Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlightsPrix Ars Electronica 2017

CyberArts 2017

Opening THU September 7, 6:30 PM
THU Sept. 7, 10 AM-9 PM / FRI Sept. 8, 10 AM-7 PM / SAT Sept. 9, 10 AM-9 PM / SUN Sept. 10, 10 AM-7 PM / MON Sept. 11, 10 AM-7 PM
The exhibition is on display until after the festival, until September 17, 2017.
Light Barrier
Credit: Elliot Woods, Mimi Son

Experience digital arts! CyberArts presents the most outstanding entries from the Prix Ars Electronica, the international competition of computer art, this year for the 20th time at the OK Center of Contemporary Art. This year’s exhibition shows award-winners and distinguished works from the categories Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Hybrid Art and Digital Musics & Sound Art. The intelligent and entertaining presentation impressively depicts the developments in digital art, the current discourse, and the associated issues. A variety of the latest computer animations, impressive film productions and visual effects will be shown at the five-day Ars Electronica Animation Festival at Movie 1. A special highlight is the legendary OK Night on Saturday September 9 th with the Electronic Theatre at the open- air-cinema, Live DJs, concerts and performances on the roof and in the OK Deck.

CyberArts 2017 Flyer
(PDF file, 0,5 MB)

Download
k9typology_BORUT-PETERLIN_web

Hybrid Art – K-9_topology

What are we? Where do we come from and where are we going? Maja Smrekar’s artistic work revolves around these eternal questions of humanity. The work series K-9_topology, winner of the Golden Nica, consists of the four consecutive projects shown here, which each focus from different perspectives on the essence and the role of human beings and especially the role of a woman in increasingly tough bio political conditions of the present times.

Notyourmusic_Dimitri-della-Faille_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia

Not Your World Music is one of the few publications about contemporary noise* and industrial, electroacoustic and experimental music and sound art in South East Asia (Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam), and it is, by far, the most comprehensive published resource on noise music in South East Asia.

everything_David-OReilly_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Everything

Everything is a “sandbox narrative computer game”: the course of the game is free, allowing players to explore the game universe on their own, and no game is like another. Everything you see here, you can be, so you can transform yourself into a ladybug, a plant, a microbe, or even an entire galaxy.

drone_acoustics_Gonçalo-Freiria-Cardoso_Ruben-Pater_web

Hybrid Art – A Study into 21st Century Drone Acoustics

The artists Ruben Pater and the composer Gonçalo Freiria Cardoso are interested in the auditive dimension of military drones. In their project they emphasize the destructive aspects of this technology, calling attention to the negative psychological effects that inhabitants in areas of conflict are exposed to.

haem_haemproject_web

Hybrid Art – Haem

The vital chemical element of iron, which is also found in human blood, is the same element used to make weapons, shields, and tools, which have assured human survival and progress for thousands of years.

cellF_RafaelaPandolfini_web

Hybrid Art – cellF

There is a surprising similarity in the way neural networks and analogue synthesizers work: both receive signals and process them through components to generate data or sound. cellF combines these two systems.

opensourceestrogen_Mary-Maggic_Byron-Rich_web

Hybrid Art – Open Source Estrogen

The interdisciplinary project Open Source Estrogen combines biohacking and “speculative design”* to show the public the dominance and biological power of the hormone estrogen.

lisabuttinger

u19 – Create Your World – nonvisual-art

Lisa Buttinger uses the physical phenomenon of light refraction as her pictorial tool here. Two polarizing filters and cellophane foils arranged in different layers and angles transform the apparent nothingness into vivid colors, and the result is a unique spatial visual experience.

lightbarriere_Kimchi-Chips_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Light Barrier 3rd Edition

In a field of fog and sound, Light Barrier generates animated, magical, spatial images in the air. These are created by hundreds of light rays refracted by mirrors. The six-minute sequence is a journey through the cycle of birth, death and rebirth, and the human idea of space and time.

outofexile_Nonny-de-la-Pena_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Out of Exile

Out of Exile is an impressive virtual reality experience that deals with society’s negative attitude toward LGBTQ* youth. A boy named Daniel Ashley Pierce ends up in a heated conflict with his family due to his sexual orientation. Authentic audio recordings were used for the project, which Daniel recorded unnoticed during the actual argument.

microbial_Karen-Hogan_Michael-Hogan_Orkan-Telhan_web

Hybrid Art – Microbial Design Studio: 30-day Simit Diet

The Microbial Design Studio (MDS) was designed by researchers from the Design Class and the Biology Institute of the University of Pennsylvania with experts from industry. It is intended to allow laypeople to inform themselves about genetically modified organisms and the practices of transgenic design.

wellenwald_David-Ebner_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Wellenwald mit Bunker

In his installation Wellenwald mit Bunker, David Ebner reflects on the digital age and the influence of new media. The installation consists of a spruce trunk that leans on an object made of concrete. The surface of the trunk is completely covered with aluminum foil. Antennae are mounted on this, which pick up waves from their surrounding.

volnovod_Dmitry-Morozov_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Volnovod

The idea behind volnovod is based on the principle of conventional iPod earbuds and the special rubber that encases the earbud cables. This material prevents the wires inside from bending or breaking when the earbud cables become twisted or knotted.

m2_forensic-architecture_web

Hybrid Art – M2 Hospital

The hospital Omar Bin Abdul Aziz in Aleppo, also known as M2, was the target of fourteen bombings between June and December 2016. To be able to analyze the attacks, video and photo material taken in and around the M2 was collected and evaluated.

somaticecho_Kaela-Jensen_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Somatic Echo

Somatic Echo is a sound installation that turns the human body into an acoustic medium. With transducer loudspeakers and sensors fixed to the head, an eight-channel composition is transmitted directly into the body.

rekionvoice_Katsuki-Nogami_Taiki-Watai_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Rekion Voice

In the dystopian or seemingly post-apocalyptic setting of Rekion Voice, we are surrounded by robots that are essentially slaves. They are completely under human control: an infrared camera allows them to react directly to their masters, the audience, and follow them with blind loyalty.

luminiferousdrift_Evelina-Domnitch_Dmitry-Gelfand_web

Hybrid Art – Luminiferous Drift

The live installation Luminiferous Drift simulates the view from outer space of a hypothetical planet and ist weather phenomena. The experimental arrangement uses macroscopic protocells to physically simulate the movements of phytoplankton in a biosphere.

acoustic_synthesizer_Krzysztof-Cybulski_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Acoustic Additive Synthesizer

The Acoustic Additive Synthesizer (AAS) is an interactive object and instrument, which is based on the principles of a pipe organ. Pitch and volume, however, are controlled here by a computer. Each of the seven pipes has a motorized piston, which changes the pitch of the sound continuously, and a dedicated motorized air valve, which changes the volume of the sound.

imaginaryrhetorics_Soichiro-Mihara_web

Hybrid Art – imaginary rhetoric

imaginary rhetoric is the final part of the series “blank projects,” in which the artists deals with the effects of extreme situations such as natural disasters and disasters caused by humans. The fourth work, shown here, was inspired by the artist’s excursions to Fukushima and other sites where nuclear disasters have occurred.

glaciator_Joaquin-Fargas_web

Hybrid Art – Glaciator

The Glaciator robot helps glaciers to grow again by compacting and crystallizing the snow into firn (the intermediate state between snow and glacier ice), thus accelerating the ice formation process. This means the glaciers can grow the ice mass again, which they have lost due to climate change.

autoradiograph_Masamichi-Kagaya_web

Hybrid Art – Autoradiograph

Since the nuclear disaster in Fukushima in 2011, the actual extent of the release of radioactive particles has been hotly debated. Over a period of five years photographer Masamichi Kagaya in cooperation with Satoshi Mori, scientist and professor, collected many different samples in the affected area – from daily necessities to flora and fauna – and developed a 3D autoradiograph.

americaproject_Ken-Huang_web

Hybrid Art – The America Project

The America Project is a biotechnological art installation that produces a “collective genetic portrait.” For decades, DNA has been regarded as the sign of our individuality and identity. The artist applies the process of DNA gel electrophoresis to show that the DNA of humans is actually nearly identical.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlightsPrix Ars Electronica 2017

CyberArts 2017

Eröffnung DO 7.9.2017, 18:30
Öffnungszeiten: DO 7.9.2017 10:00-21:00, FR 8.9.2017 10:00-19:00, SA 9.9.2017 10:00-21:00, SO 10.9.2017 10:00-19:00, MO 11.9.2017 10:00-19:00
Die Ausstellung ist auch nach dem Festival noch bis 17.9.2017 im OK im OÖ Kulturquartier zu sehen.
Light Barrier
Credit: Elliot Woods, Mimi Son

Digitale Kunst erleben! Im Rahmen der CyberArts werden die prämierten Einreichungen des Prix Ars Electronica, des internationalen Wettbewerbs für Computerkunst, mittlerweile zum zwanzigsten Mal im OK im OÖ Kulturquartier gezeigt. In diesem Jahr stehen die Arbeiten der Kategorien Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Hybrid Art und Digital Musics & Sound Art im Zentrum. In der beeindruckenden Präsentation bilden sich die Entwicklungen der digitalen Kunst, der aktuelle Diskurs und die damit verbunden Fragestellungen ab – intelligent und unterhaltsam. Eine abwechslungsreiche Auslese von aktuellen Computeranimationen, Filmproduktionen und visuellen Effekten bietet das fünftägige Ars Electronica Animation Festival im Movie 1. Ein Highlight ist die bereits legendäre OK Night am Samstag, 9. September mit dem Electronic Theatre im Sommerkino, gefolgt von Live-DJs, Konzerten und Performances am Dach und im OK Deck.

CyberArts 2017 Flyer
(PD-Datei, 0,5 MB)

Download
k9typology_BORUT-PETERLIN_web

Hybrid Art – K-9_topology

Was sind wir? Woher kommen wir und wohin gehen wir? Maja Smrekars künstlerisches Werk kreist um diese ewigen Fragen der Menschheit. Die mit einer Goldenen Nica ausgezeichnete Werkserie K-9_topology besteht aus den vier hier gezeigten aufeinanderfolgenden Projekten, die sich jeweils aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven mit dem Wesen und der Rolle des Menschen und im Speziellen.

Notyourmusic_Dimitri-della-Faille_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia

Not Your World Music ist eine der wenigen Publikationen über zeitgenössischen Noise und Industrial, elektroakustische und experimentelle Musik und Klangkunst in Südostasien (Kambodscha, Indonesien, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar / Burma, die Philippinen, Singapur, Thailand, Vietnam) und mit Abstand die umfassendste Veröffentlichung zum Thema Noise-Musik in Südostasien.

everything_David-OReilly_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Everything

Everything ist ein „Sandbox Narrative-Computerspiel“: Der Spielablauf ist frei, man erkundet auf eigene Faust das Spieleuniversum, und kein Spiel gleicht dem anderen. Alles, was man hier sieht, kann man auch selbst spielen.

drone_acoustics_Gonçalo-Freiria-Cardoso_Ruben-Pater_web

Hybrid Art – A Study into 21st Century Drone Acoustics

Den Künstler Ruben Pater und den Komponisten Gonçalo Freiria Cardoso interessiert die auditive Dimension militärischer Drohnen. In ihrem Projekt heben sie die negativen Aspekte dieser Technologie hervor und machen auf die psychische Belastung, der BewohnerInnen von Krisengebieten durch Drohnen ausgesetzt sind, aufmerksam.

haem_haemproject_web

Hybrid Art – Haem

Das lebenswichtige chemische Element Eisen, das sich auch im menschlichen Blut findet, ist zugleich auch jenes Element, aus dem Waffen, Schilder und Werkzeuge hergestellt werden, welche der Menschheit schon vor Jahrtausenden das Überleben und Fortkommen sicherten.

cellF_RafaelaPandolfini_web

Hybrid Art – cellF

Es gibt eine überraschende Ähnlichkeit in der Art, wie neuronale Netze und analoge Synthesizer arbeiten: In beiden werden Signale empfangen und durch Komponenten bearbeitet, um Daten oder Ton zu erzeugen. cellF verbindet diese beiden Systeme.

opensourceestrogen_Mary-Maggic_Byron-Rich_web

Hybrid Art – Open Source Estrogen

Das interdisziplinäre Projekt Open Source Estrogen forscht an der Schnittstelle zwischen Biohacking und „Speculative Design“* und will der Öffentlichkeit die Dominanz und biologische Macht des Hormons Östrogen näherbringen.

lisabuttinger

u19 – Create Your World – nonvisual-art

Lisa Buttinger macht hier das physikalische Phänomen der Lichtbrechung zu ihrem bildnerischen Werkzeug. Zwei Polarisationsfolien und in unterschiedlichen Winkeln und Schichten angeordnete Zellophan-Folien verwandeln das scheinbare Nichts in kräftige Farben, und es entsteht ein einzigartiges räumliches Seherlebnis.

lightbarriere_Kimchi-Chips_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Light Barrier 3rd Edition

In einem Feld aus Nebel und Sound erzeugt Light Barrier animierte, magisch anmutende, räumliche Bilder in der Luft. Diese entstehen durch hunderte mittels Spiegeln gebrochene Lichtstrahlen. Die sechsminütige Sequenz ist eine Reise durch den Kreislauf von Geburt, Tod und Wiedergeburt und die menschliche Vorstellung von Raum und Zeit.

outofexile_Nonny-de-la-Pena_web

Computer Animation / Film / VFX – Out of Exile

Out of Exile ist ein eindrucksvolles Virtual-Reality-Erlebnis, das sich mit der ablehnenden Haltung der Gesellschaft gegenüber LGBTQ*-Jugendlichen beschäftigt. Ein Junge namens Daniel Ashley Pierce gerät aufgrund seiner sexuellen Orientierung mit seiner Familie in einen heftigen Streit. Für das Projekt wurden authentische Audioaufnahmen verwendet, die von Daniel während der tatsächlichen Auseinandersetzung unbemerkt mitgeschnitten wurden.

microbial_Karen-Hogan_Michael-Hogan_Orkan-Telhan_web

Hybrid Art – Microbial Design Studio: 30-day Simit Diet

Das Microbial Design Studio (MDS) wurde von ForscherInnen der Design-Klasse und des Biologie-Instituts der Universität von Pennsylvania mit Experten aus der Industrie entwickelt. Es soll Laien ermöglichen, sich über gentechnisch veränderte Organismen und die Praktiken transgenen Designs zu informieren.

wellenwald_David-Ebner_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Wellenwald mit Bunker

David Ebner reflektiert in seiner Installation über das digitale Zeitalter und den Einfluss neuer Technologien. Wellenwald mit Bunker besteht aus einem Fichtenstamm, der an einem Betonblock lehnt und dessen Oberfläche vollständig mit Aluminium überzogen ist. Auf ihm sind Antennen angebracht, die Wellen aus ihrer Umwelt einfangen.

volnovod_Dmitry-Morozov_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Volnovod

Die Idee hinter volnovod basiert auf dem Prinzip gewöhnlicher iPod-Kopfhörer und dem speziellen Gummi, welcher das Kopfhörerkabel umgibt. Dieses Material verhindert, dass sich der Draht im Inneren verbiegt oder bricht, wenn sich die Kopfhörerkabel ineinander verheddern und verknoten.

m2_forensic-architecture_web

Hybrid Art – M2 Hospital

Das Krankenhaus Omar Bin Abdul Aziz in Aleppo, auch bekannt als M2, war zwischen Juni 2016 und Dezember 2016 das Ziel von 14 Bombenangriffen. Um die Auswirkungen der Anschläge analysieren zu können, wurde Video- und Fotomaterial, das in und rund um das M2 aufgenommen wurde, gesammelt und ausgewertet.

somaticecho_Kaela-Jensen_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Somatic Echo

Somatic Echo ist eine Soundinstallation, die den menschlichen Körper in ein akustisches Medium verwandelt. Mithilfe von Wandler-Lautsprechern und am Kopf fixierten Sensoren wird eine 8-Kanal-Klangkomposition direkt in den Körper übertragen.

luminiferousdrift_Evelina-Domnitch_Dmitry-Gelfand_web

Hybrid Art – Luminiferous Drift

Die Live-Installation Luminiferous Drift simuliert den Blick aus dem Weltraum auf einen hypothetischen Planeten und dessen Wetterphänomene. Die Versuchsanordnung benutzt makroskopische Protozellen um die Bewegungen von Phytoplankton in einer Biosphäre physisch zu simulieren.

acoustic_synthesizer_Krzysztof-Cybulski_web

Digital Musics & Sound Art – Acoustic Additive Synthesizer

Der Acoustic Additive Synthesizer (AAS) ist ein interaktives Objekt und Instrument, das die Prinzipien einer Orgel aufgreift. Tonhöhe und Lautstärke werden hier allerdings vom Computer gesteuert: Jede der sieben Pfeifen verfügt über einen motorisierten Kolben, der die Tonhöhe kontinuierlich verändert, und über ein Ventil, das die Lautstärke variiert.

imaginaryrhetorics_Soichiro-Mihara_web

Hybrid Art – imaginary rhetoric

imaginary rhetoric ist der finale Teil der Serie „blank projects“, in der sich der Künstler auf die Auswirkungen von Extremsituationen wie Naturkatastrophen und von Menschen verursachten Katastrophen befasst. Die hier gezeigte, vierte Arbeit wurde von seinen Exkursionen nach Fukushima und anderen Orte, an denen Nuklearkatastrophen stattgefunden haben, inspiriert.

glaciator_Joaquin-Fargas_web

Hybrid Art – Glaciator

Der Glaciator-Roboter lässt Gletscher wieder wachsen, indem er den Schnee zu Firn (die Zwischenstufe zwischen Schnee und Gletschereis) verdichtet und damit den Prozess der Eisbildung vorantreibt. So können die Gletscher wieder jene Eismassen aufbauen, die aufgrund des Klimawandels abgeschmolzen sind.

dustblooms_Alexandra-R-Toland_web

Hybrid Art – Dust Blooms: a research narrative in artistic ecology

Dust Blooms greift einerseits die Schönheit und andererseits die Funktion der städtischen Pflanzenwelt auf und verbindet dabei künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Methoden. Mit ihrem Projekt möchte die Künstlerin auf die Relevanz des städtischen Ökosystems aufmerksam machen.

autoradiograph_Masamichi-Kagaya_web

Hybrid Art – Autoradiograph

Seit der Nuklearkatastrophe in Fukushima 2011 wird das tatsächliche Ausmaß der damals freigesetzten radioaktiven Substanzen heftig diskutiert. Mit ihrem Fotoprojekt macht Fotograf Masamichi Kagaya in Zusammenarbeit mit Satoshi Mori, Wissenschaftler und emeritierter Professor, radioaktive Kontaminierung sichtbar.

americaproject_Ken-Huang_web

Hybrid Art – The America Project

The America Project ist eine auf Biotechnologie basierende Kunstinstallation, bei der gewissermaßen ein „kollektives genetisches Porträt“ entworfen wird. Die DNA gilt seit Jahrzehnten als das Zeichen unserer Individualität und Identität.