STARTS

The jury made up of international experts charged with selecting the recipients of the 2018 STARTS Prizes awarded by the European Commission recently convened for an entire weekend at the Ars Electronica Center. Their mission: to recognize outstanding work at the interface of science, technology and art. The outcome is still confidential; nevertheless, jurors Francesca Bria and Seiichi Saito briefed us on a few trends in this interview.

theMeans05
Center

They usually perform their tasks in huge factories or on construction sites, executing identical routines thousands or millions of times, over and over again. Or they vacuum our apartments, fully automatically. But things are different at the Ars Electronica Center. The Creative Robotics exhibition that opens on May 9, 2018 will show how robots are now being used in creative fields.

29598101926_078c469562_k
CenterDeep Space LIVE

Nature downtown—couldn’t be much more than a few weeds amongst the concrete, could it? That’s what you think, says Friedrich Schwarz of Linz’s Botanical Garden! He goes into detail about the inner city’s hidden flora and fauna in “Linz, Naturally”, his ongoing series of talks in Deep Space. On April 19, 2018, his topic will be the forest. He gave us a preview in this interview.

GRF-8447
Feature

Mini-satellites the size of a coke can, a rocket launch at the Austrian-German border and three teams of students from all over Austria, competing for the title as best CanSat team (and the participation in the European CanSat Competition from June 28, 2018, to July 1, 2018 in the Azores islands) – that’s the first Austrian CanSat competition in a nutshell!

ErrorFestival

“Error – The Art of Imperfection” is the theme of this year’s Ars Electronica Festival that’s set for September 6-10 with POSTCITY as its hub. Gerfried Stocker, artistic director of Ars Electronica, talked to us about the festival theme, how we deal with mistakes, and errors as a source of innovation.

cargo@PlayfulInteractiveEnvironments
Center

How are VR and AR changing the gaming scene and computer games? In Part 2 of our interviews previewing the virtual and augmented reality-themed weekend April 6-8, 2018, we discuss the upshots of these developments with Jeremiah Diephuis of the Playful Interactive Environments research group at the Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences’ Hagenberg Campus.

IMG_2453
Export

Two outstanding pianists, one visualization artist and three challenging pieces are what go into “Pianographique.” This musical co-production of Ars Electronica and the Abu Dhabi Festival combines sound and light—Maki Namekawa and Dennis Russell Davies provide the keyboard artistry at one or two pianos; Cori O’Lan accompanies them with real-time visualizations. Find out more in this interview with the piano duo.

20171129_095650
Center

The Ars Electronica Center’s lobby will be transformed into a colorful playground well-equipped with laser cutters, robots, drones and other forms of digital technology from April 4th to 8th. Otelo Futurespace – The Digital Playground will be the setting of an innovative organized game. In this interview, Otelo eGen executive Martin Hollinetz tells us more.

GRF-7484
Center

While teams of school kids throughout Austria are hard at work creating their cola-can-size satellites to be launched during the CanSat Competition April 9-11, 2018, the Space Team at TUW–Technical University of Vienna is also busy with its preparations—building the rockets that will take these mini-satellites aloft in April. We just paid a visit to the Space Team workshop in Vienna to find out more.

29734435260_996eb12766_k
Center

The 2018 NEXTCOMIC Festival is about open in Steel City. One of the venues is the Ars Electronica Center, where, on Saturday, March 17th, comics illustrator Titus Ackermann will present a book entitled “COMIC CULTURE CLASH” in which 20 artistic duos deploy the comic medium to deal with 20 political conflicts. In this interview, he talks about his project’s origins and what we can expect on Saturday.

longExpoKlangWolke
Futurelab

“And then, fortunately, the birds didn’t fall out of the sky,” said Michael Treml in a terse summary of the outcome of work over many months by an Ars Electronica Futurelab team at Rock in Rio 2017, the first public SPAXELS® drone show using Swarm3D software developed in-house in Linz. We were interested in finding out what this program can actually do and why this Futurelab custom creation is now also available as a plug-in for 3ds Max?

E_Profil_DeepSpace
Futurelab

What are some real ways to achieve climate & energy goals? What measures have to be implemented and where do you get started? The Ars Electronica Futurelab was invited by the department of Spatial Planning (TU Vienna) and the City of Linz (Planning, Technology, Environment) to join a consortium working on E_PROFIL, a toolkit that can be used to take the first step.

VOG_0464-Bearbeitet
Solutions

How does one blend innovation and tradition? Technology and handicraft? The zeitgeist with a time-honored history? In three projects commissioned in conjunction with the makeover of Café Sacher Eck, Ars Electronica Solutions had the opportunity to come up with answers. In this interview, Solutions project manager Harald Moser and Reiner Heilmann, director of Hotel Sacher in Vienna, provide insights into their collaboration.

28077775199_92a653c638_k
CenterDeep Space

2018 is European Year of Cultural Heritage, and the Ars Electronica Center is taking part by hosting several events devoted to our cultural heritage throughout the year. Kicking things off will be a themed weekend on January 27-28, 2018 in Deep Space, where one of the featured speakers will be Stefan Traxler, archeologist at Upper Austria’s Landesmuseum. In this interview, he discusses cultural heritage and his upcoming talks as well as how technology has changed archeology.

36901824896_459c21351f_k
CenterDeep Space

Clothing made of desert plants or organic plastics, rediscovered technologies and state-of-the-art high-tech top the list of attractions at DE/MATERIALIZE, a showcase of exciting work being done by students in Linz Art University’s Fashion & Technology program, on November 23, 2017 in Ars Electronica’s Deep Space. Fashion designer Ute Ploier, the program’s director, gave us a preview in this discussion of fashion, technology, sustainability and the future of the fashion industry.

theMeans05
Center

Normalerweise arbeiten sie in großen Industriehallen oder auf Baustellen, führen immer gleiche Arbeitsschritte tausend- und millionenmal hintereinander aus oder saugen unsere Wohnungen, ganz automatisch. Im Ars Electronica Center ist das anders: Bei der Ausstellung Kreative Robotik ab 9.5.2018 wird gezeigt, wie Roboter auch in kreativen Bereichen zum Einsatz kommen.

29598101926_078c469562_k
CenterDeep Space LIVE

Flora und Fauna mitten im Stadtgebiet – nicht mehr als ein paar Pflanzen in der Betonwüste? Dr. Friedrich Schwarz vom Botanischen Garten Linz sieht das anders. Er hält in der Reihe „Natürlich Linz“ regelmäßig Vorträge im Deep Space LIVE über die versteckte Tier- und Pflanzenwelt in Linz. Am 19. April 2018 geht es um das Thema Wald – uns hat er vorab schon etwas mehr verraten.

GRF-8447
Feature

Mini-Satelliten in der Größe einer Getränkedose, ein Raketenlaunch an der österreichisch-deutschen Grenze und drei Schüler-Teams aus ganz Österreich, die um den Titel als beste Satellitenbauer (und um die Teilnahme am Europäischen CanSat Wettbewerb von 28. Juni bis 1. Juli 2018 auf den Azoren) kämpften – das war der erste österreichische CanSat Wettbewerb!

ErrorFestival

„Error – The Art of Imperfection“ lautet das Thema des diesjährigen Ars Electronica Festival, das von 6. bis 10. September in der POSTCITY Linz stattfinden wird. Gerfried Stocker, künstlerischer Leiter der Ars Electronica, hat mit uns über das Festivalthema, unseren Umgang mit Fehlern und den Irrtum als Ursprung von Innovation gesprochen.

cargo@PlayfulInteractiveEnvironments
Center

Wie verändern VR und AR die Gaming-Szene und das Spielen? Im zweiten Teil unseres Interviews zum Themen-Wochenende rund um Virtual und Augmented Reality von 6. bis 8. April 2018 sprechen wir mit Jeremiah Diephuis von der Forschungsgruppe Playful Interactive Environments der FH Hagenberg über mögliche Auswirkungen.

IMG_2453
Export

Zwei herausragende PianistInnen, ein Visualisierungskünstler und drei anspruchsvolle Stücke: Das ist „Pianographique“. Die musikalische Koproduktion von Ars Electronica und dem Abu Dhabi Festival verbindet Klang mit Bild – während Maki Namekawa und Dennis Russell Davies an einem oder zwei Klavieren spielen, erscheinen Echtzeitvisualisierungen von Cori O’Lan als Begleitung. Im Interview mit dem PianistInnen-Duo erfahren Sie mehr.

20171129_095650
Center

In der ersten Aprilwoche verwandelt sich das Foyer im Ars Electronica Center in einen bunten Spielplatz voller Lasercutter, Roboter, Drohnen und anderen Technologien der Digitalisierung: „Otelo Futurespace – The Digital Playground“ zieht ein! Von 4. bis 8. April 2018 kann man das innovative Planspiel selbst ausprobieren. Martin Hollinetz, Organisations- und Regionalentwickler bei Otelo eGen, verrät im Interview mehr.

GRF-7484
Center

Während SchülerInnenteams aus ganz Österreich gerade an Satelliten in Getränkedosengröße basteln, die beim CanSat Wettbewerb von 9. – 11. April 2018 abheben werden, ist auch das Space Team der TU Wien schon mitten in den Vorbereitungen. Sie bauen die Raketen, die die Mini-Satelliten im April in die Lüfte befördern sollen. Wir waren in der Space Team Werkstatt in Wien und haben mehr erfahren.

29734435260_996eb12766_k
Center

Das NEXTCOMIC Festival hält auch 2018 wieder Einzug in der Stahltstadt. Als Location mit dabei: Das Ars Electronica Center! Hier präsentiert der Künstler und Comiczeichner Titus Ackermann am Samstag, den 17.03.2018, das Projekt und Buch “COMIC CULTURE CLASH”, in dem zwanzig KünstlerInnenpaare zwanzig politische Konflikte in Comics bearbeiten. Im Interview erzählt er uns, wie das Projekt entstand und was uns am Samstag erwartet.

longExpoKlangWolke
Futurelab

„Dann sind glücklicherweise die Vögel nicht vom Himmel gefallen“, sagt Michael Treml und fasst damit kurz und bündig zusammen, worauf das Team des Ars Electronica Futurelabs monatelang hingearbeitet hatte: Den ersten öffentlichen SPAXELS®-Drohnenflug mit der eigens entwickelten Software Swarm3D, bei Rock in Rio 2017. Was Swarm3D eigentlich kann und wie es dazu kam, dass die Futurelab-Tüftelei jetzt auch als Plug-In für 3ds Max erhältlich ist? Wir haben nachgefragt.

E_Profil_DeepSpace
Futurelab

Wie kann man Klima- und Energieziele wirklich erreichen? Welche Maßnahmen müssen gesetzt werden und wo fängt man an? Das Ars Electronica Futurelab hat auf Einladung des des Departments für Raumplanung (TU Wien) und dem Magistrat der Stadt Linz (Planung, Technik, Umwelt) gemeinsam mit fünf Kooperationspartnern ein Toolkit, E_PROFIL, entworfen, mit dem erste Schritte gesetzt werden können.  

VOG_0464-Bearbeitet
Solutions

Wie vereint man Innovation und Tradition? Technik und Handfertigung? Zeitgeist und langjährige Geschichte? Für die Neugestaltung des Cafés Sacher Eck hatte das Team der Ars Electronica Solutions in drei Projekten die Möglichkeit, Antworten zu finden. Harald Moser, Projektleiter bei Solutions, und Reiner Heilmann, Direktor des Hotel Sacher in Wien, geben im Interview ein paar Einblicke in die Zusammenarbeit.

28077775199_92a653c638_k
CenterDeep Space

2018 ist Europäisches Jahr des Kulturerbes! Auch das Ars Electronica Center widmet sich in verschiedenen Veranstaltungen das ganze Jahr lang dem kulturellen Erbe. Den Anfang macht das Deep Space Themenwochende von 27. bis 28. Januar 2018. Mit dabei ist Dr. Stefan Traxler, Archäologe am OÖ Landesmuseum. Im Interview spricht er mit uns über Kulturerbe, wie Technologie die Archäologie verändert und seine Vorträge am Themenwochenende.

36901824896_459c21351f_k
CenterDeep Space

Kleidung aus Wüstenpflanzen oder Bioplastik, wiederentdeckte Technologien und modernster High-Tech – das erwartet uns bei der Werkschau DE/MATERIALIZE des Studiengangs Fashion & Technology der Kunstuniversität Linz am 23. November 2017 im Ars Electronica Deep Space. Ute Ploier, Modedesignerin und Leiterin des Studiengangs, hat mit uns schon vorab über Mode, Technologie, Nachhaltigkeit und die Zukunft der Fashionindustrie gesprochen.

6505439183_3d0371af7c_b
Center

In der Vortragsreihe „Gehirn für Alle“ werden im Ars Electronica Center regelmäßig Erkenntnisse und Methoden der Gehirnforschung untersucht. In einer Spezialausgabe erklärte Ass. Prof. Dr. Selina Wriessnegger, was Brain Computer Interfaces sind, wozu man sie nützen kann und was das Internet damit zu tun hat. Im Interview gibt sie einen kleinen Einblick!

Rock Print
Artificial IntelligenceFestivalSTARTS

Die Idee scheint simpel – beim STARTS-Gewinnerprojekt „Rock Print“ wird eine große Struktur nur aus Faden und Kies gebaut. So einfach die Idee klingt, so schwierig ist sie umzusetzen. Warum das Projekt von Gramazio Kohler Research der ETH Zürich und dem Self-Assembly Lab des MIT sowohl die Bauindustrie als auch die Jury des STARTS Prizes überraschte, erfahren Sie im Interview mit den Professoren Fabio Gramazio und Matthias Kohler.

36303668121_3ce3db9266_k
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

Seit 2002 lädt Ars Electronica, gemeinsam mit der Kunstuniversität Linz, herausragende internationale Universitäten dazu ein, eine eigene Ausstellung am Ars Electronica Festival zu präsentieren. Dieses Jahr ist es die University of Califorinia, Los Angeles (UCLA) – Professorin Victoria Vesna erklärt im Interview, was uns bei der UCLA Campus Ausstellung „FEMINIST CLIMATE CHANGE: Beyond the Binary“ erwartet.