Site areas:
Aeter
Credit: Studio Christian Skjødt

Christian Skjødt (DK)

ÆTER can be seen as a study of electromagnetism, translating the phenomenon into an immersive sonic environment. Consisting of antennas and analog electronic circuitry, the autonomous systems directly capture and transform the ever-present electromagnetic waves in the air around us into low frequency audio material.

ÆTER thus “listens” to it’s surroundings—nature, technology and the visitors—as well as to itself. The piece is therefore constantly changing and invites to expand not only our perception of the world and its dimensions, but also our own perception apparatus. The intention is not to create a performative instrument enabling visitors to play, but rather to create a complex interconnected network.

ÆTER takes it’s inspiration from the Russian scientist and musician Léon Theremin’s (1896-1993) most iconic invention—the theremin—a musical instrument which derived from an attempt to create a surveillance device.

Christian Skjødt: www.skjodt.net

With thanks to:
Danish Arts Foundation
SNYK – The Danish Centre for Contemporary, Experimental Music and Sound Art
ENCAC – European Network for Contemporary Audiovisual Creation
Caroline Gagné & everybody from Avatar Quebec
Peer K / Gadget Group

Seitenbereiche:
Aeter
Credit: Studio Christian Skjødt

Christian Skjødt (DK)

ÆTER ist eine Studie über Elektromagnetismus, die dieses Phänomen in eine immersive klangliche Umgebung übersetzt. Die autonomen Systeme – bestehend aus Antennen sowie analogen elektronischen Schaltkreisen – erfassen die allgegenwärtigen elektromagnetischen Wellen, die uns umgeben, und verwandeln sie in niederfrequentes Audiomaterial.

ÆTER „hört” auf seine Umgebung, auf die Natur, die Technik, die BesucherInnen – und auch auf sich selbst. Das Stück verändert sich also ständig und lädt dazu sein, nicht nur unsere Wahrnehmung der Welt und ihrer Dimensionen zu verändern, sondern auch unseren eigenen Wahrnehmungsapparat. Ziel des Projekts ist es nicht, ein performatives Instrument zu schaffen, das es den BesucherInnen ermöglicht zu spielen, sondern ein komplexes, ineinander greifendes Netzwerk.

ÆTER ist inspiriert vom russischen Wissenschaftler und Musiker Léon Theremin (1896–1993) und seiner ikonischen Erfindung – dem Theremin – einem elektronischen Musikinstrument, das aus dem Versuch entstand, ein Überwachungsinstrument zu konstruieren.

Christian Skjødt: www.skjodt.net

Dank an:
Danish Arts Foundation
SNYK – The Danish Centre for Contemporary, Experimental Music and Sound Art
ENCAC – European Network for Contemporary Audiovisual Creation
Caroline Gagné & everybody from Avatar Quebec
Peer K / Gadget Group