Site areas:

Allday Events

The following events are accessible all day with your ticket during the Ars Electronica Festival, September 7 to 11, 2017. Please note the start and end times of the respective events.

Bodyscape

POINT ZERO—Human.0, Machine.0, Data.0

The art projects assembled in the spacious confines of the venue’s lower levels are dedicated to the question of essences—of being human, of the machine, and what it means to be born out of code. Set in a spectacular bomb shelter and spaces housing this building’s mechanical infrastructure, this exhibition takes full advantage of the unique atmosphere of a former postal service logistics facility.

Archive Dreaming

Media Art between Natural and Artificial Intelligence

This exhibition offers a comprehensive look at current forms of artistic work with machine learning and AI. It is supplemented by a tutorial program by and for artists to impart what you have to know to get started using machine learning in artistic projects.

Ready to Crawl

The Practice of Art and Science

The rapprochement, as it were, of art and science, the artistic exploration of new applications, is a key factor in the increasingly social dimension of new technologies in order to comprehend how reciprocal human-machine relationships, interactions among individuals and globally networked systems can not only be better understood but, above all, better designed. International crews of artists and scientists have taken up this task, and now present their works in this exhibition space.

Deep Space

Deep Space 8K

Just in time for the festival, Deep Space 8K—the ultimate attraction at the Ars Electronica Center—is premiering a series of new and fascinating visualizations. Thanks to 16×9-meter projection surfaces on the space’s front wall and floor, 8K resolution and sophisticated technical features like laser tracking, festivalgoers are in for breathtaking worlds of imagery and mind-blowing experiences over the five-day festival run.

STARTS Prize 2017

STARTS Prize Exhibition 2017

Appointed by the European Commission, Ars Electronica has launched a prize to select the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the nexus of science and technology with the arts. Ars Electronica 2017 presents a selection of the prizewinning and nominated works of STARTS Prize 2017.

Light Barrier

CyberArts 2017

Experience digital arts! CyberArts presents the most outstanding entries from the Prix Ars Electronica, the international competition of computer art, this year for the 20th time at the OK Center of Contemporary Art. This year’s exhibition shows award-winners and distinguished works from the categories Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Hybrid Art and Digital Musics & Sound Art. The intelligent and entertaining presentation impressively depicts the developments in digital art, the current discourse, and the associated issues.

Samantha

Artificial Intimacy

Can a human love a robot? Can a robot love a human? When it comes to the question of how deep the emotional bonds between human beings and machines can get, then it pays to take a peek at a very special branch purveying futuristic technical visions: smart sex toys, tele-dildonics and sex robots. “Artificial Intimacy” permits you to enter this erogenous zone.

Art Market

Ars Electronica Gallery Spaces

The Ars Electronica Gallery Spaces were coined in response to growing mutual interest on the part of media artists, collectors and galleries as a setting for protagonists to compare experiences and to discuss, among other topics, such core issues as the long-term maintenance and conservation of media-art projects and the many new formats and business models manifesting themselves on the growing online art market.

Eremocene1_DenisBeaubois_web

Eremocene (Age of Loneliness)

A mysterious, internally glowing creature, witnessed from several vantage points moves uncannily in a fluid motion within dense blackness. In a life-like, bio-morphic form, continually fading in and out of perception, enveloping sound, vision and movement are as one.

Mini Maker Faire

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Makers who love experimentation present their do-it-yourself projects on Sunday. Above all, this is about dialog: people can exchange their knowledge and experiences in speeches and workshops.

ExtremeEnvironments_TheSchoolofCreativeMedia2012_web

FEMINIST CLIMATE CHANGE: Beyond the Binary

With the selected works, we aim to converge the issues in feminism with environmentalism. By framing the exhibition in this way, it is our hope to reinvigorate the eco-feminism that emerged in the 70s and was ignored for much too long. In this particular context, at the Ars Electronica festival in Linz, we address the local and transnational issues of feminism in media arts and the global issue of climate change.

SUMBIOPHILIA_StefanEngelbrechtNielsen_web

Roads Less Travelled by . . .

The exhibition “Roads Less Travelled by . . .” features student projects from the Art and Technology course and the Erasmus Joint Master in Media Arts Cultures at Aalborg University. All student projects are the results of critical academic inquiries into art, technology and culture involving problem-based research and learning processes.

vrlab_web

VRLab

Virtual reality, augmented reality and mixed reality, total immersion in virtual worlds and superimposing data onto our reality—for several years now, everybody has been talking up these concepts and ideas once again. The VRLab in the Ars Electronica Center’s Main Gallery showcases the latest VR, AR and MR technologies.

pacathon_web

Pacathon

Pacathon is an open innovation lab for discussing future play and future society through prototypes exploring new utilizations of PAC-MAN for people. PAC-MAN is a video game algorithm that was released by BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Inc. (formerly NAMCO) in 1980.

BR41NIO_web

BR41N.IO Hackathon

The BR41N.IO Hackathon brings together engineers, programmers, physicians, designers, artists and fashionistas to collaborate intensively as an interdisciplinary team. They plan and produce their own fully functional EEG-based brain-computer interface headpiece to control a drone, a Sphero or e-puck robot or an orthosis with motor imagery.

WiMA_Website_ganz_web

Women in Media Arts

Women in Media Arts is one of the most comprehensive databases dedicated to women working in these genres. It was started with information about women who have made a mark on the 36-year history of Ars Electronica and was opened to the public last year.

Gender-Doll_web

Social Things

The exhibition “Sense of Space and Time” contains fourteen projects ranging between design, art and technology. The projects were created by bachelor’s students from the Institute of Art Education, School of Arts, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, and by master’s students from the LMU Department of Informatics.

AUSSENINNEN_web

Outside—Inside

A person’s outer appearance, which can be deliberately modified, is juxtaposed to their fragile, immutable inner beauty. A human being’s exterior is characterized by age, cultural influences, social background, facial expressions and many other factors, and people can change how they “beautify” themselves, to a certain extent.

Sempookin_web

Sempookin Quartette

The Tokyo-based artist and musician Ei Wada started the “Electronicos Fantasticos!“ project, where he revives old domestic electronic devices and turns them into electronic musical instruments, in 2015. Among the various instruments the project has created is the “Sempookin“ (literally, “electric fan harp”).

QUT

Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy @ QUT 2017

Since 2012 the Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy has been supporting students and educators from international partner universities to engage in transdisciplinary practice. Collaborations with renowned universities in China, Japan and Australia have resulted in a range of exhibits and performances being presented at the Ars Electronica Festival.

kinetix_Jifei-Ou_web

Radical Atoms

How do we get the digital (back) into the physical world? An answer to this question could be so-called radical atoms. In a sort of digital core meltdown, they bond information and material—the information liberated from the constraints of the pixel realm, the atoms wrenched out of their static state and set in motion. The results are smart materials that can be computer-modeled and remodeled into ever-new forms.

Bio-Austria-OOE_3_web

Farmers’ Market

Bio Austria is the association of Austrian organic farmers and thus the advocacy group for organic farming in this country. With approximately 12,500 members, it is also Europe’s largest organic farming association.

Young Juvenile Youth “Animation”, Akihiko Taniguchi

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2017

The seventeen programs on the lineup of this year’s Ars Electronica Animation Festival – screened at Moviemento Movie 1 – are once again an international showcase of excellence in current digital filmmaking.

Workshop Space

The Workshop Space is located in a room with a big triangular table with room for speakers, artists and visitors alike. Visitors can join the discussions and presentations or just sit at the table and listen.

Lecture Stage

Being the smaller sister of the big Conference Stage so to speak, the Lecture Stage will also be a hot spot for attending high-level panel discussions with top-class lecturers.

TurntonDocklands_web

Featured Artists: Time’s Up

A new generation of artists emerged in Linz in the 1990s, where, as you might expect in a town of heavy industry, they began concentrating on the technological changes happening in our habitat. Particularly noteworthy is the Time’s Up collective headquartered in the “idyllic” setting of Linz Harbor. The group, which has gone on to make a name for itself worldwide, is this year’s Featured Artist. The Lentos Art Museum will showcase its work.

WN_Image_ET65_Studio_08_web

ET 65

Driving a six-ton earthmover using only the power of your mind or your eyes? Outfitted with cutting-edge BCI and eye-tracking technology, visitors of all ages can maneuver an ET 65 track-driven earthmover and operate its 7-meter-long excavator arm.

oe1_ticketing-b-Kopie_ANYTIME_web

The Mobile Ö1 Atelier

Almost traditionally Ars Electronica Festival and cooperation partner Ö1 stage the Mobile Ö1 Atelier. The living cooperation with Austria’s cultural public-radio broadcasting station is once again located at the entrance to the festival’s main quarter, POSTCITY.

emotivation_Julian-Jauk_web

e-mot-ivat-ion—Feeling the Ex-Tension

The installation makes the im-mediate/d interaction in social situations felt by media—by sound-gestures mediating the hedonic value of bodily interactions and in this way creating common emotional environments.

2DZellkomplex_web

Sense of Space and Time

The exhibition “Sense of Space and Time” contains fourteen projects ranging between design, art and technology. The projects were created by bachelor’s students from the Institute of Art Education, School of Arts, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, and by master’s students from the LMU Department of Informatics.

Fuzzy_Logic-Machine_Gabriela-Gordillo_Irene-Rodenas_web

Made in Linz

Students in the Interface Cultures master’s program experiment with the development of interactive prototypes, musical interfaces, conceptual installations and interaction critiques and also broaden their view by encountering and collaborating with other international fellows who are investigating these topics from a different cultural context. All the artworks, prototypes and various interfaces in this year’s exhibition have been made in Linz.

Magnetic-Islands

Computer Music & Media Composition

The three installations presented at the POSTCITY, laying out sonic spaces rather than musical sequences, reflect not only this fundamentally open approach to the question of what musical art is or could be these days, but also the media composition course’s deep integration into the university’s other fields of study.

Semiotics-of-the-Laboratory_Spela-Petric_web

Semiotics of the Laboratory

Semiotics of the Laboratory aims to question the symbolic and semantic properties of laboratory practices when they are interpreted at face value—that is, merely through their visual observation, without the narrative that tries to explain their scientific meaning. It is a laboratory observing the interpretation of the laboratory practice itself.

Driftscope_Francele-Cocco_web

Natural Intelligence—NI

Natural Intelligence—NI is a selection of artworks from the research group GIIP and its partners. The assistive interfaces pursue the development of devices to enable people with physical and mental disabilities and/or immobility to talk, produce and teach arts—including three-dimensional scenery and sound.

gonimo_web

netidee Open Source Community Camp

The netidee Open Source Community Camp is a two-day workshop that offers producers of open-source projects the opportunity to consolidate their efforts, to design them with sustainability in mind, and to obtain valuable input from mentors, experts and colleagues.

TopSwingGolfRobot_07_web

Top Swing Golf Robot 3.0

SOFEA’s Top Swing Golf Robot 3.0 is an electronically controlled swing robot made in Germany. Beginners, advanced players and professional golfers can work on their own individual swing.

PlasticLab_BenjaminVonWong_web

The Plastic Lab

Washed up on our coasts in obvious and clearly visible form, the plastic pollution spectacle blatantly emerging on our beaches is only the prelude to the greater story that has unfolded further away in the world’s oceans, yet mostly originating from where we stand: the land. For more than fifty years, the global production and consumption of plastics has continued to rise.

STWST48x3-MIND-LESS_web

STWST48x3: 48 Hours MIND LESS

An der Donau in Urfahr und unter dem Motto MIND LESS bietet STWST48x3, die dritte Ausgabe von STWST48, eine non-stop-48-Stunden-Showcase-Kunst-Extravanganza der expandierenden Art.

geheimnis_dialog_web

Geheimnis & Di@log

Die Ausstellung „GEHEIMNIS – Ein gesellschaftliches Phänomen“ schafft einen interaktiven Raum für die selbstreflexive Auseinandersetzung mit den zentralen Gegenwartsfragen um persönliche Freiheit und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung.

Seitenbereiche:

Ganztägige Veranstaltungen

Folgende Veranstaltungen sind während des Ars Electronica Festival von 7. bis 11. September 2017 mit Ihrem Festival-Ticket ganztägig zugänglich. Bitte beachten Sie die Beginn- und Endzeiten der jeweiligen Veranstaltungen.

Bodyscape

POINT ZERO—Human.0, Machine.0, Data.0

Die künstlerischen Projekte, die in den weitläufigen Ausstellungsflächen in den Untergeschossen versammelt sind, beschäftigen sich alle mit der Frage des Seins – was macht einen Menschen, eine Maschine aus? Was bedeutet es, wenn etwas aus Code entstanden ist? Diese Ausstellung im spektakulären Luftschutzkeller und in den Räumen, die die mechanische Infrastruktur des früheren Postsortierzentrums beherbergen, nutzt die einzigartige Atmosphäre des Gebäudes.

Archive Dreaming

Medienkunst zwischen natürlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz

Diese Ausstellung bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über aktuelle künstlerische Arbeiten, die maschinelles Lernen und AI verwenden. Ergänzt wird sie durch ein Seminar-Programm von und für KünstlerInnen, in denen man sich das Rüstzeug aneignen dafür kann, um bei künstlerischen Projekt selbst mit maschinellem Lernen zu arbeiten.

Ready to Crawl

Die Praxis von Kunst und Wissenschaft

Die Annäherung zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft und die künstlerische Erkundung neuer Anwendungen bilden einen Schlüsselfaktor für das Verständnis der sozial immer relevanteren Dimensionen neuer Technologien. Sie helfen uns nicht nur zu verstehen, wie Mensch-Maschinen-Beziehungen und Interaktionen zwischen Individuen oder global vernetzten Systemen verbessert werden können, sondern vor allem auch dabei, wie schon der Designprozess selbst optimiert werden kann. Internationale Teams von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler haben sich dieser Aufgabe gestellt und präsentieren nun ihre Arbeiten im Rahmen dieser Ausstellung.

Deep Space

Deep Space 8K

Pünktlich zum Festival präsentiert der Publikumsmagnet des Ars Electronica Center, der Deep Space 8K, eine Reihe von neuen und faszinierenden Visualisierungen. Dank der jeweils 16 mal 9 Meter großen Wand- und Bodenprojektionen, der 8K-Auflösung und technischer Raffinessen wie Lasertracking sind beeindruckende Erlebnisse und Bildwelten an diesen fünf Festivaltagen im September vorprogrammiert.

STARTS Prize 2017

STARTS Prize Exhibition 2017

Im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission hat Ars Electronica einen Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben, bei dem innovative Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst ausgezeichnet wurden. Ars Electronica 2017 zeigt eine Auswahl der ausgezeichneten und nominierten Arbeiten des STARTS Prize 2017.

Light Barrier

CyberArts 2017

Digitale Kunst erleben! Im Rahmen der CyberArts werden die prämierten Einreichungen des Prix Ars Electronica, des internationalen Wettbewerbs für Computerkunst, mittlerweile zum zwanzigsten Mal im OK gezeigt. In diesem Jahr stehen die Arbeiten der Kategorien Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Hybrid Art und Digital Musics & Sound Art im Zentrum. In der beeindruckenden Präsentation bilden sich die Entwicklungen der digitalen Kunst, der aktuelle Diskurs und die damit verbunden Fragestellungen ab – intelligent und unterhaltsam.

Samantha

Artificial Intimacy

Kann ein Mensch einen Roboter lieben? Kann ein Roboter einen Menschen lieben? Wenn wir verstehen wollen, wie tief die emotionale Bindung zwischen Menschen und Maschinen werden kann, dann sollten wir einen Blick auf ein spezielles Genre futuristisch-technischer Visionen werfen: smarte Sex-Spielzeuge, Tele-Dildos und Sex-Roboter. „Artificial Intimacy“ ist ein erster Schritt in diese erogene Zone.

Art Market

Ars Electronica Gallery Spaces

Die Ars Electronica Gallery Spaces wurden in Reaktion auf das wachsende gegenseitige Interesse bei Medienkünstlern und -künstlerinnen, Sammlern und Sammlerinnen und Galerien ins Leben gerufen. Sie bietet ein Setting, in dem die ProtagonistInnen Erfahrungen austauschen und zentrale Fragen wie Langzeit-Erhaltung und -Bewahrung von Medienkunstprojekten oder die vielen neuen Formate und Geschäftsmodelle diskutieren, die sich im wachsenden Online-Kunstmarkt herausbilden.

Eremocene1_DenisBeaubois_web

Eremocene (Age of Loneliness)

Ein geheimnisvolles, von innen leuchtendes Geschöpf, beobachtbar aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln, bewegt sich mit fließenden Bewegungen unheimlich in der Finsternis. Diese lebensnahe, biomorphe Form, die erscheint und wieder verblasst, wird eins mit den Klängen, Visionen und Bewegungen ihrer Umgebung.

Mini Maker Faire

Mini Maker Faire Linz

Am Sonntag stellen experimentierfreudige MakerInnen ihre Do-it-yourself-Projekte vor: Die Mini Maker Faire Linz ist aber nicht nur eine Plattform zur Präsentation, sondern vor allem auch für den Dialog in Vorträgen und Workshops aus.

ExtremeEnvironments_TheSchoolofCreativeMedia2012_web

FEMINIST CLIMATE CHANGE: Beyond the Binary

Anhand der ausgewählten Arbeiten möchten wir die Fragen, die im Feminismus diskutiert werden, mit jenen zusammenbringen, die im Umweltschutz Thema sind. Wir hoffen, durch diesen konzeptuellen Rahmen der Ausstellung den Öko-Feminismus, der in den 1970er-Jahren aufkam und lange ignoriert wurde, wieder zu stärken. In diesem speziellen Kontext – beim Ars Electronica Festival in Linz – behandeln wir lokale und länderübergreifende Fragen des Feminismus in der Medienkunst und das globale Problem des Klimawandels.

SUMBIOPHILIA_StefanEngelbrechtNielsen_web

Roads Less Travelled by . . .

Die Ausstellung Roads Less Travelled by … präsentiert studentische Projekte des Studiengangs Art and Technology und des Erasmus Joint Master in Media Arts Cultures an der Universität Aalborg. Alle studentischen Projekte sind das Ergebnis kritischer akademischer Untersuchungen in Kunst, Technologie und Kultur, die problembasierte Forschung und Lernprozesse beinhalten.

vrlab_web

VRLab

Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and Mixed Reality, das Eintauchen in virtuelle Welten und die Überlagerung unserer Realität mit Daten: Begriffe und Ideen, die seit einigen Jahren wieder in aller Munde sind. Das Ars Electronica Center zeigt im VRLab in der Main Gallery die neuesten VR-, AR-und MR-Technologien.

pacathon_web

Pacathon

Das Open-Innovation-Lab Pacathon erforscht die Zukunft des Spielens und der Gesellschaft anhand von Prototypen, die neue Nutzungsformen für Pac-Man testen. PAC-MAN ist ein Videospielalgorithmus, der von Bandai Namco Entertainment Inc. (früher: Namco) 1980 veröffentlicht wurde.

BR41NIO_web

BR41N.IO Hackathon

BR41H.IO Hackathon bringt IngenieurInnen, ProgrammiererInnen, Ärzte und ÄrztInnen, DesignerInnen, KünstlerInnen und Modefreaks in einem interdisziplinären Team zusammen. Sie planen und produzieren ihr eigenes funktionsfähiges Headset für ein EEG-basiertes Brain-Computer-Interface

WiMA_Website_ganz_web

Women in Media Arts

Women in Media Arts ist eine umfangreiche Datenbank, die sich speziell den Frauen in der Medienkunst widmet. Die Datenbank startete mit Informationen über Protagonistinnen, die eine Spur in der 36-jährigen Geschichte der Ars Electronica hinterlassen haben und wurde um ein öffentliches Eingabemodul erweitert.

Gender-Doll_web

Social Things

Der Studienzweig „MA Interaction Design Communication“ ist ein praxisnahes, zukunftsorientiertes Design-Studium für eine technologieaffine, interdisziplinäre Design-Welt unter anderem mit den Schwerpunkten Interaktionsdesign, Design-Prototyping, Physical Computing, userzentriertes Design, quelloffenen digitalen Plattformen, Designforschung und digitale Künste.

AUSSENINNEN_web

Außen—Innen

„Außen—Innen“ stellt das bewusst veränderbare äußere Erscheinungsbild eines Menschen seinem inneren, fragilen und unberührten Schönen gegenüber.

Sempookin_web

Sempookin Quartette

Der in Tokio lebende Künstler und Musiker Ei Wada startete das Projekt Electronicos Fantasticos! im Jahr 2015. Er baute aus alten Elektrogeräten Musikinstrumente. Eines der Instrumente, die so entstanden sind, ist die Sempookin, wörtlich die Ventilatoren-Harfe.

QUT

Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy @ QUT 2017

Seit 2012 unterstützt die Ars Electronica Futurelab Academy Studierende und Lehrende von internationalen Partneruniversitäten in ihren Bemühungen, eine transdisziplinäre Praxis zu entwickeln. Kollaborationen mit renommierten Universitäten in China, Japan und Australien resultierten in einer Reihe von Ausstellungen und Performances, die beim Ars Electronica Festival präsentiert werden.

kinetix_Jifei-Ou_web

Radical Atoms

Wie bekommen wir das Digitale (wieder) in die physische Welt? In enger Kooperation mit Professor Hiroshi Ishii vom MIT-Medialab wird in der Ausstellung „RADICAL ATOMS – Die Dinge neu denken“ versucht diese Frage zu beantworten.

Bio-Austria-OOE_3_web

Bio-Bauernmarkt

BIO AUSTRIA ist der Verband der österreichischen Biobäuerinnen und Biobauern und damit die Vertretung der biologischen Landwirtschaft in Österreich. Mit etwa 12.500 Mitgliedsbetrieben ist sie Europas größter Bioverband.

Young Juvenile Youth “Animation”, Akihiko Taniguchi

Ars Electronica Animation Screening 2017

Das Ars Electronica Animation Festival ist mit seinen 17 Programmen, die im Movimento Kino 1 das ganze Festival lang täglich gezeigt werden, einmal mehr eine Gesamtschau für aktuelle internationale Kreationen des digitalen Films.

Workshop Space

Der Workshop Space befindet sich in einem Raum, in dessen Mitte ein großer dreieckiger Tisch Vortragenden, KünstlerInnen und FestivalbesucherInnen gleichermaßen Platz bietet. BesucherInnen können an Diskussionen und Präsentationen zu verschiedenen Themen teilnehmen oder einfach mit am Tisch sitzen und zuhören.

Lecture Stage

Sozusagen als kleinere Schwester der großen Konferenzbühne können dieses Jahr bei der Lecture Stage spannende Podiumsdiskussionen mit hochkarätigen Vortragenden besucht werden.

TurntonDocklands_web

Featured Artists: Time’s Up

Im Linz der 1990er-Jahre bildete sich eine neue Generation von Künstlern und Künstlerinnen heraus, die sich, wie man es in einer von Schwerindustrie geprägten Stadt erwarten kann, auf die technologischen Veränderungen in unserer Umwelt konzentrierten. Besonders bemerkenswert ist das Kollektiv Time‘s Up, das sein Hauptquartier im „idyllischen“ Linzer Hafen hat. Die Gruppe, die sich weltweit einen Namen gemacht hat, ist „Featured Artist“ des Ars Electronica Festival 2017. Die Arbeiten des Kollektivs werden im LENTOS Kunstmuseum ausgestellt.

WN_Image_ET65_Studio_08_web

ET 65

Einen sechs Tonnen schweren Bagger steuern allein durch die Kraft der Gedanken oder der Augen? Mittels hochmodernen BCI-Technologien und Methoden des Eye-Tracking können BesucherInnen, egal welchen Alters, den Kettenbagger ET 65 ansteuern und seinen 7 Meter langen Baggerarm bewegen.

oe1_ticketing-b-Kopie_ANYTIME_web

Mobiles Ö1 Atelier

Es hat beinahe schon Tradition, dass das Ars Electronica Festival und sein Kooperationspartner Radio Ö1 das mobile Atelier gestalten. Auch in diesem Jahr markiert es wieder den Haupteingang zum Festivalgelände der POSTCITY.

emotivation_Julian-Jauk_web

e-mot-ivat-ion—Feeling the Ex-Tension

Die Installation macht die un-mittelbare Interaktion in sozialen Situation spürbar – durch Klanggesten, die den hedonistischen Wert körperlicher Interaktionen vermitteln und so eine gemeinschaftliche emotionale Umgebung schaffen.

2DZellkomplex_web

Sense of Space and Time

Die Ausstellung „Sense of Space and Time“ umfasst vierzehn Projekte, die zwischen Design, Kunst und Technologie angesiedelt sind. Es sind Projekte von Bachelor-Studierenden des Department Kunstwissenschaften der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) sowie von Master-Studierenden des Instituts für Informatik der LMU.

Fuzzy_Logic-Machine_Gabriela-Gordillo_Irene-Rodenas_web

Made in Linz

Die Studierenden der Kunstuniversität Linz experimentieren mit der Entwicklung von interaktiven Prototypen, musikalischen Schnittstellen sowie konzeptionellen Installationen, die alle in Linz hergestellt wurden.

Magnetic-Islands

Computer Music & Media Composition

Die drei in der POSTCITY präsentierten Installationen, die eher klangliche Räume als musikalische Sequenzen definieren, zeigen, mit welcher Offenheit an die Frage herangegangen wird, was Musik als Kunst heutzutage bedeutet oder bedeuten könnte. Außerdem illustrieren sie, wie eng der Lehrgang für Medienkomposition mit anderen Studienrichtungen der Universität verzahnt ist.

Semiotics-of-the-Laboratory_Spela-Petric_web

Semiotics of the Laboratory

Semiotics of the Laboratory stellt die symbolischen und semantischen Merkmale von Laborpraktiken in Frage, wenn sie allein durch visuelle Beobachtung erklärt werden, statt durch Narrative, die deren wissenschaftliche Bedeutung kontextualisieren. Das Publikum, das visuell ansprechenden Experimenten ausgesetzt ist, wird Teil des Kunstprojekts.

interactive_diorama_web

Interactive Diorama—Rembrandt, 1632, The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp

„Interactive Diorama – Rembrandt, 1932, The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp“ ist eine Virtual-Reality-Simulation von Rembrandts Originalwerk *Die Anatomie des Dr. Tulp* und wurde von Professor Lily Díaz-Kommonen gemeinsam mit dem Department of Media Systems der Representation Research Group an der Aalto University realisiert.

Driftscope_Francele-Cocco_web

Natural Intelligence—NI

Natural Intelligence – NI ist eine Auswahl von Arbeiten der Forschungsgruppe GIIP und ihren Partnern. Die entwickelten assistiven Interfaces zielen darauf ab, Menschen mit körperlichen und geistigen Beeinträchtigungen und/oder bewegungseingeschränkte Menschen wieder in die Lage zu versetzen, zu sprechen, etwas zu produzieren und Kunst zu unterrichten – inklusive dreidimensionaler Szenerien und Sound.

gonimo_web

netidee Open Source Community Camp

Das netidee Open Source Community Camp ist ein zweitägiger Workshop, der ProduzentInnen aus dem Open Source Bereich die Möglichkeit gibt, ihre Projekte zu festigen, nachhaltig zu gestalten und wertvollen Input von MentorInnen, ExpertInnen und KollegInnen zu erhalten.

TopSwingGolfRobot_07_web

Top Swing Golf Robot 3.0

SOFEA’s Top Swing Golf Robot 3.0 ist ein elektronisch kontrollierter Golfroboter, der in Deutschland entwickelt und gefertigt wurde. AnfängerInnen, fortgeschrittene und professionelle GolfspielerInnen können damit ihren Schwung verbessern.

PlasticLab_BenjaminVonWong_web

The Plastic Lab

Plastikteile, die an die Küsten geschwemmt werden, sind nur ein Vorgeschmack auf die Auswirkungen der eklatanten Umweltverschmutzung der Ozeane. In den letzten 50 Jahren stiegen Produktion und Konsum von Plastik permanent an. Geschätzte 8 Millionen Tonnen Plastik landen jedes Jahr in den Meeren, das entspricht einer Lastwagenladung pro Minute.

STWST48x3-MIND-LESS_web

STWST48x3: 48 Hours MIND LESS

An der Donau in Urfahr und unter dem Motto MIND LESS bietet STWST48x3, die dritte Ausgabe von STWST48, eine non-stop-48-Stunden-Showcase-Kunst-Extravanganza der expandierenden Art.

geheimnis_dialog_web

Geheimnis & Di@log

Die Ausstellung „GEHEIMNIS – Ein gesellschaftliches Phänomen“ schafft einen interaktiven Raum für die selbstreflexive Auseinandersetzung mit den zentralen Gegenwartsfragen um persönliche Freiheit und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung.