicorn, her accessory developed in collaboration with a team of neuroscientists and other specialists, registers the wearer’s observations via EEG.

Maria Ignacia Edwards

Under the aegis of the European Digital Art & Science Network, María Ignacia Edwards developed her idea derived from the interrelationship between an individual unit and a superordinate whole. The artistic transition into an all-encompassing concept ensued at the Ars Electronica Futurelab, where the software to control the EBow, the hardware and the mechanical devices that went into her “Encounters” installation were developed.

Zachary Liebermann

As the first TRANSMIT³ resident, Zachary Liebermann and a group of students jointly conducted research on scientific questions—for example, “How do cells move?” and “How were mountains formed?”—and then presented their findings on The Cube, a jumbo display in Brisbane, Australia. The subjects of their research were scaling and proportions in conjunction with the process of visualizing and depicting content on interactive media.

Golan Levin

“Telesymphony,” a concert performance Golan Levin created during his term as artist-in-residence, was played out on the ringtones of audience members’ cell phones, 200 of which were simultaneously “orchestrated” in the piece’s grand finale. A visualization of the musical structures was screened on a huge projection system featuring interfaces hooked up directly to the performers.

Ryoji Ikeda

Ryoji Ikeda, the third recipient of the Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN residency, immersed himself into the realm of subatomic particles, the Large Hadron Collider, and theoretical and experimental physics in July 2014. The world-famous Japanese media artist also engaged in an intensive process of exchange about the relationship between the worlds of art and science with his scientific inspiration partner, Dr. Tom Melia.

Sonja Bäumel

Under the auspices of Project Genesis, an outgrowth of the Studiolab (http://studiolabproject.eu/) partnership initiative supported by the European Commission’s Seventh Framework Program, Sonja Bäumel scrutinized human beings as walking biotopes. To make the hidden diversity of this ecosystem visible, “Metabodies” focused on communication among bacteria, which is unique to each person.

Julius von Bismarck

Julius von Bismarck, a recipient of the Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN Award, created an installation entitled “Versuch unter Kreisen” (Experiment among Circles) that focused on vibration, harmony, dissonance, interference, frequency overlapping and chaos. The mathematically calculated cyclical motion of lamps is inspired by wave patterns that occur in nature in such minute or enormous dimensions that they’re invisible to the human eye.

Petra Gemeinböck

Zwischenräume” (Interstices), an installation by Petra Gemeinböck and Rob Saunders in Vienna’s Museumsquartier, served as a template for Gemeinböck’s residency project, “Accomplice,” consisting of several robots that make their way through a gallery space by means of hammers. This scenario demonstrates what happens when the space itself (or a part of it) plays an active role in the performance and interacts with spectators.

Dietmar Offenhuber

In conjunction with Connecting Cities, a project subsidized by the Europe Union, Dietmar Offenhuber developed “Urban Entropy,” a staged performance on the subject of complaint and repair. On the basis of real-time data provided by the City of Linz’s municipal service agencies, the Ars Electronica Center’s façade reflected the daily routine of maintaining public infrastructure. Thus, the project shows infrastructure as process. On the façade, a random binary pattern is incessantly sorted out until the next dispatch confounds the effort to get things organized once and for all and the whole process starts anew.

Laura Beloff

“HAME,” a project that addresses certain extreme forms of behavior, was created during Laura Beloff’s term as an artist-in-residence. This work was an outgrowth of her interest in phenomena such as hysteria and boredom, both of which are considered mental states that manifest themselves in an individual’s behavior and can be inferred from it. Furthermore, both are said to afflict women in particular. Sigmund Freud’s case study about Dora, “Fragments of an Analysis of a Case of Hysteria,” served as a script on which this work was loosely based.

Team

Die am Ars Electronica Futurelab arbeitenden MitarbeiterInnen  aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen wie Medientechnik, Medieninformatik, Medienpsychologie, Mechatronik, Musik, Physik, Soziologie, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Publizistik, Politikwissenschaften etc. formen das Team.

Transdisziplinäres Arbeiten ist hier nicht nur eine „angestrebte Methode“, sondern seit 1996 täglich ge- und erlebte Realität, die weit über die Zusammenschau einiger künstlerischer Disziplinen hinausgeht.


_C3A9446

Horst Hörtner

Senior Director
_C3A9465

Christopher Lindinger

Director Research & Innovation
_C3A9456

Roland Haring

Technical Director
_C3A9548

Roland Aigner

Key Researcher & Artist
_C3A0520

Florian Berger

Key Researcher & Artist
_MG_4648

Maria Eschlböck

Senior Producer
_C3A0467

Matthew Gardiner

Key Researcher & Artist
_C3A0487

Rachel Hanlon

Researcher and Artist
_C3A9529

Peter Holzkorn

Senior Researcher & Artist
_MG_4659

Andreas Jalsovec

Key Researcher & Artist
_MG_4805

Anna Kuthan

Senior Producer
_MG_4820

Dr. Martina Mara

Key Researcher
_MG_4772

Michael Mayr

Senior Researcher & Artist
_C3A9505

Kristefan Minski

Senior Producer & Artist
_MG_4796

Stefan Mittlböck- Jungwirth- Fohringer

Lead Producer & Artist
_C3A9561

Martin Mörth

Key Researcher
_MG_4724

Otto Naderer

Senior Researcher & Artist
_MG_4655

Nicolas Naveau

Senior Researcher & Artist
_C3A0543

Emiko Ogawa

Researcher and Artist
_MG_4761

Dr. Hideaki Ogawa

Key Researcher & Artist
_MG_4830

Ben Olsen

Researcher
_MG_4729

Veronika Pauser

Senior Producer & Artist
_MG_4746

Michael Platz

Senior Researcher
_C3A9574

Simon Schmid

Researcher
_MG_4757

Markus Scholl

Content Manager 
_MG_4680

Erwin Reitboeck

Senior Producer

Artists and Scientists in Residence

LUCY MCRAE

SPARKS ResidentLucy McRae zeigt mit ihrer observational documentary „The Institute of Isolation“ wie sie sich als Darstellerin einem Prozess der körperlichen Selbstoptimierung unterzieht. Sie beschäftigt sich mit der Evolution des Menschen, der Vererbung und gleichzeitig der gezielten Veränderung und Entwicklung des Körpers durch menschliches Eingreifen und Technologien.

Anouk wipprecht

Fashiontech-Celebrity Anouk Wipprecht hat im Zuge Ihrer SPARKS Residency 2016 ein Wearable entwickelt, das die Therapie von Kindern mit Autismus und Asperger Syndrom erleichtern soll. Ihr Accessoire „Agent Unicorn„, das sie in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Team aus NeurowissenschaftlerInnen und ExpertInnen kreiert hat, erfasst die Beobachtungen der Trägerin oder des Trägers mittels EEG.

Maria Ignacia Edwards

Unter der Ägide des European Digital Art & Science Networks entwickelte María Ignacia Edwards ihre Idee, die von dem Verhältnis zwischen dem Einzelnen zum Ganzen geleitet ist. Eine künstlerische Überführung in ein umfassendes Konzept erfolgte im Ars Electronica Futurelab, wo sowohl die Software zur Steuerung der E-Bows als auch die Hardware und die mechanische Lösung zur Installation „Encounters“ entwickelt wurde.

Zachary Liebermann

Als erster TRANSMIT³ Resident erforscht Zachary Liebermann gemeinsam mit StudentInnen wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen, um sie schließlich auf dem riesigen Display von “The Cube” in Brisbane, Australien, zu präsentieren, z.B.: „Wie bewegen sich Zellen?“, oder „Wie formen sich Berge?“ Untersuchungsgegenstand waren  Skalierungen und Größenverhältnisse die visualisiert und mittels interaktiver Medien dargestellt werden sollten.

GOLAN LEVIN

„Telesymphony“ ist der Titel der Konzertperformance von Golan Levin im Rahmen des Artist-in-Residence-Programms, die ausschließlich mit den Handy-Ruftönen des Publikums gespielt wurde. Das fulminante Ende wurde von 200 gleichzeitig läutenden Mobiltelefonen „gespielt“. Die Visualisierung der musikalischen Strukturen erfolgte durch ein riesiges, mit den Schnittstellen der Performer verbundenes Projektionssystem.

Ryoji Ikeda

Der dritte Gewinner des Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN Recidency Awards Ryoji Ikeda tauchte im Juli 2014 in die Welt der Partikelphysik, des LHC, und der theoretischen und experimentellen Physik. Der weltbekannte japanische Medienkünstler tauschte sich dazu intensiv mit seinem wissenschaftlichen Inspirationspartner Dr. Tom Melia über das Verhältnis der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Welt aus.

SONJA BÄUMEL

Project Genesis ging aus von der Partnerschaft Innitiative Studiolab (http://studiolabproject.eu/), die von der European Commision Seventh Framework Programme unterstützt wurde. In diesem Rahmen untersuchte Sonja Bäumel den Menschen als wandelndes Biotop. Um die verborgene Vielfalt dieses Ökosystems sichtbar zu machen, richtet „Metabodies“ den Blick auf die Kommunikation der Bakterien, die bei jedem Menschen einzigartig ist.

JULIUS VON BISMARCK

Julius von Bismarck, Gewinner des Prix Ars Electronica Collide@CERN Awards, rückte mit seiner Installation, „Versuch unter Kreisen“,  Schwingungen, Harmonien, Dissonanzen, Interferenzen, Überlagerungsfrequenzen oder auch Chaos, ins Zentrum seiner Arbeit. Die mathematisch berechnete, zyklische Bewegung von Lampen ist von Wellenmustern inspiriert, die in der Natur in so kleinem und großem Maßstab auftreten, dass sie für das menschliche Auge nicht sichtbar sind.

petra gemeinböck

Die Installation „Zwischenräume“ von Petra Gemeinböck und Rob Saunders im Wiener Museumsquartier war Vorlage für ihr Residency-Projekt „Accomplice“, eine Installation von mehreren Robotern, die sich mittels Hammer ihren Weg in einen Gallerieraum bahnten. Dieses Szenario zeigte, was passiert, wenn der Raum selbst (oder Teile davon) zu einem performativen Akteur wird und mit dem Publikum interagiert.

Dietmar Offenhuber

Im Rahmen des EU geförderten Projekts Connecting Cities entwickelte Dietmar Offenhuber mit Urban Entropy eine Inszenierung von Beanstandung und Reparatur. Die Fassade des Ars Electronica Centers reflektiert die tägliche Routine von Instandhaltung öffentlicher Infrastruktur, basierend auf Echtzeitdaten des Linzer Bürgerservices. Das Projekt zeigt Infrastruktur als Prozess. Ein binäres Zufallsmuster wird auf der Fassade unaufhaltsam sortiert, bis die nächste Meldung die Anstrengungen wieder vereitelt und die Geschichte von neuem beginnt.

LAURA BELOFF

Das Hysterie und Langeweile thematisierende Projekt HAME von Laura Beloff entstand im Rahmen ihres Artist-in-Residence-Programms. Dieses Projekt wurzelt in einem Interesse an extremen Verhaltensweisen. Sowohl Hysterie als auch Langeweile gelten als geistige Zustände, die sich im Verhalten einer Person niederschlagen und an diesem abgelesen werden können. Außerdem handelt es sich dabei an sich um Frauenleiden. Sigmund Freuds Hysterie-Fallstudie Bruchstück einer Hysterie-Analyse (Dora) diente dieser Arbeit als freie Skriptvorlage.