36901824896_459c21351f_k
CenterDeep Space

Clothing made of desert plants or organic plastics, rediscovered technologies and state-of-the-art high-tech top the list of attractions at DE/MATERIALIZE, a showcase of exciting work being done by students in Linz Art University’s Fashion & Technology program, on November 23, 2017 in Ars Electronica’s Deep Space. Fashion designer Ute Ploier, the program’s director, gave us a preview in this discussion of fashion, technology, sustainability and the future of the fashion industry.

Lehrgangfuds
Center

The Urban Dance Styles program at Anton Bruckner University and the Urban Artists dance collective cordially invite you to attend a performance at the Ars Electronica Center during the upcoming Long Night of the Stages on November 11, 2017. In this interview, Markus Eggensperger, Urban Dance Styles program coordinator, clues us in about Pop, Lock, Break and the world of urban dance cultures.

26068300483_2d86b7ed8a_k
Center

The first Industry-4.0-themed week staged jointly by the Industrial Association of Upper Austria (IV OÖ) and Ars Electronica featured workshops and presentations that explained why the digitization of the economy is everybody’s business. Joachim Haindl-Grutsch, CEO of IV OÖ, told us more in this interview.

37753141771_6d857a4e97_k
Center

Fascinating peeks into the world of industry and lots of hands-on fun were in store for youngsters at this year’s Kids’ Day event sponsored by the Industrial Association of Upper Austria. At workshops staged by manufacturers headquartered throughout the region, kids tinkered and soldered, built cool stuff and had an amazing time! Check out our Photo Gallery.

lung-metastases-web
Deep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMS

During the last three decades we have witnessed the growing complexity of technology and a flood that is filling our hospitals today—functional imaging, full gene sequencing, automated laboratory medicine and much more. But the role and responsibility sharing in healthcare has remained almost unchanged despite almost complete digitization. In this Deep Space talk Professor Horst Hahn presents possible future role models and the benefits and dangers of the digital revolution.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

The artists collective Quadrature began Part 2 of their art & science residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab a few days ago. The three artists spent the first part at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile in late May. To find out what they experienced, why they found everything there absurd and what they think about habitable exoplanets, read this interview.

36901824896_459c21351f_k
CenterDeep Space

Kleidung aus Wüstenpflanzen oder Bioplastik, wiederentdeckte Technologien und modernster High-Tech – das erwartet uns bei der Werkschau DE/MATERIALIZE des Studiengangs Fashion & Technology der Kunstuniversität Linz am 23. November 2017 im Ars Electronica Deep Space. Ute Ploier, Modedesignerin und Leiterin des Studiengangs, hat mit uns schon vorab über Mode, Technologie, Nachhaltigkeit und die Zukunft der Fashionindustrie gesprochen.

Lehrgangfuds
Center

Der Lehrgang Urban Dance Styles der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität und das Tanzkollektiv Urban Artists laden anlässlich der Langen Nacht der Bühnen 2017 zu einer Performance ins Ars Electronica Center. Am 11. November 2017 heißt es also: Pop, Lock, Break und mehr! Markus Eggensperger, Koordinator des Lehrgangs Urban Dance Styles, nimmt uns im Interview mit in die Welt der urbanen Tanzkulturen.

26068300483_2d86b7ed8a_k
Center

In der ersten Industrie 4.0 Themenwoche der Industriellenvereinigung Oberösterreich (IV OÖ) und Ars Electronica wurde in Workshops und Präsentationen untersucht, warum die Digitalisierung der Wirtschaft uns alle betrifft. Dr. Joachim Haindl-Grutsch, Geschäftsführer der IV OÖ, erklärt uns im Interview mehr.

6505439183_3d0371af7c_b
Center

In der Vortragsreihe „Gehirn für Alle“ werden im Ars Electronica Center regelmäßig Erkenntnisse und Methoden der Gehirnforschung untersucht. In einer Spezialausgabe erklärte Ass. Prof. Dr. Selina Wriessnegger, was Brain Computer Interfaces sind, wozu man sie nützen kann und was das Internet damit zu tun hat. Im Interview gibt sie einen kleinen Einblick!

lung-metastases-web
Deep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMS

Während der letzten drei Jahrzehnte waren wir Zeuge der wachsenden Technologieflut und Komplexität, die heute unsere Krankenhäuser füllt – funktionelle Bildgebung, vollständige Gensequenzierung, automatisierte Labormedizin uvm. Die Rollen- und Verantwortungsteilung im Klinikablauf blieb jedoch trotz der Digitalisierung fast unverändert. Bei diesem Deep Space Vortrag präsentiert Professor Horst Hahn mögliche künftige Rollenbilder und den Nutzen und die Gefahren der digitalen Revolution.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

Vor einigen Tagen begann für das KünstlerInnenkollektiv Quadrature der zweite Teil ihrer art & science-Residency am Ars Electronica Futurelab. Der erste Teil brachte die drei KünstlerInnen Ende Mai nach Chile zur Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO). Was sie dort erlebten, warum sie dort alles absurd fanden und was sie über habitable Exoplaneten denken, erfahren Sie im Interview.