Site areas:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

Media Art between Natural and Artificial Intelligence

THU Sept. 7-SUN Sept. 10, 2017, 10:00 AM-7:30 PM
MON Sept. 11, 2017, 10:00 AM-6:00 PM
POSTCITY
Archive Dreaming
Credit: Refik Anadol


This exhibition offers a comprehensive look at current forms of artistic work with machine learning and AI. It is supplemented by a tutorial program by and for artists to impart what you have to know to get started using machine learning in artistic projects.

Deltu_Younes-Klouche_web

Deltu

Deltu is a delta robot with a strong personality that interacts with humans through two iPads. Depending on its mood it plays with the recipients.

Deep-Learning-Kubrick_CarlottaSolari_2_web

Deep Learning Kubrick

Making use of current image-recognition software, Deep Learning Kubrick explores the idea of AI trying to make sense of stories and fictions; in this case snippets from classics by the film director Stanley Kubrick.

Archive-Dreaming_Refik-Anadol_web

Archive Dreaming

Commissioned to work with SALT Research collections, the artist Refik Anadol employed machine-learning algorithms to search and sort relations among 1.7 million documents. Interactions of the multidimensional data found in the archives are, in turn, translated into an immersive media installation.

Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

The “CSIA” is a creative research project that partially replicates an open-source intelligence (OSINT) system, including an interface that allows users to experience how intelligence agents surveil social media posts and two machine-learning classifiers for predictive policing.

X-Degrees-of-Separation_MarioKlingemann_web

X Degrees of Separation

They say any two people in the world can be connected through friends of friends, just in a few steps. How about artworks? Using machine-learning techniques that analyze the visual features of artworks, X Degrees of Separation finds pathways between any two artifacts, connecting the two through a chain of artworks.

White-Collar-Crime-Risk-Zones_thenewinquiry-com_web

White Collar Crime Risk Zones

White Collar Crime Risk Zones uses machine learning to predict where financial crimes will happen across the US. The system was trained on incidents of financial malfeasance from 1964 to the present day, collected from the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), a non-governmental organization that regulates financial companies.

Recognition_web

Recognition

Can a machine make us look at art through the lens of today’s world? Inspired by the paradoxes of bringing AI to a museum applying rational and objective thinking to a subjective field like art, Recognition uses artificial intelligence algorithms to compare photographs from current events as they unfold.

Portraits-of-Imaginary-People_Mike-Tyka_web

Portraits of Imaginary People

Portraits of Imaginary People explores the latent space of human faces by training an artificial neural network to imagine and generate portraits of non-existent people.

Neurotransmitter-3000_DanielDeBruin_web

Neurotransmitter 3000

The artist and designer Daniel de Bruin is driven by the desire to become part of the things he creates. Neurotransmitter 3000 is such a thing: a seven-meter-high attraction in which he lets himself swing around.

Fall-of-the-House-of-Usher_AnnaRidler_web

Fall of the House of Usher

Fall of the House of Usher, based on the short story by Edgar Allan Poe, is a twelve-minute animation in which each still is generated by artificial intelligence. This is done by using a neural net (pix2pix) trained on the artist’s ink drawings from stills from the 1929 version of the film.

Kitty-AI_PinarYoldas_2_web

Kitty AI

Kitty AI is a twelve-minute first-person narrative with post-Internet graphics that provides the audience with a snapshot of the history of affective computing.

Latent-Space_JakeElwes_web

Latent Space

Based on AI models currently used, among other things, in content moderation and surveillance, the artworks explore the “latent space” of the AI as it processes and imagines the world for itself, dreaming in the areas between and beyond what it has learnt from us.

Blade_Runner-Autoencoded_Terence_Broad_1_web

Blade Runner—Autoencoded

Blade Runner—Autoencoded is a film made by training an autoencoder—a type of generative neural network—to recreate frames from the 1982 film Blade Runner. The Autoencoder learns to model all frames by trying to copy them through a very narrow information bottleneck, being optimized to create images that are as similar as possible to the original images.

Automatic-On-The-Road_David-Smoler_3_web

Automatic On The Road

This is a story of discovery, technology and one that calls into question the humanity of creativity. The film tells the story of technologist Ross Goodwin and his literary artificial-intelligent robot as they set out to write the longest novel in the English language.

zo

Zo: Tangible AI

Zo: Tangible AI is a tangible interface that enhances physical engagement in digital communication between the audiences and a social chatbot.

AIBO_A-Fun_web

Please Don’t Die “Entertainment Robot AIBO”

The pet robot AIBO was born at Sony in 1999 as the world’s first home-entertainment robot. About 150,000 robots were built but production and sales ended in 2006 and technical support was also discontinued in 2014. Today former Sony engineers provide unofficial maintenance services for owners who remain firmly attached to their AIBO robots.

robotdoing

Robot, Doing Nothing

Robot, Doing Nothing accuses our modern society of being incessantly busy even beyond the confines of everyday life in the workplace. Emanuel Gollob has created a fictitious scenario: the results of studies demonstrate that the efficiency of our society is enhanced by doing nothing.

landscapes_district_1_Markus_Riebe_web

Landmarks

Landmarks consists of a series of 3D lenticular images. Corporeal constructions in the form of meshes of lines and flat shapes seem to rise from the image’s surface and float in space in front of the actual image plane. These fluctuating structures take shape on the basis of virtual wire-mesh models.

Learning-to-See_MemoAkten_web

Learning to See: Hello, World!

A deep neural network opening its eyes for the first time, and trying to understand what it sees. Learning to See is an ongoing series of works that use state-of-the-art machine-learning algorithms as a means of reflecting on ourselves and how we make sense of the world.

flyAI_DavidBowen_1_web

flyAI

This installation creates a situation where the fate of a colony of living houseflies is determined by the accuracy of artificial-intelligence software.

Seitenbereiche:
Exhibitions, ProjectsGanztagsHighlights

Medienkunst zwischen natürlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz

DO 7.9.-SO 10.9.2017, 10:00-19:30
MO 11.9.2017, 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY
Archive Dreaming
Credit: Refik Anadol


Diese Ausstellung bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über aktuelle künstlerische Arbeiten, die maschinelles Lernen und AI verwenden. Ergänzt wird sie durch ein Seminar-Programm von und für KünstlerInnen, in denen man sich das Rüstzeug aneignen dafür kann, um bei künstlerischen Projekt selbst mit maschinellem Lernen zu arbeiten.

Deltu_Younes-Klouche_web

Deltu

Deltu ist ein Delta-Roboter mit einer starken Persönlichkeit. Mithilfe von zwei iPads interagiert er mit Menschen. Er spielt mit den BesucherInnen – abhängig von seiner Stimmung.

Deep-Learning-Kubrick_CarlottaSolari_2_web

Deep Learning Kubrick

Mithilfe aktueller Bilderkennungssoftware erforscht Deep Learning Kubrick die Vorstellung einer Geschichten und Fiktionen verstehenden künstlichen Intelligenz (AI); in diesem Fall Ausschnitte von Film-Klassikern des Regisseurs Stanley Kubrick.

Archive-Dreaming_Refik-Anadol_web

Archive Dreaming

Der Künstler Refik Anadol wurde beauftragt, mit den Sammlungen von SALT Research zu arbeiten. Er verwendete dabei einen Algorithmus für maschinelles Lernen, um die 1,7 Millionen Dokumente zu durchsuchen und Beziehungen zwischen ihnen zu entdecken.

Crowd-Sourced-Intelligence-Agency_Derek-Curry_web

Crowd-Sourced Intelligence Agency (CSIA)

Die „CSIA“ ist ein kreatives Forschungsprojekt, das das System einer Open-Source Intelligenz nachbildet. Ein Interface ermöglicht es BenutzerInnen zu erfahren, wie Geheimdienste Social Media-Beiträge überwachen. Außerdem beinhaltet die Arbeit zwei maschinell lernende Klassifikatoren für vorausschauende Polizeiarbeit.

X-Degrees-of-Separation_MarioKlingemann_web

X Degrees of Separation

Man sagt, jeder Mensch auf der Welt sei über wenige andere miteinander vernetzt. Ist dies auch der Fall bei Kunstwerken? X Degrees of Separation macht sich auf die Suche nach Gemeinsamkeiten unterschiedlicher Artefakte. Mithilfe von maschinellen Lernverfahren werden visuelle Merkmale analysiert und durch eine Kette von anderen Kunstwerken miteinander verknüpft.

White-Collar-Crime-Risk-Zones_thenewinquiry-com_web

White Collar Crime Risk Zones

White Collar Crime Risk Zones verwendet automatische Lernmechanismen, um Finanzverbrechen in den USA vorherzusagen. Das System wurde dazu mit unterschiedlichen Fälle trainiert, die von der Finanzindustrie-Regulierungsbehörde (FINRA) von 1964 bis heute erhoben wurden.

selectiom_realtime_GeneKogan_3_web

Selection of real-time neural-image transformations

Während der vergangenen Jahre hat Machine Learning schnell den Bereich der Computervision übernommen. Dank der neuesten Technologien für Echtzeit-Bildverarbeitung ermöglicht maschinelles Lernen vielversprechende Anwendungen.

Recognition_web

Recognition

Kann eine Maschine uns dazu bringen, Kunst aus dem Blickwinkel unserer heutigen Welt zu betrachten? Inspiriert durch den Widerspruch bringt Recognition eine künstliche Intelligenz ins Museum – in den Kontext eines so subjektives Feldes wie Kunst und konfrontiert dieses mit rationalem, objektivem Denken.

Portraits-of-Imaginary-People_Mike-Tyka_web

Portraits of Imaginary People

Portraits of Imaginary People ist ein Kunstprojekt, das mithilfe von maschinellem Lernen, Portraits von Menschen erstellt, die gar nicht existieren.

Neurotransmitter-3000_DanielDeBruin_web

Neurotransmitter 3000

Selbst Teil der Dinge zu werden, die er erschafft – das ist das erklärte Ziel des Künstlers und Designers Daniel de Bruin. Mit Neurotransmitter 3000 ist ihm das gelungen: ein 7 Meter hoher Arm, in dem er sich selbst herumschwingen lassen kann.

Fall-of-the-House-of-Usher_AnnaRidler_web

Fall of the House of Usher

Fall of the House of Usher basiert auf der gleichnamigen Kurzgeschichte von Edgar Allen Poe. In der zwölf Minuten dauernden Animation wird jedes Bild mithilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz erzeugt: Die Künstlerin fertigte Tuschezeichnungen von Bildern des Originalfilms aus dem Jahr 1929 an. Ein neuronales Netzwerk (pix2pix) wurde anhand dieser Zeichnungen trainiert.

Kitty-AI_PinarYoldas_2_web

Kitty AI

In Kitty AI spricht eine künstliche Intelligenz in Form einer animierten Katze über ihr Amt als erste nicht-menschliche Herrscherin über eine europäischen Stadt im Jahr 2039.

Latent-Space_JakeElwes_web

Latent Space

Basierend auf AI-Modellen, die derzeit unter anderem in der Moderation und Überwachung von digitalen Inhalten eingesetzt werden, erforscht die Installation den “latenten Raum” der künstlichen Intelligenz. Sie verarbeitet und imaginiert eine eigene Welt und entwickelt Träume und Visionen in den verborgenen Zwischenräumen zwischen all dem, was sie von uns gelernt hat, und weit darüber hinaus.

Blade_Runner-Autoencoded_Terence_Broad_1_web

Blade Runner—Autoencoded

Der Film Blade Runner – Autoencoded entstand, indem man einen Autoencoder, also ein spezielles neuronales Netzwerk, trainierte, um Einzelbilder aus dem Film Blade Runner aus dem Jahr 1982 nachzubilden. Der Autoencoder lernt, alle Einzelbilder zu modellieren, indem er versucht, sie durch einen Informations-Engpass zu kopieren.

Automatic-On-The-Road_David-Smoler_3_web

Automatic On The Road

Automatic on the Road ist eine Entdeckungsreise, ein Film über Technologie, Menschlichkeit und Kreativität. Der Technologe Ross Goodwin und sein literarischer künstlich intelligenter Roboter brechen gemeinsam auf, um den längsten Roman in englischer Sprache zu schreiben.

zo

Zo: Tangible AI

Zo: Tangible AI ist eine berührbare Schnittstelle, die die Kommunikation zwischen BenutzerInnen und Social Chatbots lebendiger macht.

AIBO_A-Fun_web

Please Don’t Die “Entertainment Robot AIBO”

Der Haustier-Roboter AIBO wurde 1999 als weltweit erster Home-Entertainment-Roboter geboren. Sony baute rund 150.000 Roboter, bevor die Produktion und der Verkauf im Jahr 2006 eingestellt wurden. 2014 beendet das Unternehmen auch den technischen Support. Da viele EigentümerInnen nach wie vor sehr an ihrem AIBO hängen, reparieren und warten ehemalige Sony-Ingenieure die Roboter für sie.

robotdoing

Robot, Doing Nothing

Vor allem durch den Einsatz digitaler Technologien ist unsere permanente Präsenz, unsere Kommunikationsbereitschaft und unsere Fähigkeit zur Informationsaufnahme gefragt. Ausgehend von dieser Situation erschafft Emanuel Gollob ein fiktives Szenario: Studienergebnisse zeigen, dass die Effizienz unserer Gesellschaft durch Nichtstun gesteigert wird.

landscapes_district_1_Markus_Riebe_web

Landmarks

Landmarks besteht aus einer Serie von 3D-Lentikularbildern. Körperhafte Gebilde in Form von Liniengeflechten und Flächenformationen scheinen sich von der Bildfläche abzuheben und im Raum vor der eigentlichen Bildebene zu schweben. Diese fluktuierenden Gebilde entstehen auf der Basis von virtuellen Drahtgittermodellen.

Learning-to-See_MemoAkten_web

Learning to See: Hello, World!

Ein dichtes neuronales Netzwerk, das seine Augen zum ersten Mal öffnet und versucht zu verstehen, was es sieht. Learning to See ist eine noch nicht abgeschlossene Serie von Arbeiten, die hochmoderne Algorithmen aus dem Bereich des maschinellen Lernens nutzen, um über uns selbst und darüber, wie wir die Welt interpretieren, zu reflektieren.

flyAI_DavidBowen_1_web

flyAI

Diese Installation schafft eine Situation, in der das Schicksal einer Kolonie lebender Stubenfliegen von der Genauigkeit der künstlichen Intelligenz abhängig ist.