Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

The Ars Electronica Festival is a platform for exchange and encounter by and with outstanding scientists and artists. This year’s theme symposia will do some imagineering of the city of the future. What are the essential social, economic, ecological and infrastructural features that have to be designed into 21st-century urban habitats? The Future Innovators Summit will be a conclave of seasoned experts and young entrepreneurs, social activists, techies and scientists, and, of course, artists and designers to share ideas and know-how and disseminate mutual inspiration. The Prix Forums are fascinating talks involving Prix Ars Electronica jurors and prizewinners.

symp3

POST CITY Symposium III: Post Public, Post Private

Both the public sphere as well as the private, personal sphere have changed fundamentally in recent decades—both online and offline. The process of change, which is far from complete, confronts city planners and architectural designers with a tremendous challenge.

symp4

POST CITY Symposium IV: Habitat 21

Just like the exhibition of the same name, the Habitat 21 symposium also focuses on various exemplary ways and means to successfully handle the challenges of the urbanization process in the 21st century.

postcitykitpeople

Future Catalyst Program for the Development of the POST CITY Kit

Two programs will occupy the focal point of the Post City Kit activities in the context of the Future Catalyst Program – a toolkit of ideas, strategies, devices and prototypes for the city of the future: The Future Innovators Summit and the Connected Intelligence Atelier.

prixforum

Prix Forums – Art & Science

At the Prix Ars Electronica Forums, 2015 prizewinners have an opportunity to talk about their work, motives and motivations.

expanded-animation

Expanded Animation

Expanded Animation has become an extremely popular feature on the Ars Electronica Animation Festival lineup and a mainstay of the Ars Electronica Festival as a whole!

artandscience

European Digital Art and Science Network Meeting

Together with seven well-known artistic and cultural institutions, Ars Electronica launched the European Digital Art and Science Network, a Europe-wide initiative offering artists the chance to spend several weeks at the ESO or CERN followed by a stay at the Ars Electronica Futurelab.

14962031887_c99c9bcf30_o

Interface Cultures Seminar: Post Post

At the Interface Cultures Symposium, an interesting lineup of scholars and artists will discuss the latest developments in media art as well as post-media issues and interface critique from an artist’s perspective.

Mercedes-Benz, Future Talk 2014

Rethinking the Shared Space

Alexander Mankowsky and Christopher Lindinger provide insight into the ongoing research partnership between Ars Electronica Futurelab and Mercedes-Benz.

Soya_1000x500

Soya C(o)u(l)ture-Workshops

(Deutsch) Bei drei Workshops in der Soya C(o)u(l)ture-Schauküche haben die FestivalbesucherInnen selbst Gelegenheit, sich im Upcycling der Abwässer aus der Sojaherstellung zu versuchen.

connectingcities_conference

Connecting Cities Conference

European urban identities, social changes and citizen participation occupy the focal point of the first symposium at the 2015 Festival.

postcitykitdiscussion

Post City Kit – Open Discussion

This session focuses on the Post City Kit all over the world. By inviting both creators and facilitators creating the Post City Kit into society together, this meeting aims to share and exchange ideas of the Post City Kit Initiative.

musicmondaylectures

Music Monday – Lectures and Performances

A whole day full of music and sounds! Ars Electronica dedicates the last day of the Festival to sound installations. Lecture-performances offer deeper insights into the works of music and sound art that were presented over the last four days.

KnowldegeCapital_1000x500

Knowledge Capital

Knowledge Capital is a center for the creation of new intellectual values through interaction and collaboration, and a core facility at Grand Front Osaka established by private companies, the multi-purpose complex of commercial facilities, offices, hotel and service apartments.

wearablestudioworkshop

Wearable Studio Practice Workshop

As part of the Wearable Studio Practice Exhibition, Hannah Perner-Wilson (AT) and Andrew Quitmeyer (US) open their mobile electronics lab for up to 10 participants at a time. Volunteers are made familiar with the equipment, tools, and wearable furniture comprising the mobile laboratory.

gtec

g.tec medical engineering

g.tec medical engineering (AT) develops and manufactures award-winning hardware and software for biosignal progressing so that severely disabled people are able to communicate.

seekid

SEE-KID

The medical computer scientists Thomas Kaltofen and Sara Ivcevic of the RISC Software GmbH (AT) present new developments of their company.

lightpainting

Lightpainting Workshop

Learn the essential usage of tools for lightpaintings with pixelstick, brushes, led sticks and flash to create your own stunning lightpainting photos and a stopmotion animation from an expert.

socialbusiness

How to become a social business city?

The objective of the Social Business City Program is to connect dedicated citizens, initiatives, companies and municipal authorities of a city and enable them to solve social problems and create sustainable social impact through social business.

socialbusinessintro

Social Business Introduction

This introductory workshop has the objective to provide the participants clear and concise background information on social business and the differences with NGO’s or profit-making business.

iog

Ingenieure ohne Grenzen (IOG)

Engineers Without Borders Austria (IOG) helps people worldwide in areas such as water, energy, sanitation infrastructure or in building bridges to improve the daily living conditions in developing countries.

Open Digital Science Workshop

Open digital science — ODS – will analyse and stimulate openness of scientific knowledge, by and for everyone to access, acquire, and benefit from. The workshop is part of a current European Commission study on ODS and will explore, concepts and scenarios.

STARTS Workshop: Linking S&T&Arts

In 2016, the European Commission will launch the STARTS initiative to promote innovation at the nexus of Science, Technology, and the ARTS.

20760099760_f16cb02d1e_o_1000x500

Workshop Series: Myriads of Knowledge Pills

How is it possible to capture the real-time life of the city, using social networks, sensors, data, wearable devices, Internet of Things, domotics, and other sources of digital information?

Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

Das Ars Electronica Festival ist eine Plattform des Austausches und der Begegnung von und mit herausragenden WissenschaftlerInnen und KünstlerInnen. Die Themensymposien wenden sich der zentralen (Festival-)Frage zu, wie wir uns die Zukunft unserer Städte vorzustellen haben: Wie wollen wir unseren urbanen Lebensraum im 21. Jahrhundert in sozialer, ökonomischer, ökologischer und infrastruktureller Hinsicht gestalten? Beim “Future Innovators Summit” werden sowohl erfahrene Fachleute als auch JungunternehmerInnen und SozialaktivistInnen, TechnikerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen, und natürlich auch KünstlerInnen und DesignerInnen zusammentreffen, um Ideen und Know-how auszutauschen und einander zu inspirieren. Bei den Prix-Foren kommen hingegen Jurymitglieder des Prix Ars Electronica mit den PreisträgerInnen ins Gespräch.

symp1

POST CITY Symposium I: Future Mobility – A Challenge for Art & Science

Der Mobilitätsbegriff dieses POST-CITY-Symposiums ist ein sehr weit gefasster: Er verbindet den spektakulären Forschungsprototyp für das autonome Auto mit einer Bestandsaufnahme urbaner Mobilität weltweit mit jener von Daten und all den Millionen Menschen, die sich auf den Weg in die Städte machen.

symp3

POST CITY Symposium III: Post Public, Post Private

Sowohl der öffentliche Raum als auch die Sphäre des Persönlichen und Privaten haben sich in den letzten Jahren und Jahrzehnten grundlegend verändert – online wie offline.
Dieser Wandel ist noch lange nicht abgeschlossen und stellt auch StadtplanerInnen und ArchitekturgestalterInnen vor eine große Herausforderung.

symp4

POST CITY Symposium IV: Habitat 21

So wie die Ausstellung gleichen Namens wendet sich auch das Habitat 21-Symposium ebenso unterschiedlichen wie beispielhaften Mitteln und Wegen zu, um den Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts an die Urbanisierungsprozesse von morgen und übermorgen gerecht zu werden.

postcitykitpeople

Future Catalyst Program for the Development of the POST CITY Kit

In zwei Formaten wird beim diesjährigen Festival im Kontext des Future Catalyst Programms an der Entwicklung von POST CITY Kits – eines Instrumentariums an Ideen, Strategien, Werkzeugen und Prototypen für die Stadt von morgen – gearbeitet: auf dem Future Innovators Summit und im Connected Intelligence Atelier.

prixforum

Prix Foren – Art & Science

Bei den Prix Ars Electronica Foren kommen die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica 2015 persönlich über ihre Arbeiten, Motive und Motivationen zu Wort.

expanded-animation

Expanded Animation

Als unverzichtbarer Teil des Ars Electronica Festival im Allgemeinen und des Ars Electronica Animation Festival im Besonderen nimmt sich Expanded Animation einmal mehr der laufenden technologischen wie ästhetischen Entwicklungen in der Kunst der digitalen Animation an.

artandscience

European Digital Art and Science Network Meeting

Gemeinsam mit sieben renommierten Kunst- und Kultureinrichtungen startete Ars Electronica eine europaweite Initiative: Das European Digital Art and Science Network gibt KünstlerInnen die Chance auf mehrwöchige Aufenthalte bei der ESO und im CERN sowie einen daran anschließenden Besuch im Ars Electronica Futurelab.

14962031887_c99c9bcf30_o

Interface Cultures Seminar: Post Post

Beim Interface Cultures Symposium reflektieren WissenschafterInnen und KünstlerInnendie jüngsten Entwicklungen in der Medienkunst – ebenso wie die Post-Medien-Thematik und die Interface-Kritik von künstlerischer Seite.

Mercedes-Benz, Future Talk 2014

Rethinking the Shared Space

Alexander Mankowsky und Christopher Lindinger geben Einblick in die transdisziplinäre Forschungspartnerschaft zwischen Mercedes-Benz und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab

Soya_1000x500

Soya C(o)u(l)ture-Workshops

Bei drei Workshops in der Soya C(o)u(l)ture-Schauküche haben die FestivalbesucherInnen selbst Gelegenheit, sich im Upcycling der Abwässer aus der Sojaherstellung zu versuchen.

connectingcities_conference

Connecting Cities Conference

Europäische urbane Identitäten, gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und die Partizipation der BürgerInnen stehen im Mittelpunkt des ersten Symposiums des Festivals 2015.

postcitykitdiscussion

Post City Kit – Open Discussion

Hier kommen die Kreativen und Facilitators des Future Innovators Summit mit allen anderen zusammen, die an der Entwicklung des Post City Kit mitwirken, um sich auszutauschen und wechselseitig zu inspirieren.

musicmondaylectures

Music Monday – Lectures und Performances

Ein ganzer Tag voll mit Musik und Sounds: Ars Electronica widmet sich am letzten Tag des Festivals insbesondere den Sound-Installationen: Lecture-Performances geben Einblick in jene Musik und Soundarbeiten, die während des Festivals präsentiert wurden.

KnowldegeCapital_1000x500

Knowledge Capital

Knowledge Capital ist ein von Unternehmen geschaffener Kreativknotenpunkt in einem großen Gebäudekomplex im Zentrum von Osaka, in dem auch Dienstleister, Shops, Hotels und Gastronomie angesiedelt sind.

wearablestudioworkshop

Wearable Studio Practice Workshop

In Begleitung ihrer Wearable Studio Practice-Präsentation in der Post City Kit Exhibition öffnen Hannah Perner-Wilson (AT) und Andrew Quitmeyer (US) ihr mobiles Elektroniklabor für bis zu zehn WorkshopteilnehmerInnen, denen sie den richtigen Umgang mit Material und Werkzeug vermitteln.

gtec

g.tec medical engineering

g.tec medical engineering (AT) entwickelt und fertigt preisgekrönte Hard- und Software zur Biosignalverarbeitung, mit deren Hilfe schwer beeinträchtigte Menschen kommunizieren können.

seekid

SEE-KID

Die MedizininformatikerInnen Thomas Kaltofen und Sara Ivcevic von der RISC Software GmbH (AT) stellen neue Entwicklungen ihres Unternehmens vor.

Experiencing the Unconventional. Science in Art

Experiencing the Unconventional. Science in Art macht mit Projekten bekannt, in denen besondere Formen der Auseinandersetzung mit Raum, Materie und Klang außergewöhnliche Ergebnisse gezeitigt haben.

IMG_6778

Neuroscience City Walk

Wie orientieren sich Gehirn und Bewusstsein in einer Stadt und wie bilden sie diese geistig ab?

lightpainting

Lightpainting Workshop

Christopher Noelle (DE/AT) vermittelt den grundlegenden Umgang mit Pixel- und LED-Stick, Pinseln und Blitzlichter, mit denen sich verblüffende Lichtbilder und Stop-Motion-Animationen gestalten lassen.

socialbusiness

How to become a social business city?

Ein gutes Social Business City Program vernetzt engagierte BürgerInnen und Initiativen mit Unternehmen und Behörden, um soziale Probleme gemeinsam nachhaltig sozialwirtschaftlich zu lösen.

socialbusinessintro

Social Business Introduction

Dieser Einführungsworkshop stellt diese neue Kategorie von Wirtschaftsunternehmen en detail zuerst in der Theorie und dann anhand einiger Fallstudien aus der Praxis vor.

iog

Ingenieure ohne Grenzen (IOG)

Weltweit aktiv hilft Ingenieure ohne Grenzen Österreich Menschen in Bereichen, wie beispielsweise der Wasser-, Energie- und Sanitärversorgung oder bauen Brücken, um die alltäglichen Lebensumstände in Entwicklungsländern zu verbessern.

Open Digital Science Workshop

Im Zuge einer Studie der Europäischen Kommission zu Open Digital Science dreht sich in diesem Workshop alles um Konzepte und Szenarien einer Öffnung der Wissenschaften über digitale Kanäle hin zu einer breiten Öffentlichkeit.

STARTS Workshop: Linking S&T&Arts

2016 lanciert die Europäische Kommission die Initiative STARTS, um Innovation an der Nahtstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und der Kunst zu fördern.

20760099760_f16cb02d1e_o_1000x500

Workshop Series: Myriads of Knowledge Pills

Wie lässt sich das Leben in der Stadt in Echtzeit mit Hilfe von sozialen Netzwerken, Sensoren, Daten, tragbaren Endgeräten, dem Internet der Dinge, Domotics und anderen Informationsquellen erfassen?