Site areas:
Campus
Credit: Alexandre & Isadora

Every year since 2002, Ars Electronica and the University of Art and Design Linz has hosted an exhibition by artists associated with an international higher-education institution whose curriculum takes an innovative approach to teaching media art and media culture.

Initiated by Prof. Reinhard Kannonier (University of Art and Design Linz) and Gerfried Stocker (Ars Electronica), the intention of the Campus format is to invite outstanding international universities working in the academic fields of media arts and design. Projects highlighted here represent the nature of the mission and activities of invited guest universities from all around the world. These showcases became an immanent part of the festival and an instrument to analyze and visualize different models of educational approaches in artistic and creative areas. It has also increasingly developed into a stage for contextualized works from alumni, professors or associates from the universities to map the identity of academic institutions, its history and current practice.

Part of Campus’s mission is to enable the presentation of young, local media artists and their work with international exposure. The Interface Cultures program of the University of Art and Design Linz annually presents a cross-selection from their masterclass works and, together with Ars Electronica, co-hosts one main featured partner university each year. The festival is increasingly becoming a platform for artistic and creative collaborations between Ars Electronica and various regional, academic partners, for example the Fashion & Technology, the Lab Creative Robotics and the Time-based Media program at the University of Art and Design Linz, the Anton Bruckner Private University Upper Austria or the University of Applied Science Upper Austria, Campus Hagenberg.

Campus is also a platform for international exchange between universities, leading to increasing collaboration between academic partners. In 2017, fifteen universities from many parts of the world are represented: University of Art and Design Linz (AT); University of California, Los Angeles (US); Aalborg University (DK); Aalto University, School of Arts, Design and Architecture (FI); Anton Bruckner Private University Upper Austria (AT); ArtCenter College of Design (US); Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich, Institute for Art Education (DE); MIT Medialab (US); Queensland University of Technology (AU); State University of São Paulo, Arts Institute (BR); The University of Auckland (NZ); University of Tsukuba (JP); TU Vienna (AT); University of the Arts London (UK); University of Applied Science Upper Austria, Campus Hagenberg (AT).

SINGULARITY_CarolBrown_web

arc/sec Lab for Digital Spatial Operations

The arc/sec Lab for Digital Spatial Operations is led by Assoc. Prof. Uwe Rieger at School of Architecture and Planning at the University of Auckland. The lab explores digital matter as a new form of construction material.

ExtremeEnvironments_TheSchoolofCreativeMedia2012_web

FEMINIST CLIMATE CHANGE: Beyond the Binary

With the selected works, we aim to converge the issues in feminism with environmentalism. By framing the exhibition in this way, it is our hope to reinvigorate the eco-feminism that emerged in the 70s and was ignored for much too long. In this particular context, at the Ars Electronica festival in Linz, we address the local and transnational issues of feminism in media arts and the global issue of climate change.

SUMBIOPHILIA_StefanEngelbrechtNielsen_web

Roads Less Travelled by . . .

The exhibition “Roads Less Travelled by . . .” features student projects from the Art and Technology course and the Erasmus Joint Master in Media Arts Cultures at Aalborg University. All student projects are the results of critical academic inquiries into art, technology and culture involving problem-based research and learning processes.

Gender-Doll_web

Social Things

The exhibition “Sense of Space and Time” contains fourteen projects ranging between design, art and technology. The projects were created by bachelor’s students from the Institute of Art Education, School of Arts, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, and by master’s students from the LMU Department of Informatics.

SoniControl_Kevin-Pirner_2_web

SoniControl

The goal of the SoniControl project is the development of a novel technology for the recognition and masking of acoustic tracking information as well as the development of a mobile application that provides this technology to end-users to protect their privacy.

hoaxly_web

hoaxly Fake News Game

hoaxly Fake News Game is an interactive installation where people can rate news headlines according to their perceived truthfulness. A headline will be presented on a screen.

gonimo_web

Gonimo

Gonimo is the first free, web-based baby monitor that only needs a web browser to run.

2DZellkomplex_web

Sense of Space and Time

The exhibition “Sense of Space and Time” contains fourteen projects ranging between design, art and technology. The projects were created by bachelor’s students from the Institute of Art Education, School of Arts, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, and by master’s students from the LMU Department of Informatics.

Fuzzy_Logic-Machine_Gabriela-Gordillo_Irene-Rodenas_web

Made in Linz

Students in the Interface Cultures master’s program experiment with the development of interactive prototypes, musical interfaces, conceptual installations and interaction critiques and also broaden their view by encountering and collaborating with other international fellows who are investigating these topics from a different cultural context. All the artworks, prototypes and various interfaces in this year’s exhibition have been made in Linz.

Magnetic-Islands

Computer Music & Media Composition

The three installations presented at the POSTCITY, laying out sonic spaces rather than musical sequences, reflect not only this fundamentally open approach to the question of what musical art is or could be these days, but also the media composition course’s deep integration into the university’s other fields of study.

Driftscope_Francele-Cocco_web

Natural Intelligence—NI

Natural Intelligence—NI is a selection of artworks from the research group GIIP and its partners. The assistive interfaces pursue the development of devices to enable people with physical and mental disabilities and/or immobility to talk, produce and teach arts—including three-dimensional scenery and sound.

gonimo_web

netidee Open Source Community Camp

The netidee Open Source Community Camp is a two-day workshop that offers producers of open-source projects the opportunity to consolidate their efforts, to design them with sustainability in mind, and to obtain valuable input from mentors, experts and colleagues.

Seitenbereiche:
Campus
Credit: Alexandre & Isadora

Bereits seit 2002 veranstalten Ars Electronica und die Linzer Kunstuniversität jährlich eine Ausstellung mit Arbeiten von Studierenden einer internationalen Hochschule, deren Curriculum einen innovativen Ansatz bei der Lehre von Medienkunst und Medienkultur verfolgt.

Das Campus-Format, initiiert von Prof. Reinhard Kannonier (Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung Linz) und Gerfried Stocker (Ars Electronica), lädt herausragende internationale Universitäten ein, die im akademischen Bereich von Medienkunst und Mediendesign tätig sind. Die ausgestellten Projekte sind repräsentativ für die Ausrichtung und die Aktivitäten dieser internationalen Gastuniversitäten. Die Showcases sind inzwischen nicht nur ein integraler Bestandteil des Festivals, sondern auch ein Instrument zur Analyse und Visualisierung verschiedener Bildungsansätze im künstlerischen und kreativen Bereich. Die Ausstellung hat sich auch immer mehr zu einer Plattform für die Präsentation kontextualisierter Arbeiten von Alumni, ProfessorInnen oder MitarbeiterInnen der Universitäten entwickelt, die dieses Format nutzen, um die Identität der akademischen Institution, ihre Geschichte und aktuelle Praktiken abzubilden.

Eine der Aufgaben der Campus-Ausstellung besteht darin, die Arbeiten junger, lokaler MedienkünstlerInnen zu zeigen und ihnen eine internationale Präsenz zu ermöglichen. Der Studiengang „Interface Cultures“ der Kunstuniversität Linz präsentiert jedes Jahr einen Querschnitt aus den Arbeiten des Abschlussjahrgangs und lädt gemeinsam mit Ars Electronica eine Partneruniversität ein. Das Festival entwickelt sich dadurch zunehmend zu einem Schauplatz für künstlerische und kreative Kollaborationen zwischen Ars Electronica und verschiedenen regionalen akademischen Partnern, zum Beispiel mit den Studienrichtungen Fashion & Technology, das Labor Kreative Robotik und Zeitbasierte Medien der Kunstuniversität Linz, mit der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität oder dem Campus Hagenberg der FH Oberösterreich.

Campus ist aber auch eine Plattform für den internationalen Austausch zwischen Universitäten, der zu immer mehr Kollaborationen zwischen akademischen Partnern führt. Im Jahr 2017 sind 15 Universitäten aus vielen Teilen der Welt in Linz präsent: Kunstuniversität Linz (AT); University of California, Los Angeles (US); Aalborg University (DK), Aalto University, School of Arts, Design and Architecture (FI); Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität (AT); ArtCenter College of Design, Pasadena (US); Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Institut für Kunstpädagogik (DE); MIT Medialab (US); Queensland University of Technology (AU); State University of São Paulo, Arts Institute (BR); The University of Auckland (NZ); University of Tsukuba (JP); TU Wien (AT); University of the Arts London (UK); FH Oberösterreich, Campus Hagenberg (AT).

SINGULARITY_CarolBrown_web

arc/sec Lab for Digital Spatial Operations

Das arc/sec Lab for Digital Spatial Operations wird von Assoc. Prof. Uwe Rieger von der School of Architecture and Planning an der University of Auckland geleitet. Das Lab untersucht digitale Materie als neue Form von Baumaterial.

ExtremeEnvironments_TheSchoolofCreativeMedia2012_web

FEMINIST CLIMATE CHANGE: Beyond the Binary

Anhand der ausgewählten Arbeiten möchten wir die Fragen, die im Feminismus diskutiert werden, mit jenen zusammenbringen, die im Umweltschutz Thema sind. Wir hoffen, durch diesen konzeptuellen Rahmen der Ausstellung den Öko-Feminismus, der in den 1970er-Jahren aufkam und lange ignoriert wurde, wieder zu stärken. In diesem speziellen Kontext – beim Ars Electronica Festival in Linz – behandeln wir lokale und länderübergreifende Fragen des Feminismus in der Medienkunst und das globale Problem des Klimawandels.

SUMBIOPHILIA_StefanEngelbrechtNielsen_web

Roads Less Travelled by . . .

Die Ausstellung Roads Less Travelled by … präsentiert studentische Projekte des Studiengangs Art and Technology und des Erasmus Joint Master in Media Arts Cultures an der Universität Aalborg. Alle studentischen Projekte sind das Ergebnis kritischer akademischer Untersuchungen in Kunst, Technologie und Kultur, die problembasierte Forschung und Lernprozesse beinhalten.

Gender-Doll_web

Social Things

Der Studienzweig „MA Interaction Design Communication“ ist ein praxisnahes, zukunftsorientiertes Design-Studium für eine technologieaffine, interdisziplinäre Design-Welt unter anderem mit den Schwerpunkten Interaktionsdesign, Design-Prototyping, Physical Computing, userzentriertes Design, quelloffenen digitalen Plattformen, Designforschung und digitale Künste.

SoniControl_Kevin-Pirner_2_web

SoniControl

Ziel von SoniControl ist es, eine neuartige Technologie zu entwickeln, die die Erkennung und Verschleierung der akustischen Verfolgungsinformation ermöglicht. Weiters wurde eine App programmiert, die es den BenutzerInnen erlaubt, ihre Privatsphäre zu schützen.

hoaxly_web

hoaxly Fake News Game

hoaxly Fake News Game ist eine interaktive Installation, in der Schlagzeilen nach dem vermuteten Wahrheitsgehalt bewertet werden. Die SpielerInnen lesen Schlagzeilen, treffen Bewertungen und erhalten umgehend Rückmeldung über den Ursprung der Nachricht.

gonimo_web

Gonimo

Gonimo – der Good Night Monitor – ist das erste kostenlose Babyphon, für dessen Benutzung lediglich ein Web-Browser benötigt wird.

Simulated-Percussions_Kenta_Suzuki_web

Recomposition of Human Presence: Waves, Material, and Intelligence

Wie können wir unsere menschliche Präsenz neu definieren? Die Digital Nature Group erforscht mittels computergestützten Umgebungen die Beziehungen zwischen Wellen, Material und Intelligenz, um Feedbackschleife zwischen menschlicher Intelligenz und Maschinenintelligenz herzustellen.

2DZellkomplex_web

Sense of Space and Time

Die Ausstellung „Sense of Space and Time“ umfasst vierzehn Projekte, die zwischen Design, Kunst und Technologie angesiedelt sind. Es sind Projekte von Bachelor-Studierenden des Department Kunstwissenschaften der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) sowie von Master-Studierenden des Instituts für Informatik der LMU.

Fuzzy_Logic-Machine_Gabriela-Gordillo_Irene-Rodenas_web

Made in Linz

Die Studierenden der Kunstuniversität Linz experimentieren mit der Entwicklung von interaktiven Prototypen, musikalischen Schnittstellen sowie konzeptionellen Installationen, die alle in Linz hergestellt wurden.

Magnetic-Islands

Computer Music & Media Composition

Die drei in der POSTCITY präsentierten Installationen, die eher klangliche Räume als musikalische Sequenzen definieren, zeigen, mit welcher Offenheit an die Frage herangegangen wird, was Musik als Kunst heutzutage bedeutet oder bedeuten könnte. Außerdem illustrieren sie, wie eng der Lehrgang für Medienkomposition mit anderen Studienrichtungen der Universität verzahnt ist.

interactive_diorama_web

Interactive Diorama—Rembrandt, 1632, The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp

„Interactive Diorama – Rembrandt, 1932, The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp“ ist eine Virtual-Reality-Simulation von Rembrandts Originalwerk *Die Anatomie des Dr. Tulp* und wurde von Professor Lily Díaz-Kommonen gemeinsam mit dem Department of Media Systems der Representation Research Group an der Aalto University realisiert.

Driftscope_Francele-Cocco_web

Natural Intelligence—NI

Natural Intelligence – NI ist eine Auswahl von Arbeiten der Forschungsgruppe GIIP und ihren Partnern. Die entwickelten assistiven Interfaces zielen darauf ab, Menschen mit körperlichen und geistigen Beeinträchtigungen und/oder bewegungseingeschränkte Menschen wieder in die Lage zu versetzen, zu sprechen, etwas zu produzieren und Kunst zu unterrichten – inklusive dreidimensionaler Szenerien und Sound.

gonimo_web

netidee Open Source Community Camp

Das netidee Open Source Community Camp ist ein zweitägiger Workshop, der ProduzentInnen aus dem Open Source Bereich die Möglichkeit gibt, ihre Projekte zu festigen, nachhaltig zu gestalten und wertvollen Input von MentorInnen, ExpertInnen und KollegInnen zu erhalten.