Site areas:
DeepSpaceExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Hisn al-Bab

FRI Sept. 8, 2017, 4:30 PM-5:30 PM, Ars Electronica Center, Deep Space 8K
Limited space offer: Tickets available 30 minutes before the start at Ars Electronica Center's cash register
Hisn_al_Bab_MagdalenaSick-Leitner_3_web
Credit: Magdalena Sickl-Leitner

Dr. Pamela Rose (UK)

This presentation invites the audience to experience the archaeological site Hisn al-Bab. It is little known but nevertheless played a significant role in Egyptian history, both with respect to its geography and its chronology. In historical terms, it was active at the very end of Roman rule and the Early Medieval Period, long after the pharaohs.

At this time the border region between Nubia and Egypt was a political hotspot. It comes as little surprise then that Hisn al-Bab, the site at the heart of our project, saw the building of several successive forts.

The ruin is as spectacular as its setting, opposite the Temple of Philae high up on the eastern shore of the river south of the low dam at Aswan, its walls preserved to a height of eight meters. In addition to the visual experience of a unique and, until recently, completely unstudied monument, we will present the results of several seasons of excavations. These help to understand the daily life of the inhabitants of the fort.

Modern technology gives us the opportunity to visit and present a site that is remote in location and also inaccessible to tourists. The exact three-dimensional documentation of the ruin is a prerequisite for conservation and protection, and also provides the means to introduce the site to a wider international public, thus ensuring its future survival.

Credits

The project is financed by the FWF Austrian Science Fund. The scanning was carried out by the Technical University, Vienna: Prof. M. Doering, T. Mitterecke, I. Mayer, G. Styhler-Adin.

Scan + Postprocessing: TU Wien, Fachgebiet Baugeschichte und Bauforschung (Prof. M. Döring), DI Irmengard Mayer
und DI Thomas Mitterecker. Read more on baugeschichte.tuwien.ac.at

Seitenbereiche:
DeepSpaceExhibitions, ProjectsProgramm

Hisn al-Bab

FR 8.9.2017, 16:30-17:30, Ars Electronica Center, Deep Space 8K
Begrenztes Platzangebot: Platzkarten 30 min vor Vorstellungsbeginn an der Ars Electronica Center Kassa verfügbar
Hisn_al_Bab_MagdalenaSick-Leitner_3_web
Credit: Magdalena Sickl-Leitner

Dr. Pamela Rose (UK)

Die Präsentation lädt das Publikum ein, die archäologische Stätte Hisn al-Bab zu erkunden. Dieser Ort ist nicht sonderlich bekannt, spielte jedoch eine bedeutende Rolle in der ägyptischen Geschichte – sowohl geographisch als auch chronologisch. Seine historische Bedeutung erhielt Hisn el-Bab am Ende der römischen Herrschaft und im frühen Mittelalter – also erst lange Zeit nach den Pharaonen.

Die Grenzregion zwischen Nubien und Ägypten war zu dieser Zeit ein politischer Hotspot. Es ist also wenig überraschend, dass Hisn el-Bab, die zentrale Stätte dieses Projektes, den Bau mehrerer Festungen miterlebte.

Die Ruine ist so spektakulär wie ihre Lage gegenüber dem Tempel von Philae hoch oben am östlichen Ufer des Flusses, südlich des Alten Assuan-Dammes. Ihre Mauern sind bis zu acht Meter hoch. Das Publikum begibt sich auf eine Reise zu diesem einzigartigen und bis vor kurzem völlig unerforschten Denkmal. Mithilfe der Erkenntnisse aus den Ausgrabungen wird gezeigt, wie das tägliche Leben der BewohnerInnen in der Festung aussah.

Moderne Technologie ermöglicht die Erkundung dieses abgelegenen und für Touristen unzugänglichen Ort. Die dreidimensionale Dokumentation, die durch Aufnahmen eines Laserscangerätes entwickelt wurde, präsentiert Hisn el-Bab einer breiten internationalen Öffentlichkeit und stellt dadurch auch ihren Erhalt und Fortbestand sicher.

Credits

The project is financed by the FWF Austrian Science Fund. The scanning was carried out by the Technical University, Vienna: Prof. M. Doering, T. Mitterecke, I. Mayer, G. Styhler-Adin.

Scan + Postprocessing: TU Wien, Fachgebiet Baugeschichte und Bauforschung (Prof. M. Döring), DI Irmengard Mayer
und DI Thomas Mitterecker. Mehr dazu auf baugeschichte.tuwien.ac.at