Big Poop Data
Prixu19

An incisively critical commentary on the obsessive and now-so-pervasive harvesting of data and a plea for the protection of our digital privacy—four schoolboys’ sensor-studded WC has garnered them the 2017 Prix Ars Electronica’s netidee Special Prize. In this interview, Ernst Langmantel, the director of netidee, explains what he likes so much about this project, and elaborates on Austria’s largest initiative to nurture the potential of digital networks.

slow-wave-tube
Prix

March 13th is the deadline for submitting works of media art for 2017 Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration. In this interview, sound artist Emre Erkal, one of this year’s jurors in the Digital Musics & Sound Art category, talks about sounds, architecture and artificial intelligence.

womeninmediaarts
FestivalPrix

Ars Electronica launched an online database especially for women in media arts in September 2016. Women in Media Arts now makes it possible for users themselves to input information and modify the database’s entries about female artists. Here, project manager Florina Costamoling provides a brief introduction to the database designed to be used by, among others, curators and artists.

Jasia Reichardt
Prix

Entries to the competition to determine the honorees of the 30th Prix Ars Electronica are now being accepted! Four Golden Nica statuettes and prizemoney of up to €10,000 in each category await this year’s outstanding media artists. But what’s the story with gender distribution among Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners? We discussed this issue with Gerfried Stocker and the Prix Ars Electronica staff.

Die Entscheidung
FestivalPrixRADICAL ATOMSu19

“Die Entscheidung” (The Decision), a computer game about life-threatening cancer, greatly impressed this year’s Prix Ars Electronica jury and garnered the Golden Nica in the u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category for 17-year-old Jonas Bodingbauer. At the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival he will not only receive the award in POSTCITY during the u19 ceremony – here you will also have the chance to chat personally with him about his computer game. For the blog, he told us about his game.

28742659045_57dd8033c7_k
FestivalPrixRADICAL ATOMS

One of the highlights of each year’s Ars Electronica Festival is always the CyberArts exhibition, a showcase of the works singled out for recognition by the Prix Ars Electronica, one of the most important awards honoring creativity and pioneering spirit in the digital media genre. Here, Genoveva Rückert, the curator of CyberArts 2016, tells us about this year’s show.

Can you hear me?
FestivalPrixRADICAL ATOMS

“Can you hear me?” was a temporary network that artists Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud set up above the rooftops of the German government district in Berlin to downright force intelligence agencies to listen in on what they and thousands of other people were saying. Besides getting the agents’ attention, the artists are also the recipients of a Golden Nica in the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica’s Interactive Art + category.

The Golden Nicas
Prix

We proudly present the 2016 winners of the Prix Ars Electronica. A total of 3,159 entries from 84 countries were submitted for prize consideration to the world’s most time-honored media arts competition. Here’s a quick briefing on the grand prize winners.

Octopus Mandala
Prix

What does interactive actually mean? We touch something and then experience the upshot of that act? Or does interactivity already come about when we view an image? Victoria Vesna, a 2016 Prix Ars Electronica juror, talked to us about defining interactive art, and elaborated on something she learned about it from media artist Roy Ascott.

Waag-Society Event
Prix

By the time we set up our own Facebook account—by then, at the very latest—many of us are very much aware of the advantages and disadvantages inherent in our digital coexistence. Marleen Stikker founded her first Digital City all the way back in 1994. Now she’s one of the five Prix Ars Electronica jurors who are evaluating this year’s entries in the Digital Communities category.

Not Your World Music
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrix

Mit ihrem Projekt “Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia” ist es den Künstlern Dimitri della Faille und Cedrik Fermont gelungen, eines der ganz wenigen Werke über Noise und Sound Art im südostasiatischen Raum zu schaffen. Im Interview sprechen die Gewinner der Goldenen Nica 2017 darüber, wie es zu diesem großen Vorhaben gekommen ist und welche Erfahrungen sie auf ihren Forschungsreisen gemacht haben.

Light Barrier 2nd Edition 3rd Edition@Kimchi and Chips (Mimi Son and Elliot Woods)
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrix

Von Screenings über Symposien bis hin zu Virtual Reality Installationen zum Ausprobieren: Das diesjährige Animation Festival am Ars Electronica Festival (7 – 11 September 2017) hat so Einiges zu bieten. Wir haben uns mit dem Organisationsteam getroffen und mehr über das Programm, die teilnehmenden KünstlerInnen und ihre Werke erfahren.

Lisa Buttinger
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalPrixSTARTSu19

In akribischer Feinarbeit hat die Schülerin Lisa Buttinger der HBLA für Künstlerische Gestaltung Linz ihr Abschlussprojekt fertiggestellt. Im Interview spricht sie über ihre „nonvisual-art“ – ein neuartiges künstlerisches Medium, mit dem sie gleich zwei Preise erhalten hat: Die Goldene Nica des Prix Ars Electronica 2017 in der Kategorie „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ und eine Anerkennung des STARTS Prize 2017.

Big Poop Data
Prixu19

Es ist ein durchaus kritischer Kommentar zur um sich greifenden Sammelwut digitaler Daten und ein Plädoyer für den Schutz unserer digitalen Privatsphäre: Mit ihrer zahlreich mit Sensoren ausgestatteten Toilette haben vier Schüler beim Prix Ars Electronica 2017 den netidee Spezialpreis gewonnen. Im Interview erklärt Ernst Langmantel, Leiter der netidee, was ihm an diesem Projekt so gefällt und stellt dabei auch die größte Internet-Förderaktion Österreichs näher vor.

womeninmediaarts
FestivalPrix

Bereits im September 2016 hat Ars Electronica eine eigene Online-Datenbank für Frauen in der Medienkunst ins Leben gerufen. Ab sofort ist es möglich bei „Women in Media Arts“ selbst Daten über Künstlerinnen einzutragen und zu ändern. Die Projektverantwortliche Florina Costamoling stellt uns die Datenbank, die sich unter anderem an KuratorInnen und KünstlerInnen richtet, kurz vor.

Jasia Reichardt
Prix

Bereits zum 30. Mal geht der Prix Ars Electronica in Folge in die nächste Runde! Vier Goldene Nicas und Preisgelder von bis zu 10.000 Euro je Kategorie warten auf die besten MedienkünstlerInnen des Jahres. Aber wie sieht es eigentlich mit der Verteilung von Frauen und Männern beim Prix Ars Electronica aus? Wir haben dazu mit Gerfried Stocker und dem Team des Prix Ars Electronica gesprochen.

Die Entscheidung
FestivalPrixRADICAL ATOMSu19

Mit seinem Computerspiel „Die Entscheidung“ hat der 17-jährige Jonas Bodingbauer die Jury des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 überzeugt und ist dafür in der Kategorie „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ mit der Goldenen Nica ausgezeichnet worden. Beim Ars Electronica Festival 2016 wird er dann selbst in der POSTCITY bei der „u19 Ceremony“ den Preis entgegennehmen – hier haben Sie auch die Gelegenheit, mit ihm persönlich über das Computerspiel zu plaudern. Zuvor stellt er uns das Spiel, das sich um eine Krebserkrankung dreht, nun näher vor.

The Golden Nicas
Prix

Das sind die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica 2016: Insgesamt 3.159 Einreichungen aus 84 Ländern langten beim traditionsreichsten Medienkunstwettbewerbs der Welt ein. Wir geben Ihnen hier einen ersten Überblick der prämierten Projekte.

Octopus Mandala
Prix

Was ist eigentlich interaktiv? Wir berühren etwas und erleben dann die Folge davon? Oder entsteht Interaktivität schon beim Betrachten eines Bildes? Victoria Vesna ist Jurorin des Prix Ars Electronica 2016 – sie hat mit uns über die Definition interaktiver Kunst gesprochen und etwas mehr daüber erzählt, was sie vom Medienkünstler Roy Ascott gelernt hat.

Waag-Society Event
Prix

Spätestens seit dem ersten eigenen Facebook-Account wissen viele von uns, welche Vor- und Nachteile das digitale Zusammenleben mit sich bringt. Marleen Stikker gründete bereits 1994 eine erste „Digitale Stadt“ und wird nun als Jurorin des Prix Ars Electronica gemeinsam mit vier weiteren KollegInnen aktuelle Projekte der Kategorie „Digital Communities“ bewerten.