Site areas:
Blade_Runner-Autoencoded_Terence_Broad_1_web
Credit: Terence Broad

Terence Broad (UK)

Blade Runner—Autoencoded is a film made by training an autoencoder—a type of generative neural network—to recreate frames from the 1982 film Blade Runner. The Autoencoder learns to model all frames by trying to copy them through a very narrow information bottleneck, being optimized to create images that are as similar as possible to the original images.

The resulting sequence is very dreamlike, drifting in and out of recognition between static scenes that the model remembers well, to fleeting sequences—usually with a lot of movement—that the model barely comprehends.

The film Blade Runner is adapted from Philip K. Dicks novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?. Set in a post-apocalyptic dystopian future, Rick Deckard is a bounty hunter who makes a living hunting down and killing replicants, artificial humans that are so well engineered that they are physically indistinguishable from human beings.

By reinterpreting Blade Runner with the autoencoder’s memory of the film, Blade Runner—Autoencoded seeks to emphasize the ambiguous boundary in the film between replicant and human, or in the case of the reconstructed film, between our memory of the film and the neural networks. By examining this imperfect reconstruction, the gaze of a disembodied machine, it becomes easier to acknowledge the flaws in our own internal representation of the world and easier to imagine the potential of other, substantially different systems that have their own internal representations.

Credits

Carried out on the Msci Creative Computing course at the Department of Computing, Goldsmiths, University of London under the supervision of Mick Grierson.

Seitenbereiche:
Blade_Runner-Autoencoded_Terence_Broad_1_web
Credit: Terence Broad

Terence Broad (UK)

Der Film Blade Runner – Autoencoded entstand, indem man einen Autoencoder, also ein spezielles neuronales Netzwerk, trainierte, um Einzelbilder aus dem Film Blade Runner aus dem Jahr 1982 nachzubilden. Der Autoencoder lernt, alle Einzelbilder zu modellieren, indem er versucht, sie durch einen Informations-Engpass zu kopieren.

Er wurde dazu optimiert, Bilder zu schaffen, die den Originalbildern so ähnlich wie möglich sehen. Die daraus resultierende Sequenz weist eine traumähnliche Anmutung auf und schwankt zwischen Erkennen und Nichterkennen: An manche statische Sequenzen erinnert sich das Modell sehr gut, während es flüchtige Sequenzen – meist Szenen mit viel Bewegung – kaum verstehen kann.

Der Film Blade Runner basiert auf dem Roman Träumen Androiden von elektrischen Schafen? von Philip K. Dick und spielt in einer postapokalyptischen dystopischen Zukunft. Rick Deckard ist ein Kopfgeldjäger, der seinen Lebensunterhalt damit verdient, dass er Replikanten aufspürt und tötet. Replikanten sind künstliche Menschen, die so gut konstruiert sind, dass sie äußerlich nicht von menschlichen Wesen zu unterscheiden sind.

Anhand der Erinnerung, die der Autoencoder vom Film hat, interpretiert Blade Runner – Autoencoded den Film Blade Runner neu, um die unscharfe Grenze zwischen Replikant und Mensch im Film zu betonen, oder, wie im Falle des rekonstruierten Films, die Grenze zwischen unserer Erinnerung an den Film und den neuronalen Netzwerken. Betrachtet man diese mangelhafte Rekonstruktion, also den Blick einer körperlosen Maschine, genauer, fällt es leichter, die Fehler in unserer eigenen inneren Repräsentation der Welt anzuerkennen, und es wird einfacher, das Potenzial anderer, substantiell differenter Systeme zu erkennen, die ihre eigenen inneren Repräsentationen haben.

Credits

Carried out on the Msci Creative Computing course at the Department of Computing, Goldsmiths, University of London under the supervision of Mick Grierson.