Site areas:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

Big Concert Night

SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 8 PM-1 AM, Doors open 7:30 PM, POSTCITY Ground Floor / Train Hall
Limited capacity: Entrance with valid ticket or voucher in combination with a Festivalpass or One-Day pass only (Vouchers for the Big Concert Night can be picked up at the POSTCITY Infodesk upon presentation of a Festivalpass or One-Day pass until Sunday Sept. 10. 12noon)
Concert Night
Credit: Florian Voggeneder


A unique and extremely successful cooperative relationship is being carried on and reinvented. Ars Electronica’s Big Concert Night in collaboration with the renowned Bruckner Orchester Linz is a jewel of the festival. There’s scarcely a comparable opportunity to experience such an intensive encounter of instrumental music-making and digital sounds, and of the music of the past and present. This year, Markus Poschner, the new conductor of the Bruckner Orchester, will add a new musical wrinkle to this encounter amidst the huge Gleishalle (Track Hall) of POSTCITY. Poschner is also a superb jazz pianist and has invited several other soloists working in this genre to join him on his Big Concert Night. Classical orchestral music—Scherzo and Adagio from Bruckner’s 8th Symphony—jazz, sound art and digital visualizations will be presented on multiple stages set up throughout the Gleishalle, among which the audience can experience the evening’s tonal realms in peripatetic fashion. Next up are the prizewinners in the Prix Ars Electronica’s Digital Music and Sound Art category. The third part of program is dedicated to the 30th anniversary of the ORF–Austria Broadcasting Company’s Ö1 Kunstradio.

Folder Big Concert Night
(PDF file, 0,5 MB)

Download
7:30 PM ENTRANCE
8 PM Aufbruch/Departure – The Bruckner 8 Project
Intro
Bruckner´s 8th Symphony, 2nd movement
Transition and Intervention
Bruckner´s 8th Symphony, 3rd movement
Performed by Bruckner Orchestra (AT)/ Markus Poschner (DE)
Soloists: Nguyên Lê (FR/VN), Hugo Siegmeth (DE), Harald Scharf (DE),
Bastian Jütte (DE), Markus Poschner (DE), Rupert Huber (AT),
Roberto Paci Dalò (IT), Stefano Spada (IT)
Visualization by Cori Olan (AT)
9:40 PM BREAK
10:05 PM Composing:Lab – presentation
Maximilian Walch (AT), Martin L. Fiala (AT), Students of Kompositionsklasse Landesmusikschule Steyr (AT)
10:10 PM Marco Donnarumma (DE/IT): Corpus Nil
10:30 PM Dimitri della Faille (CA/BE): Obosen Dutertador
Visualization by Dimitri della Faille (CA/BE)
10:45 PM Cedrik Fermont (CD/BE/DE): In between
11 PM Anna Friz (CA): Radiation Day
Visualiszation by Rodrigo Ríos Zunino (CL/EC)
11:20 PM Kristen Roos (CA): Anti-Wave
11:40 PM Lucas Abela (AU)
Midnight Andres Bosshard (CH): Ho, Hei, Oho: Factory of Memory
00:20 AM Trevor Brown (AU): Dronescape
Bruckner-Orchestra-at-big-Concert-Night_Tom-Mesic-2_web

An Opening

At the center of the Big Concert Night in POSTCITY are the two middle movements of Anton Bruckner’s 8th Symphony, the crux on which the entire performance hinges. This is right and wrong at the same time! Bruckner’s music forms the foundation, the walls and perhaps the heavens too, in which audience members, situated in the middle of the Gleishalle, are free to move about.

lucasabela_web

Lucas Abela

What has been described as “a trumpet player trapped in a two dimensional universe” is in fact the unique work of Lucas Abela, a maverick musician with an unhealthy obsession with sheets of broken glass.

della-faille-3_web

Obosen Dutertador

This performance is an electroacoustic and video piece reflecting on the current political climate in the Philippines. It attempts to translate the current climate of demagogy, terror and disdain for the democratic institutions of this Southeast Asian country into sound and visuals.

portrait-cedrik_web

In between

C-drík will present a live performance based on a selection of recordings essentially made at the Observatory Studio in Singapore as well as in his studio in Berlin. Cymbals, gongs, metallophones (gamelan), various metallic objects and voices have been selected and electronically processed to form the core of the track.

Andres-Bossbard_Daniela-Zehnder_web

Ö1 Radiokunst—Kunstradio

In the course of Ars Electronica’s Big Concert Night at POSTCITY, Ö1 Radiokunst—Kunstradio will celebrate its 30th anniversary with a two-hour live broadcast from 10.05 pm to 12 am on September 10 as part of the Ö1 Kunstsonntag on Österreich 1.

dronescape_trevorbrown_web

Dronescape

A microtonal durational live drone performance with baritone, alto, soprano bass saxes, treble clarinets 
alto, treble flutes, laptop.

Seitenbereiche:
Events, Concerts, PerformancesHighlightsProgramm

Große Konzertnacht

SO 10.9.2017, 20:00-1:00, Einlass 19:30, POSTCITY Ground Floor / Gleishalle
Begrenzte Platzkapazität. Einlass nur mit gültigem Einzelticket oder Voucher in Kombination mit einem Tages- oder Festivalpass (beziehbar nach Verfügbarkeit am POSTCITY Infodesk bis SO 10.9. 12:00)
Concert Night
Credit: Florian Voggeneder


Die Große Konzertnacht ist ein absolutes Highlight des Festivals, denn die äußerst erfolgreiche und einzigartige Kooperation wird fortgeführt und gleichzeitig neu erfunden: Die Große Konzertnacht ist Fixpunkt und Highlight jedes Ars Electronica Festival. 2002 von Dennis Russel Davies und Gerfried Stocker initiiert, erlebt das Format 2017 eine Zäsur: Markus Poschner tritt als Chefdirigent des Bruckner Orchesters an und stellt seine erste Große Konzertnacht unter das Motto AUFBRUCH. Der „Neue“ rührt also kräftig um und bleibt damit dem Wesen der Großen Konzertnacht treu, die sich schon immer dem Experiment verschrieben hat. Das Publikum erwartet eine intensive Begegnung zwischen Instrumentalklang und digitalen Sounds, zwischen der Musik der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Eine Begnung, die Markus Poschner um einen neuen musikalischen Aspekt erweitert, ist er doch nicht nur Dirigent, sondern auch ein hervorragender Jazz-Spezialist und Pianist und hat weitere Jazz-Solisten eingeladen. Das Ergebnis ist ein Mix aus klassischer Orchestermusik – Scherzo und Adagio von Bruckners 8. Symphonie –, Jazz, Soundart und digitalen Visualisierungen auf gleich mehreren Bühnen in der Gleishalle, zwischen denen das Publikum die Musik- und Klangwelt dieses Abends wandernd erleben kann. Danach übernehmen die PreisträgerInnen der Kategorie „Digital Music and Soundart“ des Prix Ars Electronica die Bühne, der dritte Teil der Konzertnacht ist dann dem 30-jährigen Bestehen des Ö1-Kunstradios gewidmet.

Folder zur Großen Konzertnacht
(PDF-Datei, 0,5 MB)

Download
19:30 Einlass
20:00 Aufbruch/Departure – The Bruckner 8 Project
Intro
Bruckner´s 8th Symphony, 2nd movement
Transition and Intervention
Bruckner´s 8th Symphony, 3rd movement
Performed by Bruckner Orchestra (AT)/ Markus Poschner (DE)
Soloists: Nguyên Lê (FR/VN), Hugo Siegmeth (DE), Harald Scharf (DE),
Bastian Jütte (DE), Markus Poschner (DE), Rupert Huber (AT),
Roberto Paci Dalò (IT), Stefano Spada (IT)
Visualization by Cori Olan (AT)
21:40 PAUSE
22:05 Composing:Lab – presentation
Maximilian Walch (AT), Martin L. Fiala (AT), Students of Kompositionsklasse Landesmusikschule Steyr (AT)
22:10 Marco Donnarumma (DE/IT): Corpus Nil
22:30 Dimitri della Faille (CA/BE): Obosen Dutertador
Visualization by Dimitri della Faille (CA/BE)
22:45 Cedrik Fermont (CD/BE/DE): In between
23:00 Anna Friz (CA): Radiation Day
Visualiszation by Rodrigo Ríos Zunino (CL/EC)
23:20 Kristen Roos (CA): Anti-Wave
23:40 Lucas Abela (AU)
0:00 Andres Bosshard (CH): Ho, Hei, Oho: Factory of Memory
00:20 Trevor Brown (AU): Dronescape
Bruckner-Orchestra-at-big-Concert-Night_Tom-Mesic-2_web

Aufbruch

Im Zentrum der Großen Konzertnacht in der POSTCITY stehen die beiden Innensätze der 8. Sinfonie von Anton Bruckner als Dreh- und Angelpunkt. Das ist richtig und falsch zugleich! Bruckners Musik bildet das Fundament, die Wände und vielleicht auch den Himmel, in denen sich das Publikum ganz zentral in der Gleishalle frei bewegen kann.

lucasabela_web

Lucas Abela

Lucas Abela – ein Trompetenspieler, gefangen im zweidimensionalen Universum. Eine treffende Beschreibung für diesen ungewöhnlichen Musiker, der eine ungesunde Leidenschaft für zerbrochenes Glas pflegt. Mit seiner Show trat er bereits in mehr als 45 Ländern auf.

della-faille-3_web

Obosen Dutertador

Weltpremiere bei der großen Konzertnacht! Obosen Dutertador beschäftigt sich mit den aktuellen politischen Verhältnissen auf den Philippinen. Die elektroakustische Video-Performance bildet die Wirklichkeit aus Demagogie, Terror und Verachtung gegenüber demokratischen Institutionen in Klang und Bildern ab.

portrait-cedrik_web

In between

Cedrík präsentiert live eine Auswahl seiner Aufnahmen aus dem Observatory Studio in Singapore und Berlin. Becken, Gongs, Metallophone (Gamelan), verschiedene metallische Objekte und Stimmen wurden elektronisch bearbeitet und bilden die Basis der Stücke.

Andres-Bossbard_Daniela-Zehnder_web

Ö1 Radiokunst—Kunstradio

Ö1 Radiokunst – Kunstradio wird 30. Die große Ars Electronica Konzertnacht in der POSTCITY feiert diesen Geburtstag. Eine zweistündige Live-Sendung überträgt den Abend von 22.05 bis 24.00 Uhr am 10. September als Teil des Kunstsonntags auf Ö1.

dronescape_trevorbrown_web

Dronescape

Eine mikrotonale Dauer-Live-Dronen-Performance mit Bariton-, Alt-, Sopran und Bass-Saxophon, dreifache Altklarinette, Dreifachflöten, Laptop.