FAQ

Do you have questions about the Festival Ars Electronica? Do you want to visit the festival? Are you artist? Or do you want to join the team of Ars Electronica? Or do you need information about past festivals?

When is the festival?

The Ars Electronica Festival takes place once a year in early September in Linz, Austria. The date for 2016 with the theme RADICAL ATOMS will be from THU September 8 to MON September 12, 2016.

Tickets?

You can order your tickets online via www.aec.at/radicalatoms/en/tickets. Of course, there’s the option of purchasing tickets during the Ars Electronica Festival (September 8-12, 2016) right on site at the box office during the respective business hours each day of the festival. In addition to festival passes admitting the holder to all events staged on all five days, Ars Electronica also offers single-day passes, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD passes, and tickets to individual events (symposia, forums, concerts). Under certain conditions, these tickets are made available at a discount. There is not a limited contingent of festival passes.

When will the festival program be published?

The festival theme was announced in April 2016. The festival website is continuously updated with the programming information.

Special group programs?

Ars Electronica’s WE GUIDE YOU is pleased to offer customized activity programs and guided tours for large groups. Please contact us directly to discuss the details! festival@aec.at

Invitation Letter

If you need a letter of invitation in order to obtain a visa or for confirmation purposes in your dealings with public institutions, please contact us directly via e-mail: festival@aec.at

Arrival

All festival locations either can be reached via public transport (tramlines 1, 2, 3, 3*, LINZ AG), bus or train (ÖBB, Westbahn, OÖVV), bicycle or are in walking distance (approx. 30 min).

Visitors with a purchised festival pass ride at all Linz AG lines during the festival period (8th – 12th September, 2016) for free. Many thanks to Linz AG.

Choose your way to the POSTCITY in Linz:

  • By train: Arrival via ÖBB or Westbahn to station Linz Hauptbahnhof (main railway station). The POSTCITY is located right beside the railway station.
  • By bus: Long-distance busses either stop in front of the Wissensturm (opposite the main railway station) or at the Bahnhofplatz (station square) and are in walking distance to the POSTCITY.
  • By car: You reach the POSTCITY via Waldeggstraße (B 139), Linz, Austria. The address is Bahnhofplatz 11, 4020 Linz, Österreich. Please also think of the possibility to do carpooling. Find more information under klimakultur.at
  • Parking: Unfortunately, there are no parking spaces at the main festival location in the POSTCITY available. Public car parks are situated in the surrounding area: Garage Bahnhof – Wissensturm Linz, Hauptbahnhof Parkdeck, Bahnhof Landesdienstleistungszentrum
  • By plane: The Blue Danube Airport Linz is located in Hörsching (10 km distance to Linz). There are several possibilities to travel to Linz. If you need more information on transportation, contact: antonia.mittendrein@aec.at For some people flying to Austria/Linz is the only possibility to come to the Ars Electronica Festival. There are various ways to counteract the with flying associated CO2-dioxide-emissions. Find more information and numerous measures here: klimaohnegrenzen.at

Hotel Recommendations

If you’re looking for hotel accommodations during your stay in Linz, please visit www.aec.at/radicalatoms/en/hotels.

Accomodation

  • Drinking water: There are free drinking-water facilities at all venues either at the sanitary areas or through the „water-tree“ of the LinzAG in the POSTCITY or by drinking water dispenser. As it’s very important to avoid waste we are asking our visitors to “bring your own bottle” for the drinking water. In case it’s not possible or if visitors forgot to bring it people can buy our brand new drinking bottles (BPA-free) at the merchandising desk or we are of course also very happy to provide reuse cups (cup-deposit 1€) available at the Infodesk.
  • Food: The Ars Electronica Festival focuses on sustainability and so the visitors are able to enjoy organic-certified food suppliers who only use regional and seasonal food as well as offer vegetarian and vegan meals.
  • WIFI: We offer free WIFI access in cooperation with LIWEST in all locations.
  • Erste  Hilfe: First Aid Kits are located at the Info desk. Call 144 for ambulance.
  • Green Event: The Ars Electronica Festival places emphasis on environmental protection and sustainability! It is taken care of separation of waste and recycling, use of local and biological products, introduce renewable energy. The aim is to reduce the resulting environmental pollution to a minimum.
  • Dogs / Animals: Dogs or other animals are not allowed at the POSTCTY.
  • Accessibility: The main area in the POSTCITY and the other locations are extensively accessible. However, given the rural settings, some exhibition-sites are not barrier-free accessible.
  • Sanitation: All festival locations have accessible toilets and changing tables are provided in the POSTCITY.
  • Lockers: Lockers are available at the Hauptbahnhof Linz in different sizes. For a fee of € 2 to € 3,50 lockers can be rented for 24 hours.

Rent a Room

Have you ever considered staging your own private get-together amidst the inspiring ambience of Ars Electronica? The Festival provides the perfect setting for an impressive business meeting or social event! At the Ars Electronica Center, you can reserve a 30-90-m2 room for 3 hours. Standard furnishings: Table, seating for 10, beamer, flip-chart, internet; additional infrastructure available on request. Price: €100 for 3 hours. For details and to make reservations, please e-mail us at hospitality@aec.at.

Green Event – Measures 2016

The 2016 Ars Electronica Festival is organized as an environmental and climate-friendly event with the active support of the Climate Alliance Upper Austria. Different measures in the areas of food, mobility, waste management and social affairs are set and realized. The responsibility which involves from these measures (PDF file) require commitment not only from us as organizers but also from our visitors.

Photographic/Video recordings

By entering the exhibitions and/or taking part in events at the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival, you tacitly consent to any and all photographic and video recordings on which you are recognizable. By entering the exhibitions and/or taking part in events at the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival, you also tacitly and irrevocably consent to the use (in particular, publication, dissemination and utilization for advertising purposes) of any such photographic and video recordings by the Festival organizer and/or partner organizations in radio, television, print media, books, catalogs and photo-mechanical forms of duplication, etc. (film, DVD, Blu-Ray, etc.) without claim to compensation.

Contact

Do you have any further questions? We’d love to hear from you festival@aec.at

When is the festival?

The Ars Electronica Festival takes place once a year in early September in Linz, Austria. The date for 2016 with the theme RADICAL ATOMS will be from THU September 8 to MON September 12, 2016.

Open Call?

The festival has no open call. All substantive programming decisions are reached by the artistic directorial staff in accordance with the theme of the particular year’s festival.

Nevertheless, how can I propose my project?

There are two ways to propose projects to be presented at Ars Electronica:

  • Submitting your project for Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration. Entries to the competition for the world’s most renowned prize in media art make up the most important project pool for exhibitions, performances and events at the Ars Electronica Festival. Submission information is available online at www.aec.at/prix! By the way: Even projects that emerge empty-handed from the Prix Ars Electronica judging are sometimes showcased at the festival. We strongly recommend submitting your project to the Prix Ars Electronica.
  • Sending in your project information. If you’re not interested in entering your project in a Prix Ars Electronica category or your project isn’t really suitable for submission, you can send an e-mail describing your work to the address given below.

Contact

Are you an artist who’d like to get in touch with us? Tina Reinthaler (tina.reinthaler@aec.at or +43/732/7272/783) would be pleased to answer your questions.

Are you interested in joining the festival crew?

In order to produce the many ambitious projects that are staged every September in Linz at the Ars Electronica Festival, we augment our staff every summer. We’re looking for project managers, project assistants, technicians and guides. By the way—we’re also always looking for technicians with skills in the following areas who are available from mid-August to mid-September: media technicians, audio/video/lighting technicians, carpenters, machinists, electrical technicians.

How do you apply?

Please check out Ars Electronica Linz GmbH’s help-wanted listings at www.aec.at/jobs! If there’s no current opening in your line of work, please submit an application that we can keep on file for future reference. The best way to do that is via e-mail to our personnel department (jobs@aec.at)!

Application deadlines?

We’re happy to accept applications throughout the year. Depending on the line of work, the prime time for filing an application is between February and May. Application deadlines for particular job openings are specified at www.aec.at/jobs!

Infotrainer?

If you’re interested in getting a behind-the-scenes look at the festival and being an active part of what’s going on, then you’ve come to the right place! We’re looking for staff members to help provide assistance, guidance and information to visitors during the festival. Please submit your application directly to veronika.liebl@aec.at!

Contact

Are you interested in working at the Ars Electronica Festival? Would you like to get in touch with us and find out more? Veronika Liebl (veronika.liebl@aec.at or +43/732/7272/74) would be pleased to answer your questions.

Do you need information for a scholarly work?

Ars Electronica has amassed one of the world’s largest archives about digital media art over the last 30 years. In addition to all Ars Electronica publications since 1979, it includes a comprehensive database with information about all submissions to the Prix Ars Electronica competition. To access the websites of prior festivals, go to www.aec.at/festival/archiv.

Publications

You can browse our publications in our online archive. Our publications are distributed by Hatje Cantz, and are available on site at the Ars Electronica Center as well as online at Amazon.de.

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ars Electronica Festival 2016? Sie möchten das Festival besuchen? Sie sind KünstlerIn? Möchten Sie beim Ars Electronica Festival mitarbeiten? Oder benötigen Sie Informationen über vergangene Festivals?

Wann ist das Festival?

Das Ars Electronica Festival wird einmal jährlich Anfang September in Linz, Österreich, veranstaltet. Das Festival zum Thema “Radical Atoms” findet von DO 8. September 2016 bis MO 12. September 2016 statt.

Tickets?

Die Tickets für das Ars Electronica Festival 2016 können Sie unter www.aec.at/radicalatoms/tickets online beziehen. Sie können die Tickets jedoch auch während des Ars Electronica Festival (8.9.-12.9.2016) direkt vor Ort am Ticketcounter des Festivals, zu den jeweiligen Öffnungszeiten, erwerben. Ars Electronica bietet neben Festivalpässen, mit denen Sie alle Veranstaltungen während des gesamten Zeitraums besuchen können, auch Tagespässe, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD Pässe und Tickets für Einzelveranstaltungen (Symposien, Foren, Konzerte) an. Unter bestimmten Vorraussetzungen können diese Tickets auch zu ermäßigten Preisen bezogen werden. Für Festivalpässe besteht kein beschränktes Kontingent.

Wann wird das Festival-Programm veröffentlicht?

Das Festivalthema wurde bereits bei einer Pressekonferenz im April 2016 bekanntgegeben. Die Detailinformationen zum Programm werden kontinuierlich auf dieser Festivalwebsite aktualisiert.

Spezielles Gruppenprogramm?

Gerne bieten wir für große Gruppen maßgeschneiderte Angebote oder Gruppenführungen im Rahmen von WE GUIDE YOU an. Treten Sie bitte direkt mit uns in Kontakt, um die Details zu besprechen: festival@aec.at

Invitation Letter

Sollten Sie für Visums-Angelegenheiten oder der Vorlage bei öffentlichen Einrichtungen einen Einladungsbrief benötigen, treten Sie bitte direkt per E-Mail mit uns in Kontakt: festival@aec.at

Anreise

Alle Veranstaltungsstätten sind mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln (Straßenbahnlinien 1, 2, 3, 3*, Fahrplanauskunft LINZ AG), mit Bus und Bahn (ÖBB, Westbahn, OÖVV), dem Fahrrad oder auch zu Fuß (max. ca. 30 Min.) erreichbar.

Mit einem erworbenen Festivalpass ist die Fahrt auf allen Linz AG Linien (ausgenommen Pöstlingbergbahn) von 8. bis 12. September 2016 kostenlos. Wir bedanken uns bei der Linz AG.

So kommen Sie zur POSTCITY nach Linz, Österreich:

  • Mit dem Zug: Anreise mit der ÖBB oder Westbahn bis zur Haltestelle Linz Hauptbahnhof. Die POSTCITY befindet sich direkt neben dem Hauptbahnhof.
  • Mit dem Bus: Fernverkehrsbusse halten entweder vor dem Wissensturm (gegenüber dem Hauptbahnhof) oder am Bahnhofplatz und befinden sich in Gehweite zur POSTCITY.
  • Mit dem PKW: Sie erreichen die POSTCITY in Linz über die Waldeggstraße (B 139), Linz. Die Adresse ist Bahnhofplatz 11, 4020 Linz, Österreich. Bitte nutzen Sie auch die Möglichkeit einer Mitfahrbörse oder Car-Sharing Mehr Informationen dazu: klimakultur.at.
  • Parken: Es gibt leider keine Gratis-Parkplätze in unmittelbarer Nähe der  POSTCITY. Öffentliche Parkhäuser stehen kostenpflichtig in der Umgebung zur Verfügung: Garage Bahnhof – Wissensturm Linz, Hauptbahnhof Parkdeck, Bahnhof Landesdienstleistungszentrum
  • Mit dem Flugzeug: Der Blue Danube Airport Linz liegt in Hörsching (10 km von Linz entfernt). Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten nach Linz zu reisen. Wenn Sie nähere Informationen zur Anreise brauchen, melden Sie sich unter: antonia.mittendrein@aec.at Wenn Sie auf die Anreise mit dem Flugzeug nach Österreich/Linz nicht verzichten können, gibt es diverse Möglichkeiten, dem damit verbundenen CO2-Austoß entgegenzuwirken. Zahlreiche Maßnahmen und mehr Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie unter: klimaohnegrenzen.de

Hotel-Empfehlungen

Sollten Sie auf der Suche nach einer geeigneten Unterkunft für Ihren Besuch in Linz sein, klicken Sie hier: www.aec.at/radicalatoms/de/hotels

Aufenthalt

  • Trinkwasser: Es sind Trinkwassermöglichkeiten in allen Veranstaltungsstätten entweder bei den Sanitärbereichen, durch den Trinkwasserbaum der Linz AG in der POSTCITY oder durch Trinkwasserspender vorhanden. Da die Ars Electronica als umwelt- und klimafreundliche Veranstaltung organisiert und gelebt wird, bitten wir die BesucherInnen ihre eigenen Trinkbehältnisse für das Wasser mitzubringen. Für alle anderen BesucherInnen besteht die Möglichkeit gegen 1€ Pfand einen Mehrwegbecher für die Zeit in der POSTCITY zu leihen oder eine unserer neuen Trinkflaschen (BPA-frei) beim Merchandise zu erwerben.
  • Gastronomie: Das Ars Electronica Festival setzt auf Nachhaltigkeit und so stehen den BesucherInnen ausschließlich bio-zertifizierte GastronomInnen zur Verfügung, die auf die regionale und saisonale Auswahl von Gerichten achten und sowohl vegetarische als auch vegane Speisen anbieten.
  • WIFI: Wir bieten kostenlosen WLAN-Zugang in Kooperation mit LIWEST in allen Veranstaltungsstätten an.
  • Erste  Hilfe: Erste-Hilfe-Kästen befinden sich am Infoschalter. Notruf Rettung: 144
  • Green Event: Das Ars Electronica Festival setzt auf Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit! Es wird unter anderem darauf geachtet, Müll zu trennen beziehungsweise zu recyceln, regionale und biologische Lebensmittel zu verwenden und erneuerbare Energien einzusetzen. Dadurch sollen die entstehenden Umweltbelastungen auf ein Minimum gesenkt werden.
  • Hunde / Haustiere: Hunde und andere Haustiere sind am POSTCITY-Gelände sowie in den anderen Veranstaltungsorten nicht erlaubt.
  • Barrierefreiheit: Das Hauptgelände der POSTCITY und die weiteren Standorte des Festivals sind weitgehend frei zugänglich. Jedoch können – bedingt durch die baulichen Gegebenheiten – manche Ausstellungsflächen nicht barrierefrei zugänglich gemacht werden.
  • Sanitärbereich: Alle Veranstaltungsflächen sind mit barrierefreien Toiletten ausgestattet. Des Weiteren steht in der POSTCITY ein Wickeltisch zur Verfügung.
  • Schließfächer: Am Linzer Hauptbahnhof sind Schließfächer in unterschiedlichen Größen verfügbar. Gegen eine Gebühr von € 2 bis € 3,50 kann ein Schließfach 24 Stunden gemietet werden.

Raumvermietung POSTCITY

Sie möchten sich am Festival zurückziehen, ein Treffen in geschlossener Gesellschaft abhalten oder die inspirierende Festivalumgebung für ihr eigenes kleines Event nutzen? Bei uns können Sie sich Räume in der Größe von  30-90m2 für 3 Stunden mieten! Standardausstattung: Tische, 10 Sitzplätze, Beamer, Flip-Chart, Internet – Änderungen auf Anfrage. Kosten: 100€ für 3 Stunden. Für Details und Reservierungen wenden Sie sich bitte an hospitality@aec.at

Green Event – Maßnahmen 2016

Mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung des Klimabündnis Oberösterreich wird das diesjährige Ars Electronica Festival im Sinne einer umwelt- bzw. klimafreundlichen Veranstaltung ausgerichtet. Maßnahmen, die in diesem Bereich gesetzt und gelebt werden, umfassen die Bereiche Mobilität, Ernährung, Abfallwirtschaft und Soziales. Die Verantwortung, die diese Maßnahmen (PDF-Datei) mit sich bringen, übernehmen und leben wir gemeinsam mit unseren BesucherInnen.

Foto-/Filmaufnahmen

Mit Betreten der Ausstellungen bzw. Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen der Ars Electronica 2016 stimmen Sie etwaigen Foto- und/oder Videoaufnahmen, auf denen Sie erkennbar sind, zu. Einer Nutzung (insbesondere Veröffentlichung, Verbreitung, Verwendung für Werbezwecke) von solchen Foto- und/oder Videoaufnahmen durch den Veranstalter bzw. PartnerInneninstitutionen in Rundfunk, Fernsehen, Printmedien, Büchern, Katalogen, fotomechanischen Vervielfältigungen etc. (Filme, DVD, Bluy-Ray etc.) stimmen Sie ohne Anspruch auf Vergütung mit Betreten der Ausstellungen bzw. Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen der Ars Electronica 2016 unwiderruflich zu.

Kontakt

Sie haben noch Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail an festival@aec.at

Wann ist das Festival?

Das Ars Electronica Festival wird einmal jährlich Anfang September in Linz, Österreich, veranstaltet. Das Festival zum Thema “Radical Atoms” findet von DO 8. September 2016 bis MO 12. September 2016 statt.

Open Call?

Das Festival selbst hat keinen Open Call. Alle künstlerischen Programmentscheidungen werden ausschließlich unter Bezugnahme auf das jährlich wechselnde Thema durch unsere künstlerische Leitung getroffen.

Wie kann ich mein Projekt trotzdem vorschlagen?

Um Projekte für die Ars Electronica vorzuschlagen haben Sie zwei Möglichkeiten:

  • Einreichung Ihres Projekts beim Prix Ars Electronica. Der renommierteste Medienkunstpreis der Welt ist der wichtigste Projektpool für Ausstellungen, Performances und Events beim Festival Ars Electronica. Informationen zur Einreichung finden Sie unter www.aec.at/prix! Übrigens: Auch Projekte, die keine Auszeichnung im Rahmen des Prix Ars Electronica erhalten, werden immer wieder beim Festival ausgestellt. Wir empfehlen ausdrücklich die Einreichung Ihres Projekts beim Prix Ars Electronica.
  • Zusendung Ihrer Projektinformationen. Sollten Sie kein Interesse an einer Einreichung beim Prix Ars Electronica haben oder Ihr Projekt für eine Einreichung nicht in Frage kommen, können Sie uns Informationen zu Ihrer Arbeit auch gerne per E-Mail an untenstehenden Kontakt schicken.

Kontakt

Sie sind KünstlerIn und möchten Kontakt zu uns aufnehmen? Tina Reinthaler (tina.reinthaler@aec.at oder +43/732/7272/783) steht Ihnen für Fragen gerne zur Verfügung.

Sie haben Interesse, Teil des Festival-Teams zu werden?

Um die zahlreichen ambitionierten Projekte im Rahmen der jährlich im September in Linz stattfindenden Ars Electronica umsetzen zu können, verstärken wir jeden Sommer unser Team. Gesucht werden neben ProjektmanagerInnen, ProjektassistentInnen auch TechnikerInnen und Vermittlungspersonal! Übrigens: Wir sind auch immer auf der Suche nach TechnikerInnen mit Kenntnissen u.a. in Medientechnik, Audio/Video/Licht-Technik, Tischlerei, Schlosserei oder Elektrotechnik, die uns von Mitte August bis Mitte September unterstützen!

Wie kann man sich bewerben?

Verfolgen Sie bitte die Job-Ausschreibungen der Ars Electronica Linz GmbH unter www.aec.at/jobs! Sollte gerade keine Position ausgeschrieben sein, können Sie uns gerne Ihre Bewerbung in Evidenz schicken. Richten Sie Ihre Bewerbung vorzugsweise bitte per E-Mail an unser Personalmanagement (jobs@aec.at)!

Bewerbungsfristen?

Wir nehmen Bewerbungen gerne das ganze Jahr entgegen. Abhängig von der Tätigkeit ist der Hauptzeitraum für Bewerbungen zwischen Februar und Mai. Bewerbungsfristen für ausgeschriebene Stellenangebote entnehmen sie bitte www.aec.at/jobs!

InfotrainerIn?

Sollten Sie Interesse haben, einmal hinter die Kulissen eines Festivals zu blicken und dabei aktiv mitzuhelfen, sind Sie bei uns genau richtig. Während des Festivalzeitraums erweitern wir unser Team um Interessierte für die Bereiche BesucherInnenbetreuung und Projektvermittlung. Bewerbungen richten Sie bitte direkt an veronika.liebl@aec.at!

Kontakt

Sie interessieren sich für eine Mitarbeit beim Festival Ars Electronica und möchten Kontakt zu uns aufnehmen? Veronika Liebl (veronika.liebl@aec.at oder +43/732/7272/74) steht Ihnen für Fragen gerne zur Verfügung.

Sie benötigen Informationen für wissenschaftliche Arbeiten?

Ars Electronica verfügt über eines der weltweit umfangreichsten Archive zur digitalen Medienkunst der letzten 30 Jahre. Es umfasst neben allen Ars Electronica-Publikationen seit 1979 auch eine umfassende Datenbank zu den Prix Ars Electronica Einreichungen. Zu den Websites vergangener Festival-Ausgaben gelangen Sie unter www.aec.at/festival/archiv.

Publikationen

Durchsuchen Sie unsere Publikationen in unserem Online-Archiv. Unsere Publikationen werden zudem über Hatje Cantz vertrieben und sind sowohl vor Ort im Ars Electronica Center als auch online über Amazon.de erhältlich.