Data Privacy Protection

It is a matter of great concern to Ars Electronica—especially in light of our thematic focus on the interplay of technology and society—to institute measures to protect your privacy and your personal data when you use our website. The following is a detailed disclosure of our position on this subject.

General

This website is operated by Ars Electronica GmbH, Ars-Electronica-Straße 1, 4040 Linz, Austria, and hosted by this company’s in-house servers in Linz. As long as you move about within the Ars Electronica network (which is usually apparent from the aec.at internet address), it is possible for us to respect your privacy. Nevertheless, please keep in mind that this website also contains links to other websites subject to other data protection provisions.

Personal Data

Ars Electronica does not gather any personal data via this website unless you voluntarily furnish this information to us by entering it into a form—for instance, by subscribing to our newsletter or by submitting an entry online to the Prix Ars Electronica competition. The data that you entrust to us thereby will only be used for that particular purpose (e.g. to send you the newsletter you requested). Ars Electronica does not forward data to third parties.

Cookies

When you visit Ars Electronica’s website, we use so-called cookies in order to recognize your browser when you visit us again. This helps us to continually provide you with the contents of our website in the language you’ve selected. Cookies are small text files that your browser stores to your device; the information in these files can, if needed, be sent back to our server. If you don’t consent to cookies being stored to your device, then please deactivate the use of cookies in your browser. To find out how this works, please consult your browser’s “Help” menu. However, deactivating cookies may make it impossible to use some of this website’s functions to the fullest possible extent.

Piwik and Tracking

Ars Electronica uses an open source program named Piwik to analyze the use of its website. Doing so—as opposed to using services like Google Analytics—enables us to store log data on our own servers here in Austria and to prevent any further use of the data by third parties. Every time you visit our website, in addition to your IP address (which we anonymize), we automatically store the following data: access time, internet address (URL) and the name of the page accessed, screen resolution, the language to which your browser is set, browser name, the device used and the name of its operating system, clicked-on links and the approximate geographic location (land, region, city) from which you access Ars Electronica’s website. Piwik also uses so-called cookies to recognize your browser again—as long as you permit this and have not deactivated the use of cookies in your browser. We support “Do Not Track”; if you access our website via a browser in which “Do Not Track” has been activated, we will most definitely not store a record of your activities on our website. Additional information in this subject is available at donottrack.us. You also have the option of setting an “opt-out cookie” in your browser if we are not permitted to take your activities on our website into account for the purpose of traffic analysis. To do so, please click here…

Social Networks

Ars Electronica has made a firm decision to refrain from integrating any and all so-called social plug-ins and program codes of third parties such as Facebook, Twitter and Google+ into the source code of our website. Accordingly, it’s impossible for social networks to be notified when you visit Ars Electronica’s website. You must first click on a “Share” or “Social Media” button (e.g. the one with the Facebook symbol) in order to get to the social networks that we use. Please be cognizant of the fact that, when you do share content from Ars Electronica in social networks, other data protection provisions are in force there, that social networks themselves gather and store information about who uses them and how, and that these data are also used for other purposes. Nevertheless, Ars Electronica exerts no influence on either data conveyed to social networks or how those data are subsequently used. You’re best off obtaining information directly from the respective data protection declaration (privacy statement) of the social network you use, and thinking long and hard about the extent to which you can trust these services, most of which are free of charge.

Ads Attuned to the User’s Interests

Ars Electronica’s websites do not feature advertising custom-tailored to our users’ interests. Accordingly, we do not transmit any movement profiles to third parties such as advertising agencies, companies or other service providers.

Additional Questions? Suggestions?

If you have any questions about data protection or would like to point something out to us in this regard, please contact us via e-mail to web@aec.at. It’s a matter of utmost importance to us to provide a high level of data privacy protection to users of our website.

Imprint/Copyright

Datenschutz

Ars Electronica ist es ein großes Anliegen – gerade durch unseren thematischen Fokus auf das Zusammenspiel von Technologie und Gesellschaft – Maßnahmen zu setzen, um Ihre Privatsphäre und Ihre persönlichen Daten zu schützen, wenn Sie unsere Website nutzen. Im Folgenden möchten wir Sie hier darüber gerne im Detail informieren:

Allgemeines

Diese Website wird von der Ars Electronica GmbH & Co KG, Ars-Electronica-Straße 1, 4040 Linz, Österreich, betrieben und auf den hauseigenen Servern in Linz gehostet. Sofern Sie sich innerhalb des Ars-Electronica-Netzwerks bewegen (meist ersichtlich über die Internet-Adresse aec.at), ist es uns möglich, Ihre Privatsphäre zu respektieren. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass diese Website auch Links zu anderen Websites enthält, die ihre eigenen Datenschutzbestimmungen haben.

Personenbezogene Daten

Ars Electronica sammelt über diese Website keine personenbezogenen Daten, es sei denn, Sie stellen uns diese freiwillig in einem Formular zur Verfügung – wenn Sie sich beispielsweise für unseren Newsletter anmelden oder Ihr Projekt online zum Prix Ars Electronica einreichen. Die Daten, die Sie uns dabei anvertrauen, werden nur für die zuvor angeführten Zwecke verwendet (z.B. für den Versand des Newsletters). Ars Electronica gibt keine Daten an Dritte weiter.

Cookies

Wenn Sie die Website der Ars Electronica besuchen, setzen wir „Cookies“ ein, um Ihren Browser bei weiteren Besuchen wiederzuerkennen. Das hilft uns, Ihnen die Inhalte unserer Website kontinuierlich in der von Ihnen gewählten Sprache auszugeben. „Cookies“ sind kleine Textdateien, die Ihr Browser auf Ihrem Gerät speichert, und dessen Informationen bei Bedarf an unsere Server zurückgegeben werden können. Wenn Sie mit der Speicherung von Cookies auf Ihrem Gerät nicht einverstanden sind, deaktivieren Sie bitte die Verwendung von Cookies in Ihrem Browser. Wie dies funktioniert, erfahren Sie im Hilfe-Menü Ihres Browers. Durch das Deaktivieren von Cookies kann es jedoch sein, dass manche Funktionen dieser Website nicht zum vollen Umfang genutzt werden können.

Piwik und Tracking

Zur Analyse der Benutzung der Website setzt Ars Electronica auf das Open-Source-Programm Piwik. Dadurch ist es uns möglich – im Gegensatz zu Diensten wie „Google Analytics“ – Logdaten auf unseren eigenen Servern hier in Österreich zu speichern und eine weitere Nutzung durch Dritte zu verhindern. Jedes Mal, wenn Sie unsere Website besuchen, speichern wir neben Ihrer von uns anonymisierten IP-Adresse automatisiert folgende Daten: Zugriffszeit, Internet-Adresse (URL) und den Titel der aufgerufenen Seite, Bildschirmauflösung, die in Ihrem Browser eingestellte Sprache, Browser-Name, das verwendete Gerät sowie den Namen des Betriebssystems, geklickte Links und die ungefähre geographische Lage (Land, Region, Stadt), von der Sie auf die Website der Ars Electronica zugreifen. Zusätzlich verwendet auch Piwik „Cookies“, um Ihren Browser wiederzuerkennen – sofern Sie die Verwendung von Cookies in Ihrem Browser nicht deaktiviert haben. Wir unterstützen „Do Not Track“: Wenn Sie unsere Website über einen Browser mit aktiviertem „Do Not Track“ ansteuern, werden wir Ihre Aktivitäten auf unserer Website selbstverständlich nicht speichern. Weitere Infos dazu finden Sie auf donottrack.us. Weiters haben Sie die Möglichkeit, in Ihrem Browser ein „Opt-Out-Cookie“ zu setzen, wenn wir Ihre Aktivitäten auf unserer Website nicht zur Traffic-Analyse einsetzen dürfen. Klicken Sie dazu bitte hier…

Soziale Netzwerke

Ars Electronica hat sich dezidiert dazu entschlossen, auf sämtliche „Social Plugins“ und Programmcodes von Dritten wie zum Beispiel Facebook, Twitter oder Google+ nicht in den Quellcode unserer Website zu integrieren. Sozialen Netzwerken ist es dadurch nicht möglich, benachrichtigt zu werden, wenn Sie die Website der Ars Electronica besuchen. Erst durch einen Klick auf eine „Teilen“- oder „Social-Media“-Schaltfläche (z.B. mit dem Facebook-Symbol) gelangen Sie zu den von uns genutzten sozialen Netzwerken. Wenn Sie in sozialen Netzwerken Inhalte der Ars Electronica teilen, seien Sie sich bitte bewusst, dass dort andere Datenschutzregelungen gelten und soziale Netzwerke selbst Informationen darüber speichern, wer sie wie nutzt, und diese Daten auch weiterverwendet werden. Die Ars Electronica hat jedoch auf die in den sozialen Netzwerken übermittelten Daten sowie deren weitere Nutzung keinen Einfluss. Informieren Sie sich am besten auf der jeweiligen Datenschutzerklärung des von Ihnen verwendeten sozialen Netzwerks und überlegen Sie selbst wie viel Vertrauen Sie diesen meist kostenlosen Diensten schenken.

Interessensbezogene Werbung

Auf den Websites der Ars Electronica bieten wir Ihnen keine interessensbezogene Werbung an – und übermitteln deshalb auch keine Bewegungsprofile an Dritte wie Werbeagenturen, Unternehmen oder weitere Dienstleister.

Offene Fragen? Anregungen?

Wenn Sie Fragen hinsichtlich des Datenschutzes haben oder uns diesbezüglich Hinweise geben möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter web@aec.at. Es ist uns ein großes Anliegen, die Nutzung unserer Website mit einem hohen Maß an Datenschutz zu gewährleisten.

Impressum/Copyright