Lehrgangfuds
Center

The Urban Dance Styles program at Anton Bruckner University and the Urban Artists dance collective cordially invite you to attend a performance at the Ars Electronica Center during the upcoming Long Night of the Stages on November 11, 2017. In this interview, Markus Eggensperger, Urban Dance Styles program coordinator, clues us in about Pop, Lock, Break and the world of urban dance cultures.

35950227670_a075188311_h
CenterDeep Space

The next Long Night of the Stages is set for November 11, 2017 when, in addition to theaters and other stage-based performance venues, the Ars Electronica Center will host a diverse lineup of productions. The dramatis personae include Björn Lengers and Marcel Karnapke, who’ll be contributing two projects at the interface of performance and virtual reality: “Memories of Borderline” and “Pitoti Prometheus”.

34294605222_e42ad2d7f8_k
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

Man meets artificial intelligence in a performance entitled “Corpus Nil.” Depending on the tension and posture of artist Marco Donnarumma’s body, an artificially intelligent algorithm modifies the light and sound on stage. Festivalgoers will be able to experience this spectacle live at the Big Concert Night on Sunday, September 10, 2017. In this interview, Marco Donnarumma goes into the background of his impressive performance.

20514103193_2186b2e062_k
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

Theater & Digital Media is debuting as a focal-point topic at Ars Electronica this year. September 7-11, 2017, this conclave is hosting encounters of, among others, traditional institutions such as Linz’s Landestheater and performative experiments like “Breaking the Wall” by Chris and Didi Bruckmayr. In this interview, we found out how digital media are changing both classical theater and experimental performances.

Klangwolke 2016 Ars Electronica Festival
FestivalRADICAL ATOMS

The Klangwolke [Cloud of Sound] is an autumn highlight of Linz’s annual calendar of events. Conceived as a blend of music, performance, art and spectacle with a different theme each year, it’s been a crowd-pleaser ever since its launch in 1979. The 2016 edition is entitled “River of Knowledge.” We recently had a chance to talk about the upcoming event with producer Uwe Buhrdorf and Rica Blunck and Tilo Nest of the cast and crew.

station_rose_05_web
TOTAL RECALL

TOTAL RECALL – The Evolution of Memory will spotlight some of the pioneers of digital media art. Station Rose already caught the digital virus in 1988. They’ve been creating audiovisual sculptures, and mixing into their performances digitally produced sounds together with worlds of light, video and imagery. In light of this long career, they have quite a bit to say about the digital world. Elisa Rosa and Gary Danner granted us an interview as a lead-in to their work at the 2013 Ars Electronica Festival.

aakash_03_web
Futurelab

Aakash Odedra, a british dancer, has teamed up with the Ars Electronica Futurelab to create a dancing performance including all sorts of technological adds such as tracking, visualizations, projections and more. During his visit in April, when he came to Linz together with his choreographer Lewis Major, there was some time to talk about the project which is centered on dyslexia.

Lehrgangfuds
Center

Der Lehrgang Urban Dance Styles der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität und das Tanzkollektiv Urban Artists laden anlässlich der Langen Nacht der Bühnen 2017 zu einer Performance ins Ars Electronica Center. Am 11. November 2017 heißt es also: Pop, Lock, Break und mehr! Markus Eggensperger, Koordinator des Lehrgangs Urban Dance Styles, nimmt uns im Interview mit in die Welt der urbanen Tanzkulturen.

35950227670_a075188311_h
CenterDeep Space

Am 11. November 2017 ist die Lange Nacht der Bühnen! Neben Theaterhäusern und Schauspielstätten wartet auch das Ars Electronica Center mit einem abwechslungsreichen Programm auf die BesucherInnen. Unter anderem werden die beiden Projekte „Memories of Borderline“ und „Pitoti Prometheus“ gezeigt – beide direkt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Performance und Virtual Reality.

34294605222_e42ad2d7f8_k
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

In der Performance „Corpus Nil“ trifft Mensch auf Künstliche Intelligenz: Je nach Körperspannung und Muskelhaltung des Künstlers Marco Donnarumma verändert ein künstlich intelligenter Algorithmus Licht und Sound auf der Bühne. Bei der Großen Konzertnacht am Festivalsonntag, 10. September 2017, kann man das Spektakel live beobachten. Im Interview erklärt Marco Donnarumma die Hintergründe zur beeindruckenden Performance.

20514103193_2186b2e062_k
Artificial IntelligenceFestival

Zum ersten Mal gibt es am Ars Electronica Festival einen Themenschwerpunkt zu Theater & Digital Media. Von 7. bis 11. September 2017 treffen in diesem Rahmen unter anderem traditionelle Institutionen wie das Linzer Landestheater auf performative Experimente wie „Breaking the Wall“ von Chris und Didi Bruckmayr. Im Interview haben wir herausgefunden, wie Digitale Medien sowohl klassisches Theater als auch experimentelle Performances verändern.

Klangwolke 2016 Ars Electronica Festival
FestivalRADICAL ATOMS

Sie ist ein Fixpunkt im Linzer Veranstaltungsprogramm: Seit 1979 findet jeden Herbst die Klangwolke statt. Als Mischung aus Musik, Performance, Kunst und Spektakel begeistert sie jedes Jahr mit einem neuen Thema. 2016 lautet dieses „Fluss des Wissens“ – wir haben uns mit Uwe Buhrdorf, Projektleiter der Klangwolke 2016, sowie mit den beiden KünstlerInnen Rica Blunck und Tilo Nest über die Veranstaltung unterhalten.

station_rose_05_web
TOTAL RECALL

Bei TOTAL RECALL – The Evolution of Memory werden Pioniere in Sachen digitaler Medienkunst zu sehen sein: Station Rose sind bereits 1988 dem digitalen Virus verfallen, schaffen audiovisuelle Skulpturen, vermengen in ihren Performances Klang, der mittels digitaler Gerätschaften erzeugt wird, mit Licht-, Video- und Bildwelten, und haben dabei rein auf Grund ihrer langen Karriere einiges zum Thema digitale Welt zu sagen. Elisa Rosa und Gary Danner stimmen im Interview auf ihre Aktionen beim Festival Ars Electronica 2013 ein.