Site areas:
Conferences, Lectures, WorkshopsMedia Art between Natural and Artificial IntelligenceProgramm

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

AI Artist Tutorial: SAT Sept. 9, 2017, 12 noon-1:30 PM, POSTCITY, AI Projects
Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web
Credit: Derek Curry

Derek Curry (US), Jennifer Gradecki (US)

The Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA) is a creative research project that partially replicates an open-source intelligence (OSINT) system, including an interface that allows users to experience how intelligence agents surveil social media posts and two machine-learning classifiers for predictive policing.

Like OSINT interfaces used by intelligence agencies and government contractors, the CSIA recontextualizes social media posts by removing them from their original context and reframing them as a potential threat to national security. The app was created using technical manuals, research reports, academic papers, leaked documents and Freedom of Information Act files.

By providing first-hand experience with social media monitoring systems, the CSIA exposes potential problems with current dataveillance processes in order to help users understand the effectiveness of OSINT processing and make informed decisions when navigating social media surveillance.

Credits

Support provided by Science Gallery Dublin

www.crowdsourcedintel.org

Seitenbereiche:
Conferences, Lectures, WorkshopsMedienkunst zwischen natürlicher und künstlicher IntelligenzProgramm

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

AI Artist Tutorial: SA 9.9.2017, 12:00-13:30, POSTCITY, AI Projects
Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web
Credit: Derek Curry

Derek Curry (US), Jennifer Gradecki (US)

Die Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA) ist ein kreatives Forschungsprojekt, das das System einer Open-Source Intelligenz (OSINT) nachbildet – einschließlich eines Interface, das es BenutzerInnen ermöglicht zu erfahren, wie Geheimdienste Social Media-Beiträge überwachen. Außerdem beinhaltet die Arbeit zwei maschinell lernende Klassifikatoren für vorausschauende Polizeiarbeit.

Vergleichbar mit jenen OSINT Interfaces, die von Geheimdiensten und Regierungsvertretern verwendet werden, entfernt die CSIA Social Media-Beiträge aus ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext und stellt sie als potenzielle Bedrohung für die nationale Sicherheit dar.

Die App wurde mithilfe von technischen Handbüchern, Forschungsberichten, wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, geleakten Dokumenten und Daten aus dem Freedom of Information Act erstellt. Die Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA) stellt Informationen und Erfahrungen mit Social Media-Überwachungssystemen zur Verfügung und deckt potenzielle Problemfelder von aktuellen Prozessen der Datenüberwachung auf. Die BenutzerInnen werden dabei unterstützt, die Potentiale von Open-Source Intelligenz zu verstehen und fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen, wenn sie mit Social Media Überwachung arbeiten.

Credits

Support provided by Science Gallery Dublin

www.crowdsourcedintel.org