Prix Ars Electronica 2016

The Prix Ars Electronica received a total of 3,159 entries from 84 countries this year. Artists from France, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Austria and Great Britain are this year’s recipients of the Prix Ars Electronica’s Golden Nica grand prizes: Boris Labbé in the Computer Animation/Film/VFX category, Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud in Interactive Art +, the P2P Foundation founded by Michel Bauwen in Digital Communities, Jonas Bodingbauer, a 17-year-old native of Linz in u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, and Jasia Reichardt, the prominent art critic and curator, has been singled out for recognition as a Visionary Pioneer of Media Art. They will be honored at the Prix Ars Electronica Gala on September 9, 2016 at the Brucknerhaus in Linz. These excellent projects and visions will be showcased by the CyberArts exhibition at the OK Center for Contemporary Art throughout the Ars Electronica Festival September 8-12, 2016.

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

CyberArts 2016

The CyberArts exhibition at the OK Center for Contemporary Art features the best works singled out for recognition by the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica, a prize honoring creativity and pioneering spirit in media art.

Golden Nica

Ars Electronica Gala

An evening with the crème de la crème of the digital arts – a highlight of the 2016 Ars Electronica Gala will be the ceremony at which the Golden Nica statuettes are bestowed upon the Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

The Computer Animation / Film / VFX Prix Forum will deal with developments in the animation field. With Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) and Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

P2P foundation

Prix Forum II – Digital Communities

The Digital Communities Forum is dedicated to the social consequences of global interconnection via digital networks. With Sarah Kriesche (AT), Stacco Troncoso (ES), Paul Feigelfeld (AT) and Nakano Hitoyo (JP).

Can you hear me?

Prix Forum III – Interactive Art +

The Interactive Art+ Forum will elaborate of interactive works and the expanded interpretation of interactive art. With Victoria Vesna (US), Mathias Jud (CH), Christoph Wachter (CH) and Frank Kolkman (NL).

electronic theatre

OK Night: Electronic Theatre

Electronic Theatre features all prizewinning works in the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica’s Computer Animation / Film / VFX category.

Vitreous

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2016

More than 1,300 works were submitted for prize consideration in the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica’s Computer Animation / Film / VFX category. These entries are the basis on which we’ve compiled the 15 programs that make up this year’s Ars Electronica Animation Festival, a cross-section of the world of digital filmmaking today and its tremendous aesthetic, substantive and technical diversity.

Uncanny Valley

Entrance Area Central

Two winning works of Prix Ars Electronica 2016 – Computer Animation / Film / VFX category and two virtual reality projects are exhibited at the entrance of Central.

cyberartstour

CyberArts 2016 Tour

Join the tour through the Cyberarts exhibition in the OK im OÖ Kulturquartier that showcases works singled out for recognition by the Prix Ars Electronica.

Prix Ars Electronica 2016

3.159 Einreichungen aus 84 Ländern verzeichnete der Prix Ars Electronica 2016. Die PreisträgerInnen kommen diesmal aus Frankreich, der Schweiz, den Niederlanden, Österreich und Großbritannien: Boris Labbé (FR) erhält die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Christoph Wachter und Mathias Jud (beide CH) dürfen sich über die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Interactive Art + freuen, die P2P Foundation bekommt die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Digital Communities, der 17-jährige Jonas Bodingbauer (AT) aus Linz gewinnt in der Kategorie u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD und die profilierte Kunstkritikerin und Ausstellungsmacherin Jasia Reichardt (UK) wird mit einer Goldene Nica als „Visionary Pioneer of Media Art“ ausgezeichnet. Offiziell überreicht bekommen sie ihre Goldenen Nicas im Rahmen der großen Prix Ars Electronica Gala am 9. September 2016 im Linzer Brucknerhaus. Ihre preisgekrönten Projekte und Visionen werden im Rahmen der CyberArts-Ausstellung im OK das gesamte Festival über (von 8. bis 12. September 2016) präsentiert.

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

CyberArts 2016

Die CyberArts-Ausstellung im OK zeigt die besten Arbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016, der Preis für Kreativität und Pioniergeist im Bereich der Medienkunst.

Golden Nica

Ars Electronica Gala

Ein Abend im Zeichen der weltbesten VertreterInnen der digitalen Künste: die große Gala der Ars Electronica 2016 mit der Verleihung der Goldenen Nicas an die PreisträgerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica.

Rhizome

Prix Forum I – Computer Animation/Film/VFX

Das Prix-Forum „Computer Animation / Film / VFX“ beschäftigt sich mit den Entwicklungen im Animationsbereich. Mit Gerfried Stocker (AT), Boris Labbé (FR), Yuya Hanai (JP), Mari-Liis Rebane (EE) und Johannes Schiehsl (AT).

P2P foundation

Prix Forum II – Digital Communities

Das Prix-Forum „Digital Communities“ widmet sich den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der digitalen Vernetzung der Welt. Mit Sarah Kriesche (AT), Stacco Troncoso (ES), Paul Feigelfeld (AT) und Nakano Hitoyo (JP).

Can you hear me?

Prix Forum III – Interactive Art +

Das Prix-Forum „Interactive Art+“ befasst sich mit interaktiven Arbeiten und der erweiterten Interpretation interaktiver Kunst. Mit Victoria Vesna (US), Mathias Jud (CH), Christoph Wachter (CH) und Frank Kolkman (NL).

electronic theatre

OK Night: Electronic Theatre

Das Electronic Theatre zeigt in einer kurzweiligen Präsentation alle in der Kategorie Computer Animation / Film / VFX preisgekrönten Arbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016.

Vitreous

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2016

Mehr als 1.300 Arbeiten wurden 2016 in der Kategorie Computeranimation / Film / VFX des Prix Ars Electronica eingereicht. Sie sind die Basis, auf der das Ars Electronica Animation Festival mit seinen insgesamt 15 Programmen einen aktuellen Querschnitt durch die Welt des digitalen Films in seiner gestalterischen, inhaltlichen und technischen Vielfalt kompiliert.

Uncanny Valley

Entrance Area Central

Zwei Preisträgerarbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 aus der Kategorie Computer Animation / Film / VFX sowie zwei Virtual Reality-Arbeiten sind im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Animation Festival im Eingangsbereich des Central zu sehen.

cyberartstour

CyberArts 2016 Tour

Die Tour führt Sie ins OK im OÖ Kulturquartier, wo Sie in der Ausstellung CyberArts die ausgezeichneten Projekte des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 sehen werden.