“And then, fortunately, the birds didn’t fall out of the sky,” said Michael Treml in a terse summary of the outcome of work over many months by an Ars Electronica Futurelab team at Rock in Rio 2017, the first public SPAXELS® drone show using Swarm3D software developed in-house in Linz. We were interested in finding out what this program can actually do and why this Futurelab custom creation is now also available as a plug-in for 3ds Max?


What are some real ways to achieve climate & energy goals? What measures have to be implemented and where do you get started? The Ars Electronica Futurelab was invited by the department of Spatial Planning (TU Vienna) and the City of Linz (Planning, Technology, Environment) to join a consortium working on E_PROFIL, a toolkit that can be used to take the first step.

FestivalFuturelabRADICAL ATOMS

You get an exchange of creative ideas in advertisement agencies by the day, but not with everyday people or your fellow neighbors. The Future Catalysts (Ars Electronica Futurelab x Hakuhodo) take the fundamental idea of engaging people in a collective brainstorming further. They incorporate the Shadowgram-Project into the “People Thinking Lab” to make us ponder about how we see the future.


“The Conduit” is part performance, part interactive installation that investigates social engagement and the consequences of speculative technological and political frameworks. Participants will negotiate an 8 bit simulation of the future and its effects on our everyday social interactions. The Society for Cultural Optimism has developed a framework for the creation of a future society, which ought to be established by the visitors of the Ars Electronica Deep Space 8K.

How Are You

Designer, artist and programmer Lauren McCarthy explores the structures and systems of social interaction, identity as well as self-presentation and the potential of technology of how it can influence the dynamics between those traits. During her Transmit³-Residency at the Queensland University of Technology, she wants to find out about the influence of Big Data on the togetherness in front of the large multimedia-display “The Cube”.

longExpoKlangWolke
Futurelab

„Dann sind glücklicherweise die Vögel nicht vom Himmel gefallen“, sagt Michael Treml und fasst damit kurz und bündig zusammen, worauf das Team des Ars Electronica Futurelabs monatelang hingearbeitet hatte: Den ersten öffentlichen SPAXELS®-Drohnenflug mit der eigens entwickelten Software Swarm3D, bei Rock in Rio 2017. Was Swarm3D eigentlich kann und wie es dazu kam, dass die Futurelab-Tüftelei jetzt auch als Plug-In für 3ds Max erhältlich ist? Wir haben nachgefragt.

E_Profil_DeepSpace
Futurelab

Wie kann man Klima- und Energieziele wirklich erreichen? Welche Maßnahmen müssen gesetzt werden und wo fängt man an? Das Ars Electronica Futurelab hat auf Einladung des des Departments für Raumplanung (TU Wien) und dem Magistrat der Stadt Linz (Planung, Technik, Umwelt) gemeinsam mit fünf Kooperationspartnern ein Toolkit, E_PROFIL, entworfen, mit dem erste Schritte gesetzt werden können.  

FestivalFuturelabRADICAL ATOMS

In Werbeagenturen erlebt man den kreativen Austausch täglich, weniger in Alltagssituationen zwischen einander unbekannten Menschen. Die Future Catalysts (Ars Electronica Futurelab x Hakuhodo) entwickeln ihre Idee des kreativen Brainstromens weiter. Um uns zum Sinnieren über die Zukunft zu bringen, beziehen sie das selbst-entwickelte Shadowgram-Projekt in das neu entwickelte „People Thinking Lab“ ein.

How Are You
FuturelabResidencies

Als Designerin, Künstlerin und Programmiererin erforscht Lauren McCarthy die Strukturen und Systeme sozialer Interaktion, Identität als auch Selbstdarstellung und das Potenzial von Technologie diese zu beeinflussen. Während ihrer Transmit³-Residency an der Queensland University of Technology möchte sie herausfinden, wie sich Big-Data auf das Miteinander um die Multimedia-Wand „The Cube“ auswirkt.

Seestadt Closeup_more Colour_V2
Futurelab

Im Rahmen einer fünfjährigen innovativen Sonderausstellungsreihe dient das Ars Electronica Futurelab als wissenschaftlicher Partner des Technischen Museums Wien. Unter dem Titel „Weiter_Gedacht_“ sind zwischen 2016 und 2021 drei Ausstellungen geplant, von denen die erste am 08. Juni eröffnet wird. Sie trägt die Überschrift: „Die Zukunft der Stadt“.