Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

The Ars Electronica Festival is a platform for encounters with and exchange among outstanding scientists and artists. A series of symposia focuses on the Festival theme. The Future Innovators Summit is a conclave at which seasoned experts, up-and-coming entrepreneurs and social activists, engineers and scientists, artists and designers get together to exchange insights and skills and to inspire one another. The Prix Forums are panel discussions featuring Prix Ars Electronica jurors and prizewinners.

Symposium

Radical Atoms Symposia

The 2016 Ars Electronica Festival theme symposia are scrutinizing the alchemists of our time. Who are these people conjuring up our near-term future?

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

From our home base, DroneLab in POSTCITY, we’ll embark on a fact-finding tour featuring projects, demos, races and airborne artistry, and providing insightful looks into the fascinating world of unmanned aerial vehicles.

FIS at POSTCITY

Future Innovators Summit

Collaborative brainstorming and the creative development of questions having to do with humankind’s future, education and the digital commons—that’s the mission of the Future Innovators Summit.

HelferInnenkonferenz

2. HelferInnenkonferenz: ZusammenHelfen in OÖ – Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen

The Ars Electronica Festival will host the 2nd Conference of People Providing Aid to Refugees in the Province of Upper Austria in order to offer part-time volunteers and full-time staffers a setting in which to do networking, acquire information and exchange views. Wide-ranging input from experts and various workshops on subjects such as language, cultural understanding, work and training are meant to strengthen and motivate helpers as they carry on their efforts on behalf of refugees.

STARTS Prize

STARTS Forum

Attention isn’t focused only on the prizewinning projects of STARTS–Prize 2016; Ars Electronica’s spotlight also shines on the people who produced them. At the STARTS–Forum 2016 they will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they’ve achieved with it.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

The Computer Animation / Film / VFX Prix Forum will deal with developments in the animation field. With Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) and Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

P2P foundation

Prix Forum II – Digital Communities

The Digital Communities Forum is dedicated to the social consequences of global interconnection via digital networks. With Sarah Kriesche (AT), Stacco Troncoso (ES), Paul Feigelfeld (AT) and Nakano Hitoyo (JP).

Can you hear me?

Prix Forum III – Interactive Art +

The Interactive Art+ Forum will elaborate of interactive works and the expanded interpretation of interactive art. With Victoria Vesna (US), Mathias Jud (CH), Christoph Wachter (CH) and Frank Kolkman (NL).

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Taking work done by MIT’s Tangible Media Group and the Ars Electronica Futurelab as the point of departure, this part of the symposium will deal with how the evolution of Radical Atoms will be felt in various occupations, economic sectors and, by no means least of all, our everyday life.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Sonic Saturday

The Sonic Saturday schedule includes a diversified lineup of offerings—symposia, panel discussions, a guided tour, Listening Room and Medium Sonorum—dedicated to listening experiences in general and modern multi-channel compositions and computer music in particular.

FIS Stage

FIS-Stage

On the Future Innovators Stage (FIS) in POSTCITY, the staff of innovative projects will present work that’s already in the implementation stage.

Kotatsu

Kotatsu Conference

Kotatsu is a traditional Japanese heating appliance. It is a square table placed on the floor with a heat source inside, and the outside covered with a quilt, to warm the people sitting round it.

girlsonwires

Girls on Wires

ModularSynthesizer workshop for girls mit with JessicaKert (Schneiders Laden Berlin)

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Quadcopter Flying School

Learn to pilot multi-rotor mini-copters and get a feel for what they’re capable of. Display your skills executing slick maneuvers through a tricky obstacle course. Along the way, you’ll find out a lot of interesting stuff about how these drones are being used in science, the military, art and entertainment.

Avatarkontrolle

Current and future applications of BCIs

BCIs translate brain activity into control signals for numerous applications, including tools to help severely disabled users communicate and improve their quality of life.

Partizipation Neue Medien

Participation and Political Socialization in the Age of New Media

For several years now, new social media have been changing how people communicate and thus our everyday life. Especially among young people, these media now constitute a central part of their lived reality. Even our political discourse is increasingly conducted via Facebook, Twitter and similar platforms, which thus open up new forms of sociopolitical participation and socialization. The conference will confront this new reality and the challenges accompanying it, and scrutinize the impact of this development on political education.

People Thinking Lab

People Thinking Lab

A true revolution of technology is taking place in the stream of people’s everyday lives. The accumulation of new interactions between people and technology is creating a culture and shaping a new society. And that is how cultural and social innovations are initiated.

orilab

ORI*LAB Masterclass

We offer insight into our research and development process, and actively pursue it with the method of learning by teaching, by conducting a masterclass in-situ with participants selected by open call.

Sonic Lab

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Music Monday

The highlight of the final day of the festival features encounters of both a sensory as well as intellectual nature with electronic and experimental music. Accompanied by musician/musicologist Werner Jauk (AT), festivalgoers will enjoy close-up contacts with creative artists as well as first-hand insights into the music and tonal worlds conjured up at the festival.

Meet the Alchemists

This is the place where experts can meet and discuss in small groups about alchemistic solutions for our world. It is an open place, where festival visitors can participate in the discussions. Here, you can break the barrier of key panels and formal lectures and discuss directly with visitors and other experts in small groups. You can choose the time, date and the topic of your speech – no rules, no restrictions.

Campus Educators Forum

At the Campus Educators Forum, lectures of and about different study programmes connected to media arts take place.

Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

Das Ars Electronica Festival ist eine Plattform des Austausches und der Begegnung von und mit herausragenden WissenschaftlerInnen und KünstlerInnen. Die Themensymposien wenden sich dem zentralen Festival-Thema zu. Beim “Future Innovators Summit” werden sowohl erfahrene Fachleute als auch JungunternehmerInnen und SozialaktivistInnen, TechnikerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen, und natürlich auch KünstlerInnen und DesignerInnen zusammentreffen, um Ideen und Know-how auszutauschen und einander zu inspirieren. Bei den Prix-Foren kommen hingegen Jurymitglieder des Prix Ars Electronica mit den PreisträgerInnen ins Gespräch.

Symposium

Radical Atoms Symposien

Die Themensymposien des Ars Electronica Festival 2016 wenden sich diesmal den AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit zu: Wer sind die Leute, die diese nächste Zukunft entwickeln?

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

Ausgehend von der Homebase, dem DroneLab in der POSTCITY, werden über Projekte, Demos, Rennen, fliegerische Kunststücke phantastische Einblicke in die vielfältigen Hintergründe der unterschiedlichsten Ideen zu Drohnen, an mehreren Orten, gewährt.

FIS at POSTCITY

Future Innovators Summit

Was ist in Zukunft ein Glücksmoment? Wie sieht die Schule des 21. Jahrhunderts aus? Welche Open Commons (digitale Gemeingüter) benötigen wir angesichts des rasanten Fortschritts der KI-Technologie? Gemeinsames Brainstorming und die kreative Entwicklung von Fragen, die sich an die Zukunft der Menschheit, der Bildung und der Gemeingüter richten – das ist die Zielsetzung des „Future Innovators Summit“.

HelferInnenkonferenz

2. HelferInnenkonferenz: ZusammenHelfen in OÖ – Gemeinsam für geflüchtete Menschen

Seit 2015 beschäftigt uns das Thema „Flucht“ in Europa in einer nie dagewesenen Form. Kein anderes Thema hat die öffentliche Diskussion so stark geprägt wie „Menschen auf der Flucht“. Auch die Zivilgesellschaft hat in einer noch nie dagewesenen Form Initiative ergriffen und Stärke gezeigt. Nach der erfolgreichen 1. HelferInnenkonferenz in OÖ im März 2016 mit rund 300 BesucherInnen wird diese 2. Konferenz, deren vordergründiges Ziel die Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft – der freiwillig Engagierten – ist, relevante Themenbereiche aufgreifen.

STARTS Prize

STARTS-Forum

Nicht nur die Projekte, die beim STARTS-Prize 2016 ausgezeichnet wurden, sollen im Rahmen der Ars Electronica 2016 vorgestellt werden, sondern auch die dahinterstehenden Menschen. Beim STARTS–Forum 2016 haben sie Gelegenheit, ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

Das Prix-Forum „Computer Animation / Film / VFX“ beschäftigt sich mit den Entwicklungen im Animationsbereich. Mit Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) und Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

P2P foundation

Prix Forum II – Digital Communities

Das Prix-Forum „Digital Communities“ widmet sich den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der digitalen Vernetzung der Welt. Mit Sarah Kriesche (AT), Stacco Troncoso (ES), Paul Feigelfeld (AT) und Nakano Hitoyo (JP).

Can you hear me?

Prix Forum III – Interactive Art +

Das Prix-Forum „Interactive Art+“ befasst sich mit interaktiven Arbeiten und der erweiterten Interpretation interaktiver Kunst. Mit Victoria Vesna (US), Mathias Jud (CH), Christoph Wachter (CH) und Frank Kolkman (NL).

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Ausgehend von den Arbeiten der Tangible Media Group am MIT und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab beschäftigt sich dieser Teil des Symposiums damit, wie die Evolution von Radical Atoms unterschiedliche Arbeitsbereiche und nicht zuletzt unser aller Alltagswelt beeinflussen wird.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Sonic Saturday

Am Samstag stehen neben Symposien und Panelgesprächen zum Thema Musik und Sound eine Guided Tour sowie mit Listening Room und Medium Sonorum gleich zwei Programmschienen an, die sich dem Hörerlebnis von modernen Multi-channel Compositions und Computer Musik widmen.

FIS Stage

FIS-Stage

Auf der Future Innovators Stage – kurz FIS Stage – in der POSTCITY werden innovative Projekte und Ideen präsentiert, die bereits in Umsetzung sind.

Kotatsu

Kotatsu Conference

Kotatsu ist eine traditionelle japanische Heizvorrichtung: ein quadratischer Tisch auf dem Boden mit einer Wärmequelle im Inneren und einer Decke als Tischtuch. Man steckt die Füße unter die Decke, wärmt sich auf und führt gemütliche Gespräche

girlsonwires

Girls on Wires

ModularSynthesizerWorkshop für Mädchen mit JessicaKert (Schneiders Laden Berlin)

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Werde PilotIn und lerne die mit mehreren Rotoren ausgestatteten „Kleinhubschrauber“ näher kennen. Zeige dein Können bei kniffligen Flügen, bei denen sich dir Hindernisse in den Weg stellen. Nebenbei erfährst du Wissenswertes über den Einsatz von Quadrocoptern in Wissenschaft, Militär, Kunst und Entertainment.

Expanded Animation

Expanded Animation – The Alchemy of Animation

Die vierte Ausgabe der Symposiumsreihe Expanded Animation trägt, anknüpfend an das diesjährige Festivalthema RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time, den Titel The Alchemy of Animation und rückt erneut die Randgebiete in der Computeranimation sowie die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Animation und Technologie in den Fokus.

erkenntnisspiel

Virtual Reality im Bildungs-, Sozial- und Gesundheitsbereich

Bei diesem Symposium treffen sich ExpertInnen, PädagogInnen, TherapeutInnen, JugendarbeiterInnen und ÄrtzInnen um die Möglichkeit der Mediennutzung in Bildungsformaten bzw. in der Präventionsarbeit und erste Erkenntnisse aus der Feldforschung zu diskutieren.

Avatarkontrolle

Avatarkontrolle mit BCIs

Brain-Computer Interfaces (BCIs, Gehirn-Computer Schnittstellen) können Aktivität im Gehirn in Echtzeit messen und so verarbeiten, dass daraus ein Kontrollsignal für diverse Anwendungen berechnet werden kann.

Partizipation Neue Medien

Tagung Partizipation und Politische Sozialisation im Zeitalter neuer Medien

Neue soziale Medien verändern seit geraumer Zeit unsere Kommunikationsformen und damit unser tägliches Leben. Insbesondere für Jugendliche stellen diese Medien einen zentralen Teil ihrer Lebensrealität dar. Auch der politische Diskurs wird zunehmend über Facebook, Twitter oder ähnliche Plattformen geführt, wodurch sich neue Formen der gesellschaftspolitischen Beteiligung und Sozialisation eröffnen. Die Tagung setzt sich mit dieser neuen Realität und Herausforderung auseinander und lotet aus, welche Auswirkungen diese Entwicklung auf die Politische Bildung hat.

FEAT

FEAT—Future Emerging Art and Technology Workshop

Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) will die Grenzen des menschlichen Wissens erweitern. Wenn man FET mit Kunst verbindet entsteht: FEAT—Future Emerging Art & Technology. Sechs internationale KünstlerInnen werden im Rahmen von finanzierten Residencies mit den FET-Projekten zusammengeführt.

People Thinking Lab

People Thinking Lab

2014 startete Ars Electronica das kollaborative Projekt „Future Catalyst“ zusammen mit Japans prominentester Werbeagentur Hakuhodo. Das Projekt zielt auf Künstler und Menschen mit künstlerischer Perspektive als ein „Katalyst der Zukunft“ ab.

orilab

ORI*LAB Masterclass

Der Workshop ORI*LAB Masterclass bietet Einblick in den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprozess der KünstlerInnen und verfolgt aktiv die Methode des Lernens durch Lehren.

Sonic Lab

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Music Monday

Der Music Monday lädt das Festival zur sinnlichen wie auch intellektuellen Begegnung mit elektronischer und experimenteller Musik ein. Gemeinsam mit dem Musiker und Musikwissenschafter Werner Jauk (AT) trifft das Publikum hier auf Kunstschaffende, erhält aus erster Hand Einblick in die Musik und Klangwelten, die beim Festival präsentiert werden und kann direkt mit den Musikschaffenden in Kontakt treten.

expert_pneu

Experts Workshop: Pneuduino – RADICAL ATOMS Workshop

In diesem Workshop wird mit Hilfe eines pneumatischen Toolkits, das auf Arduino basiert, ein transformierbares Material hergestellt und kontrolliert. Auf diesem Prinzip beruht auch die Arbeit PneUI in der Ausstellung Radical Atoms. Hier wird erforscht wie das zukünftige Zusammenspiel von Mensch und künstlich hergestellten Materialen funktionieren kann.

Meet the Alchemists

Dies ist der Ort, an dem ExpertInnen in kleinen Gruppen über alchemistisches Lösungen für unsere Welt diskutieren. Es ist ein Open-Space, in dem FestivalbesucherInnen an den Diskussionen teilnehmen können. Hier können Sie sich eine Pause von den formalen Vorträgen gönnen und direkt mit den FestivalbesucherInnen und anderen ExpertInnen in kleinen Gruppen diskutieren. Sie können sich Uhrzeit, Datum und Thema der Präsentation aussuchen – es gibt keine Regeln, keine Einschränkungen.

Campus Educators Forum

Beim Campus Educators Forum in der Kunstuniversität Linz finden Vorträge von verschiedenen Studienprogrammen in der Medienkunst statt.