Site areas:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

20 Etudes for Piano by Philip Glass

MON Sept. 11, 2017, 7:30 PM-10:00 PM, POSTCITY Ground Floor / Train Hall
namekawa_0_web
Credit: Maki Namekawa

Maki Namekawa (JP), Cori Olan (AT)

The Twenty Etudes for Piano were composed during the years from 1991 to 2012. Their final configuration into Book 1 and Book 2 was determined by the music itself in the course of its composition. Taken together, they suggest a real trajectory that includes a broad range of music and technical ideas. In the end, the etudes are intended to be appreciated not only by the general listener, but especially by those who have the ability and patience to learn, play and perform the music themselves.

20 Etudes for 20 Etudes

Twenty real-time parameter-driven visualizations for Philip Glass’s Twenty Etudes for Piano performed by Maki Namekawa

The visualizations can be considered as etudes themselves, exploring visual and time-based relationships between basic topics like pattern and form, symbol and language as well as time and space, motion and position. Most of the pieces work with real-time-generated CGI, with a strong and immediate response to the music based on a comprehensive analysis of the audio signal from two microphones close to the piano. Some are combinations of CGI with photography or video and two use only video but with variations in the playback speed and the triggering of cue points controlled by the live music.

The visualizations, quite like the etudes themselves, have not been developed in their numerical sequence, but when we started to perform the complete etudes most visualizations were modified and some were completely remade to create a more intuitive flow.

The complete set of all twenty visualized etudes was premiered in February 2017 at National Sawdust, New York.

Seitenbereiche:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

20 Etudes for Piano by Philip Glass

MO 11.9.2017, 19:30-22:00, POSTCITY Ground Floor / Gleishalle
namekawa_0_web
Credit: Maki Namekawa

Maki Namekawa (JP), Cori Olan (AT)

Die Twenty Etudes for Piano wurden zwischen 1991 und 2012 komponiert. Die finale Konfiguration in Book 1 und Book 2 ergab sich während des Kompositionsprozesses aus der Musik heraus. Gemeinsam bilden sie einen Bogen, der ein breites Spektrum an Musik und technischen Ideen umfasst. Letzten Endes sollen die Etudes nicht nur dem allgemeinen Publikum gefallen, sondern vor allem jenen, die die Fähigkeit und die Geduld mitbringen, sich diese Musik selbst zu erarbeiten, sie zu spielen und aufzuführen.

20 Etudes for 20 Etudes

Zwanzig Echtzeit parametergesteuerte Visualisierungen für Philip Glass’s Twenty Etudes for Piano aufgeführt von Maki Namekawa.

Die Visualisierungen an sich können als Etüden angesehen werden, die die visuellen und zeitbasierten Beziehungen zwischen Grundelementen wie Muster und Form, Symbol und Sprache, Zeit und Raum oder Bewegung und Position erkunden. Die meisten Stücke entstehen mit in Echtzeit generierter CGI und reagieren heftig und unmittelbar auf die Musik. Basis dafür ist die umfassende Analyse des Audiosignals von zwei Mikrofonen in der Nähe des Klaviers. Manche sind Kombinationen von CGI und Fotografie oder Video, und zwei Visualisierungen nutzen nur Video, aber mit Variationen in der Playback-Geschwindigkeit und beim Triggern von Cue-Points, die von der Live-Musik gesteuert sind.

Wie auch die Etudes selbst wurden die Visualisierungen nicht in numerischer Reihenfolge entwickelt. Als wir begannen, die vollständigen Etudes aufzuführen, wurden die meisten Visualisierungen modifiziert und einige von Grund auf überarbeitet, um einen intuitiveren Flow zu erreichen.

Die vollständige Reihe aller zwanzig visualisierter Etüden wurde zum ersten Mal im Februar 2017 bei National Sawdust in New York aufgeführt.