1,001 Models

Austria’s “Largest” Architectural Exhibition, created by architects and urban planners: This year’s Ars Electronica Festival will showcase visible manifestations of their inventiveness, visionary power and planning competence in the form of an amazingly diverse array of architectural models.

1001

PostCityis a former Austrian Postal Service logistics center at Linz’s main railway station. Ars Electronica set up shop there in early May to begin preparations, together with artists, architects and futuristic visionaries in a broad spectrum of fields, for this year’s festival of art, technology and society. The 2015 festival theme is Habitats for the 21st Century. This will, of course, be an investigation of megacities , but will also scrutinize shrinking cities, the ones left behind when 200,000 people per day worldwide continue to migrate from rural regions to urban centers.
What will the cities of the future look like? Naturally, they’ll look the way architects and urban planners are designing them today. Whatever is built now will shape the cityscape for decades to come and decisively impact the next generation’s quality of life. The infrastructure that we don’t implement now will be sorely missed tomorrow. The city is a long-term project, and the “gravity of buildings” sets totally different lifecycles in motion than the disposable electronics of our smartphones. So how can we connect these two developments? How can we create smart cities that, instead of being a cause of anxiety, can actually enhance our lives? What should habitats for smart citizens citizens be like?

We’re especially intent on localization—relating these big issues to the specific facts and circumstances prevailing in Linz and Upper Austria, and implementing a point of departure that’s as simple as it is effective: a gigantic model city set up in the huge halls of PostCity. We want to create a visible manifestation of architects’ visionary power, planning competence and inventiveness, one that features as many architectural models as possible—regardless of whether they were actually built or only proposed, from a DIY prefab house to a futuristic high-rise, from houseboats to row houses, from a kindergarten to a factory …

1,001 Models of Habitats for the 21st Century – as a festival’s inspiring ambience, as showcase of excellence, and as this country’s “largest” architectural exhibition.

You want to take part in the project “1,001 Models”? We will contact many architects and urban planners in the coming days – should you be interested, please send us an e-mail to 1001modell@aec.at.

Tausendundein Modell

Die „größte“ Architekturschau Österreichs, gestaltet von ArchitektInnen und StadtplanerInnen: Im Rahmen der diesjährigen Ars Electronica sollen ihr Ideenreichtum, ihre Visionskraft und Planungskompetenz sichtbar werden und zwar in Form möglichst vieler Architekturmodelle.

1001

In der PostCity, dem ehemaligen Logistikcenter der Post am Linzer Hauptbahnhof, hat sich seit Anfang Mai die Ars Electronica eingenistet und bereitet dort gemeinsam mit KünstlerInnen, ArchitektInnen und ZukunftsvisionärInnen aus allen Sparten das diesjährige Festival für Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft vor. Die Themenstellung fragt nach den Lebensräumen für das 21. Jahrhundert. Dabei soll es um die Megacities gehen, aber auch um die Shrinking Cities, die zurückbleiben wenn weiterhin täglich 200.000 Menschen weltweit vom Land in die Stadt ziehen.
Wie werden die Städte der Zukunft aussehen? Natürlich werden sie so aussehen wie sie von Architektinnen und Architekten, von Stadtplanerinnen und Stadtplanern, heute schon entworfen werden. Was immer heute gebaut wird, wird Jahrzehnte lang das Bild der Stadt prägen und auch die Lebensqualität der nächsten Generation entscheidend bestimmen. Die Infrastrukturen, die wir heute nicht schaffen, werden uns morgen fehlen. Stadt ist ein langfristiges Projekt und die „Schwerkraft der Häuser“ bringt ganz andere Lebenszyklen mit sich als die Einweg-Elektronik der Smartphones. Doch wie können wir diese beiden Entwicklungen verbinden, wie können wir Smart Cities schaffen, vor denen wir nicht Angst haben müssen, sondern die unsere Leben besser machen? Wie sollten die Lebensräume für Smart Citizens aussehen?

Diese Fragestellungen wollen wir insbesondere auch auf Linz und Oberösterreich beziehen und als Ausgangspunkt eine einfache aber umso wirksamere Idee zu realisieren – eine riesige Modell-Stadt in den riesigen Hallen der POSTCITY. Wir möchten die Visionskraft, Planungskompetenz und den Ideenreichtum aller ArchitektInnen und Architekten sichtbar machen und mit möglichst vielen Architekturmodellen – egal ob gebaut oder nur entworfen, vom DIY-Fertigteilhaus bis zum futuristischen Hochhaus, vom Hausboot bis zum Reihenhaus, vom Kindergarten bis zur Fabrikshalle, …

1001 Modelle für die Lebensräume des 21. Jahrhunderts – als inspirierendes Ambiente eines Festivals, als Leistungsschau und als „größte“ Architekturausstellung des Landes.

Sie möchten sich an dem Projekt „Tausendundein Modell“ beteiligen? Wir werden uns in den kommenden Tagen an zahlreiche ArchitektInnen und StadtplanerInnen wenden – sollten Sie Interesse haben, senden Sie uns bitte eine E-Mail an 1001modell@aec.at.