Artist Lab Iris van Herpen

THU 8 September - MON 12 September 2016, 10AM-7:30PM
POSTCITY, First Floor
POSTCITY
Magnetic MotionCredit: Morgan O'Donovan

Iris Van Herpen

Winner of the STARTS-Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Awarded for artistic exploration and art works where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.

Iris van Herpen, born in 1984, is a fashion designer. She studied fashion design at ArtEZ Institute of the Arts Arnhem and was an intern at Alexander McQueen in London and Claudy Jongstra in Amsterdam. Van Herpen immediately caught the eye with notable shows. In 2007 she started her own fashion label. Iris van Herpen creates women’s-wear collections. Her designs always require a unique treatment of material or the creation of complete new materials. For this reason, van Herpen prefers interdisciplinary research and collaborations with artists from various disciplines, often on a recurring basis. Since July 2011, she has been a guest member of the prestigious Parisian Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture, which is part of the Fédération Française de la Couture. She participates in many international exhibitions and creates two collections a year. Her work has been recognized through awards, exhibitions, publications and the above-mentioned guest membership.

Credit: Morgan O’Donovan

Magnetic Motion

Iris van Herpen explores the interplay of magnetic forces. By thoroughly examining the representation of dynamic forces of attraction and repulsion, the designer fuses nature and technology. Earlier this year, van Herpen’s visit to CERN’s Large Hadron Collider, whose magnetic field is 20,000 times bigger than the Earth’s, provided inspiration for Magnetic Motion. “I find beauty in the continual shaping of chaos, which clearly embodies the primordial power of nature’s performance,” says van Herpen describing the essence of the collection. Van Herpen stayed true to her spirit of bridging fashion and other disciplines by collaborating with the Canadian architect Philip Beesley and the Dutch artist Jolan van der Wiel. Beesley is a pioneer in responsive “living” sculpture, whose poetic works combine advanced computation, synthetic biology and mechatronics engineering. Van der Wiel is an artist and craftsman whose work with magnetic tension has resulted in dynamic sculptures and installations that bring to mind the power of volcanic eruptions. Both artists strive to erase the boundaries between nature and technology in their work, which coincides with the direction of van Herpen’s creative aim.
Emphasizing light and shadow play, micro webs of lace both veil and reveal the luminescent glow of crystal forms, while triacetate feathers punctuate the soft drapes and volumes. The controlled structure of the clothes is offset by the chaotic structure of the accessories, where, due to the nature of magnetic growth, no two items are alike. The shoes, belts, necklaces and clutches were “grown” using magnetic fields.
The designer has worked with techniques like injection molding and laser cutting on maze-like structures, 3D printing and intricate architectural handwork on dresses, jackets, trousers, skirts and blouses, giving them dynamic shapes and surfaces that echo the body’s movement. The three-dimensional nature and the layering of the garments give them volume.

The Magnetic Motion Collection was realized in collaboration with the following artists: Philip Beesley, Niccolo Casas, Jolan van der Wiel

Artist Lab Iris van Herpen

DO 8.9.-MO 12.9.2016, 10:00-19:30
POSTCITY, First Floor
POSTCITY
Magnetic MotionCredit: Morgan O'Donovan

Iris Van Herpen

Gewinnerin des STARTS-Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration: Für künstlerische Erforschung und Kunstwerke, bei denen die Aneignung durch die Kunst großes Potenzial zur Beeinflussung und Veränderung von Technologie und deren Nutzung, Entwicklung und Wahrnehmung hat.

Iris van Herpen (NL), geboren 1984, ist Modeschöpferin. Sie studierte Modedesign an der ArtEZ Akademie für Bildende Künste Arnhem und absolvierte Praktika bei Alexander McQueen in London und Claudy Jongstra in Amsterdam. Van Herpen fiel sehr schnell mit ihren bemerkenswerten Modeschauen auf. 2007 gründete sie ihr eigenes Modelabel. Iris van Herpen kreiert Damenkollektionen. Ihre Designs erfordern jedes mal aufs Neue, einzigartige Methoden des Materialumgangs zu finden, oder sogar neuartige Materialien zu erschaffen. Daher bevorzugt van Herpen interdisziplinäre Forschung und die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit KünstlerInnen aus verschiedensten Disziplinen. Seit Juli 2011 ist sie ein Gastmitglied der renommierten Pariser Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture, die Teil der Fédération Française de la Couture ist. Sie nimmt an internationalen Ausstellungen teil und kreierzwei Kollektionen pro Jahr. Ihre Arbeiten wurden mit vielen Preisen sowie in Ausstellungen, Publikationen und mit der erwähnten Gastmitgliedschaft gewürdigt.

Credit: Morgan O’Donovan

Magnetic Motion

Iris van Herpen beschäftigt sich mit dem Zusammenspiel magnetischer Kräfte. Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit der Dynamik von Anziehung und Abstoßung verschmilzt die Designerin Natur und Technologie miteinander. Anfang dieses Jahres besuchte van Herpen den Large Hadron Collider am Forschungszentrum CERN, dessen Magnetfeld 20.000-mal stärker als jenes der Erde und der Vorbild für das Projekt Magnetic Motion ist. „Ich finde Schönheit in der unaufhörlichen Erzeugung von Chaos, das offensichtlich die Urkraft der Performance der Natur verkörpert“, so van Herpen über den Grundgedanken der Kollektion. Van Herpen blieb ihrem Ansatz treu, Mode mit anderen Disziplinen zu verbinden, indem sie mit dem kanadischen Architekten Philip Beesley und dem niederländischen Künstler Jólan van der Wiel zusammenarbeitete. Beesley ist ein Pionier der interaktiven „lebenden“ Skulpturen, der in seinen poetische Arbeiten moderne computergestützte Berechnungen, synthetische Biologie und Mechatronik miteinander verbindet. Van der Wiel ist ein Künstler und Handwerker, dessen Arbeit mit magnetischer Spannung zu dynamischen Skulpturen und Installationen führt, die an Vulkanausbrüche erinnern. Beide Künstler versuchen in ihrer Arbeit, die Grenzen zwischen Natur und Technologie zu verwischen, was auch mit der künstlerischen Zielrichtung van Herpens einhergeht.
In der Betonung auf Licht- und Schattenspielen wird das Leuchten von Kristallformen durch Mikronetze aus Spitzengewebe sowohl ver- als auch enthüllt, Triazetatfedern unterbrechen den weichen Faltenwurf und die Volumen. Die kontrollierte Struktur der Kleidungsstücke ist mit den chaotischen Strukturen der Accessoires versetzt, bei denen dank magnetischen Wachstums kein Teil dem anderen ähnelt. Die Schuhe, Gürtel, Halsketten und Griffe wurden mittels Magnetfeldern „gezüchtet“.
Mit Methoden wie Spritzguss und Laserschneiden auf labyrinthartigen Strukturen, 3D-Druck und komplexer architektonischer Handarbeit verleiht die Designerin ihren Arbeiten dynamische Formen und Oberflächen, die die Bewegungen des Körpers widerspiegeln. Der dreidimensionale Charakter und die Schichtung der Kleidungsstücke geben ihnen Volumen.

Die Magnetic Motion Collection wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit den Künstlern Philip Beesley, Niccolo Casas und Jólan van der Wiel realisiert.