Frankfurter Buchmesse
STARTS

This year’s THE ARTS+ Creative Business Festival at the Frankfurt Book Fair provides the perfect showcase for men and women who’ve been honored for their extraordinary creativity, for their innovative projects at the nexus of science, technology and art, and for the European Commission’s STARTS initiative.

Fronius
Solutions

Fronius is the global market leader in robotic welding, and has made a name for itself worldwide in the field of arc & resistance spot welding. This year, Ars Electronica Solutions designed the company’s stand at SCHWEISSEN & SCHNEIDEN 2017 in Düsseldorf, the world’s premier trade show for welding and cutting technology. In this interview, Ars Electronica Solutions Director Michael Mondria talks about what went into this assignment.

Lisa Buttinger
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrixSTARTSu19

Lisa Buttinger displayed meticulous attention to the most minute details as she went about completing her graduation project at Linz’s High School for Artistic Design. In this interview, she talks about what she calls nonvisual art, an innovative artistic medium that has garnered her twofold honors—the Golden Nica in the 2017 Prix Ars Electronica’s u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category and an Honorary Mention from the 2017 STARTS Prize.

STARTS Prize 2017 Projects
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalSTARTS

Dealing with complex issues calls for marshalling insights and skills from numerous fields, cultures and perspectives. Excellence in accomplishing this is precisely what the European Commission aims to honor with the STARTS Prize. Here, we present 2017’s best projects and what the jury’s statement has to say about them. Many will be featured in a special exhibition running at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz.

Future Innovators Summit
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalFuturelab

Embedded in the inspiring setting of the Ars Electronica Festival in POSTCITY Linz, the Future Innovators Summit is once again inviting motivated individuals from the worlds of art, technology and science to exchange ideas and thereby formulate questions of central importance to humankind’s future. FIS project director Hideaki Ogawa offers some conceptual points of departure for a stimulating encounter with the big issue: artificial intelligence.

Kathrin Stumreich
Center

Chrystal Tesla is an average citizen whose homemade devices enable her to successfully fend off the incessant incursions of surveillance technology. This scenario created by artist Kathrin Stumreich and entitled “What would Ted Kaczynski’s daughter do?” has been honored by the City of Linz with the Marianne.von.Willemer.2016 Prize.

Big Poop Data
Prixu19

An incisively critical commentary on the obsessive and now-so-pervasive harvesting of data and a plea for the protection of our digital privacy—four schoolboys’ sensor-studded WC has garnered them the 2017 Prix Ars Electronica’s netidee Special Prize. In this interview, Ernst Langmantel, the director of netidee, explains what he likes so much about this project, and elaborates on Austria’s largest initiative to nurture the potential of digital networks.

Noodle
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalResidencies

For her proposal to send a robot with artistic skills into outer space, robotics engineer Sarah Petkus was the recipient of an Honorary Mention from the 2016 art&science@ESA. In this interview, she talks about her plans for her upcoming residency at the European Space Agency (ESA) and the Ars Electronica Futurelab, about humane robots, and the essential elements that actually constitute a robot.

Get Inspired
CenterSTARTS

“GET INSPIRED – Promising Projects at the Nexus of Art, Technology and Science” was the theme of a showcase of innovative projects based in Linz and Upper Austria staged yesterday by Ars Electronica in cooperation with a regional association of young businesspeople. Join us for a look back at an inspiring evening.

IRCAM
STARTS

Now that the 2017 STARTS Prizes have been selected, the European Commission’s STARTS initiative is launching another attractive program. Artists can now apply for a residency in which they create a new work of art using the technology of the R&D project of their choice. The entry deadline is May 22, 2017.

slow-wave-tube
Prix

March 13th is the deadline for submitting works of media art for 2017 Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration. In this interview, sound artist Emre Erkal, one of this year’s jurors in the Digital Musics & Sound Art category, talks about sounds, architecture and artificial intelligence.

IMGP0098
Center

Experimenting, testing and understanding. Over 2,000 pupils came to the Ars Electronica Center to present their self-developed experiments to a public audience and to take a look at other experimental set-ups. View our picture gallery of astonished and curious gazes of the participating kids and teenagers!

Waag Society
STARTS

Collaboration among science, technology and art is urgently needed! Marleen Stikker and Lucas Evers of the Waag Society talk about these three fields’ commonalities and, shortly before the entry deadline, address a last-chance call to motivate artists, engineers and scientists to submit their transdisciplinary projects for 2017 STARTS Prize consideration.

Frankfurter Buchmesse
STARTS

Mit dem THE ARTS+ Creative Business Festival bot die Frankfurter Buchmesse diesmal die passende Bühne für prämierte Kreative, für ihre innovativen Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst, sowie für die zur STARTS-Initiative der Europäischen Kommission zählenden Bereiche.

Fronius
Solutions

Fronius ist globaler Marktführer für Roboterschweißen und hat sich im Bereich des Lichtbogen- und Widerstandspunkt-Schweißens international bereits einen Namen gemacht. Den Unternehmensauftritt auf der Weltleitmesse „SCHWEISSEN & SCHNEIDEN 2017“ in Düsseldorf gestaltete diesmal die Ars Electronica Solutions. Wie dieser Messestand entstanden ist, das erzählt uns Michael Mondria, Leiter der Ars Electronica Solutions.

Not Your World Music
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrix

Mit ihrem Projekt “Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia” ist es den Künstlern Dimitri della Faille und Cedrik Fermont gelungen, eines der ganz wenigen Werke über Noise und Sound Art im südostasiatischen Raum zu schaffen. Im Interview sprechen die Gewinner der Goldenen Nica 2017 darüber, wie es zu diesem großen Vorhaben gekommen ist und welche Erfahrungen sie auf ihren Forschungsreisen gemacht haben.

Lisa Buttinger
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrixSTARTSu19

In akribischer Feinarbeit hat die Schülerin Lisa Buttinger der HBLA für Künstlerische Gestaltung Linz ihr Abschlussprojekt fertiggestellt. Im Interview spricht sie über ihre „nonvisual-art“ – ein neuartiges künstlerisches Medium, mit dem sie gleich zwei Preise erhalten hat: Die Goldene Nica des Prix Ars Electronica 2017 in der Kategorie „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ und eine Anerkennung des STARTS Prize 2017.

STARTS Prize 2017 Projects
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalSTARTS

Komplexe Fragestellungen erfordern Know-how aus unterschiedlichen Feldern, Kulturen und Perspektiven – und genau darum drehen sich die Projekte, die beim STARTS Prize 2017 der Europäischen Kommission ausgezeichnet wurden. Kommentiert von den Statements der Jury stellen wir Ihnen hier die besten Projekte des Jahres näher vor. Viele davon werden in einer eigenen Ausstellung beim Ars Electronica Festival in Linz zu sehen sein.

Prime Meridian Zero Degrees by Lita Albuquerque
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

Auch 2017 wird beim Ars Electronica Festival wieder eine internationale Universität mit einer eigenen Campus-Ausstellung zu Gast sein: Diesmal ist es die UCLA, die Universität von Kalifornien Los Angeles. Die Professorin Victoria Vesna gibt einen ersten Einblick in die Ausstellung „Feminist Climate Change“ und erzählt, wie es die Medienkunst in die Universität geschafft hat.

Future Innovators Summit
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalFuturelab

Eingebettet in das inspirierende Setting des Ars Electronica Festival in der Linzer POSTCITY lädt der Future Innovators Summit auch heuer wieder motivierte Personen aus Kunst, Technologie und Wissenschaft ein, bei einem gemeinsamen Gedankenaustausch die zentralen Fragen der Zukunft zu formulieren. Hideaki Ogawa ist Projektleiter des FIS und stellt uns die Ausgangsfragen rund um das große Thema der künstlichen Intelligenz näher vor.

Kathrin Stumreich
Center

Chrystal Tesla ist eine durchschnittliche Zivilbürgerin, die sich dank selbst gebauter Apparaturen erfolgreich gegen die vorherrschende Überwachungstechnologie wehren kann. Ein Szenario, für das die Künstlerin Kathrin Stumreich unter dem Titel „What would Ted Kaczynski´s daughter do?“ mit dem Marianne.von.Willemer.2016 Preis der Stadt Linz ausgezeichnet wurde.

Big Poop Data
Prixu19

Es ist ein durchaus kritischer Kommentar zur um sich greifenden Sammelwut digitaler Daten und ein Plädoyer für den Schutz unserer digitalen Privatsphäre: Mit ihrer zahlreich mit Sensoren ausgestatteten Toilette haben vier Schüler beim Prix Ars Electronica 2017 den netidee Spezialpreis gewonnen. Im Interview erklärt Ernst Langmantel, Leiter der netidee, was ihm an diesem Projekt so gefällt und stellt dabei auch die größte Internet-Förderaktion Österreichs näher vor.

Noodle
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalResidencies

Für ihren Vorschlag, einen Roboter mit künstlerischen Fähigkeiten in den Weltraum zu schicken, hat die Roboteringenieurin Sarah Petkus eine Honrary Mention bei art&science@ESA 2016 erhalten. Im Interview spricht sie über ihre Pläne für ihre nun beginnende Residency bei der ESA und im Ars Electronica Futurelab, über humane Roboter und die wesentlichen Elemente, was einen Roboter eigentlich ausmachen.

Get Inspired
CenterSTARTS

Unter dem Motto „GET INSPIRED – Zukunftsprojekte zwischen Kunst, Technologie und Wissenschaft“ rückte Ars Electronica am 9. Mai 2017 gemeinsam mit der Jungen Wirtschaft Linz eine ganze Reihe von innovativen Projekten aus Linz und Oberösterreich ins Rampenlicht. Blicken Sie mit uns zurück auf einen inspirierenden Abend.

IRCAM
STARTS

Nach dem STARTS-Prize der Europäischen Kommission stellt die STARTS-Initiative ein weiteres Programm auf die Beine. Noch bis zum 22. Mai 2017 können sich KünstlerInnen für eine Residency bewerben, bei der sie mit der Technologie ihres selbst gewählten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekts ein neues Kunstwerk schaffen.

IMGP0098
Center

Experimentieren, ausprobieren und begreifen. Über 2.000 SchülerInnen kamen zur „Experimentale 2017“ ins Ars Electronica Center um ihre selbst entwickelten Experimente der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren und anderen dabei über die Schulter zu schauen. Lassen auch Sie sich in unserer Bildergalerie von den neugierigen Blicken der Kinder und Jugendlichen begeistern!

womeninmediaarts
FestivalPrix

Bereits im September 2016 hat Ars Electronica eine eigene Online-Datenbank für Frauen in der Medienkunst ins Leben gerufen. Ab sofort ist es möglich bei „Women in Media Arts“ selbst Daten über Künstlerinnen einzutragen und zu ändern. Die Projektverantwortliche Florina Costamoling stellt uns die Datenbank, die sich unter anderem an KuratorInnen und KünstlerInnen richtet, kurz vor.