Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

Deep Space 8K

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-8:00 PM
FRI Sept. 8, 2017, 10:00 AM-11:00 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
Ars Electronica Center
Deep Space
Credit: Robert Bauernhansl

Just in time for the festival, Deep Space 8K—the ultimate attraction at the Ars Electronica Center—is premiering a series of new and fascinating visualizations. Thanks to 16×9-meter projection surfaces on the space’s front wall and floor, 8K resolution and sophisticated technical features like laser tracking, festivalgoers are in for breathtaking worlds of imagery and mind-blowing experiences over the five-day festival run.

virtual-reconstruction-synagogue-in-Linz_Martin-Hieslmair_web

The Virtual Reconstruction of the Synagogue in Linz

In the Pogrom Night in November 1938, a mob acting on orders of the Nazi regime broke into the Linz Synagogue—like so many other Jewish houses of worship that night—ransacked it and set it ablaze. All that remained of the synagogue was a burnt-out ruin. In conjunction with the work on his master’s thesis at the Technical University of Vienna, René Mathe created a virtual reconstruction of the Linz Synagogue.

MemoriesOfBorderline_CyberRaeuber_2_web

The Memories of Borderline

The Memories of Borderline is a unique merger of theater and virtual reality. Schauspiel Dortmund and CyberRäuber have cooperated to create a new virtual, immersive and interactive space based on the stage and performance of the acclaimed play Die Borderline Prozession.

Best-of-animation_Tagtool_OMAi_web

Best of Animation Lab—Tagtool

Paint and animate live: Tagtool transforms your tablet into a live instrument for spontaneous visual expression. Paint with light, create animated graffiti or tell improvised stories. Tagtool can be used for jams and performances.

Grasping_Magdalena-Sick-Leitner_5_web

Grasping

This series of scientific experiments conducted by Dr. Manuela Macedonia and her staff at Johannes Kepler University Linz in cooperation with the Ars Electronica Center and the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, investigates learning a language in a virtual setting.

KTTV_Casey-Reas_web

Experimental

This program impressively demonstrates new and innovative approaches in current digital filmmaking at the interface of art and science—e.g. nature and bio-tech studies, morphogenesis, experiments with architecture, and perception.

SpaceDebris_LukasOppenauer_1_web

Eurogym Space Debris

Help us clean up Deep Space! Having fun with space junk? Eurogym Space Debris, a game developed by high school students at Europagymnasium Baumgartenberg, makes collecting cosmic garbage a competitive challenge.

DisenchantmentSpace_AtsushiTadokoro1_web

Disenchantment Space

In an artificial-intelligence society, a code is hidden from people. Even without understanding the meaning of the code we perceive it as a form of magic, which produces new results by using enormous quantities of data and broad parameters.

NextGenerationJKU_Christopher-Sonnleitner_web

Next Generation JKU

Linz’s Johannes Kepler University’s faculty includes outstanding research scientists whose work is quoted in some of the most highly respected scientific journals worldwide. So who are these brilliant young Upper Austrian scientists and what exactly are they doing research on?

FAT17_Guenter-Parth_web

FAT #2 DE/MATERIALIZE

Fibres, tissue, bodies de/materialize between real and virtual space. New surfaces and materialities evolve from bioplastics or desert plants; are welded, etched or boiled.

Divisional_Articulations_Max-Hattler_web

Expanded Abstractions

Abstract-animation artist Max Hattler presents a cross-section of his work in special versions created for Deep Space 8K at the Ars Electronica Center.

artur_Playful-Interactive-Environments_web

ARTUR: Autonomous Robot Playspace

ARTUR: Autonomous Robot Playspace is an interactive environment featuring a full-scale, three-dimensional virtual robot. Developed specifically for Deep Space 8K in the Ars Electronica Center

Hisn_al_Bab_MagdalenaSick-Leitner_3_web

Hisn al-Bab

This presentation invites the audience to experience the archaeological site Hisn al-Bab. It is little known but nevertheless played a significant role in Egyptian history, both with respect to its geography and its chronology. In historical terms, it was active at the very end of Roman rule and the Early Medieval Period, long after the pharaohs.

Deep Space Best of

Best of Deep Space 8K

The very best of the regular Deep Space 8K program at the Ars Electronica Center in German and English language.

CapillariesCapillaries_TadejDroljc_03_web

Capillaries Capillaries

Capillaries Capillaries is an audiovisual composition based on a non-hierarchical and bi-directional relationship between sound and image in real-time. The piece does not represent a visualization of music or sonification of an image but rather a tangle of audiovisual interactions.

Bird Song Diamond

Bird Song Diamond

Bird Song Diamond is a site- and habitat-specific interactive installation based on long-term research (2011-present), involving multifaceted, interdisciplinary perspectives—uniquely connecting the nodes of evolutionary biology, artificial intelligence and life, spatial sound, mathematics and mechatronics.

VH-Award_2016_Hyungkyu-Kim_web

VH Award

The VH Award’s purpose is to discover promising but relatively unknown Korean artists creating media art. It seeks to support the art-making process of these young, talented media artists but to also help them gain international recognition.

Austronomy_Resting_Florian-Voggeneder_web

Austronomy

Austrian astronaut Franz Viehböck’s lift-off to the MIR space station on October 1st, 1991, was accompanied by a euphoric celebration of this country’s giant leap into the cosmos. 25 years later, Florian Voggeneder boldly goes on a photographic mission to document the implications of this miniature Space Age.

ABYSMAL_VOID_02_web

ABYSMAL

Perception is the procedure of acquiring, interpreting, selecting and organizing sensory information. Perception presumes sensing. In people, perception is aided by sensory organs. In the area of Artificial Intelligence (A.I.), the perception mechanism puts the data acquired by sensors together in a meaningful manner.

Sanbaso_kein-Credit_1_web

Sanbaso

Sanbaso is an 8K documentary featuring a novel performing art by renowned Japanese artists. The stage is based on an ancient divine dance, the Sanbaso, praying to nature.

A_Flurrytale_PaulVincenthSchuetz_web

A Flurrytale

Four artists, three countries, two art fields, one topic. Reality vs. fantasy—these opposites have always been dividing people. But does one’s personal reality correspond to the mass understanding of it? What in fact influences the individual or mass definition of reality and imagination?

Pitoti-Prometheus_Frederick-Baker-Marcel-Karnapke_3_web

Pitoti Prometheus

Pitoti Prometheus is a first in VR: ancient rock art that literally comes alive at 360 degrees. It is the film with the longest production time in history.

namekawa_1_web

Interludium A, Isang Yun 3 Etudes for Piano, Philip Glass

Interludium A was created in 1982, two years after the democracy movement in Gwangju was crushed. This was a matter of profound concern to Isang Yun, who in the late 1960s, had himself been victimized by the political despotism of the military regime in power at the time.

Paradise-Growth_YoichiroKawaguchi02_web

Paradise “Growth” in Zero Gravity

Yoichiro Kawaguchi proposes high-quality computer graphics with approximately 8K resolution as an artistic expressionistic method and media for presenting artworks.

NoizeEtudes_TarlanRafiee_2_web

NOIZE Etudes

NOIZE Etudes is a live multimedia performance focusing on micro-sounds caused by binary operations in multiple layers of music coding.

iota_03_DENIZ-BIRGI_web

iOTA

Can machines totally replace humans, or is there a need for just the right combination of human and artificial intelligence—hybrid intelligence? We will turn our real-time onstage performance into a human vs. machine battle.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

Deep Space 8K

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-20:00
FR 8.9.2017, 10:00-23:00
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
Ars Electronica Center
Deep Space
Credit: Robert Bauernhansl

Pünktlich zum Festival präsentiert der Publikumsmagnet des Ars Electronica Center, der Deep Space 8K, eine Reihe von neuen und faszinierenden Visualisierungen. Dank der jeweils 16 mal 9 Meter großen Wand- und Bodenprojektionen, der 8K-Auflösung und technischer Raffinessen wie Lasertracking sind beeindruckende Erlebnisse und Bildwelten an diesen fünf Festivaltagen im September vorprogrammiert.

virtual-reconstruction-synagogue-in-Linz_Martin-Hieslmair_web

Die virtuelle Rekonstruktion der Synagoge in Linz

In den Pogromen der Nacht vom 9. auf den 10. November 1938 wurde die Linzer Synagoge, so wie viele andere jüdische Gotteshäuser auch, auf Veranlassung des NS-Regimes verwüstet und in Brand gesteckt. Im Rahmen seiner Diplomarbeit hat sich René Mathe die virtuelle Rekonstruktion der Synagoge zum Ziel gesetzt, um das ehemalige religiöse Zentrum jüdischen Lebens für Menschen heutzutage erfahrbar zu machen.

MemoriesOfBorderline_CyberRaeuber_2_web

The Memories of Borderline

The Memories of Borderline ist eine einzigartige Verbindung von Theater und virtueller Realität. Das Schauspiel Dortmund und die CyberRäuber schaffen, basierend auf der Inszenierung Die Borderline Prozession, einen immersiven und interaktiven, virtuellen Raum.

Best-of-animation_Tagtool_OMAi_web

Best of Animation Lab—Tagtool

Tagtool verwandelt ein Tablet in ein Zeichenboard, das es möglich macht, Ideen spontan zu visualisieren: Mit Licht malen, Grafiken animieren oder improvisierte Geschichten erzählen.

Grasping_Magdalena-Sick-Leitner_5_web

Grasping

In einer wissenschaftlichen Experimentreihe untersuchen Dr. Manuela Macedonia und ihr Team von der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz in Kooperation mit dem Ars Electronica Center und der Universität Mailand das Erlernen von Sprache in einer virtuellen Umgebung.

KTTV_Casey-Reas_web

Experimental

Dieses Programm demonstriert eindrucksvoll neue und innovative Wege innerhalb des aktuellen digitalen Films an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft.

SpaceDebris_LukasOppenauer_1_web

Eurogym Space Debris

Mit Eurogym Space Debris, einem Spiel von Schülern des Europagymnasiums Baumgartenberg, wird das Sammeln von Weltraummüll zur gemeinsamen Herausforderung.

DisenchantmentSpace_AtsushiTadokoro1_web

Disenchantment Space

In einer Gesellschaft, die von künstlicher Intelligenz bestimmt ist, wird Programmier-Code vor den Menschen verborgen. Obwohl wir seine Bedeutung nicht verstehen, halten wir ihn für eine Form der Magie, die durch die Nutzung von enormen Datenmengen und breiten Parametern neue Ergebnisse erzeugt.

NextGenerationJKU_Christopher-Sonnleitner_web

Next Generation JKU

An der Johannes Kepler Universität in Linz forschen herausragende WissenschaftlerInnen, deren Arbeit in den angesehensten wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften weltweit zitiert werden. Wer sind diese brillanten jungen oberösterreichischen WissenschaftlerInnen – und in welchen Bereichen forschen sie?

FAT17_Guenter-Parth_web

FAT #2 DE/MATERIALIZE

Fasern, Gewebe, Körper de/materialisieren sich zwischen realem und virtuellem Raum. Neue Oberflächen und Stofflichkeiten entstehen aus Bioplastik oder Wüstenpflanzen, werden gelötet, geätzt und gekocht. Präsentiert werden sie von materiellen und immateriellen Körpern, die unsere Vorstellungskraft herausfordern.

Divisional_Articulations_Max-Hattler_web

Expanded Abstractions

Der im Bereich abstrakter Animation tätige Künstler Max Hattler präsentiert in einer Spezialversion für den Deep Space 8K im Ars Electronica Center einen Überblick über seine Arbeiten.

artur_Playful-Interactive-Environments_web

ARTUR: Autonomous Robot Playspace

ARTUR: Autonomous Robot Playspace ist ein interaktives Environment mit einem lebensgroßen, dreidimensionalen virtuellen Roboter, das speziell für den Deep Space 8K im Ars Electronica Center entwickelt wurde.

Hisn_al_Bab_MagdalenaSick-Leitner_3_web

Hisn al-Bab

Die Präsentation lädt das Publikum ein, die archäologische Stätte Hisn al-Bab zu erkunden. Dieser Ort ist nicht sonderlich bekannt, spielte jedoch eine bedeutende Rolle in der ägyptischen Geschichte – sowohl geographisch als auch chronologisch. Seine historische Bedeutung erhielt Hisn el-Bab am Ende der römischen Herrschaft und im frühen Mittelalter.

Deep Space Best of

Best of Deep Space 8K

Best of Deep Space 8K bietet eine zweisprachige Zusammenschau (Deutsch und Englisch) der Höhepunkte aus dem regulären Deep-Space 8K-Programm des Ars Electronica Center.

CapillariesCapillaries_TadejDroljc_03_web

Capillaries Capillaries

Capillaries Capillaries ist eine audiovisuelle Komposition. Bild und Ton stehen in einer nicht-hierarchischen, wechselseitigen Beziehung in Echtzeit. In diesem Stück werden jedoch keine Bilddaten in Klänge umgesetzt oder Musik visualisiert, vielmehr handelt es sich um ein Gewirr von audiovisuellen Interaktionen.

Bird Song Diamond

Bird Song Diamond

Bird Song Diamond ist eine orts- und lebensraumspezifische interaktive Installation und basiert auf einer Langzeitstudie, von 2011 bis heute. Sie umfasst facettenreiche interdisziplinäre Perspektiven und verbindet Evolutionsbiologie, künstliche Intelligenz und Leben, Raumklang, Mathematik und Mechatronik.

VH-Award_2016_Hyungkyu-Kim_web

VH Award

Der VH Award fördert talentierte – aber noch relativ unbekannte – koreanische MedienkünstlerInnen, unterstützt sie in ihren künstlerischen Entwicklungsprozessen und macht sie einem internationalen Publikum bekannt.

Austronomy_Resting_Florian-Voggeneder_web

Austronomy

Als am 1. Oktober 1991 der erste österreichische Astronaut Franz Viehböck zur Raumstation MIR abhob, feierte man euphorisch Österreichs Schritt in das Raumzeitalter. 25 Jahre später begibt sich Florian Voggeneder auf fotodokumentarische Spurensuche nach den Auswirkungen dieses kleinen „Space Ages”.

ABYSMAL_VOID_02_web

ABYSMAL

Wahrnehmung ist die Beschaffung, Interpretation, Auswahl und Organisation von sensorischen Informationen. Wahrnehmen setzt Fühlen voraus. Im Bereich der künstlichen Intelligenz (A.I.) stellt der Wahrnehmungsmechanismus die durch Sensoren erfassten Daten sinnvoll zusammen.

Sanbaso_kein-Credit_1_web

Sanbaso

Sanbaso ist ein Dokumentarfilm in 8K-Auflösung. Renommierte japanische KünstlerInnen entwickelten eine völlig neue darstellende Kunst: zu sehen ist ein uralter heiliger Tanz, der die Natur verehrt – der Sanbaso.

A_Flurrytale_PaulVincenthSchuetz_web

A Flurrytale

Vier KünstlerInnen, drei Länder, zwei Kunstsparten, ein Thema. Realität versus Fantasie – diese Gegensätze haben die Menschen schon immer entzweit. Aber stimmt die eigene Realität mit dem allgemeinen Verständnis von Realität überein?

Pitoti-Prometheus_Frederick-Baker-Marcel-Karnapke_3_web

Pitoti Prometheus

Pitoti Prometheus ist ein vollkommen neuartiges Projekt im Bereich der Virtual Reality: alte Felskunst, sogenannte Petroglyphen, wird durch einen 360-Grad-Blick lebendig.

namekawa_1_web

Interludium A, Isang Yun 3 Etudes for Piano, Philip Glass

Interludium A entstand 1982, zwei Jahre nach der Niederschlagung der Demokratiebewegung in Gwangju, die Isang Yun, der Ende der 1960er Jahre selbst zum Opfer der politischen Willkür des damaligen Militärregimes wurde, besonders beschäftigte.

Paradise-Growth_YoichiroKawaguchi02_web

Paradise “Growth” in Zero Gravity

Yoichiro Kawaguchi schlägt vor, qualitativ hochwertige Computergrafiken mit einer 8K-Auflösung als künstlerisch-expressionistische Methode und Medium für die Präsentation von Kunstwerken einzusetzen.

NoizeEtudes_TarlanRafiee_2_web

NOIZE Etudes

NOIZE Etudes ist eine multimediale Live-Performance. Sie fokussiert auf Mikro-Klänge, die durch binäre Operationen in mehreren Schichten der Codierung von Musik entstehen.

iota_03_DENIZ-BIRGI_web

iOTA

Can machines totally replace humans, or is there a need for just the right combination of human and artificial intelligence—hybrid intelligence? We will turn our real-time onstage performance into a human vs. machine battle.

HOMODIGITALIS_presse_03_web

HOMO DIGITALIS—Wie lange sind wir eigentlich noch Mensch?

Werden wir irgendwann virtuelle Freunde und Freundinnen haben, Sex mit Sexrobotern besser finden als echten, unseren eigenen Körper hacken? Homo Digitalis ist eine Web-Serie über die Zukunftsfrage überhaupt: Was macht die digitale Revolution mit uns als Mensch?