theMeans05
Center

They usually perform their tasks in huge factories or on construction sites, executing identical routines thousands or millions of times, over and over again. Or they vacuum our apartments, fully automatically. But things are different at the Ars Electronica Center. The Creative Robotics exhibition that opens on May 9, 2018 will show how robots are now being used in creative fields.

ImpactHub
Solutions

For “LabOratorium – An Alchemical WorldLab,” the Ars Electronica Solutions came up with an experimental exhibition concept that dovetails nicely with this year’s festival theme. This setup showcased the artists’ works and also gave the participating institutions an opportunity to show what they’re all about. We will show you some impressions of the exhibition at the POSTCITY.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

The artists collective Quadrature began Part 2 of their art & science residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab a few days ago. The three artists spent the first part at the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile in late May. To find out what they experienced, why they found everything there absurd and what they think about habitable exoplanets, read this interview.

Land of Hope
FestivalRADICAL ATOMS

China’s history is awesome, full of tales and traditions passed down from time immemorial. How do students at Tsinghua University deal with this monumental cultural heritage when they approach it in terms of media art? In this interview, Prof. Wang of the Academy of Arts and Design tells us about his college. We also get a sneak preview of the Campus exhibition.

Ciphering Beyond Prototypes Ars Electronica Festival 2016
FestivalRADICAL ATOMSSTARTS

The theme of the 2016 Ars Electronica Festival is RADICAL ATOMS – and the alchemists of our time. But who are these people, actually? In the theme exhibition, you’ll find out all about the artists, scientists, activists and entrepreneurs whose unorthodox approaches and inspiring projects are bound to make an impact on our future. In so-called Artist Labs, 12 of them are each presenting several of their works. Learn what awaits you here.

Sculpture Factory DRIVE Volkswagen Berlin Ars Electronica Export
Export

Ars Electronica Export is making another guest appearance in Berlin. The “HUMAN FACTOR – endless prototyping” exhibition running until August 27, 2016 at DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum Berlin displays art and industry’s common denominator—the human being, the human factor that’s constantly trying out prototypes for existential models in humankind’s ongoing struggle to resist extinction. Here are a few impressions of the exhibition.

HUMAN FACTOR
Export

“HUMAN FACTOR – endless prototyping,” an exhibition running July 1-August 27, 2016 at DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum Berlin, features a series of artistic prototypes demonstrating new and innovative linkages between art and industry. In this interview, curator Martin Honzik talks about the advantages prototypes have over their counterparts in serial production, and exactly what exhibition visitors can look forward to.

Neugebauer Ars Electronica Export Earth Lab
Export

EARTH LAB, an exhibition produced jointly by the Polytechnic Museum in Moscow and Ars Electronica Export, presents new and unconventional ways of looking at our Blue Planet. In this interview, the two curators, Natalia Fuchs and Manuela Naveau, brief us about this remarkable lab on the underground level of Moscow’s Red October chocolate factory.

materiafiftysisters
Export

The question of the starting point, the Materia Prima of our world, quickly comes up when art gets in contact with science and vice versa. The correspondent exhibition of Ars Electronica and LABoral in Spain deals with the interaction of these two fields.

GRF-4504
Center

Von 16. November 2017 bis 21. Januar 2018 findet die Ausstellung „Waltraut Cooper. Licht und Klang“ in der Landesgalerie Linz in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ars Electronica Center statt. Wir haben uns mit der Medienkünstlerin Waltraut Cooper getroffen und über Medienkunst in den 1980ern, die Faszination Licht und ihre Arbeiten in der Landesgalerie gesprochen.

ImpactHub
Solutions

Mit dem „LabOratorium – ein alchemistisches Weltlabor“ verfolgte Ars Electronica Solutions ein experimentelles Ausstellungskonzept ganz im Sinne des diesjährigen Festivalthemas. Neben den Exponaten der KünstlerInnen stellten sich einige der beteiligten Institutionen in gewissem Sinne selber aus. Wir zeigen Ihnen hier einige Impressionen der Ausstellung in der POSTCITY.

Quadrature8_886x590
CenterDeep SpaceFestivalRADICAL ATOMSResidencies

Vor einigen Tagen begann für das KünstlerInnenkollektiv Quadrature der zweite Teil ihrer art & science-Residency am Ars Electronica Futurelab. Der erste Teil brachte die drei KünstlerInnen Ende Mai nach Chile zur Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO). Was sie dort erlebten, warum sie dort alles absurd fanden und was sie über habitable Exoplaneten denken, erfahren Sie im Interview.

Land of Hope
FestivalRADICAL ATOMS

Die Geschichte Chinas ist mächtig und voll von bis heute überlieferten Erzählungen und Traditionen. Wie gehen die Studierenden der Tsinghua-Universität mit diesem imposanten kulturellen Erbe um, wenn sie sich dem Thema Medienkunst nähern? Prof. Wang von der Akademie für Kunst und Design stellt im Interview sein Institut vor, zeitgleich präsentieren wir einen ersten Auszug der „Campus Exhibition“.

Ciphering Beyond Prototypes Ars Electronica Festival 2016
FestivalRADICAL ATOMSSTARTS

Beim Ars Electronica Festival 2016 „RADICAL ATOMS – and the alchemists of our time“ dreht sich alles um die AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit – aber wer sind diese eigentlich? In der Ausstellung zum Thema finden wir sie: KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, AktivistInnen und UnternehmerInnen, die mit unorthodoxen Zugängen und inspirierenden Projekten an unserer Zukunft basteln. Zwölf von ihnen präsentieren gleich mehrere ihrer Werke, in sogenannten Artist Labs. Was Sie dabei genau erwartet, erfahren Sie hier.

Sculpture Factory DRIVE Volkswagen Berlin Ars Electronica Export
Export

Ars Electronica Export zieht es wieder nach Berlin: die Ausstellung „HUMAN FACTOR – endless prototyping“ im DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum Berlin zeigt von 1. Juli bis 27. August 2016, was Kunst und Industrie vereint. Der gemeinsame Nenner ist der Mensch, der Human Factor, der ständig neue Prototypen für Lebensmodelle erprobt, um nicht auszusterben. Ein paar Impressionen der Ausstellung finden Sie hier.

HUMAN FACTOR
Export

Von 1. Juli bis 27. August 2016 zeigt die Ausstellung „HUMAN FACTOR – endless prototyping“ im DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum Berlin eine Reihe an künstlerischen Prototypen, die neue und innovative Verknüpfungen zwischen Kunst und Industrie in den Vordergrund rücken. Welche Vorteile Prototypen gegenüber ihren in Serienreife gegossenen Gegenstücken haben und was die BesucherInnen erwartet, darüber spricht Martin Honzik, kuratorischer Leiter der Ausstellung.

materiafiftysisters
Export

Wenn sich Kunst und Wissenschaft einander begegnen, stellt sich schnell die Frage nach dem ursprünglichen Ausgangspunkt, nach der „Materia Prima“ unserer Welt. Die gleichnamige Ausstellung von Ars Electronica und LABoral in Spanien befasst sich mit dem Zusammenspiel dieser beiden Bereiche.

goesser_small
Solutions

Im Braumuseum Göss dreht sich alles um eines der beliebtesten Getränke der ÖsterreicherInnen – das Bier. Das Unternehmen Gösser AG hat nun gemeinsam mit Ars Electronica Solutions an einer weiteren dezenten Neugestaltung der Ausstellung gefeilt. Der Projektmanager Claus Zweythurm spricht darüber, wie sie an das Thema herangegangen sind.