Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztags

Artificial Intimacy

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-7:30 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
POSTCITY
Samantha
Credit: Josep Pau Vila

What does intimacy mean in the age of technology? Of sensors, cognitive computing and robots? How will the technological innovations evolving rapidly all around us affect and also change some of the most intimate of human behaviors? How will future generations discover and live out their sexuality? Is intimacy without humanity even possible?

Roles that were exclusively reserved for humans are already being filled by our technological creations. Concepts that allow us to be “lonely together.” The implications of this are staggering. As we speak, technology is enhancing interhuman relationships by acting not only as a sexual educator, but also by bridging physical divides between people. And this is just the beginning. While intimacy has today been digitized to a certain degree, in the not-so-distant future advances in machine learning will give rise to AI-powered avatar and humanoid robots, opening the door for potential human-machine relationships and intimacy.

Artificial Intimacy delves into the topic presenting products that are readily available on the market, providing insight into the companies developing artificial-intelligence companions and artistic works responding to the technology.

HoneyPie_web

HoneyPie

When you see her up close, you can’t help but stare. At $6.000, she’s certainly not a cheap date. For creator, Matt McMullen, she’s a work of art. For everyone else, she’s a Realdoll.

End-of-Life-Care-Machine_Dan-Chen_3_web

End of Life Care Machine

End of Life Care Machine is an interactive installation consisting of an empty room, a seating area and a reception desk. Signs, medical bracelets, health information forms and other related medical products are used to transform the space into a hospital-like environment, where people go for their final rite of passage.

almost_there_1_toddanderson-kunert_web

Almost there.

Almost there. was constructed using sonically controlled vibrators and some very trusting contributors. Over the last two years, these contributors recorded their voices while masturbating with the vibrators. The artist composed the audio they used specifically for this project.

Samantha@Josep-Pau-Vila_web

Samantha

Barcelona-based engineer Sergi Santos has created a robot sex doll that seems to enjoy sex as much as the humans and responds differently according to how she is treated.

onyx-2-and-pearl-2_Kiiroo_web

Pearl2 + Onyx2 Couple Set

Amsterdam-based Kiiroo is an award-winning tech company that has been a leader in the teledildonics industry since 2013. Working at the intersection of technology and human interest, Kiiroo developed a unique technology that enables users to be intimate from a distance.

phone-profile_OMGYES_web

OMGYES.com

OMGYES is a sexual pleasure research website. After conducting research with more than 2,000 women aged 18 to 95, we created a website where real-life women—not actors—share their stories and demonstrate their techniques. Then users get the chance to practice through touchable simulations.

SLUTEVER_MALE_DOLL_01_web

Making The World’s First Male Sex Doll

In her show Slutever, VICE’s resident sexpert Karley Sciortino explores the mysterious labyrinth of human sexuality and checks out the various ways that people around the world like to get off.

Machine-Learning-Porn_JakeElwes_web

Machine Learning Porn

In Machine Learning Porn a neural network has been trained using an explicit content model for finding pornography in search engines. The network is then reverse engineered to generate new “pornography” from scratch: an AI daydreaming of sex.

kissenger_Imagineering-Institute_web

Kissenger

Kissenger is a haptic device for mobile phones designed for people to better express intimacy and emotion over the Internet through kissing. It aims to fill in the missing dimension of touch in traditional digital communication, which largely focuses on verbal and audio information.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztags

Artificial Intimacy

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-19:30
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY
Samantha
Credit: Josep Pau Vila

Was bedeutet Intimität im technologischen Zeitalter? Wie werden uns technologischen Innovationen, die sich rasant um uns herum entwickeln, beeinflussen und einige der intimsten menschlichen Verhaltensweisen verändern? Wie werden zukünftige Generationen ihre Sexualität entdecken und ausleben? Ist Intimität ohne Menschlichkeit überhaupt denkbar?

Rollen, die ursprünglich ausschließlich Menschen zugedacht waren, werden bereits von unseren technologischen Kreationen eingenommen. Dabei entstehen neue Konzepte, die uns erlauben “gemeinsam allein zu sein”. Die daraus resultierenden Auswirkungen sind atemberaubend. Technologie hilft uns bereits jetzt dabei zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen zu verbessern und zu erweitern: indem sie nicht nur als Sexualaufklärerin agiert, sondern auch die Überbrückung physischer Grenzen zwischen Menschen ermöglicht. Und das ist erst der Anfang! Während Intimität schon heute bis zu einem gewissen Grad digitalisiert wurde, werden in der nicht allzu fernen Zukunft durch maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz angetriebene Avatare und humanoide Roboter entstehen und damit die Tür zu potenziellen Mensch-Maschine-Beziehungen und Intimität zwischen Menschen und Maschinen öffnen.

„Artificial Intimacy“ taucht tief in dieses Thema ein und präsentiert künstlerische Arbeiten, die neue Antworten auf die technologischen Herausforderungen anbieten ebenso wie auf dem Markt erhältliche Produkte, die Einblicke in Unternehmen geben, die die AI-Begleiter und AI-Begleiterinnen der Zukunft entwickeln.

HoneyPie_web

HoneyPie

Wer sie aus nächster Nähe betrachtet, muss sie anstarren. Für 6000 US-Dollar ist sie sicherlich kein kostengünstiges Rendezvous. Für ihren Erschaffer Matt McMullen ist sie ein Kunstwerk. Für alle anderen ist sie eine RealDoll.

End-of-Life-Care-Machine_Dan-Chen_3_web

End of Life Care Machine

End of Life Care Machine ist eine interaktive Installation, die aus einem leeren Raum, Sitzgelegenheiten und einem Empfangspult besteht. Schilder, ärztliche Armbänder, Broschüren zur Gesundheitsinformation und weitere Requisiten erinnern an ein Krankenhaus oder ein Hospiz.

almost_there_1_toddanderson-kunert_web

Almost there.

Almost there. wurde mithilfe von akustisch gesteuerten Vibratoren und einigen sehr vertrauensvollen Teilnehmenden erstellt. Diese zeichneten über einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren ihre eigenen Stimmen auf, während sie mit den Vibratoren masturbierten.

Samantha@Josep-Pau-Vila_web

Samantha

Der in Barcelona ansässige Ingenieur Sergi Santos hat eine Roboter-Sexpuppe entwickelt, die auf Berührungen reagiert und Sex genauso zu genießen scheint wie Menschen.

onyx-2-and-pearl-2_Kiiroo_web

Pearl2 + Onyx2 Couple Set

Das in Amsterdam beheimatete Technologieunternehmen Kiiroo ist einer der Marktführer der Teledildonics-Industrie. Am Schnittpunkt zwischen Mensch und Technologie entwickelte das Unternehmen technische Hilfsmittel, die Intimität über große Entfernungen ermöglichen.

phone-profile_OMGYES_web

OMGYES.com

OMGYES ist eine Webseite, die sich aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht mit der sexuellen Lust von Frauen beschäftigt. Befragt wurden 2.000 Frauen im Alter zwischen 18 und 95. Auf der Webseite berichten sie über ihre Erfahrungen und zeigen Techniken, die ihnen Lust bereiten.

SLUTEVER_MALE_DOLL_01_web

Making The World’s First Male Sex Doll

In ihrer Show Slutever erforscht Karley Sciortino, Sexpertin von VICE, das mysteriöse Labyrinth menschlicher Sexualität und findet heraus, welche unterschiedlichen Vorlieben Menschen auf der ganzen Welt haben.

Machine-Learning-Porn_JakeElwes_web

Machine Learning Porn

In Machine Learning Porn wird ein neuronales Netzwerk darauf hin trainiert Suchmaschinen nach pornografischen Inhalten zu durchsuchen. Aus den Datenmengen generiert das Netzwerk daraufhin neue explizite Inhalte: eine künstliche Intelligenz mit sexuelle Fantasien.

kissenger_Imagineering-Institute_web

Kissenger

Kissenger ist ein Gerät für Mobiltelefone, entworfen, um Menschen über das Internet zu ermöglichen, mittels Küssen Intimitäten auszutauschen. Er überträgt die taktilen Empfindungen des Küssens.