FAQ

Do you have questions about the 2017 Ars Electronica Festival? Do you want to visit the festival? Are you artist or do you want to join the team of Ars Electronica? Here you will find the answers to frequently asked questions…

When and where?

The Ars Electronica Festival takes place once a year in early September in Linz, Austria, at various locations within the city centre. The 2017 theme of this international media art festival will be “Artificial Intelligence” and takes place from September THU 7 to MON 11, 2017.

Tickets?

The ticket prices for the 2017 Ars Electronica Festival are listed on www.aec.at/ai/tickets. Advanced ticket sales started in the end of June 2017 – you can order your tickets online. Of course, there’s the option of purchasing tickets during the Ars Electronica Festival (September 7-11, 2017) right on site at the box office during the respective business hours each day of the festival. In addition to festival passes admitting the holder to all events staged on all five days, Ars Electronica also offers single-day passes and tickets to individual events (symposia, forums, concerts). Under certain conditions, these tickets are made available at a discount. There is not a limited contingent of festival passes.

When will the festival program be published?

Get a first glimpse of the program on www.aec.at/ai/program. The festival website is continuously updated with the programming information. In August we will publish the full program with all details, times and locations on this website.

Special group programs?

Ars Electronica’s WE GUIDE YOU is pleased to offer customized activity programs and guided tours for large groups. Please contact us directly to discuss the details! festival@aec.at

Arrival

All festival locations either can be reached via public transport, bus or train, bicycle or are in walking distance (approx. 30 min).

By tramline: The tramlines 1, 2, 3 and 4 of LINZ AG take you comfortably through the city.

By train: Arrival via ÖBB or Westbahn to station Linz Hauptbahnhof (main railway station). The POSTCITY is located right beside the railway station.

By bus: Find out more about regional bus connections to Linz on the website of OÖVV. Long-distance busses either stop in front of the Wissensturm (opposite the main railway station) or at the Bahnhofplatz (station square) and are in walking distance to the POSTCITY.

PKW: You reach the POSTCITY via Waldeggstraße (B 139), Linz, Austria. The address is Bahnhofplatz 11, 4020 Linz, Austria. Please also think of the possibility to do carpooling. Find more information under klimakultur.at. Unfortunately, there are no parking spaces at the main festival location in the POSTCITY available. Public car parks are situated in the surrounding area: Garage Bahnhof – Wissensturm Linz, Hauptbahnhof Parkdeck, Bahnhof Landesdienstleistungszentrum

By plane: The Blue Danube Airport Linz is located in Hörsching (10 km distance to Linz). There are several possibilities to travel to Linz. For some people flying to Austria/Linz is the only possibility to come to the Ars Electronica Festival. There are various ways to counteract the with flying associated CO2-dioxide-emissions. Find more information and numerous measures here: klimaohnegrenzen.de.

Invitation Letter

If you need a letter of invitation in order to obtain a visa or for confirmation purposes in your dealings with public institutions, please contact us directly via e-mail: festival@aec.at

Hotel Recommendations

We recommend you to look early for an accommodation in or near Linz. If you’re looking for hotel accommodations during your stay in Linz, please visit: www.linztourismus.at/essen-und-schlafen/hotels

Photographic/Video recordings

By entering the exhibitions and/or taking part in events at the 2017 Ars Electronica Festival, you tacitly consent to any and all photographic and video recordings on which you are recognizable. By entering the exhibitions and/or taking part in events at the 2017 Ars Electronica Festival, you also tacitly and irrevocably consent to the use (in particular, publication, dissemination and utilization for advertising purposes) of any such photographic and video recordings by the Festival organizer and/or partner organizations in radio, television, print media, books, catalogs and photo-mechanical forms of duplication, etc. (film, DVD, Blu-Ray, etc.) without claim to compensation.

How can I propose my project?
How can I take part as an artist?

The festival has no open call. All substantive programming decisions are reached by the artistic directorial staff in accordance with the theme of the particular year’s festival. There are two ways to propose projects to be presented at Ars Electronica:

  • Submitting your project for Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration. Entries to the competition for the world’s most renowned prize in media art make up the most important project pool for exhibitions, performances and events at the Ars Electronica Festival. Submission information is available online at www.aec.at/prix! By the way: Even projects that emerge empty-handed from the Prix Ars Electronica judging are sometimes showcased at the festival. We strongly recommend submitting your project to the Prix Ars Electronica.
  • Sending in your project information. If you’re not interested in entering your project in a Prix Ars Electronica category or your project isn’t really suitable for submission, you can send an e-mail describing your work to festival@aec.at.

Are you interested in joining the festival crew?

In order to produce the many ambitious projects that are staged every September in Linz at the Ars Electronica Festival, we augment our staff every summer. We’re looking for project managers, project assistants, technicians and guides. By the way—we’re also always looking for technicians with skills in the following areas who are available from mid-August to mid-September: media technicians, audio/video/lighting technicians, carpenters, machinists, electrical technicians. Please check out Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG’s help-wanted listings at www.aec.at/jobs! If there’s no current opening in your line of work, please submit an application that we can keep on file for future reference. The best way to do that is via e-mail to our personnel department (jobs@aec.at)!

Do you need information for a scholarly work?

Ars Electronica has amassed one of the world’s largest archives about digital media art over the last 30 years. In addition to all Ars Electronica publications since 1979, it includes a comprehensive database with information about all submissions to the Prix Ars Electronica competition. To access the websites of prior festivals, go to www.aec.at/festival/archiv.

Publications

You can browse our publications in our online archive. Our publications are distributed by Hatje Cantz, and are available on site at the Ars Electronica Center as well as online at Amazon.de.

Contact

Do you have any further questions? We’d love to hear from you festival@aec.at

FAQ

Sie haben Fragen zum Ars Electronica Festival 2017? Sie möchten das Festival besuchen, als KünstlerIn teilnehmen oder beim Ars Electronica Festival mitarbeiten? Hier finden Sie Antworten zu den am häufigsten gestellten Fragen…

Wann und wo?

Das Ars Electronica Festival wird einmal jährlich Anfang September in Linz, Österreich, an mehreren Locations in der Stadt veranstaltet. 2017 widmet sich das internationale Medienkunstfestival dem Thema „Artificial Intelligence“ und findet von von DO 7. September bis MO 11. September 2017 statt.

Tickets?

Die Ticketpreise für das Ars Electronica Festival 2017 finden Sie auf www.aec.at/ai/tickets. Der Vorverkauf der Tickets startete Ende Juni – sie können die Tickets hier online beziehen. Sie können die Tickets jedoch auch während des Ars Electronica Festival (7.9.-11.9.2017) direkt vor Ort am Ticketcounter des Festivals, zu den jeweiligen Öffnungszeiten, erwerben. Ars Electronica bietet neben Festivalpässen, mit denen Sie alle Veranstaltungen während des gesamten Zeitraums besuchen können, auch Tagespässe und Tickets für Einzelveranstaltungen (Symposien, Foren, Konzerte) an. Unter bestimmten Vorraussetzungen können diese Tickets auch zu ermäßigten Preisen bezogen werden. Für Festivalpässe besteht kein beschränktes Kontingent.

Barrierefreiheit

Das Hauptgelände der POSTCITY und die weiteren Standorte des Festivals sind weitgehend frei zugänglich. Jedoch können – bedingt durch die baulichen Gegebenheiten – manche Ausstellungsflächen nicht barrierefrei zugänglich gemacht werden. Wir bitten um Ihre Verständnis!

Gibt es ein spezielles Programm für Gruppen?

Gerne bieten wir für große Gruppen maßgeschneiderte Angebote oder Gruppenführungen an. Treten Sie bitte direkt mit uns direkt in Kontakt, um die Details zu besprechen: festival@aec.at

Anreise

Alle Locations des Festival sind in Linz mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln (Straßenbahn, Bus und Bahn), dem Fahrrad oder auch zu Fuß (max. etwa 30 Min.) erreichbar.

Straßenbahn: Die Straßenbahnlinien 1, 2, 3 und 4 der LINZ AG bringen Sie bequem durch die Stadt.

Zug: Anreise mit der ÖBB oder Westbahn bis zur Haltestelle Linz Hauptbahnhof. Die POSTCITY befindet sich direkt neben dem Hauptbahnhof.

Bus: Informieren Sie sich auf den Seiten des OÖVV über regionale Busverbindungen nach Linz. Fernverkehrsbusse halten entweder vor dem Wissensturm (gegenüber dem Hauptbahnhof) oder am Bahnhofplatz und befinden sich in Gehweite zur POSTCITY.

PKW: Sie erreichen die POSTCITY in Linz über die Waldeggstraße (B 139), Linz. Die Adresse ist Bahnhofplatz 11, 4020 Linz, Österreich. Bitte nutzen Sie auch die Möglichkeit einer Mitfahrbörse oder Car-Sharing. Mehr Informationen dazu: klimakultur.at. Es gibt leider keine Gratis-Parkplätze in unmittelbarer Nähe der POSTCITY. Öffentliche Parkhäuser stehen kostenpflichtig in der Umgebung zur Verfügung: Garage Bahnhof – Wissensturm Linz, Hauptbahnhof Parkdeck, Bahnhof Landesdienstleistungszentrum

Flugzeug: Der Blue Danube Airport Linz liegt in Hörsching (10 km von Linz entfernt) und ist mit Bus, Bahn und Taxi mit der Stadt verbunden. Wenn Sie auf die Anreise mit dem Flugzeug nach Österreich/Linz nicht verzichten können, gibt es diverse Möglichkeiten, dem damit verbundenen CO2-Austoß entgegenzuwirken. Mehr dazu finden Sie auf klimaohnegrenzen.de.

Invitation Letter

Sollten Sie für Visums-Angelegenheiten oder der Vorlage bei öffentlichen Einrichtungen einen Einladungsbrief benötigen, treten Sie bitte direkt per E-Mail mit uns in Kontakt: festival@aec.at

Unterkunft / Hotel

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich schon frühzeitig um eine Unterkunft in oder um Linz zu kümmern. Eine Übersicht der Hotels in der Stadt finden Sie auf den Seiten von Linz Tourismus: www.linztourismus.at/essen-und-schlafen/hotels

Foto-/Filmaufnahmen

Mit Betreten der Ausstellungen bzw. Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen der Ars Electronica 2017 stimmen Sie etwaigen Foto- und/oder Videoaufnahmen, auf denen Sie erkennbar sind, zu. Einer Nutzung (insbesondere Veröffentlichung, Verbreitung, Verwendung für Werbezwecke) von solchen Foto- und/oder Videoaufnahmen durch den Veranstalter bzw. PartnerInneninstitutionen in Rundfunk, Fernsehen, Printmedien, Büchern, Katalogen, fotomechanischen Vervielfältigungen etc. (Filme, DVD, Bluy-Ray etc.) stimmen Sie ohne Anspruch auf Vergütung mit Betreten der Ausstellungen bzw. Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen der Ars Electronica 2017 unwiderruflich zu.

Wie kann ich mein Projekt vorschlagen?
Wie kann ich als KünstlerIn teilnehmen?

Das Ars Electronica Festival selbst hat keinen Open Call. Alle künstlerischen Programmentscheidungen werden ausschließlich unter Bezugnahme auf das jährlich wechselnde Thema durch unsere künstlerische Leitung getroffen. Sie können jedoch Projekte vorschlagen:

  • Einreichung Ihres Projekts beim Prix Ars Electronica. Der renommierteste Medienkunstpreis der Welt ist der wichtigste Projektpool für Ausstellungen, Performances und Events beim Festival Ars Electronica. Informationen zur Einreichung finden Sie unter www.aec.at/prix! Übrigens: Auch Projekte, die keine Auszeichnung im Rahmen des Prix Ars Electronica erhalten, werden immer wieder beim Festival ausgestellt. Wir empfehlen ausdrücklich die Einreichung Ihres Projekts beim Prix Ars Electronica.
  • Zusendung Ihrer Projektinformationen. Sollten Sie kein Interesse an einer Einreichung beim Prix Ars Electronica haben oder Ihr Projekt für eine Einreichung nicht in Frage kommen, können Sie uns Informationen zu Ihrer Arbeit auch gerne per E-Mail an festival@aec.at senden.

Sie haben Interesse, Teil des Festival-Teams zu werden?

Um die zahlreichen ambitionierten Projekte im Rahmen der jährlich im September in Linz stattfindenden Ars Electronica umsetzen zu können, verstärken wir jeden Sommer unser Team. Gesucht werden neben ProjektmanagerInnen, ProjektassistentInnen auch TechnikerInnen und Vermittlungspersonal! Übrigens: Wir sind auch immer auf der Suche nach TechnikerInnen mit Kenntnissen u.a. in Medientechnik, Audio/Video/Licht-Technik, Tischlerei, Schlosserei oder Elektrotechnik, die uns von Mitte August bis Mitte September unterstützen! Verfolgen Sie bitte die Job-Ausschreibungen der Ars Electronica Linz GmbH & Co KG unter www.aec.at/jobs! Sollte gerade keine Position ausgeschrieben sein, können Sie uns gerne Ihre Bewerbung in Evidenz schicken. Richten Sie Ihre Bewerbung vorzugsweise bitte per E-Mail an unser Personalmanagement (jobs@aec.at)!

Sie benötigen Informationen für wissenschaftliche Arbeiten?

Ars Electronica verfügt über eines der weltweit umfangreichsten Archive zur digitalen Medienkunst der letzten 30 Jahre. Es umfasst neben allen Ars Electronica-Publikationen seit 1979 auch eine umfassende Datenbank zu den Prix Ars Electronica Einreichungen. Zu den Websites vergangener Festival-Ausgaben gelangen Sie unter www.aec.at/festival/archiv.

Publikationen

Durchsuchen Sie unsere Publikationen in unserem Online-Archiv. Unsere Publikationen werden zudem über Hatje Cantz vertrieben und sind sowohl vor Ort im Ars Electronica Center als auch online über Amazon.de erhältlich.

Kontakt

Sie haben noch Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail an festival@aec.at