Jury 1987 – 2017

80s 1987 1988 1989
90s 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
00s 1987 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
10s 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

Jury 2016

Computer Animation
Interactive Art
Digital Communities
u19

2016 Prix Jury: COMPUTER ANIMATION / FILM / VFX

Mihai Grecu (RO/HU)
Mihai Grecu was born in 1981. After studying art and cinema in France, at the Fresnoy Studio of Contemporary Arts, he has been developing a complex personal visual language. By mixing symbolic images with highly metaphorical situations and surreal atmospheres, his works challenge the viewer’s perception as well as contemporary imagery, with recurring themes such as environment, war, water and metamorphosis.
His films-poems have been shown in numerous film and new media festivals worldwide (Rotterdam, Festival of New Cinema in Montreal, Clermont Ferrand, Videobrasil) and exhibitions (“Dans la nuit, des images” at the Grand Palais in Paris, Mois de la Photographie in Paris, Hengesbach Gallery in Berlin, etc).
Bernd Kracke (DE)
Bernd Kracke has been the President of HfG Offenbach since September 15, 2006.
He has been Professor for Electronic Media at HfG Offenbach since 1999 and was the Dean of the School of Art (formerly Visual Communication department) from 2001 to 2006. He founded the CrossMediaLab as a platform for research and experimentation on networking analogue and digital technologies as well as their innovative application in an arts and design context. Here, he drew on his experience from his work at M.I.T. Cambridge/USA (1979 to 1985) and the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (1991 to 1999) as well as his long-standing work as an independent media designer and artist. Kracke is a co-founder, board member and committee spokesperson of Hessen Film and Media Academy and the initiator and director of the B3 Biennial of the Moving Image.
Erick Oh (KR)
Erick Oh is a Korean filmmaker / painter based in California, USA. His work has been introduced and nominated at Annecy Animation Festival, Hiroshima Animation Festival, Student Academy Awards, Zagreb Film Festival, SIGGRAPH, Anima Mundi, Ars Electronica and numerous other international film festivals and galleries world wide. After receiving his BFA from Fine Art Department at Seoul National University and his MFA from UCLA’s film program, Erick joined Pixar Animation Studios as an animator in 2010. Erick’s most recent independent animated film, ‘The Dam Keeper’ was nominated for the Academy Awards in 2015.
www.erickoh.com
www.facebook.com/erickohart
Mari-Liis Rebane (EE)
Mari-Liis Rebane, (Tallinn, Estonia), is an artist and director working in the fields of audiovisual production and moving image. Since 2011 Mari-Liis is working for International Animation Film Festival Animated Dreams, the oldest and biggest animation festivals in the Baltics, currently she is in charge as the Festival Director. She is also occasionally involved as an animation expert in Estonian Film Fund financing committee and collaborates as a programme curator for international festivals and as an independent journalist for culture magazines. Promoting visual culture and expanding the definition of animation has become her main mission. Mari-Liis Rebane has graduated from the animation department at Estonian Academy of Arts and currently focusing on interactive and emerging technologies in her MA studies in New Media.
Johannes Schiehsl (AT)
uury_CA_Johannes_Schiehsl
Johannes Schiehsl started studying traditional animation in Czech Republic, and continued his studies at the prestigious Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg. There he created a couple of award winning short films that also aired on several television channels. His autobiographically inspired graduation short film „366 Days“ was selected by more than 70 international film festivals and received numerous awards. Among others the film was selected to the official competitions in Annecy and Stuttgart and became the first animated film ever to be nominated for an Austrian Movie Award. Johannes Schiehsl founded the animation company „Neuer Österreichischer Trickfilm“ together with Conrad Tambour and Benjamin Swiczinsky in 2011.

2016 Prix Jury: INTERACTIVE ART +

Christophe De Jaeger (BE)
Christophe De Jaeger
Christophe De Jaeger is responsible for the programme of media arts and the relation between arts and industry in the Center for Fine Arts. On a freelance basis he curated exhibitions in Belgium and abroad (USA, China) with international media artists. Most recent international exhibitions were hosted by MAC – Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Niterói in Rio de Janeiro in Brazilië (2013) and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Shanghai (2009). In 2014 he founded the Belgian organization Gluon that stimulates creative partnerships between artists, researchers and industrialists. Currently Christophe De Jaeger is working on a phd at King’s College London where he researches the history and methodology of organisations stimulating collaborative practice with artists in the 1960s and 1970s.
Michela Magas (GB/HR)
Michela Magas
Michela Magas is an innovation catalyst who bridges science, art, design and technology. A graduate from the Royal College of Art in London, her PhD research at Goldsmiths was in music and technology. She is the founder of Music Tech Fest and Innovation Director of #MusicBricks, which puts exclusive tech in the hands of hackers and makers. She won the ‘art meets science’ NEM Art award twice, and is on the Advisory Board of the H2020 programme for Innovation, IoT and the Creative Industries.
Irini Papadimitriou (GR/UK)
Irini Papadimitriou
Irini Papadimitriou is a London-based curator and producer, currently Head of New Media Arts Development at Watermans, an arts organisation presenting innovative work and supporting artists working with technology, where she is curating the exhibition programme and an annual digital performance festival. Irini is also Digital Programmes Manager at the V&A, mainly responsible for programmes such as the annual Digital Design Weekend: a big-scale event of interactive installations, open & collaborative workshops, artists’ presentations and talks, showing digital art and design projects and offering audiences the opportunity to meet the artists & makers and explore processes. She is also one of the organisers for London’s Elephant & Castle Mini Maker Faire, a day of making, learning, inventing and tinkering.
Joachim Sauter (DE)
Joachim Sauter
Since the early 1980s, Joachim has been working as a media artist and designer. From the beginning, he focussed on digital technologies and is experimenting how they can be used to express content, form, and narration. Fueled by this interest, he founded ART+COM in 1988 together with other artists, designers, scientists and technologists. Their goal was to practically research this new up-and-coming medium in the realm of art and design. Until now, he is leading this interdisciplinary group. In the course of his work he was invited to participate on many exhibitions. Beside others he showed his work at ‘Centre Pompidou’ Paris,’Venice Biennial’, ‘Stejdilik Museum’ Amsterdam, Kunsthalle Wien,’ICC’ Tokyo, ‘Getty Center’ Los Angeles, MAXXI Rom. Since 1991 he is full professor for “New Media Art and Design” at the ‘University of the Arts’ Berlin and since 2001 adjunct professor at UCLA, Los Angeles.
Victoria Vesna (US)
Victoria Vesna
Victoria Vesna, Ph.D., is an Artist and Professor at the UCLA Department of Design | Media Arts and Director of the Art|Sci center at the School of the Arts and California Nanosystems Institute (CNSI). With her installations she investigates how communication technologies affect collective behavior and perceptions of identity shift in relation to scientific innovation (PhD, University of Wales, 2000). Her work involves long-term collaborations with composers, nano-scientists, neuroscientists, evolutionary biologists and she brings this experience to students. She is the North American editor of AI & Society and in 2007 published an edited volume – Database Aesthetics: Art in the Age of Information Overflow and another in 2011 – Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts.

2016 Prix Jury: DIGITAL COMMUNITIES

Ian Banerjee (IN/AT)
Ian Banerjee
Ian Banerjee is lecturer and research fellow at the Centre for Sociology (ISRA) at Vienna University of Technology. Since 15 years he has been investigating global issues around urbanization with a special focus on urban innovation. Since six years he has developed a keen interest in studying the inter-linkages between urbanism and emerging educational practices. In 2015 he edited an e-book with Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber on ‘Digital Communities 2004-2014: Selected Projects from Prix ARS Electronica”.
Sarah Kriesche (AT)
PX16_Jury_DC_Sarah_Kriesche
Sarah works as a radio host and journalist for over 18 years already. During this time, she helped to create and establish a radio station in Gran Canaria, worked as a showrunner for “Ö3 Wecker” while hosting her own radio shows at “Hitardio Ö3” and served as Head of Corporate Communications at the daily newspaper “Die Presse”. She also provides voice/vocal training and presentation training. In 2010 she decided to mainly focus on many divergent topics in the widespread sphere of information technology. Since then she covers the impact of subcultures (such as Anonymous) as well as technical achievements like m2m or IoT and their meaning for modern society for Radio Ö1. As every new buzzword like “cyber” or “smart” doesn’t just bring chances but also risks, her stories often have a strong emphasis on (information-)security. Her weekly radio portrait “Vielfalt in Wien” at “Radio Wien” was awarded the “Prälat Leopold Ungar”-Anerkennungspreis.
Hans Reitz (DE)
Hans Reitz
Hans Reitz (born 1966 in Bavaria) is a Founder and Managing Director who was always driven by the quest for adventure and change. At the age of 20 he started traveling which led him to many countries, including India where he spent 7 years living a simple life. Within a few years, he established a creative circle and, as culture manager, organized, among others things, a variety of theater and culture projects. He founded the event agency “circ” in 1994 which today serves such renowned companies as, Autostadt, BASF, and E.ON. Entrepreneur Hans Reitz has established his radius of operations and his network not only in the world of business, but he has also developed social projects, starting with Wiesbaden, where he now lives, and subsequently throughout the world. Since late 2008, Hans Reitz has also been speaking at international conferences and led numerous workshops at various universities.
Marleen Stikker (NL)
Marleen Stikker
Marleen Stikker (1962) is founder of De Digitale Stad (The Digital City) in 1994, the first virtual community introducing free public access to the internet. She is founder of Waag, a social enterprise that consists of Waag Society, a research Institute for creative technologies and social innovation and Waag Products, that launched companies like 7scenes, a mobile learning and gaming platfor m and Fairphone, the first fair smartphone in the world. Stikker is also member of the supervisory board of WPG Publishers, an independent publishing group. Marleen Stikker strongly adheres to the Maker’s Bill of Rights motto “If You Can’t Open It, You Don’t Own It”. Waag Society is actively involved in the Open Design and Creative Commons movement and believes that society needs open technologies that meet societal challenges.
Kazuko Tanaka (JP)
Kazuko Tanaka
Kazuko Tanaka joined Hakuhodo in 1998 and started her career in account services, further expanding into new business development with leading foreign marketing firms—and at the same time having 3 children. On belief that working mothers, still a minority in Japan, need a place to share information and ideas, she started the “Hakuhodo Working Moms’ Link” in 2012, networking across over 50 companies/ 500 working mothers through “Lunchcation – lunchtime communication” actions. Kazuko joined VoiceVision Inc. in July 2013 as one of its founding members, serving as community producer and facilitates community projects for companies and local governments. Also, Kazuko has been on the joint team project between Hakuhodo and Ars Electronica – the Future Catalyts – and has operated two seasons of Future Innovators Summit at the Ars Electronica Festival.
Advisory Board 2016
Antoni Abad (ES)
Heitor Alvelos (PT)
Hans Bernhard (AT)
Martijn De Waal (NL)
Oscar Ekponimo (NG)
Cyrus Farivar (US)
Carlos Gomez de Llarena (US)
Laina Greene (IN)
Salvatore Iaconesi (IT)
Jepchumba (KE)
Marc Lee (CH)
André Lemos (BR)
Montenoso (ES)
Marcus Neustetter (ZA)
Gerda Palmetshofer (AT)
Walter Palmetshofer (AT)
Clément Renaud (FR)
Fermin Serrano Sanz (ES)
Felix Stalder (AT)
Laurent Straskraba (AT)
Addie Wagenknecht (AT)
Jeff Warren (US)
Stefanie Wuschitz (AT)
Lei Yang (CN)
Bo Zheng (HK/CN)
Leopold Zyka (AT)

2016 Prix Jury: u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

Sirikit Amann (AT)
Sirikit Amann
Sirikit Amann was born in 1961. She studied political science, theater and economics in Vienna. Since the ‘80s, her activities in Austria and abroad have been focused on the interface of culture, education and new media: Until 2007 she has been a division manager for cultural education at KulturKontakt Austria. 2008 she transfered in the newly-established staff position for artistic and cultural education at the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Art and Culture. Since then she works as an adviser in the office of the Federal Minister for Art and Culture. For the Prix Ars Electronica she curates the Young Animation and is an u19 juror since that category’s inception.
Gerhard Funk (AT)
Gerhard Funk
Gerhard Funk was born in 1958. He studied Mathematics and Art Education in Linz und received his Ph.D. in Theoretical Computer Science. As a highschool teacher he taught art education, mathematics and informatics. In parallel he worked as assistant and researcher at RISC Linz. In 1993 he transfered to the University of Art Linz, where he established an education programme for digital media and developed the elearning platform “Digital Media for Artists – DMA”. Since 2004 he is a full professor at the Institute of Media and the head of the bachelor’s degree program “Timebased and Interactive Media” that he has conceptualized. Additionally he leads the branch of study “Web Art & Design” of the master’s degree program in “Web Sciences” that is offered together with the Johannes Kepler University Linz.
www.ufg.ac.at/Bachelorstudium.1678+M52087573ab0.0.html
Beate Großegger (AT)
Beate Großegger
Beate Großegger (geb. 1966) is the scientific leader and the vicarious chairwoman of the Institute for Youth Culture Research in Vienna as well as juror for the program “kinderuni – activities and awareness campaigns for children and adolescents” of the federal ministry of science, research and economy. She is graduated in communication-science and since 1996 she is working in the field of applied social research. Because of her great commitment to gender-sensitive youth research Beate Großegger was awarded for the “Käthe Leichter Prize for women’s studies, gender studies and equality in the workplace” in 2011 and is a renowned expert on studies focusing on the youth living environment. Beside that Beate Großegger is an external lecturer at several Austrian Universities focusing on the current youth research in the academic field.
Her key working issues are: media and communication, youth and politics, youth and employment issues, future lifestyles and trends, generational research, methods of qualitative audience research.
jugendkultur.at/institut/team/beate-grossegger/
jugendkultur.at
Conny Lee (AT)
Cornelia Lee
Conny Lee, born 1985 in Vienna, studied the allegedly unpromising discipline of Theatre-, Film- and Mediascience. Since she got her degree, she’s been working for Radio FM4 at the Austrian Broadcasting Company. There she produces and co-hosts the bilingual FM4 Morningshow and does Reviews on Games, Literature and Comics. Apart from that she also moderates events and public discussions.
Karl Markovics (AT)
Karl Markovics
Karl Markovics (born August 29, 1963) is an Austrian actor and film director.
He starred as Salomon Sorowitsch in Stefan Ruzowitzky’s 2007 film “The Counterfeiters”, which was awarded the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film for that year. Prior to that, his most notable appearances have been in the highly-acclaimed Austrian (Viennese) black comedy Komm, “süßer Tod” (2001), his role as far-right terrorist Franz Fuchs in the 2007 TV movie “Franz Fuchs – Ein Patriot”, and in the police drama television series “Inspector Rex”. His character from Inspector Rex had his own spin-off series, “Stockinger”. He also played the role of Ferdinand aus der Fünten in the 2012 Dutch film “Süskind”. Markovics remains a frequent stage actor, and in April 2010 played the non-singing role of Samiel in Counterfeiters-director Ruzowitzky’s first opera production, “Der Freischütz” at Vienna’s Theater an der Wien. He directed and wrote “Atmen“ in 2011. Markovics’ second working as a screenwriter/director followed in 2015: SUPERWELT had the world-premiere at the 66th Berlinale. SUPERWELT was also the opening-film of last years’ Diagonale.

JurorInnen 1987 – 2017

80s 1987 1988 1989
90s 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
00s 1987 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
10s 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

Jurorinnen 2016

Computer Animation
Interactive Art
Digital Communities
u19

2016 Prix Jury: COMPUTER ANIMATION / FILM / VFX

Mihai Grecu (RO/HU)
Mihai Grecu (geb. 1981) studierte Kunst und Film an den Fresnoy Studios für zeitgenössische Kunst in Frankreich. In dieser Zeit konnte er seine komplexe persönliche Bildsprache entwickeln. Indem er symbolische Bilder mit metaphorischen Situationen in surrealen Atmosphären kombiniert fordern seine Arbeiten die Wahrnehmungen der BetrachterInnen. Dabei behandelt er Themen wie Umwelt, Krieg, Wasser und andere Metamorphosen. Seine Filmgedichte wurden bereits im Rahmen zahlreicher internationaler Festivals und Ausstellungen gezeigt (Rotterdam, Festival des neuen Kinos in Montreal, Clermont Ferrand, Videobrasil, „dans la nuit, des images“ im Grand Palais Paris, Mois de la Photographie in Paris, Hengesbach Gallerie in Berlin, etc.)
Bernd Kracke (DE)
Bernd Kracke ist seit 2006 Präsident der HfG Offenbach. Bereits seit 1999 arbeitet er als Professor für elektronische Medien an der HfG Offenbach und leitet die School of Art (vormals Abteilung für visuelle Kommunikation) als Dekan. Im Jahr 2001 gründete er das so genannte Cross Media Lab als Plattform für die Erforschung der Vernetzung analoger und digitaler Technologien und ihre innovative Anwendung im Kunst- und Designkontext. Vor allem auf seine langjährigen Erfahrungen aus seiner Zeit am MIT (1997-1985), an der Akademie der Medienkunst in Köln (1991-1999) sowie aus seiner langjährigen Tätigkeit als unabhängiger Mediendesigner und Künstler kann er heute zurückgreifen. Bernd Kracke ist Mitbegründer, Vorstandsmitglied und Sprecher der Hessen Film- und Medienakademie und Initiator bzw. Leiter der B3 Biennale.
Erick Oh (KR)
Erick Oh ist ein aus Korea stammender Filmemacher/Maler, der heute in Kalifornien lebt. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Galerien weltweit und auf zahlreichen internationalen Filmfestivals präsentiert und für Preise nominiert, u.a. Festival d’Animation Annecy, Animationsfestival Hiroshima, Student Academy Awards, Zagreb Film Festival, SIGGRAPH, Anima Mundi und Ars Electronica. Nach Abschluss seines Kunststudiums an der Staatlichen Universität Seoul mit einem Bachelor of Fine Arts und des Filmprogramms an der UCLA mit einem Master of Fine Arts arbeitete Erick Oh als Trickfilmanimator bei den Pixar Animation Studios.Erick’s neuester Animationsfilm „The Dam Keeper“ wurde für die 2015 Academy Awards nominiert.
www.erickoh.com
www.facebook.com/erickohart
Mari-Liis Rebane (EE)
Mari-Liis Rebane (Tallinn, Estland) ist Künstlerin und Regisseurin im Bereich audiovisuelle Produtkion und Film. Seit 2011 ist sie als Direktorin des internationalen Animationfilm-Festivals „Animated Dreams“ tätig, welches zu den ältesten und größten Animationsfilmfestivals im Baltikum gehört. Den Finanzierungsausschuss des estnischen Filmfonds unterstützt Mari-Liis als Expertin im Bereich Animationen. Zudem arbeitet sie als Kuratorin für internationale Filmfestivals und als freie Journalistin für diverse Kulturmagazine. Ihre Vision ist es die Definition von Animation zu erweitern und visuelle Kunst im Allgemeinen zu fördern. Mari-Liis Rebane hat einen Abschluss der estnischen Kunstakademie im Bereich Animationen und konzentriert sich derzeit im Rahmen ihres Masterstudiums auf interaktive und neue Technologien und Medien.
Johannes Schiehsl (AT)
uury_CA_Johannes_Schiehsl
Johannes Schiehsl ist ein österreichischer Trickfilmreggiseur. Er absolvierte sein Studium an der Filmschool Zlin sowie an der renommierten Filmakademie in Baden-Württemberg. In dieser Zeit schon schuf er einige preisgekrönte Kurzfilme, welche bereits durch verschiedene Fernsehsender ausgestrahlt wurden. Sein Kurzanimationsfilm „366 Tage“ erhielt viele internationale Auszeichnungen und wurde von mehr als 70 internationalen Filmfestivals prämiert und gezeigt. Unter anderem wurde dieser Film als erste Animation für die österreichischen Filmpreise nominiert. Zusammen mit Conrad Tambour und Benjamin Swicinsky gründete er im Jahr 2011 die Gruppe „Neuer Österreichischer Trickfilm“.

2016 Prix Jury: INTERACTIVE ART +

Christophe De Jaeger (BE)
Christophe De Jaeger
Christophe de Jaeger ist verantwortlich für das Medienkunstprogramm und Kooperationen zwischen Kunst und Industrie bei BOZAR (Centre for Fine Arts) in Brüssel. Auf freiberuflicher Basis kuratierte er diverse Ausstellungen mit international bekannten Medienkünstlern im In- und Ausland (USA, China, etc.). Zuletzt waren seine Ausstellungen im MAC (Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst) in Rio de Janeiro/Brasilien (2013) und im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Shanghai (2009) zu sehen. Im Jahr 2014 gründete Christophe de Jaeger die belgische Organisation „Gluon“, welche sich mit kreativen Kooperationen zwischen KünstlerInnen, ForscherInnen und EntrepereneurInnen beschäftigt. Zur Zeit forscht er im Rahmen seiner Doktorarbeit am King’s College in London zum Thema „Geschichte und Methoden der praktischen Zusammenarbeit mit KünstlerInnen von 1960 bis 1970“.
Michela Magas (GB/HR)
Michela Magas
Michela Magas versteht sich als Innovationskatalysatorin zwischen Wissenschaft, Kunst, Design und Technologie. Sie verfügt über einen Abschluss am Royal College of Art in London. In ihrer Doktorarbeit bei Goldsmiths erforschte sie das Thema Musik und Technologie. Michaela Magas ist die Gründerin des Muis Tech Fest und innovative Direktorin von #MusicBricks. Bereits zum zweiten Mal wurde sie mit dem „art meets science“ NEM Kunst-Award ausgzeichnet. Zudem ist sie Teil des Beirates für H2020 Programme für Innovation, Internet der Dinge und kreative Industrien.
Irini Papadimitriou (GR/UK)
Irini Papadimitriou
Irini Papadimitriou ist eine in London tätige Kuratorin und Produzentin, die zurzeit als Head of New Media Arts Development bei Watermans fungiert, einer Kunstorganisation, die innovative Arbeiten präsentiert und Künstler unterstützt, die mit Technologie arbeiten. Hier kuratiert sie das Ausstellungsprogramm und ein jährliches digitales Performance-Festival. Irini Papadimitriou ist zudem Digital Programmes Manager bei V&A, wobei sie hauptsächlich für Programme wie das jährliche Digital Design Weekend verantwortlich zeichnet. Diese Großveranstaltung umfasst interaktive Installationen, offene und gemeinschaftliche Workshops, Präsentationen von Künstlern und Gespräche mit ihnen sowie die Ausstellung digitaler Kunst- und Designprojekte und bietet den Besuchern die Möglichkeit, die Künstler und Hersteller sowie die Prozesse kennen zu lernen. Zudem ist Irini Papadimitriou eine der Organisatorinnen der Londoner Elephant & Castle Mini Maker Faire, einem Tag des Schaffens, Lernens, Erfindens und Bastelns.
Joachim Sauter (DE)
Joachim Sauter
Seit den frühen 1980er Jahren arbeitet er als Medienkünstler und Designer. Von Anfang an hat er sich dabei auf digitale Technologien konzentriert und mit ihnen experimentiert, um herauszufinden, wie sich für die Vermittlung von Inhalten, für Narration und für die äußere Form einsetzen lassen. Getrieben von diesem Interesse gründete er gemeinsam mit anderen KünstlerInnen, DesignerInnen, WissenschafterInnen und TechnikerInnen 1988 ART+COM. Bis heute leitet Sauter das interdisziplinäre Team. Sauter hat seine Arbeiten bisher unter anderem im Centre Pompidou Paris, Stejdilik Museum Amsterdam, Museum for Contemporary Art Sidney, in den Deichtorhallen Hamburg, der Kunsthalle Wien, auf der Biennale von Venedig, im ICC Tokyo, Getty Center Los Angeles und MAXXI Rom präsentiert. Seit 1991 ist er Professor für New Media Art and Design an der Universität der Künste Berlin und seit 2001 Professor an der UCLA in Los Angeles.

Victoria Vesna (US)
Victoria Vesna
Victoria Vesna, Ph.D., ist Künstlerin und Professorin am Department of Design|Media Arts an der UCLA sowie Leiterin des Art|Sci Center an der School of the Arts sowie des California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI). Sie promovierte 2000 an der University of Wales. In ihren Installationen untersucht sie, wie Kommunikationstechnologien das Kollektivverhalten beeinflussen und ob sich die Identitätsauffassung in Zusammenhang mit wissenschaftlichem Fortschritt verändert. Sie unterhielt im Rahmen ihrer Projekte langfristige Kooperationen mit Komponisten, Nanowissenschaftlern, Neurowissenschaftlern, Evolutionsbiologen und vermittelt die dabei gewonnenen Erfahrungen ihren Studenten. Vesna ist Herausgeberin der Zeitschrift AI & Society und publizierte die Sammelbände Database Aesthetics: Art in the Age of Information Overflow (2007) sowie Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts (2011).

2016 Prix Jury: DIGITAL COMMUNITIES

Ian Banerjee (IN/AT)
Ian Banerjee
Ian Banerjee ist Vortragender und Forscher am Fachbereich Soziologie (ISRA) an der Technischen Universität in Wien. Seit 15 Jahren erforscht er das Thema globale Gründe für Urbanisierung mit einem speziellen Fokus auf städtische Innovation. Die letzten sechs Jahre seiner Arbeit widmete er vermehrt seinem Interesse für die Erforschung von Verflechtungen zwischen Urbanismus und den aufkommenden Bildungspraktiken. Gemeinsam mit Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber veröffentlichte er 2015 ein e-book mit dem Thema „Digitale Gesellschaften 2004-2014: ausgewählte Projekte des Prix Ars Electronica“.
Sarah Kriesche (AT)
PX16_Jury_DC_Sarah_Kriesche
Sarah Kriesche arbeitet seit über 18 Jahren als Journalistin im öffentlichen Rundfunk, bei Antifa Radio, Radio RPN, 88.6, PartyFM,… etc. Während dieser Zeit war sie u.a. Mitbegründerin eines Radiosenders in Gran Canaria, arbeitete als Showrunnerin für den „Ö3 Wecker“, moderierte gleichzeitig andere Sendungen auf Hitradio Ö3 und war Leiterin der Unternehmenskommunikation bei der österreichischen Tageszeitung „Die Presse“. Zudem arbeitet sie als Trainerin in den Bereichen Sprechen, Stimme und Moderation. Im Jahr 2010 entschied sie sich weitgehend mit Themen rund um Informationstechnologie zu beschäftigen. Seither fokussiert sie sich auf den Einfluss von Subkulturen (wie bspw. Anonymous) sowie technischen Innovationen wie m2m oder IoT und deren Bedeutung für unsere Gesellschaft beim Radiosender Ö1. Da Themen rund um die Schlagwörter „Cyber“ oder „Smart“ nicht nur Vorteile und Chancen mit sich bringen, konzentrieren sich ihre Reportagen oft auf Aufklärung und Information. Ihre wöchentliche Sendung „Vielfalt in Wien“ bei „Radio Wien“ wurde mit dem “Prälat Leopold Ungar”-Anerkennungspreis ausgezeichnet.
Hans Reitz (DE)
Hans Reitz
Hans Reitz (geb. 1966 in Bayern) ist Unternehmensgründer und Geschäftsführer, der schon seit jungen Jahren auf der Suche nach Veränderung und Abenteuern war. Im Alter von 20 Jahren begann er zu reisen. Diese Reisen führten ihn unter anderem nach Indien, wo er sieben Jahre lang ein einfaches Leben lebte. Binnen weniger Jahre etablierte er eine kreative Community und machte sich als Kulturmanager, u.a. mit der Realisierung diverser Theater und anderer Projekte, einen Namen. 1994 gründete er die Eventagentur „circ“, die heute renommierte Unternehmen wie Autostadt, BASF und E.ON berät und begleitet. Der Unternehmer Hans Reitz hat seine Projekte und Netzwerke nicht nur in der Welt der Wirtschaft etablieren können, mittlerweile hat er bereits mehrere soziale Projekte realisiert. Seit 2008 ist Hans Reitz weltweit als Sprecher auf internationalen Konferenzen und als Leiter diverser Workshops, auch auf Universitäten, unterwegs.
Marleen Stikker (NL)
Marleen Stikker
Marleen Stikker (geb. 1962) war Gründerin der digitalen Stadt (The Digital City) im Jahr 1994, der ersten virtuellen Gemeinschaft welche sich für den kostenlosen öffentlichen Zugang zum Internet einsetzte. Sie ist Gründerin von WAAG, einem sozialen Unternehmen das aus der WAAG Society (einem Forschungsinstitut für kreative Technologie und soziale Innovationen) sowie WAAG Produkte (die u.a. Unternehmen wie 7scences, eine mobile Lern- und Spielplattform und Fairphone, die das erste fair-produzierte Handy an den Markt brachten, ins Leben gerufen haben). Marleen Stikker ist auch Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates von WPG Publishers, einer unabhängigen Verlagsgruppe. Sie fühlt sich stark mit „Bill of Rights“ der aktuellen Makerszene verbunden „Wenn du es nicht öffnen kannst, gehört es dir nicht“. Die WAAG Society ist aktiv in Bewegungen rund um die Themen Open Design und Creative Commons beteiligt und vertritt die Ansicht, dass unsere Gesellschaft offene Technologien braucht um den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen begegnen zu können.
Kazuko Tanaka (JP)
Kazuko Tanaka
Kazuko Tanaka ist seit 1998 Mitglied von Hakuhodo. Sie begann ihre Karriere im Rechnungswesen, wobei sie sich rasch im Bereich Geschäftsentwicklung mit führenden ausländischen Marketingagenturen etablierte. Nebenbei ist sie Mutter von drei Kindern. Im Glauben dass arbeitende Mütter, welche in Japan noch immer eine Minderheit darstellen, einen Platz zum Austausch von Informationen und Ideen brauchen, gründete sie 2012 das so genannte „Hakuhodo Working Moms‘ Link“, ein Netzwerk das sich über 50 Firmen und mehr als 500 arbeitenden Müttern erstreckt. Im Juli 2013 kam sie als eines der Gründungsmitglieder zur VoiceVisionInc., im Rahmen welcher sie als Produzentin für Community-Projekte im Bereich Unternehmen und Kommunen auftrat. Kazuko Tanaka ist zudem Mitglied in der Arbeitsgruppe „Future Catalysts“, einem gemeinsamen Projekt von Hakuhodo und Ars Electronica. In den letzten beiden Jahren war sie Teilnehmerin beim Future Innovator Summit am Ars Electronica Festival.
Advisory Board 2016
Antoni Abad (ES)
Heitor Alvelos (PT)
Hans Bernhard (AT)
Martijn De Waal (NL)
Oscar Ekponimo (NG)
Cyrus Farivar (US)
Carlos Gomez de Llarena (US)
Laina Greene (IN)
Salvatore Iaconesi (IT)
Jepchumba (KE)
Marc Lee (CH)
André Lemos (BR)
Montenoso (ES)
Marcus Neustetter (ZA)
Gerda Palmetshofer (AT)
Walter Palmetshofer (AT)
Clément Renaud (FR)
Fermin Serrano Sanz (ES)
Felix Stalder (AT)
Laurent Straskraba (AT)
Addie Wagenknecht (AT)
Jeff Warren (US)
Stefanie Wuschitz (AT)
Lei Yang (CN)
Bo Zheng (HK/CN)
Leopold Zyka (AT)

2016 Prix Jury: u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

Sirikit Amann (AT)
Sirikit Amann
Sirikit Amann (geb. 1961) hat Politik-, Theater- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Wien studiert. Seit den 80er Jahren beschäftigt sie sich hauptsächlich mit kultureller Bildung im Spannungsfeld von Kultur, Bildung und neuen Medien auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Bis 2007 in KulturKontakt Austria als Bereichsleiterin für Kulturvermittlung, wechselte sie ab 2008 als Leiterin der neugegründeten Stabsstelle für Kunst- und Kulturvermittlung in das Bundesministerium für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur. Bis 2013 Fachreferentin für Kunstfragen im Büro der Bundesministerin für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur. Seit 2014 Fachreferentin im Büro des Bundesminister für Kunst und Kultur im Bundeskanzleramt. Seit 2008 Kuratorin der Young Animation im Rahmen des Prix Ars Electonica und Jurymitglied von u19 seit Beginn an.
Gerhard Funk (AT)
Gerhard Funk
Gerhard Funk (geb. 1958) studierte Mathematik und Kunsterziehung in Linz und promovierte 1989 im Bereich theoretische Computerwissenschaften. Nach seiner Tätigkeit als AHS-Lehrer für Bildnerische Erziehung, Mathematik und Informatik und seiner Assistenten- und Forschungstätigkeit am RISC Linz wechselte er 1993 an die Kunstuniversität Linz, wo er die universitätsweite Ausbildung im Bereich der digitalen Medien aufbaute und die E-Learningplattform „Digital Media for Artists – DMA“ entwickelte. Seit 2004 ist er Professor am Institut für Medien, leitet das von ihm konzipierte Bachelorstudium „Zeitbasierte und Interaktive Medien“ und seit 2011 den Studienzweig „Web Art & Design“ im Masterstudium „Webwissenschaften“, das gemeinsam mit der Johannes Kepler Universität angeboten wird.
www.ufg.ac.at/Bachelorstudium.1678+M52087573ab0.0.html
Beate Großegger (AT)
Beate Großegger
Beate Großegger (geb. 1966) ist wissenschaftliche Leiterin und stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Instituts für Jugendkulturforschung in Wien sowie Jury-Mitglied zum Programm „Kinderuni-Aktivitäten und Awareness-Maßnahmen für Kinder und Jugendliche“ des BMWFW. Die promovierte Kommunikationswissenschafterin ist seit 1996 in der angewandten Sozialforschung tätig. Aufgrund ihres Engagements für gendersensitive Jugendforschung wurde Beate Großegger 2011 mit den „Käthe-Leichter-Preis für Frauenforschung, Geschlechterforschung und Gleichstellung in der Arbeitswelt“ ausgezeichnet und gilt über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus als Expertin für junge Lebenswelten. An mehreren österreichischen Universitäten vermittelt sie als externe Lehrbeauftragte Schlüsselthemen aktueller Jugendforschung zudem in der akademischen Lehre. Arbeitsschwerpunkte: Medien und Kommunikation, Jugend und Politik, Jugend und Arbeitswelt, Future Lifestyles und Trends, Generationenforschung, Methoden qualitativer Zielgruppenforschung
jugendkultur.at/institut/team/beate-grossegger/
jugendkultur.at
Conny Lee (AT)
Cornelia Lee
Conny Lee, geboren 1985 in Wien, hat das als brotlos verschriene Studium der Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft in Wien studiert. Seit ihrem Abschluss ist bei Radio FM4. Dort produziert und co-moderiert sie die zweisprachige FM4 Morningshow und beschäftigt sich als Redakteurin mit ihren Lieblingsthemen Games, Literatur und Comics. Außerdem moderiert sie Events und Diskussionsrunden.
Karl Markovics (AT)
Karl Markovics
Karl Markovics (* 29. August 1963 in Wien) ist ein österreichischer Schauspieler, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor. Die erste Filmrolle übernahm Markovics 1991 in dem Kinofilm „Hund und Katz“ von Michael Sturminger. 1993 spielte er den Kirchingerwirt in Paul Harathers tragikomischem Roadmovie „Indien“. Einem breiteren Publikum wurde er als Bezirksinspektor Stockinger, zuerst in der österreichischen Krimireihe „Kommissar Rex“, danach in der Spin-Off-Serie „Stockinger“ bekannt. Die Hauptrolle des Salomon Sorowitsch in Stefan Ruzowitzkys Film „Die Fälscher“, der bei der 80. Oscarverleihung als Bester fremdsprachiger Film ausgezeichnet wurde, blieb bis heute Markovics’ größter internationaler Erfolg. 2011 gab er mit dem in Cannes ausgezeichneten Spielfilm „Atmen“ sein Debüt als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor. 2015 folgte Markovics‘ zweite Arbeit als Drehbuchautor/Reggiseur: SUPERWELT hatte auf der 66. Berlinale seine Weltaufführung und war der Eröffnungsfilm der letztjährigen Diagonale.