Site areas:
Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

Future Innovators Summit

Future Innovators Summit 2017
Credit: Tom Mesic


Missions for Tomorrow

From September 7-10, at Ars Electronica Festival 2017

Following its successful premiere at Ars Electronica Festival 2014, and subsequent inspirational editions in 2015 and 2016, the Future Innovators Summit (FIS) has established itself as a dynamic think-tank and key program within Ars Electronica Festival. Now in its fourth year, Future Innovators from different cultures and backgrounds and from different fields such as artists, designers, scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs, social activists and philosophers will gather in September in Linz to explore new ways of collective brainstorming and creative prototyping on the crucial questions of the future.

Supported by experienced partners such as Hakuhodo (JP) and Internet Foundation Austria as well as outstanding experts from all over the world, the Future Innovators of the Future Innovators Summit 2017 will be challenged to look for the ultimate Creative Question which will lead us to think about Missions for Tomorrow– concepts which are inevitably linked to the main topic of the festival “Artificial Intelligence – The Other I”.

Expanding on the creative questions from Future Innovators Summit 2016 (see www.aec.at/radicalatoms/en/fis) , the selected Future Innovators 2017 will imagine alternative future scenarios relating to the main topics and questions, and will try to find the new „Creative Questions“ for our future, which will presented to the festival audience in the end of the workshop.

What are the themes of FIS2017?

The Future Innovators of the Future Innovators Summit 2017 will be set the challenge of looking for the ultimate Creative Question for each theme, which will lead us to thinking of Missions for Tomorrow.

Future Humanity

When we are facing a world where machines could evolve to be better thinkers and better doers than humans, what future awaits us? And what will be our motivations to live? Future Humanity seeks out our visions and missions in correlation with technology, other beings and ourselves.

  • How can we be more human?
  • How can a machine love a human? And vice versa?
  • How can we live as a multiple “I”?

Future Work

Who or what defines our concept of work in today’s world and, when and how will this change? For what reasons and mission do we work, and what will we as humans be looking for in the future? Future Work will explore how and why we work and what the concept of work will really look like in years to come.

  • What if we don’t need to work anymore, what do humans need instead of working?
  • How can AI’s and humans share the same mission for the future?
  • What kind of education is needed for joblessness in the 21st Century?
  • What’s the role of social capital in driving regional sustainable growth and innovation?

Future Home

What is your home? The meaning of home has continuously been evolving since humans first walked the earth. Once considered as a refuge for survival, living and relaxing, but now for future nomads, what will smart homes, creative hubs, digital communities, cities and nation states be? What other factors of homes need attention for us to acknowledge the place that we take shelter, as home? Future Home asks you to evolvement of homes in the future.

  • What factors give us the feeling of home in the future? And what will the home look like?
  • How can we build a sense of solidarity as family and community in the future?
  • How can AI’s become a part of your family?

Program overview of FIS2017

Day 1 (THU Sept. 7, 2017) Kick Off Day
Day 2 (FRI Sept. 8, 2017) Free Inspiration Day
Day 3 (SAT Sept. 9, 2017) Intensive Workshop Day with support by Mentors
Day 4 (SUN Sept. 10, 2017) Final Presentation and Networking Day

Mentors

Previous FIS editions have shown that the Mentorship element was extremely valuable and all participating Mentors were inspirational initiators for the Innovators – and vice versa. In a dynamic environment, innovators and young professionals will have the opportunity to exchange ideas and ask leading experts for advice.

Mentors in the past years included: Victoria Vesna (artist and professor at UCLA Department of Design), Peter Wouda (Design Director at Volkswagen Future Center), Hiroshi Ishii (Professor at MIT MediaLab), Geeta Mehta (Professor at Columbia University), Oliviero Toscani (photographer), Joachim Sauter (founding member and Head of Design at ART+COM), Alexander Mankowsky (futurologist at Daimler) as well as Robert Madelin (EU-Commission/ Senior Advisor for Innovation).

Facilitators

The workshops will be facilitated by our partner Hakuhodo. The Hakuhodo facilitators will accompany the workshop process and lead the discussions during the Future Innovators Summit.

About

The Future Innovators Summit is a creative system which has been developed by Ars Electronica Futurelab and Hakuhodo.

At this summit, experienced professionals as well as young entrepreneurs and social activists, technicians and scientists and of course, artists and designers will meet each other at Ars Electronica Festival for mutual inspiration and exchange of ideas and know-how. The line-up will also include opportunities for participants to engage in dialog among each other and with the public audience. Besides a broad range of lectures, presentations and exhibitions, we want to build a ‘special taskforce’ of Future Innovators all over the world who will present their ideas and projects and who will discuss the current topics of the summit.

Why is this a unique opportunity? At the moment, one can find a growing line-up of events and gatherings for young entrepreneurs and start-ups, as well as a lot of hackathons, game jams etc. where the young community of programmers and developers can interact. The same goes for festivals of young artists and conferences of young social activists. What they all have in common is an exciting and virulently inspiring atmosphere, but they often also share a certain flavor of elitist exclusivity, and it’s sometimes difficult to access them as an emerging professional or even as an outsider. Even more surprising is that you can hardly find an event at which these inspiring talents, creators and innovators can convene, and do so across the borders of their communities and disciplines. But this crossover is exactly what we’re looking for!

Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative

The Future Innovators Summit itself has been developed by the Ars Electronica Futurelab and Hakuhodo since 2013 as part of their collaborative project entitled the Future Catalysts program.  Since that year, our alliance has expanded with the creation of the Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative, a mission-driven community to really act for shaping a better society together with artists and firms. Originally, art was not the core driving force for industries, but now we’re trying to form a unique meeting point between art and industries—stimulating innovation, visions and social discussions. The Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative is a community for discussing potential missions for the future. A mission includes intention and also a wish to do something. But this should be done together. The City of Tokyo, the headquarters of Hakuhodo, is one of the biggest ongoing social and future-orientated experiments. Together we are now trying to catalyze this new role of art for society. The Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative is also co-partner and a background force to sustain this Future Innovators Summit.

Seitenbereiche:
Conferences, Lectures, Workshops

Future Innovators Summit

Future Innovators Summit 2017
Credit: Tom Mesic


Missions For Tomorrow

7.9.2017–10.9.2017 beim Ars Electronica Festival 2017

Nach der erfolgreichen Premiere beim Ars Electronica Festival 2014 und den inspirierenden Folgeveranstaltungen 2015 and 2016 hat sich der Future Innovators Summit (FIS) als dynamischer Thinktank und Programmschwerpunkt im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festivals etabliert. Im nunmehr vierten Jahr des Summit werden sich Future Innovators aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen und mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund – Künstlerinnen, DesignerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, TechnikerInnen, EntrepreneurInnen, SozialktivistInnen und PhilosophInnen – im September in Linz treffen, um neue Wege kollektiven Brainstormings und kreativer Prototypenentwicklung zu entscheidenden Zukunftsfragen zu erörtern.

Unterstützt von erfahrenen Partnern wie Hakuhodo (JP) und der Internet Foundation Austria sowie von herausragenden ExpertInnen aus aller Welt, werden sich die Future Innovators des Future Innovators Summit 2017 der Herausforderung stellen, die ultimative „Creative Question“ zu finden, die uns inspiriert, über Missionen von morgen nachzudenken – die unweigerlich Bezug zum Hauptthema des Festivals Artificial Intelligence – Das andere Ich haben werden.

Aufbauend auf den „Creative Questions“ des Future Innovators Summit 2016 (siehe: www.aec.at/radicalatoms/de/fis), werden die auserwählten VordenkerInnen 2017 über alternative Zukunftsszenarien zu den Hauptthemen und Fragen diskutieren und sich auf die Suche nach den neuen „Creative Questions“ für unsere Zukunft begeben, die am Ende des Workshops für die Festivalbesucher präsentiert werden.

Was sind die Themen des FIS2017?

Future Humanity

Welche Zukunft erwartet uns angesichts einer Welt, in der Maschinen Menschen im Denken und Handeln bald überflügeln könnten? Und was wird unserem Leben dann Sinn verleihen? Future Humanity sucht im Kontext technologischer Entwicklungen nach neuen Visionen und Missionen für uns und andere Lebewesen.

  • Wie können wir menschlicher werden?
  • Wie kann eine Maschine einen Menschen lieben? Und vice versa?
  • Wie können wir als multiples „Ich“ leben?

Future Work

Wer oder was definiert unseren Arbeitsbegriff in der heutigen Welt und wann und wie wird sich dieser verändern? Aus welchen Gründen und wofür arbeiten wir, und wonach werden wir Menschen in Zukunft streben? Future Work untersucht, wie und warum wir arbeiten und wie sich der Arbeitsbegriff in den kommenden Jahren wandeln wird.

  • Angenommen, wir müssten nicht mehr arbeiten – was brauchen Menschen anstelle von Arbeit?
  • Wie können künstliche Intelligenzen (KI) und Menschen gemeinsam eine Mission für die Zukunft verwirklichen?
  • Welche Bildung ist für die Arbeitslosigkeit im 21. Jahrhundert erforderlich?
  • Welche Rolle spielt das soziale Kapital als treibende Kraft für nachhaltiges regionales Wachstum und Innovation?

Future Home

Was macht ein Zuhause aus? Seit es Menschen gibt, hat die Bedeutung des Zuhauses einen kontinuierlichen Wandel erfahren. Einst wurde es als Zufluchtsort betrachtet, um überleben zu können, als Refugium, das Schutz und Ruhe gewährt, doch was werden Smart Homes, kreative Hubs, digitale Communitys, Städte und Nationen den Nomaden der Zukunft bedeuten? Welche Faktoren sind zu beachten, damit ein Zufluchtsort zu einem Zuhause wird? Future Home thematisiert Fragen zum Zuhause der Zukunft.

  • Welche Faktoren werden uns in Zukunft das Gefühl verleihen, zuhause zu sein? Und wie wird dieses Zuhause aussehen?
  • Wie können wir als Familie und Gemeinschaft in Zukunft ein Solidaritätsgefühl entwickeln?
  • Wie können künstliche Intelligenzen (KIs) Teil der Familie werden?

Programmübersicht des FIS2017

1. Tag (7. Sept. 2017) Kick Off Day
2. Tag (8. Sept. 2017) Free Inspiration Day
3. Tag (9. Sept. 2017) Intensiver Workshop-Tag mit Unterstützung der MentorInnen
4. Tag (10. Sept. 2017) Abschlusspräsentation und Networking

MentorInnen

Die bisherigen FIS-Veranstaltungen haben gezeigt, dass die Betreuung und Beratung durch MentorInnen von unschätzbarem Wert ist; alle teilnehmenden MentorInnen waren für die InnovatorInnen überaus inspirierende Impulsgeber – und vice versa. InnovatorInnen und Nachwuchstalente werden auch diesmal wieder die Möglichkeit haben, in einem dynamischen Umfeld Ideen auszutauschen und renommierte ExpertInnen um Rat zu fragen.

Mentorinnen der letzten Jahre waren u.a.: Victoria Vesna (Künstlerin und Direktorin am UCLA Department of Design), Peter Wouda (Design Director bei Volkswagen Future Center), Hiroshi Ishii (Professor am MIT MediaLab), Geeta Mehta (Professorin an der Columbia University), Oliviero Toscani (Fotograf), Joachim Sauter (Gründungsmitglied und Head of Design von ART+COM), Alexander Mankowsky (Zukunftsforscher bei der Daimler AG) sowie Robert Madelin (EU-Kommission/ leitender Berater für Innovation).

Facilitators

Die Workshops werden von unserem Partner Hakuhodo unterstützt. Die Hakuhodo-Facilitators werden während des Future Innovators Summit den Workshopprozess begleiten und die Diskussionen leiten.

Über den Summit

Der Future Innovators Summit ist ein vom Ars Electronica Futurelab in Zusammenarbeit mit Hakuhodo entwickeltes kreatives Format.

Bei diesem Gipfeltreffen im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festivals werden erfahrene ExpertInnen mit jungen EntrepreneurInnen, SozialaktivistInnen, TechnikerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und natürlich KünstlerInnen und DesignerInnen zusammentreffen, um einander zu inspirieren und Ideen und Know-how auszutauschen. Das Programm bietet den TeilnehmerInnen auch Möglichkeiten, um miteinander und mit dem Publikum in Dialog zu treten. Neben einer Vielzahl an Vorträgen, Präsentationen und Ausstellungen möchten wir eine spezielle Arbeitsgruppe mit TeilnehmerInnen aus der ganzen Welt bilden, die ihre Ideen und Projekte präsentieren und die Themen dieses Jahres besprechen wird.

Warum ist dies eine einzigartige Möglichkeit? Derzeit gibt es eine wachsende Zahl an Veranstaltungen und Zusammenkünften für junge UnternehmerInnen und Starts-ups sowie zahlreiche Hackathons und Game-Jams, bei denen sich eine junge Gemeinschaft von ProgrammiererInnen und EntwicklerInnen austauscht. Gleichzeitig gibt es auch immer mehr Festivals junger KünstlerInnen und Konferenzen junger SozialaktivistInnen. Was sie alle gemeinsam haben, ist eine interessante und mitreißend inspirierende Atmosphäre, oft haftet ihnen aber auch ein Nimbus elitärer Exklusivität an, weshalb es im Allgemeinen ziemlich schwierig ist, als Außenstehender Zugang zu bekommen. Umso überraschender ist, dass kaum ein Event zu finden ist, bei dem diese inspirierenden Talente, Kreativen und InnovatorInnen über die Grenzen ihrer Communitys und Disziplinen hinweg zusammentreffen können. Genau ein solches Crossover streben wir an!

Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative

Der Future Innovators Summit wurde vom Ars Electronica Futurelab und Hakuhodo seit 2013 stetig weiterentwickelt und lief bisher unter ihrem kollaborativen Programm „Future Catalysts“. Seit diesem Jahr hat sich die Zusammenarbeit wieder erweitert – durch die Schaffung der Ars Electronica Tokio Initiative, eine missionsorientierte Community, die sich der Verbesserung der Gesellschaft widmet – gemeinsam mit KünstlerInnen und Unternehmen. Ursprünglich haben Industrien die Kunst nicht wirklich als zentrale treibende Kraft angesehen, aber nun versuchen wir einen einzigartigen Treffpunkt zu schaffen zwischen Kunst und Industrie – um Innovation, Visionen und soziale Diskussionen zu fördern. Die Ars Electronica Tokio Initiative ist eine Community, um mögliche Missionen für die Zukunft zu diskutieren. Eine Mission beinhaltet dabei stets eine Absicht und den Wunsch etwas zu tun. Aber das sollte gemeinsam geschehen. Die Stadt Tokio, wo auch Hakuhodo seine Firmenzentrale hat, ist eines der größten laufenden, sozialen und zukunftsorientierten Experimente. Gemeinsam versuchen wir derzeit diese neue Rolle der Kunst für die Gesellschaft zu formulieren. Die Ars Electronica Tokio Initiative ist auch Co-Partner und die treibende Kraft im Hintergrund, um diesen Future Innovators Summit durchführen zu können.