Electronics_inside_a_CanSat
Center

A CanSat competition is being staged for the first time in Austria during this school year by ESERO Austria. The assignment: build a so-called CanSat, a satellite the size of a soft drink can that’s able to measure air temperature & pressure and carry out a second mission of the designer’s choice. November 5, 2017 is the entry deadline for teams of students. Find out more in this interview!

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Even if signals aren’t being received from the Schiaparelli Test Lander on that evening, we nevertheless had an absolutely fascinating time at the ESA Mission Control Centre in Darmstadt, where we followed the decisive moments of the Mars landing in the company of scientists and artist Aoife Van Linden Tol. Here, we present a few impressions of the journey.

materiafiftysisters
Export

The question of the starting point, the Materia Prima of our world, quickly comes up when art gets in contact with science and vice versa. The correspondent exhibition of Ars Electronica and LABoral in Spain deals with the interaction of these two fields.

Electronics_inside_a_CanSat
Center

ESERO Austria veranstaltet dieses Schuljahr zum ersten Mal einen CanSat Wettbewerb in Österreich. Die Aufgabe: einen Satelliten in Getränkedosengröße, den sogenannten CanSat, zu bauen, der nicht nur Temperatur und Luftdruck misst, sondern auch eine individuelle Zweitmission erfüllt. Bis zum 5. November 2017 können sich SchülerInnenteams noch anmelden – im Interview erfahren Sie mehr.

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Selbst wenn die Signale des Schiaparelli-Test-Landers an diesem Abend ausgeblieben sind, war es doch eine sehr spannende Zeit, die entscheidenden Schritte der Mission zum Mars vom ESA-Kontrollzentrum in Darmstadt aus gemeinsam mit den WissenschaftlerInnen und der Künstlerin Aoife Van Linden Tol mitzuverfolgen. Wir haben ein paar Impressionen dieser Reise zusammengestellt.

materiafiftysisters
Export

Wenn sich Kunst und Wissenschaft einander begegnen, stellt sich schnell die Frage nach dem ursprünglichen Ausgangspunkt, nach der „Materia Prima“ unserer Welt. Die gleichnamige Ausstellung von Ars Electronica und LABoral in Spanien befasst sich mit dem Zusammenspiel dieser beiden Bereiche.