19687418453_fcec0f3bc5_k
CenterDeep Space LIVE

How does the world look from way up top? Othmar Coser of the Austrian Space Forum will screen breathtaking satellite images of Earth at the next Deep Space LIVE on December 14, 2017. His talk entitled “Eye in the Sky” will also reveal which data terrestrial observation technology measures, and go into why this is being done? Find out more in this interview.

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Even if signals aren’t being received from the Schiaparelli Test Lander on that evening, we nevertheless had an absolutely fascinating time at the ESA Mission Control Centre in Darmstadt, where we followed the decisive moments of the Mars landing in the company of scientists and artist Aoife Van Linden Tol. Here, we present a few impressions of the journey.

Mars
Residencies

Are we alone in the universe? This is certainly a high-priority question on science’s agenda. Now, with a landing on Mars, humankind is taking another giant step towards answering it. Thomas Walloschek is an engineer with the European Space Agency (ESA). Following a recent nightshift in the ExoMars mission control room, he took some time out to give us a briefing about this project.

Aoife van Linden Tol
FuturelabResidencies

Violent explosions are sources of particular fascination to artist Aoife Van Linden Tol. An art&science residency is giving her the opportunity to visit the European Space Agency (ESA) and Ars Electronica Futurelab to soak up a healthy dose of inspiration for her next project. In this interview, she talks about, among other things, the fact that there’s a lot more to explosions than destructive force.

ExoMars Mission 2016
Residencies

Artists still have until June 20, 2016 to apply for a residency of several weeks duration at the technical center of the European Space Agency (ESA), where, in autumn of this year, they’ll be on hand to experience two spectacular missions: the landing of the Rosetta Space Probe and the ExoMars Mission. In this interview, Senior Science Advisor Mark McCaughrean gives us some insights into the ESA’S very promising activities.

La Silla
FuturelabResidencies

Night after night, the European Southern Observatory’s huge telescopes in Chile peer deeply into the unknown expanses of the universe. Fernando Comerón, the ESO’s on-site chief-of-staff, recently talked to us about possible ways in which art and science can engage in mutual inspiration at these locations and what this postulated ninth planet in our solar system is all about.

Aoife Van Linden Tol
Residencies

Selbst wenn die Signale des Schiaparelli-Test-Landers an diesem Abend ausgeblieben sind, war es doch eine sehr spannende Zeit, die entscheidenden Schritte der Mission zum Mars vom ESA-Kontrollzentrum in Darmstadt aus gemeinsam mit den WissenschaftlerInnen und der Künstlerin Aoife Van Linden Tol mitzuverfolgen. Wir haben ein paar Impressionen dieser Reise zusammengestellt.

Mars
Residencies

Sind wir alleine in diesem Universum? Eine zentrale Frage, die sich die Wissenschaft ganz weit oben auf die Liste gesetzt hat und nun mit der Landung auf dem Mars versucht, der Antwort ein Stück weit näher zu rücken. Thomas Walloschek ist Ingenieur bei der ESA und hat sich nach seinem Nachtdienst im Kontrollraum die Zeit genommen, uns das Projekt ExoMars kurz vorzustellen.

Aoife van Linden Tol
FuturelabResidencies

Es sind heftige Explosionen, die die Künstlerin Aoife Van Linden Tol besonders faszinieren. Im Rahmen der art&science-Residency erhält sie die Möglichkeit, die ESA sowie das Ars Electronica Futurelab zu besuchen, um dabei ausreichend Inspiration für ihr nächstes Projekt zu sammeln. Im Interview spricht sie unter anderem darüber, dass Explosionen weit mehr in sich tragen als die Macht der Zerstörung.

ExoMars Mission 2016
Residencies

Noch bis 20. Juni 2016 können sich KünstlerInnen für eine mehrwöchige Residency im technischen Zentrum der ESA, der europäischen Weltraumbehörde, bewerben und dort im Herbst 2016 zwei spektakuläre Missionen live mitverfolgen: die Landungen der Rosetta-Sonde und der ExoMars-Mission. Mark McCaughrean, Senior Science Adivsor, gibt im Interview einen Einblick in die vielversprechenden Aktivitäten der ESA.

La Silla
FuturelabResidencies

Mit mehreren Teleskopgiganten blickt das europäische Forschungsinstitut ESO von Chile aus jede Nacht tief in die unbekannten Weiten des Universums. Fernando Comerón, Repräsentant der ESO-Vertretung in Chile, sprach mit uns über die Möglichkeiten, wie sich Kunst und Wissenschaft an diesen Orten gegenseitig inspirieren und was es auf sich hat mit dem neunten Planeten in unserem Sonnensystem.