Ars Electronica Animation Festival

The Ars Electronica Animation Festival screens a selection of the most outstanding animated works honored by the Prix Ars Electronica jury in recognition of their substantive and stylistic quality. This lineup impressively gets across how the genre itself has flourished of late and the extent to which it now pervades our everyday life. The CENTRAL on Landstraße in the heart of downtown Linz is the epicenter of media art in the form of multifaceted motion pictures. And for all those looking for a place to get their minds off worlds of imagery for a while, this is also a great spot to kick back and hang out.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

The Computer Animation / Film / VFX Prix Forum will deal with developments in the animation field. With Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) and Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

electronic theatre

OK Night: Electronic Theatre

Electronic Theatre features all prizewinning works in the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica’s Computer Animation / Film / VFX category.

Vitreous

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2016

More than 1,300 works were submitted for prize consideration in the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica’s Computer Animation / Film / VFX category. These entries are the basis on which we’ve compiled the 15 programs that make up this year’s Ars Electronica Animation Festival, a cross-section of the world of digital filmmaking today and its tremendous aesthetic, substantive and technical diversity.

Uncanny Valley

Entrance Area Central

Two winning works of Prix Ars Electronica 2016 – Computer Animation / Film / VFX category and two virtual reality projects are exhibited at the entrance of Central.

Ars Electronica Animation Festival

Als Destillat aus den Einreichungen zum diesjährigen Prix Ars Electronica besticht das Ars Electronica Animation Festival einmal mehr mit Vielfalt im Inhaltlichen wie auch im Gestalterischen. Eindrücklich vermittelt es, wie expansiv das Genre selbst wächst und wie stark es unseren Alltag bereits durchdringt. Das CENTRAL, ein ehemaliges Kino mitten in der Linzer Innenstadt, bildet das Epizentrum bewegter Medienkunst in seinen facettenreichsten Formen. Gleichzeitig ist es auch ein Rückzugs- und Verweilort für all jene, die sich von den Bildwelten auf ganz andere Gedanken bringen möchten.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

Das Prix-Forum „Computer Animation / Film / VFX“ beschäftigt sich mit den Entwicklungen im Animationsbereich. Mit Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) und Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

electronic theatre

OK Night: Electronic Theatre

Das Electronic Theatre zeigt in einer kurzweiligen Präsentation alle in der Kategorie Computer Animation / Film / VFX preisgekrönten Arbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016.

Expanded Animation

Expanded Animation – The Alchemy of Animation

Die vierte Ausgabe der Symposiumsreihe Expanded Animation trägt, anknüpfend an das diesjährige Festivalthema RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time, den Titel The Alchemy of Animation und rückt erneut die Randgebiete in der Computeranimation sowie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Animation und Technologie in den Fokus.

Vitreous

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2016

Mehr als 1.300 Arbeiten wurden 2016 in der Kategorie Computeranimation / Film / VFX des Prix Ars Electronica eingereicht. Sie sind die Basis, auf der das Ars Electronica Animation Festival mit seinen insgesamt 15 Programmen einen aktuellen Querschnitt durch die Welt des digitalen Films in seiner gestalterischen, inhaltlichen und technischen Vielfalt kompiliert.

Uncanny Valley

Entrance Area Central

Zwei Preisträgerarbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 aus der Kategorie Computer Animation / Film / VFX sowie zwei Virtual Reality-Arbeiten sind im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Animation Festival im Eingangsbereich des Central zu sehen.