Drones

Ars Electronica is setting up a Drone Lab in POSTCITY as a customized setting for races, demos, performances and presentations that provide fascinating insights into current applications of drone technology. Festivalgoers will definitely not want to miss the sessions starring one of the top teams on the international racing scene: The XBlade Allstars’ quadcopters reach speeds of up to 140 km/h as they care en through a specially-constructed racetrack in the Gleishalle. On the next floor up in the Drone Lab, pilots will demonstrate maneuvering at a less breakneck tempo but a far higher degree of precision. The Drone Academy offers all comers the opportunity to get their own hot little hands on a drone’s steering console. Interesting speeches and demos by experts will brief festivalgoers on the spectrum of drone applications: the racing scene, search & rescue missions, film & photography assignments and even artistic performances. And the Ars Electronica Futurelab’s SPAXELS crew provides an overview of interesting developments in the drone field. “DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz” is a spectacular performance by unmanned aerial vehicles being staged by Ars Electronica and Intel™ on the evening of September 10th, 2016!

DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZ

DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz

Ars Electronica and Intel present… On Saturday, September 10, 2016, 7:45 PM, immediately prior to the Klangwolke, these 100 unmanned aerial vehicles will ascend into the night sky above Linz and form spectacular illuminated figures. You’re cordially invited to Donaupark to experience this huge drone swarm’s European premiere!

opening

Ars Electronica Opening

The Ars Electronica Opening is full of performances and concerts – the opening event to the Ars Electronica Festival 2016.

dronerace

Drone Races / Performances

The XBlade Allstarts get Radical is one of the world’s fastest drone racing teams. During the festival, they’ll transform the Train Hall of the POSTCITY into an aerial racing arena. This futuristic spatial spectacle featuring flying objects traveling at up to 140 km/h blows away the boundary between speed sport and artistic performance.

animateworlds

Campus Opening

China’s history is awesome, full of tales and traditions passed down from time immemorial. How do students at Tsinghua University deal with this monumental cultural heritage when they approach it in terms of media art? Join the opening of the Campus Exhibition: Animate Worlds at the Linz Art University and watch a flight performance/intervention!

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

From our home base, DroneLab in POSTCITY, we’ll embark on a fact-finding tour featuring projects, demos, races and airborne artistry, and providing insightful looks into the fascinating world of unmanned aerial vehicles.

dronehorst

Deep Space 8K: Intel DRONE 100

Ars Electronica and Intel present: “One rarely experiences moments in which it becomes crystal clear how important and rewarding it can be to defy all the naysayers, to steadfastly pursue a vision and to work unwaveringly for years to bring it to fruition.” That’s how Horst Hörtner, director of the Ars Electronica Futurelab, summarized what was going through his head when 100 drones took off in pursuit of a world record in November 2015. In Deep Space 8K he personally presents the DRONE 100 project.

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Quadcopter Flying School

Learn to pilot multi-rotor mini-copters and get a feel for what they’re capable of. Display your skills executing slick maneuvers through a tricky obstacle course. Along the way, you’ll find out a lot of interesting stuff about how these drones are being used in science, the military, art and entertainment.

sparked

SPARKED: A Live Interaction Between Humans and Quadcopters

Verity Studios, ETH Zurich, and Cirque du Soleil have partnered to develop a short film featuring 10 quadcopters in a flying dance performance. The collaboration resulted in a unique, interactive choreography where humans and drones move in sync. Precise computer control allows for a large performance and movement vocabulary of the quadcopters and opens the door to many more applications in the future.

Drones

Mit einer ganzen Reihe von Rennen, Demos, Performances und Präsentationen eröffnet das DroneLab in der POSTCITY spannende Einblicke in aktuelle Drohnen-Anwendungen. Spektakulär werden etwa die Sessions der XBlade Allstars, einem internationalen Top-Team der Racing-Szene, die mit ihren Fluggeräten mit bis zu 140 km/h durch einen eigens dafür aufgebauten Racetrack in der Gleishalle rasen werden. Eine Etage höher zeigen die PilotInnen dann im Drone Lab zwar weniger rasante, dafür umso schwierigere Kunstflüge. Die Drone Academy eröffnet dann jeder und jedem die Chance, eine Drohne auch einmal selbst zu steuern. Mit spannenden Vorträgen und Demos geben ExpertInnen Einblick in verschiedene Drohnenanwendungen wie der Racing-Szene, Search & Rescue, Fotografie und Film sowie künstlerische Performances. Das SPAXELS-Team des Ars Electronica Futurelab präsentiert zudem einen Überblick über die spannendsten Entwicklungen im Drohnenbereich. Und mit „DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz“ laden Ars Electronica und Intel™ am Abend des 10. September 2016 zu einer spektakulären Drohnen-Performance.

DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZ

DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz

Ars Electronica und Intel präsentieren… Samstag, 10. September 2016, 19:45, direkt vor der Klangwolke, werden diese 100 Weltrekord-Drohnen in den Nachthimmel über Linz aufsteigen und spektakuläre Leuchtfiguren bilden. Kommen Sie in den Donaupark und erleben Sie die Europapremiere dieses riesigen Drohnenschwarms!

opening

Ars Electronica Opening

Eine Reihe an Konzerten und Performances erwartet Sie zur Eröffnung des Ars Electronica Festivals in der POSTCITY.

dronerace

Drone Races / Performances

Die XBlade Allstarts get Radical – eines der schnellsten Drohnen Rennteams der Welt wird über die Tage des Festivals die Gleishalle der POSTCITY in eine Renn-Arena verwandeln. Die Grenzen zwischen Rennsport und Kunstperformance verschwinden in einer futuristischen Rauminszenierung mit fliegenden Objekten bis zu 140 km/h.

animateworlds

Campus Opening

Die Geschichte Chinas ist mächtig und voll von bis heute überlieferten Erzählungen und Traditionen. Wie gehen die Studierenden der Tsinghua-Universität mit diesem imposanten kulturellen Erbe um, wenn sie sich dem Thema Medienkunst nähern? Kommen Sie zum Opening der “Campus Exhibition: Beseelte Welten” und sehen Sie sich eine performative Flugintervention an!

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

Ausgehend von der Homebase, dem DroneLab in der POSTCITY, werden über Projekte, Demos, Rennen, fliegerische Kunststücke phantastische Einblicke in die vielfältigen Hintergründe der unterschiedlichsten Ideen zu Drohnen, an mehreren Orten, gewährt.

dronehorst

Deep Space 8K: Intel DRONE 100

Ars Electronica und Intel präsentieren: „Ganz selten erlebt man Momente, in denen klar wird, wie wichtig und lohnend es sein kann, allen anders lautenden Meinungen zum Trotz an einer Vision festzuhalten und über Jahre hinweg unbeirrt an ihrer Umsetzung zu arbeiten“, fasst Horst Hörtner, Leiter des Ars Electronica Futurelab, zusammen, was ihm durch den Kopf ging, als im November des vergangenen Jahres 100 Drohnen zum Weltrekordflug abhoben. Im Deep Space 8K präsentiert er persönlich das Projekt “DRONE 100”.

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Quadrocopter-Flugschule

Werde PilotIn und lerne die mit mehreren Rotoren ausgestatteten „Kleinhubschrauber“ näher kennen. Zeige dein Können bei kniffligen Flügen, bei denen sich dir Hindernisse in den Weg stellen. Nebenbei erfährst du Wissenswertes über den Einsatz von Quadrocoptern in Wissenschaft, Militär, Kunst und Entertainment.

sparked

SPARKED: A Live Interaction Between Humans and Quadcopters

Verity Studios, ETH Zürich und Cirque du Soleil haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um einen Kurzfilm zu drehen, in dem zehn Quadcopter in einer fliegenden Tanz-Performance zu sehen sind. Das Ergebnis dieser Zusammenarbeit ist eine einzigartige interaktive Choreografie von Menschen und Drohnen in synchronisierter Bewegung. Präzise Computersteuerung ermöglichte ein großes Performance- und Bewegungsrepertoire der Quadcopter und öffnete die Türen für vielseitige Anwendungen in der Zukunft.