DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz

SAT September 10, 2016, 7:45 PM, Donaupark
Donaupark
DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZCredit: Intel Corporation

Ars Electronica and Intel™ present: DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz

“DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz” is the title of a spectacular quadcopter swarm performance that Ars Electronica and Intel are staging on September 10th, 2016. Weather permitting, 100 LED-studded Spaxels will put on a truly amazing display of aerial artistry above the Danube as the lead-in to this year’s Visualisierte Klangwolke extravaganza, “River of Knowledge.” Following their world-record-setting flight in Tornesch near Hamburg in late 2015, the 100-drone swarm has performed before a live audience only once. As the highlight of the Vivid Sydney Festival in June 2016, the quadcopters put on a show above the Australian metropolis’ harbor immediately adjacent to the world-famous Opera House. Thus, “DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz” will be the formation’s European premiere.

Experience the World-Record Drones!

On Saturday, September 10, 2016, 7:45 PM, immediately prior to the Klangwolke, these 100 unmanned aerial vehicles will ascend into the night sky above Linz and form spectacular illuminated figures. You’re cordially invited to Donaupark to experience this huge drone swarm’s European premiere!

On Saturday, September 10th, 2016, at 7:45 sharp, 100 quadcopters each equipped with an LED module will lift off for an approximately seven-minute flight. In order to avoid collisions, the launch won’t be simultaneous; instead, smaller groups will take off sequentially in waves. Initially, they’ll ascend almost vertically to an altitude of 30 meters, fly over the trees lining the Danube and head out over water, where they’ll get into position to execute their choreographed routine. Part 1 of the show is a production custom-tailored to Linz featuring several three-dimensional motifs—for instance, a majestic bird flying above the Danube, flapping its huge wings up and down. This number will be synchronized to music created by Linz sound artist and composer Sam Auinger. Part 2 reprises the finale of the DRONE 100 world record flight for Intel in November 2015. That wraps up the airborne spectacle—the drone swarm will then make its way back to its riverside airfield. But this will only have been the beginning for the approximately 100,000 spectators in Donaupark. The evening’s next highlight starts immediately—the Visualisierte Klangwolke entitled “River of Knowledge.”

September 8th and 9th, 2016: Countdown to the Show at the Urfahraner Markt

The countdown to this European premiere will begin two days in advance. On Thursday, September 8th, the airfield will be staked off and set up on the grounds of the Urfahraner Markt, where the necessary tests and preparations will be going on until the big event on Saturday.

Once all the radio channels have been set up and the drones calibrated, it’s time for test flights—first with individual quadcopters, then small formations, and finally the entire swarm. The general public is welcome to gather ‘round the airfield for a close-up look at all the testing procedures. Infotrainers from the Ars Electronica Center will be on hand to offer insights to interested onlookers and bystanders of all ages. They’ll present the quadcopters developed at the Ars Electronica Futurelab and go into the technical details of the hardware and software. And, of course, they’ll provide an account of how it all began with these so-called SPAXELS, a portmanteau word derived from space pixels.

Drone Lab in POSTCITY

Anyone whose appetite has been whetted by the Europe an premiere of DRONE 100 and wants to learn more about unmanned aerial vehicles is encouraged to visit POSTCITY next to Linz’s main train station, September 8-12, throughout the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival. Speed demons and workhorses, photography drones and the illuminated Spaxels developed by the Futurelab’s staff—throughout the Ars Electronica Festival, POSTCITY will be the site of an interesting and informative showcase. There’ll be an account of the SPAXLES story and lots of exhibits, presentations and demonstrations providing authoritative insights into current and future applications of drone technology.

Info about the 100 SPAXELS performance (Saturday, September 10) and the tests open to the public (Thursday & Friday, September 8-9) as well as the Drone Lab at the Ars Electronica Festival (September 8-12) is online via Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+) and on our Facebook event “Drone 100 – Spaxels over Linz”!

Event on Facebook More about the Spaxels

Interviews and background stories

DRONE 100 in Linz: A Behind-the-Scenes Look

Here, Chris Bruckmayr and Andreas Jalsovec of the Spaxels crew talk about all the preparations and work that goes into such a performance.

Drone 100: A World Record Featuring 100 Points

A spectacle produced by the Ars Electronica Futurelab for Intel has made it into the record books! In a performance showcased by a promotional film for the world-famous chip maker, 100 spaxels took to the sky simultaneously. Team spirit is what it took to get this ambitious demonstration of technical brilliance off the ground.

Spaxels at the Eurovision Song Contest

This is the ultimate extravaganza! With over 195 million viewers, the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest will be one of the world’s biggest televised events. Among the featured attractions—albeit with only half a minute of air time—are the Spaxels of the Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz.

Drone 100 – Intel in collaboration with Ars Electronica Futurelab holds the world record in the category
Most Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) Airborne Simultaneously.
Intel, the Intel logo, the Intel. Experience What’s Inside logo and Intel. Experience What’s Inside are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.

DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz

SA 10.9.2016, 19:45, Donaupark
Donaupark
DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZCredit: Intel Corporation

Ars Electronica und Intel™ präsentieren: DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz

Mit „DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz“ laden Ars Electronica und Intel am 10. September zu einer spektakulären Drohnen-Performance. Gutes Wetter vorausgesetzt, werden 100 Spaxels unmittelbar vor der Visualisierten Klangwolke „Fluss des Wissens“ zu einem aufsehenerregenden Flug über der Donau abheben. Nach dem Weltrekordflug Ende 2015 in Tornesch bei Hamburg, war der Drohnenschwarm bislang für Publikum nur in Sydney zu sehen: Im Rahmen des Vivid Sydney Festivals flog man im Juni 2016 im Hafenbecken der australischen Metropole, direkt neben der weltberühmten Oper. Mit „DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz“ folgt nun die Europapremiere der 100 Weltrekord-Drohnen in Linz.

Erleben Sie die Weltrekord-Drohnen!

Samstag, 10. September 2016, 19:45, direkt vor der Klangwolke, werden diese 100 Weltrekord-Drohnen in den Nachthimmel über Linz aufsteigen und spektakuläre Leuchtfiguren bilden. Kommen Sie in den Donaupark und erleben Sie die Europapremiere dieses riesigen Drohnenschwarms!

Samstag, 10. September 2016, Punkt 19:45 werden die 100 mit LED-bestückten Drohnen zu einem rund 7-minütigen Flug starten. Um Kollisionen zu vermeiden, werden sie nicht alle gleichzeitig, sondern in Gruppen, nacheinander abheben. Sie werden zunächst 30 Meter fast senkrecht empor und dann über die Bäume am Flussufer, hinaus über die Donau fliegen. Dort angekommen, werden sie ihre Positionen einnehmen und mit ihrem „Tanz“ beginnen. Der erste Teil der Show wird eigens für Linz gestaltet und verschiedene, dreidimensionale Motive beinhalten – einen majestätischen Vogel etwa, der über die Donau fliegen und dabei seine riesigen Schwingen auf und ab bewegen wird. Synchronisiert wird diese Choreografie mit der Musik des Linzer Soundkünstlers und Komponisten Sam Auinger. Der zweite Teil der Show zeigt dann das Finale des Weltrekordflugs, den man im November 2015 für Intel flog. Danach endet das Spektakel und der Drohnenschwarm wird sich auf den Rückweg, Richtung Airfield, machen. Für die 100.000 Menschen auf der anderen Seite der Donau wird in dem Moment schon das nächste Highlight des Abends beginnen: die Visualisierte Klangwolke „Fluss des Wissens“.

8. und 9. September 2016:
Countdown zur Show auf dem Urfahraner Markt

Der Countdown für diese Europapremiere beginnt schon zwei Tage davor. Donnerstag, 8. September, wird das Airfield auf dem Areal des Urfahraner Markt in Linz aufgebaut und abgesichert. Bis Samstag werden hier alle notwendigen Tests und Vorbereitungen ablaufen.

Nachdem sämtliche Funkstrecken ausgemessen sind und Drohne um Drohne kalibriert ist, wird zunächst mit einzelnen Quadcopter, dann mit kleinen und schließlich immer größeren Schwärmen geflogen. Das Publikum ist bei all diesen Tests hautnah dabei, nämlich direkt am – genauer rund um – das Airfield. InfotrainerInnen des Ars Electronica Center empfangen hier alle großen und kleinen, jungen und junggebliebenen, kurz interessierten Zaungäste. Sie präsentieren die Quadcopter und klären über technische Details auf. Und sie berichten darüber, wie das alles begonnen hat mit den sogenannten SPAXELS, den „Space Pixel“, des Ars Electronica Futurelab.

Drohnenlab beim Ars Electronica Festival!

Wer nach der Europapremiere von „DRONE 100“ Lust auf noch mehr Drohnen hat, der/dem sei ein Besuch der POSTCITY am Linzer Bahnhof zwischen 8. und 12. Septeber 2016, 10:00-19:30, empfohlen. Racing-Drohnen, Liefer-Drohnen, Kamera-Drohnen und die Leucht-Drohnen des Ars Electronica Futurelab – während des gesamten Ars Electronica Festival 2016 wird hier ein Drohnen-Showcase verortet sein, der nicht nur die Story der Linzer Spaxels erzählt, sondern mit zahlreichen Exponaten, Präsentationen und Vorführungen spannende Einblicke in aktuelle und künftige Drohnenanwendungen gibt.

Infos zum Auftritt der 100 SPAXELS (SA 10.9.2016, 19:45) und den öffentlich zugänglichen Tests (DO 8.9.2016 und FR 9.9.2016) sowie zum Drohnenlab beim Ars Electronica Festival (8. bis 12.9.2016) werden wir Ihnen über Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google+) und auf der Facebook-Veranstaltungsseite von “Drone 100 – Spaxels über Linz” bekanntgeben!

Veranstaltung auf Facebook Mehr zu den Spaxels

Interviews und Hintergrundstories

DRONE 100 in Linz: Das steckt dahinter

Was an Arbeit und Vorbereitung hinter einem solchen Auftritt stecken, verraten uns Chris Bruckmayr und Andreas Jalsovec vom Spaxels-Team.

DRONE 100: Ein Weltrekord mit 100 Punkten

Intel hat es geschafft und gemeinsam mit dem Ars Electronica Futurelab einen neuen Weltrekord aufgestellt: Bei einer Performance für einen Image-Film des weltbekannten Chip-Herstellers stiegen 100 Spaxels gleichzeitig in die Luft – ein ehrgeiziges Vorhaben, das unter den Vorzeichen eines gelebten Teamgeistes gemeistert werden konnte.

Spaxels beim Eurovision Song Contest

Es ist der Event der Superlative. Mit über 195 Millionen Zusehern zählt der Eurovision Song Contest 2015 zu den größten Fernsehereignissen der Welt. Mit dabei, wenn auch nur für eine halbe Minute, die Spaxels des Ars Electronica Futurelab aus Linz.

Drone 100 – Intel in collaboration with Ars Electronica Futurelab holds the world record in the category
Most Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) Airborne Simultaneously.
Intel, the Intel logo, the Intel. Experience What’s Inside logo and Intel. Experience What’s Inside are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.