WE GUIDE YOU

Ars Electronica focuses on issues of great current relevance in the fields of art, science and technology. This year’s festival theme, RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time is an effort to understand what these leading-edge scientists are up to and how they can contribute to changing our world.

Who are the alchemists of our time? While the world still has its hands full dealing with the Digital Revolution and the cultural and social transformations and challenges that it’s brought about, a young generation of scientists and creative engineers has set a course for new frontiers and is already at work amalgamating the disembodied world of digital data with the physical world of our bodies.

Throughout the Ars Electronica Festival’s run, we offer daily Highlight Tours through POSTCITY in German and English. Kids’ Tours are designed to provide young people with an enriching experience at the festival. Each day, experts will share their knowledge and offer insights into elements of the Festival. Delve into, and beyond, the theme “RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time. Discuss current theories on art, science and society. Be led, and find unexpected paths through POSTCITY. The Community Parcours consists of free-of-charge tours through POSTCITY for people with special needs, and tours conducted in the native languages of Austrian minorities.

HIGHLIGHT TOUR € 12 / € 8 for those entitled to a discount
KIDS TOUR € 8 for those entitled to a discount
EXPERTS TOUR € 16 / € 12 for those entitled to a discount

If you buy a Festival Pass or One-Day Pass you are entitled to one tour at no extra charge.

Multiple Tours in One Day: The tour schedule is structured to enable festivalgoers to conveniently take tours of POSTCITY, the Ars Electronica Center and Cyberarts exhibition in the OK in a single day. Our recommendations for between-tour intervals: a stop at the Mariendom and in CENTRAL where the Ars Electronica Animation Festival is being screened.

Guided Tours

Gerfried Stocker

Opening Tour with Gerfried Stocker

A series of openings will highlight Day 1 of the Ars Electronica Festival. Whoever wants to benefit from expert commentary along the way through the POSTCITY should definitely join the Opening Tour led by Ars Electronica Artistic Director Gerfried Stocker.

© SHADES TOURS walking tour

SHADES TOURS: Guided by the homeless

Discover another side of life and go on a tour guided by a homeless person! Discover the multiple shades of homelessness: the challenges, social services and stories of living and surviving on the street.

POSTCITY Tour

Highlight Tour

Join us on a tour through the POSTCITY, the main festival venue of the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival, situated amidst the main train station’s yard. Besides sightseeing, we’ll be facing some highly topical issues at the nexus of art, technology and society.

POSTCITY Kids Tour

Kids Tour

For youngsters between the ages of 8 and 14, we offer special tours through POSTCITY that venture far beyond the friendly confines of u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, the festival for the next generation.

Ars Electronica Center

Highlight Tour Ars Electronica Center

In addition to the highlights of the Museum of the Future including the Deep Space 8K, this tour spotlights “Radical Atoms,” an exhibition that premiered at the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival.

cyberartstour

CyberArts 2016 Tour

Join the tour through the Cyberarts exhibition in the OK im OÖ Kulturquartier that showcases works singled out for recognition by the Prix Ars Electronica.

expert_post

Experts Tour: Postal Logistics Today

The Austrian Postal Service’s Alhaming logistics center that replaced the facility in downtown Linz in 2015 is considered one of Europe’s most modern. How are letters and parcels delivered today? Take a tour of Alhaming, 20 kilometers southwest of Linz, and find out.

expert_joan

Experts Tour: Fremde Freunde – Global Village

Together with Joan Bairam you will get to know and discuss projects at POSTCITY that were realized by refugees or deal with the internationally relevant topic of escape, prosecution and displacement. Especially the social dimensions of forming communities, mixing cultures, looking for and finding an identity will be focused in this tour. These concerns can be found in many artistic and documentary projects throughout the festival.

POSTCITY

Experts Tour: RADICAL ATOMS @ POSTCITY

Scientists of the Tangible Media Group of MIT Medialab will have a look around POSTCITY and introduce to you – additionally to the symposia about the topic of RADICAL ATOMS – projects and artistic ideas that already incorporate the theory of RADICAL ATOMS.

expert_sound

Experts Tour: POSTCITY Sounds

Familiarize yourself with Werner Jauk on the way through the POST City, where you can experience through auditory installations that music is not just sound – but interpreted above all a perception and thought process that formalizes into sound.

bugxina

Experts Tour: Bio Hacking presented by the Gynepunks

Explore how we will be able to alter and extend our bodies and those of other life forms – get an insight and learn how to use open source technologies in this field – learn from Paula Pin, member of Pechblenda, transhackfeminist Hardware Lab.

expert_stadt

Experts Tour: Urban Ecology

Explore the vegetation on the roof of the POST CITY by biologist Friedrich Schwarz and learn from him about the rich ecosystem of the city.You will be amazed!

expert_gaming

Experts Tour: Gaming and Virtual Reality

Travel through the POSTCITY with video game expert and collector Andranik Ghalustians (GameStage@u19). Through space and time you will get to know the history of video games and finally reach the workd today and try VR glasses to learn more about Virtual Reality Technologies.

Tour for impaired people

Community Parcours / ÖGS

This tour in Austrian Sign Language (ÖGS) introduces you in this year’s festival theme RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time.

Group Tours

You can custom-design a guided tour of your own. It can start at any time from 10 AM to 5:30 PM, and takes 90 minutes. A tour for a group of up to 20 personas costs €140. Reservation deadline is September 5th, 2016. To make a reservation, send an e-mail to tickets@aec.at.

WE GUIDE YOU

Die Ars Electronica erforscht wieder aktuelle Fragen aus Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie. Das diesjährige Festival-Thema „RADICAL ATOMS and the alchemists of our time“ stellt die Frage, wer die AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit sind und wie sie zur Veränderung unserer Welt beitragen können. Mehrere Führungen durch die POSTCITY, durch das Ars Electronica Center und andere Schauplätze des Festivals führen schrittweise an mögliche Antworten heran.

Wer sind die AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit? Während die Welt noch Hals über Kopf mit der digitalen Revolution und den daraus resultierenden kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Transformationen und Herausforderungen beschäftigt ist, bricht eine junge Generation von WissenschaftlerInnen und kreativen IngenieurInnen bereits zu neuen Ufern auf und arbeitet daran die körperlose Welt der digitalen Daten mit der physischen Welt unserer Körper zu verschmelzen.

Begleiten Sie uns während des Ars Electronica Festival bei täglichen „Highlight Tours“ in Deutsch und Englisch durch die POSTCITY, lassen Sie Ihre Kinder das Festival in den „Kids Tours“ erkunden, oder schließen Sie sich ExpertInnen an, die sie bei unterschiedlichen Themen der „Experts Tours“ durch das Ars Electronica Festival begleiten. Mit den „Community Parcours“ bietet Ars Electronica darüber hinaus kostenlose Führungen durch die POSTCITY für Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen und den Muttersprachen österreichischer Minderheiten an.

HIGHLIGHT TOUR € 12 / € 8 ermäßigt
KIDS TOUR € 8 ermäßigt
EXPERTS TOUR € 16 / € 12 ermäßigt

Beim Kauf eines Festival- oder Tagespasses ist jeweils eine Tour inkludiert!

Möglichkeiten der Kombination: Die Führungen sind so konzipiert, dass Sie problemlos an einem Tag eine Führung durch die POSTCITY, das Ars Electronica Center und die Cyberarts-Ausstellung im OK im OÖ Kulturquartier machen können. Dazwischen empfehlen wir einen Stopp beim Mariendom und im CENTRAL, wo das Ars Electronica Animation Festival stattfindet.

Führungen

Gerfried Stocker

Opening Tour mit Gerfried Stocker

Am ersten Tag des Festival reiht sich eine Eröffnung an die andere. Wer in der POSTCITY nichts verpassen möchte, ist herzlich eingeladen, sich der Opening Tour mit Gerfried Stocker, dem künstlerischen Leiter der Ars Electronica, anzuschließen.

POSTCITY Tour

Highlight Tour

Begleiten Sie uns durch die POSTCITY, den zentralen Schauplatz des Ars Electronica Festival 2016 beim Linzer Hauptbahhof, wo wir gemeinsam aktuelle Fragen aus Kunst, Technologie und Gesellschaft stellen und darüber diskutieren.

POSTCITY Kids Tour

Kids Tour

Für Kinder zwischen 8 und 14 Jahren gibt es ein eigenes Führungsangebot durch die POSTCITY, das nicht nur u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD, das Zukunftsfestival der nächsten Generation, miteinschließt.

Ars Electronica Center

Highlightführung Ars Electronica Center

Neben den Highlights des Ars Electronica Center wie dem Deep Space 8K erhalten Sie einen Einblick in die zum Ars Electronica Festival neu eröffnete Ausstellung “Radical Atoms”.

tours_familytour

Family Tour Ars Electronica Center

Eine erlebnisreiche Reise für Kinder und Erwachsene durch das Ars Electronica Center, gespickt mit aufregenden Gedanken rund um die Zukunft unserer Welt.

cyberartstour

CyberArts 2016 Tour

Die Tour führt Sie ins OK im OÖ Kulturquartier, wo Sie in der Ausstellung CyberArts die ausgezeichneten Projekte des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 sehen werden.

expert_post

Experts Tour: Postlogistik Heute

Wie funktioniert Postlogistik heute? Die Österreichische Post AG bietet einen einzigartigen Einblick ins neue Postverteilzentrum in Alhaming – eines der modernsten in Europa. Pakete durchlaufen diese Anlage um ein Vielfaches schneller als das alte Verteilzentrum in Linz.

expert_joan

Experts Tour: Fremde Freunde – Global Village

Joan Bairam führt durch Projekte in der POSTCITY die von Flüchtlingen realisiert wurden oder sich mit dem international relevanten Thema Flucht und unfreiwilligem Verlassen der Heimat beschäftigen. Vor allem die gesellschaftliche Dimension von Zusammenleben, Neufindung und Identifikation sowie deren Aufarbeitung in künstlerischen und dokumentarischen Projekten stehen bei dieser Führung im Zentrum.

POSTCITY

Experts Tour: RADICAL ATOMS @ POSTCITY

WissenschaftlerInnen der Tangible Media Group des MIT Medialab werden eingeladen sich in der POSTCITY umzusehen und sowohl künstlerische als auch technologische Ansätz zu finden, die ihrer Meinung nach den Gedanken der RADICAL ATOMS bereits in sich aufnehmen, weitertragen und umsetzen.

expert_pneu

Experts Workshop: Pneuduino – RADICAL ATOMS Workshop

In diesem Workshop wird mit Hilfe eines pneumatischen Toolkits, das auf Arduino basiert, ein transformierbares Material hergestellt und kontrolliert. Auf diesem Prinzip beruht auch die Arbeit PneUI in der Ausstellung Radical Atoms. Hier wird erforscht wie das zukünftige Zusammenspiel von Mensch und künstlich hergestellten Materialen funktionieren kann.

expert_sound

Experts Tour: POSTCITY Sounds

Machen Sie sich mit Werner Jauk auf den Weg durch die POSTCITY, wo Sie anhand auditiver Installationen dazu aufgefordert werden, Musik nicht nur als etwas Klingendes als auch als einen Wahrnehmungs- und Denkprozess aufzufassen, der sich in Klang formalisiert.

bugxina

Experts Tour: Bio Hacking presented by the Gynepunks

Wie können wir zukünftige Körper – nicht nur menschliche – formen und verändern? Bei dieser Führung lernen Sie nicht nur Projekte aus den Bereichen der synthetischen Biologie, Biohacking und experimenteller Gentechnologie kennen, sie lernen auch, wie Sie selbst zum Biohacker oder zur Biohackerin werden.

expert_stadt

Experts Tour: Stadtökologie

Erkunden Sie mit dem Biologen Friedrich Schwarz die Vegetation auf dem Dach der POST CITY und erfahren Sie von ihm Wissenswertes und Erstaunliches über das artenreiche Ökosystem Stadt. Sie werden staunen!

expert_gaming

Experts Tour: Gaming und Virtual Reality

Begeben Sie sich mit dem Computerspielesammer und –experten Andranik Ghalustians (GameStage@u19) auf eine Entdeckungsreise durch die POSTCITY – durch die Geschichte der Videospiele bis zur Gegenwart, lernen Sie unter anderem Virtual-Reality-Technologien kennen und probieren Sie VR-Brillen aus.

Tour for impaired people

Community Parcours / ÖGS

Am 10. und 11. September 2016 laden wir Sie jeweils um 15:30 sehr herzlich zu einem Rundgang in Österreichischer Gebärdensprache (ÖGS) ein!

Gruppenführungen

Sie können gerne bis Montag, 5. September 2016 eine Führung mit individuellem Programm buchen. Diese kann zwischen 10:00 und 17:30 beginnen und wird 90 Minuten dauern. Eine Gruppenführung kostet 140 € und kann für maximal 20 Personen gebucht werden. Für Reservierungen senden Sie uns bitte eine Mail an tickets@aec.at.