Site areas:
DeepSpaceExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Bird Song Diamond

THU Sept. 7, 2017, 11:45 AM-12:15 PM
FRI Sept. 8, 2017, 11:45 AM-12:15 PM
SAT Sept. 9, 2017, 11:45 AM-12:15 PM
SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 2:15 PM-2:45 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 11:45 AM-12:15 PM
Ars Electronica Center, Deep Space 8K
Bird Song Diamond
Credit: Victoria Vesna


Victoria Vesna (US), Charles Taylor (US), Takashi Ikegami (JP), Hiroo Iwata (JP), Reiji Suzuki (JP)

Bird Song Diamond is a site- and habitat-specific interactive installation based on long-term research (2011-present), involving multifaceted, interdisciplinary perspectives—uniquely connecting the nodes of evolutionary biology, artificial intelligence and life, spatial sound, mathematics and mechatronics.

The Deep Space 8K version features bird songs from Austria and Japan—reflecting the unique relationship of these two cultures at Ars Electronica. Inspired by the thousand-cranes story, it evolves into a million birds and drones that address the complex relationship of machine, human and animal through multi-dimensional sound, video, and origami-based designs.

Audiences are engaged by attempting to mimic bird songs and participate as a group with male to female vocalizations. The collective behavior influences the flocking, images and sound—all working in real time. The interaction produces three different dimensions or scenarios: looking at what birds find interesting—worms, seeds and nests; influencing the flocking; and witnessing how the birds and drones see us—in collective gatherings such as demonstrations and celebrations.

Credits

Victoria Vesna (artist, UCLA), Charles Taylor (evolutionary biologist, UCLA), Takashi Ikegami (physicist, University of Tokyo), Hiroo Iwata (engineer, University of Tsukuba), Reiji Suzuki (computer science, Nagoya University), Itsuki Doi (PhD candidate, Ikegami lab), John Brumley, Hikaru Hakatori (PhD candidates, Iwata lab), Naoki Chiba (master’s student, Suzuki lab)

www.birdsongdiamond.com

Seitenbereiche:
DeepSpaceExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Bird Song Diamond

DO 7.9.2017, 11:45-12:15
FR 8.9.2017, 11:45-12:15
SA 9.9.2017, 11:45-12:15
SO 10.9.2017, 14:15-14:45
MO 11.9.2017, 11:45-12:15
Ars Electronica Center, Deep Space 8K
Bird Song Diamond
Credit: Victoria Vesna


Victoria Vesna (US), Charles Taylor (US), Takashi Ikegami (JP), Hiroo Iwata (JP), Reiji Suzuki (JP)

Bird Song Diamond ist eine orts- und lebensraumspezifische interaktive Installation und basiert auf einer Langzeitstudie, von 2011 bis heute. Sie umfasst facettenreiche interdisziplinäre Perspektiven und verbindet Evolutionsbiologie, künstliche Intelligenz und Leben, Raumklang, Mathematik und Mechatronik. Die eigens für den Deep Space 8K entwickelte Version beinhaltet Vogelgesänge aus Japan und Österreich – und zeigt auf diese Weise die einzigartige Beziehung zwischen diesen unterschiedlichen Kulturen.

Inspiriert von der Geschichte der „Tausend Kraniche” entwickeln sich bis zu einer Million Vögel und Drohnen, die das komplexe Verhältnis von Maschine, Mensch und Tier zeigen – durch mehrdimensionalen Klang, Video und Origami-Design.

Das Publikum ist angehalten, Vogelgesänge nachzuahmen und als Gruppe mit ihren männlichen bis weiblichen Stimmgebungen teilzunehmen. Das kollektive Verhalten beeinflusst die Bewegungen des Vogelschwarms, die Bilder und den Klang in Echtzeit. Die Interaktion produziert drei verschiedene Dimensionen beziehungsweise Szenarien: das Publikum sieht Dinge, die Vögel interessant finden: Würmer, Samen und Nester; es beeinflusst das Schwarmverhalten und es beobachtet, wie uns Vögel und Drohnen sehen – zum Beispiel bei kollektiven Versammlungen wie Demonstrationen und Festen.

Credits

Victoria Vesna (artist, UCLA), Charles Taylor (evolutionary biologist, UCLA), Takashi Ikegami (physicist, University of Tokyo), Hiroo Iwata (engineer, University of Tsukuba), Reiji Suzuki (computer science, Nagoya University), Itsuki Doi (PhD candidate, Ikegami lab), John Brumley, Hikaru Hakatori (PhD candidates, Iwata lab), Naoki Chiba (master’s student, Suzuki lab)

www.birdsongdiamond.com