Highlights

These events should not be missed during your visit of the Ars Electronica Festival, September 8 to 12, 2016!
A preview of each day of the media art festival from Thursday to Monday can be found here.

DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZ

DRONE 100 – Spaxels over Linz

Ars Electronica and Intel present… On Saturday, September 10, 2016, 7:45 PM, immediately prior to the Klangwolke, these 100 unmanned aerial vehicles will ascend into the night sky above Linz and form spectacular illuminated figures. You’re cordially invited to Donaupark to experience this huge drone swarm’s European premiere!

opening

Ars Electronica Opening

The Ars Electronica Opening is full of performances and concerts – the opening event to the Ars Electronica Festival 2016.

Große Konzertnacht

Big Concert Night

The musical highlight of every Ars Electronica Festival is the Big Concert Night. It is an encounter of classical music, electronic sound artistry and computer-generated visualizations. The impressive venue of this year’s extraordinary concert is POSTCITY’s huge Train Hall.

dronerace

Drone Races / Performances

The XBlade Allstarts get Radical is one of the world’s fastest drone racing teams. During the festival, they’ll transform the Train Hall of the POSTCITY into an aerial racing arena. This futuristic spatial spectacle featuring flying objects traveling at up to 140 km/h blows away the boundary between speed sport and artistic performance.

Symposium

Radical Atoms Symposia

The 2016 Ars Electronica Festival theme symposia are scrutinizing the alchemists of our time. Who are these people conjuring up our near-term future?

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

CyberArts 2016

The CyberArts exhibition at the OK Center for Contemporary Art features the best works singled out for recognition by the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica, a prize honoring creativity and pioneering spirit in media art.

Tangible Media Group MIT Radical Atoms Exhibition

Radical Atoms Exhibition

Beginning September 8, 2016, the Ars Electronica Center will showcase the “Radical Atoms” exhibition, which centers around the digital world’s merger with the physical one. It is a reference to the visions and prototypes that have emerged from the MIT Media Lab’s Tangible Media Group.

Roboaction(s) A1 K1 / Dragan Ilić

Alchemists of our Time Exhibition

The “Alchemists of Our Time” exhibition at this year’s Ars Electronica Festival spotlights a new generation of artists and researchers. This show will be running in the spacious halls of POSTCITY on the grounds of Linz’s main train station.

Quadrature

Deep Space 8K

Deep Space 8K is premiering a series of new and fascinating visualizations. Festivalgoers are in for breathtaking worlds of imagery and mind-blowing experiences over the five-day festival run.

u19 Create Your World Festival

u19 CREATE YOUR WORLD Exhibition

“CREATE YOUR WORLD” is the motto of the Future Festival of the Next Generation. This festival-within-a-festival is a playground for exciting, unusual, funny and just plain young ideas. All those who come up with them have one thing in common: they’re under 19 years of age.

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

From our home base, DroneLab in POSTCITY, we’ll embark on a fact-finding tour featuring projects, demos, races and airborne artistry, and providing insightful looks into the fascinating world of unmanned aerial vehicles.

Bio Austria Organic Market

Farmers’ Market

POSTCITY will be welcoming farmers on Saturday. These men and women will be bringing along regional, organic products that festivalgoers can taste and purchase.

Animate Worlds

Campus Exhibition: Animate Worlds

Linz Art University’s Interface Cultures program annually invites an international partner university to present work being done there. This year’s guest is Tsinghua University. The Campus Exhibition will showcase outstanding works of media art by Tsinghua students.

Boris Labbé Rhizome Animation Festival Prix Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica Animation Festival

The Ars Electronica Animation Festival shows diversity with respect to both content and style. It delivers impressive testimony to how quickly (computer) animation is growing and how strongly it influences our everyday life.

FIS at POSTCITY

Future Innovators Summit

Collaborative brainstorming and the creative development of questions having to do with humankind’s future, education and the digital commons—that’s the mission of the Future Innovators Summit.

STARTS Prize 2016

STARTS Prize 2016

Appointed by the European Commission, Ars Electronica has launched a prize to select the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the nexus of science and technology with the arts. Ars Electronica 2016 presents a selection of the prizewinning and nominated works of STARTS Prize 2016.

STARTS Prize

STARTS Forum

Attention isn’t focused only on the prizewinning projects of STARTS–Prize 2016; Ars Electronica’s spotlight also shines on the people who produced them. At the STARTS–Forum 2016 they will have an opportunity to elaborate on their approach and point of view, their methodology and the results they’ve achieved with it.

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Makers who love experimentation present their do-it-yourself projects on Sunday. Above all, this is about dialog: people can exchange their knowledge and experiences in speeches and workshops.

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Taking work done by MIT’s Tangible Media Group and the Ars Electronica Futurelab as the point of departure, this part of the symposium will deal with how the evolution of Radical Atoms will be felt in various occupations, economic sectors and, by no means least of all, our everyday life.

bunker

Underworld in the POSTCITY

Deep in catacombs of POSTCITY, there’s a labyrinth of passageways, The Maze, a fallout shelter with room for 3,000 people, and a former storeroom for undeliverable parcels. These spaces—their extrovertedness, their aesthetics—evoke animated scenes in computer games. Now, the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival is using them as a setting for an intriguingly composed show of audiovisual works in which space is an essential magnitude.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Sonic Saturday

The Sonic Saturday schedule includes a diversified lineup of offerings—symposia, panel discussions, a guided tour, Listening Room and Medium Sonorum—dedicated to listening experiences in general and modern multi-channel compositions and computer music in particular.

Highlights

Diese Veranstaltungen sollten Sie bei Ihrem Besuch des Ars Electronica Festival, von 8. bis 12. September 2016, nicht verpassen!
Eine Vorschau der einzelnen Tage des Medienkunstfestivals von Donnerstag bis Montag finden Sie hier.

DRONE 100 SPAXELS ÜBER LINZ

DRONE 100 – Spaxels über Linz

Ars Electronica und Intel präsentieren… Samstag, 10. September 2016, 19:45, direkt vor der Klangwolke, werden diese 100 Weltrekord-Drohnen in den Nachthimmel über Linz aufsteigen und spektakuläre Leuchtfiguren bilden. Kommen Sie in den Donaupark und erleben Sie die Europapremiere dieses riesigen Drohnenschwarms!

opening

Ars Electronica Opening

Eine Reihe an Konzerten und Performances erwartet Sie zur Eröffnung des Ars Electronica Festivals in der POSTCITY.

Große Konzertnacht

Große Konzertnacht

Das musikalische Highlight jedes Ars Electronica Festival ist die Große Konzertnacht. Hier treffen klassische und elektronische Musik auf computergenerierte Visualisierungen. Schauplatz für dieses einzigartige Konzert ist heuer die riesige Gleishalle in der POSTCITY.

dronerace

Drone Races / Performances

Die XBlade Allstarts get Radical – eines der schnellsten Drohnen Rennteams der Welt wird über die Tage des Festivals die Gleishalle der POSTCITY in eine Renn-Arena verwandeln. Die Grenzen zwischen Rennsport und Kunstperformance verschwinden in einer futuristischen Rauminszenierung mit fliegenden Objekten bis zu 140 km/h.

Symposium

Radical Atoms Symposien

Die Themensymposien des Ars Electronica Festival 2016 wenden sich diesmal den AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit zu: Wer sind die Leute, die diese nächste Zukunft entwickeln?

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

CyberArts 2016

Die CyberArts-Ausstellung im OK zeigt die besten Arbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016, der Preis für Kreativität und Pioniergeist im Bereich der Medienkunst.

Tangible Media Group MIT Radical Atoms Exhibition

Radical Atoms Exhibition

Ab 8. September 2016 zeigt das Ars Electronica Center mit “Radical Atoms” eine Ausstellung, in der sich alles um das Verschmelzen der digitalen und der physischen Welt dreht. Im Fokus stehen die Visionen und Prototypen der Tangible Media Group des MIT MediaLab.

Roboaction(s) A1 K1 / Dragan Ilić

Alchemists of our Time Exhibition

Mit der Ausstellung „Alchemists of our Time“ rückt das diesjährige Ars Electronica Festival eine neue Generation von KünstlerInnen und ForscherInnen ins Rampenlicht, die mit ihrer hybriden Arbeitsweise die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft aufhebt.

Quadrature

Deep Space 8K

Der Deep Space 8K präsentiert eine Reihe von neuen und faszinierenden Visualisierungen: beeindruckende Erlebnisse und Bildwelten an den fünf Festivaltagen im September sind vorprogrammiert.

u19 Create Your World Festival

u19 CREATE YOUR WORLD Exhibition

„CREATE YOUR WORLD“ ist das Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation: eine Plattform und Schauplatz für spannende, ungewöhnliche, lustige, kurz junge Ideen. Ihre UrheberInnen sind allesamt unter 19.

Drone

Ars Electronica DroneLab

Ausgehend von der Homebase, dem DroneLab in der POSTCITY, werden über Projekte, Demos, Rennen, fliegerische Kunststücke phantastische Einblicke in die vielfältigen Hintergründe der unterschiedlichsten Ideen zu Drohnen, an mehreren Orten, gewährt.

Bio Austria Organic Market

Bio-Bauernmarkt

Am Samstag ziehen die Bauern und Bäuerinnen in die POSTCITY ein. Mit im Gepäck haben sie regionale Bio-Produkte, die verkostet und gekauft werden können.

Animate Worlds

Campus Exhibition: Beseelte Welten

Der Studiengang „Interface Cultures“ der Linzer Kunstuniversität lädt auch heuer wieder eine internationale Partneruniversität ein, ihre Arbeiten beim Ars Electronica Festival auszustellen. 2016 ist es die Tsinghua-Universität aus Peking. Die Campus Exhibition zeigt die besten Medienkunstarbeiten ihrer Studierenden.

Boris Labbé Rhizome Animation Festival Prix Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica Animation Festival

Das Ars Electronica Animation Festival besticht mit Vielfalt im Inhaltlichen wie auch im Gestalterischen. Es vermittelt eindrücklich, wie schnell (Computer-)Animation wächst und wie stark unser Alltag davon beeinflusst wird.

FIS at POSTCITY

Future Innovators Summit

Was ist in Zukunft ein Glücksmoment? Wie sieht die Schule des 21. Jahrhunderts aus? Welche Open Commons (digitale Gemeingüter) benötigen wir angesichts des rasanten Fortschritts der KI-Technologie? Gemeinsames Brainstorming und die kreative Entwicklung von Fragen, die sich an die Zukunft der Menschheit, der Bildung und der Gemeingüter richten – das ist die Zielsetzung des „Future Innovators Summit“.

STARTS Prize 2016

STARTS Prize 2016

Im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission hat Ars Electronica einen Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben, bei dem innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst ausgezeichnet wurden. Ars Electronica 2016 zeigt eine Auswahl der ausgezeichneten und nominierten Arbeiten des STARTS Prize 2016.

STARTS Prize

STARTS-Forum

Nicht nur die Projekte, die beim STARTS-Prize 2016 ausgezeichnet wurden, sollen im Rahmen der Ars Electronica 2016 vorgestellt werden, sondern auch die dahinterstehenden Menschen. Beim STARTS–Forum 2016 haben sie Gelegenheit, ihre Ansätze und Perspektiven, ihre Arbeitsweisen und die dabei erzielten Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Am Sonntag stellen experimentierfreudige MakerInnen ihre Do-it-yourself-Projekte vor: Die Mini Maker Faire Linz ist aber nicht nur eine Plattform zur Präsentation, sondern vor allem auch für den Dialog in Vorträgen und Workshops aus.

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Ausgehend von den Arbeiten der Tangible Media Group am MIT und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab beschäftigt sich dieser Teil des Symposiums damit, wie die Evolution von Radical Atoms unterschiedliche Arbeitsbereiche und nicht zuletzt unser aller Alltagswelt beeinflussen wird.

bunker

Underworld in der POSTCITY

Tief in den Katakomben der POSTCITY befinden sich labyrinthartige Gänge, The Maze, ein Atombunker, in dem 3.000 Personen Platz finden sowie ein ehemaliger Paketspeicher für unzustellbare Pakete. Diese Räume erinnern in ihrer Extrovertiertheit und Ästhetik an animierte Szenen aus Computerspielen. Ein Wandeln zwischen raumgreifenden, audiovisuellen Kunstwerken und Selbsterfahrung im Raum.

Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität

Focus Digital Music and Soundart: Sonic Saturday

Am Samstag stehen neben Symposien und Panelgesprächen zum Thema Musik und Sound eine Guided Tour sowie mit Listening Room und Medium Sonorum gleich zwei Programmschienen an, die sich dem Hörerlebnis von modernen Multi-channel Compositions und Computer Musik widmen.